DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-13 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma US 11455031 in view of Hatzilias US 2020/0386989.
Regarding claim 1, Sharma teaches a light-emitting apparatus comprising: (a) a substrate (fig. 4 substrate 450 / fig. 6 substrate 605) that is transparent to visible light, the substrate having opposite first and second surfaces; (b) an electrically conductive layer (fig. 6 conductive trace 650 column 20 lines 1-14) on the first surface of the substrate, the electrically conductive layer being patterned to form one or more electrically conductive traces, bond pads, or land pads, wherein (i) the electrically conductive layer is transparent to visible light (transparent conductive oxide column 19 line 63), or (ii) the one or more traces, bond pads, or land pads are sufficiently small and sufficiently sparse, so as to enable visual observation of a scene through the substrate along a sightline that passes through an area of the substrate occupied by some or all of the one or more traces, bond pads, or land pads; (c) a set of one or more light-emitting diodes (LEDs) (fig. 4 light source 430 431 432 fig. 6 light source 610 column 19 line 66) attached and electrically connected to one or more corresponding bond pads among the one or more bond pads, the LEDs being sufficiently small and sparse so as to enable visual observation of the scene along the sightline.
Sharma does not explicitly teach (d) a molded material molded directly onto at least a portion of the first surface of the substrate and continuously encapsulating multiple LEDs and some or all of the one or more traces, bond pads, or land pads, the molded material being transparent to visible light and having a non-planar, continuous, molded surface facing away from the substrate opposide the multiple encapsulated LEDs, the molded surface forming one surface of a transparent eyepiece incorporating the LEDs and the one or more traces bond pads or land pads.
However Hatzilias teaches a molded material (fig. 9B, 10B optically transparent layer 902B) molded directly onto at least a portion of the first surface of the substrate (transparent substrate 304) and continuously encapsulating multiple LEDs (light sources 116A) and some or all of the one or more traces, bond pads, or land pads (would be a part of light source 116A or on surface of transparent substrate 304), the molded material being transparent to visible light and having a non-planar, continuous, molded surface facing away from the substrate opposite the multiple encapsulated LEDs, the molded surface forming one surface of a transparent eyepiece (prescription lens) [0047])incorporating the LEDs and the one or more traces bond pads or land pads for integrating the LEDs into a prescription lens providing encapsulation and forming lens. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sharma in view of Hatzilias to integrate the LEDs into a lens.
Regarding claim 2, Sharma in view of Hatzilias teaches the light-emitting apparatus of claim 1, the apparatus lacking any adhesive bonding the molded material to the substrate, to the electrically conductive layer, or to the one or more LEDs (Sharma does not disclose an adhesive and does not show any adhesive in figs 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 3, Sharma in view of Hatzilias teaches the light-emitting apparatus of claim 1 further comprising an anti-reflection coating on at least a portion of the second surface of the substrate through which the sightline passes (column 15 line 18).
Regarding claim 4, Sharma in view of Hatzilias teaches the light-emitting apparatus of claim 1 further comprising an electrical circuit (display electronics 410) attached and electrically connected to the one or more land pads, the electrical circuit being structured and connected to deliver electrical signals to the one or more LEDs via the one or more land pads, traces, and bond pads (see column 14 line 55-68).
Regarding claim 7, Sharma in view of Hatzilias teaches the light-emitting apparatus of claim 1 further comprising a second molded material (fig. 2 frame 205 fig. 4 frame 405)molded directly onto at least a portion of the substrate to form a frame around at least the area of the substrate through which the sightline passes (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Sharma in view of Hatzilias teaches the light-emitting apparatus of claim 1 wherein the one or more LEDs include one or more infrared-emitting LEDs (column 15 line 63- column 16 line 3 and claim 11) arranged to emit infrared light directed toward one or both eyes of a user with the substrate positioned so that the user's sightline passes through at least a portion of the substrate occupied by some or all of the one or more traces, bond pads, or land pads and some or all of the LEDs of the user, the light-emitting apparatus further comprising one or more infrared detectors arranged and connected so as to detect infrared light emitted by the one or more LEDs and scattered or reflected by one or both eyes of the user (claim 11).
Regarding claim 9, Sharma in view of Hatzilias teaches the light-emitting apparatus of claim 1 wherein the one or more LEDs include one or more visible-emitting LEDs arranged and connected so as to display alphanumeric, symbolic, or graphic information in the sightline (column 6 lines 26-30).
Regarding claim 10, Sharma in view of Hatzilias teaches an optical head-mounted display (OHMD) (fig. 2 near eye display 200,fig. 3 near eye display 300, fig. 10 head mounted display 1000) incorporating the light-emitting apparatus of claim 1 as the transparent eyepeice, the OHMD being arranged so that, while the OHMD is worn by a user, the user's sightline passes through at least a portion of the substrate occupied by some or all of the one or more traces, bond pads, or land pads and some or all of the LEDs (see figs 2, 3 and 10).
