DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/15/2024 has been considered by the examiner and an initialed copy of the IDS is hereby attached.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3,9,13 and 15 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-3,9,13 and 15 recite instances of “measurement samples”, where all instances of “measurement samples” should recite “set of measurements samples” for consistency. Such instances are noted below:
“determining a rough estimate of a time instance of a pulse peak value in the measurement samples;” (claim 1)
“wherein the subset of measurement samples are processed to reduce unknown phase offset from the subset of measurement samples;” (claim 1)
“based on a statistical relation between samples of the subset of measurement samples.” (claim 1)
“oversampling the subset of measurement samples” (claim 2)
“wherein said oversampling comprises performing a Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) on the subset of measurement samples” (claim 3)
“and performing an inverse FFT to output an increased number of measurement samples of the subset.” (claim 3)
“wherein a size of the subset of measurement samples is based on tradeoff between accurate finding of peak and processing complexity.” (claim 9)
“maximizing a probability density function between the samples of the subset of measurement samples and the shape of the pulse peak.” (claim 13)
“determine a rough estimate of a time instance of a pulse peak value in the measurement samples;” (claim 15)