Regarding claim 11, Sharma teaches a method for making a light-emitting apparatus comprising: (A) depositing an electrically conductive layer (fig. 6 conductive layer 650) on a first surface of a substrate (substrate 605), the substrate having opposite first and second surfaces and being transparent to visible light (claim 1); (B) patterning the electrically conductive layer to form one or more electrically conductive traces, bond pads, or land pads, wherein (i) the electrically conductive layer is transparent to visible light (column 19 lines 58-63), or (ii) the one or more traces, bond pads, or land pads are sufficiently small and sufficiently sparse, so as to enable visual observation of a scene through the substrate along a sightline that passes through an area of the substrate occupied by some or all of the one or more traces, bond pads, or land pads; (C) attaching and electrically connecting a set of one or more light-emitting diodes (LEDs) (fig. 6 light sources 610) to one or more corresponding bond pads among the one or more bond pads, the LEDs being sufficiently small and sparse so as to enable visual observation of the scene along the sightline.
Sharma does not explicitly teach (d) a molded material molded directly onto at least a portion of the first surface of the substrate and continuously encapsulating multiple LEDs and some or all of the one or more traces, bond pads, or land pads, the molded material being transparent to visible light and having a non-planar, continuous, molded surface facing away from the substrate opposide the multiple encapsulated LEDs, the molded surface forming one surface of a transparent eyepiece incorporating the LEDs and the one or more traces bond pads or land pads.
However Hatzilias teaches a molded material (fig. 9B, 10B optically transparent layer 902B) molded directly onto at least a portion of the first surface of the substrate (transparent substrate 304) and continuously encapsulating multiple LEDs (light sources 116A) and some or all of the one or more traces, bond pads, or land pads (would be a part of light source 116A or on surface of transparent substrate 304), the molded material being transparent to visible light and having a non-planar, continuous, molded surface facing away from the substrate opposite the multiple encapsulated LEDs, the molded surface forming one surface of a transparent eyepiece (prescription lens) [0047])incorporating the LEDs and the one or more traces bond pads or land pads for integrating the LEDs into a prescription lens providing encapsulation and forming lens. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sharma in view of Hatzilias to integrate the LEDs into a lens.
Regarding claim 12, Sharma in view of Hatzilias teaches the method of claim 11 further comprising forming an anti-reflection coating on at least a portion of the second surface of the substrate through which the sightline passes (column 15 lines 17-20).
Regarding claim 13, Sharma in view of Hatzilias teaches the method of claim 11 further comprising attaching and electrically connecting an electrical circuit to the one or more land pads (column 14 line 55-67), the electrical circuit being structured and connected to deliver electrical signals to the one or more LEDs via the one or more land pads, traces, and bond pads (column 19 line 64-column 20 line 15).
Regarding claim 17, Sharma in view of Hatzilias teaches the method of claim 11 further comprising molding a second material directly onto at least a portion of the substrate to form a frame(fig. 2 frame 205 fig. 4 frame 405) around at least the area of the substrate through which the sightline passes (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Sharma in view of Hatzilias teaches the method of claim 11 wherein the one or more LEDs include one or more infrared-emitting LEDs arranged to emit infrared light directed toward one or both eyes of a user with the substrate positioned so that the user's sightline passes through at least a portion of the substrate occupied by some or all of the one or more traces, bond pads, or land pads and some or all of the LEDs of the user (claim 11), the light-emitting apparatus further comprising one or more infrared detectors arranged and connected so as to detect infrared light emitted by the one or more LEDs and scattered or reflected by one or both eyes of the user (claim 11 - camera).
Regarding claim 19, Sharma in view of Hatzilias teaches the method of claim 11 wherein the one or more LEDs include one or more visible-emitting LEDs arranged and connected so as to display alphanumeric, symbolic, or graphic information in the sightline (column 6 lines 26-30).
Regarding claim 20, Sharma in view of Hatzilias teaches the method of claims 11 further comprising, after parts (A) through (D), incorporating the substrate into an optical head-mounted display (OHMD) (fig. 2 near eye display 200,fig. 3 near eye display 300, fig. 10 head mounted display 1000) as the transparent eyepiece so as to arrange the OHMD so that, while the OHMD is worn by a user, the user's sightline passes through at least a portion of the substrate occupied by some or all of the one or more traces, bond pads, or land pads and some or all of the LEDs (see figs. 2, 3 and 10).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma US 11455031 in view of Hatzilias 20200386989 and further in view of Kuo US 2012/0104442.
Regarding claim 5, Sharma in view of Hatzilias teaches the light-emitting apparatus of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach wherein the molded material includes (i) one or more thermoplastic materials or (ii) one or more thermoset materials. Kuo teaches a molded material (encapsulation layer) formed from one or more thermoplastic materials ([0022] and claim 7) for providing uniform lighting [0006]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sharma in view of Kuo to provide uniform lighting.
Regarding claim 6, Sharma teaches the light-emitting apparatus of claim 1 wherein: (i) the substrate comprises one or more of glass (claim 8) , silica, or clear polyimide; (ii) the electrically conductive layer comprises one or more metals or metal alloys or one or more transparent conductive oxides (transparent conductive oxide column 19 line 63);
Sharma does not explicitly teach (iii) the one or more LEDs comprise one or more III-V semiconductor materials; or (iv) the molded material comprises one or more polycarbonates, polymethyl methacrylate, polystyrenes, cyclic olefin polymers, cyclic olefin copolymers, or polyesters. However Kuo teaches the molded material comprises one or more polycarbonates, polymethyl methacrylate, polystyrenes, cyclic olefin polymers, cyclic olefin copolymers, or polyesters [0022] for providing uniform lighting [0006]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sharma in view of Kuo to provide uniform lighting.
Regarding claim 16, Sharma teaches the method of claim 11 wherein: (i) the substrate comprises one or more of glass (claim 8), silica, or clear polyimide; (ii) the electrically conductive layer comprises one or more metals or metal alloys or one or more transparent conductive oxides (transparent conductive oxide column 19 line 63);
Sharma does not explicitly teach (iii) the one or more LEDs comprise one or more III-V semiconductor materials; or (iv) the molded material comprises one or more polycarbonates, polymethyl methacrylate, polystyrenes, cyclic olefin polymers, cyclic olefin copolymers, or polyesters. However Kuo teaches the molded material comprises one or more polycarbonates, polymethyl methacrylate, polystyrenes, cyclic olefin polymers, cyclic olefin copolymers, or polyesters [0022] for providing uniform lighting [0006]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sharma in view of Kuo to provide uniform lighting.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma US 11455031 in view of Hatzilias US 2020/0386989 and further in view of Loh US 2008/0044934.
Regarding claim 14, Sharma and Hatzilias teaches all the limitations of claim 14 except wherein the molding of part (D) comprises: (i) inserting into a first part of a mold the substrate with the one or more traces, bond pads, or land pads and the one or more LEDs thereon (fig. 9 step 925); (ii) assembling one or more additional parts of the mold with the first part of the mold to complete the mold (plurality of cavities [0061]); (iii) injecting molten thermoplastic material into the completed mold (step 930); (iv) allowing the injected thermoplastic material to cool and solidify (step 940); and (v) disassembling the mold and ejecting the light-emitting apparatus from the mold.
Loh teaches the molding of part (D) comprises: (i) inserting into a first part of a mold the substrate with the one or more traces, bond pads, or land pads and the one or more LEDs thereon (fig. 9 step 925); (ii) assembling one or more additional parts of the mold with the first part of the mold to complete the mold (plurality of mold cavities [0061])); (iii) injecting molten thermoplastic material into the completed mold (step 930); (iv) allowing the injected thermoplastic material to cool and solidify; and (v) disassembling the mold and ejecting the light-emitting apparatus from the mold [0069] for removing air pockets in the optical element [0012]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sharmain view of Loh to remove air pockets from the optical element.
Regarding claim 15, Sharma in view of Hatzilias teaches all the limitations of claim 15 except the method of claim 11 wherein the molding of part (D) comprises: (i) inserting into a first part of a mold the substrate with the one or more traces, bond pads, or land pads and the one or more LEDs thereon; (ii) assembling one or more additional parts of the mold with the first part of the mold to complete the mold; (iii) injecting thermoset material liquid precursors into the completed mold; (iv) allowing the injected thermoset material to cure and solidify; and (v) disassembling the mold and removing the light-emitting apparatus from the mold.
Loh teaches the molding part (D) comprises: (i) inserting into a first part of a mold the substrate with the one or more traces, bond pads, or land pads and the one or more LEDs thereon (fig. 9 step 925); (ii) assembling one or more additional parts of the mold with the first part of the mold to complete the mold ([0061] mold cavities) ; (iii) injecting thermoset material liquid precursors into the completed mold (step 935); (iv) allowing the injected thermoset material to cure and solidify (step 940); and (v) disassembling the mold and removing the light-emitting apparatus from the mold [0068] for removing air pockets in the optical element [0012]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sharmain view of Loh to remove air pockets from the optical element.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHU VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871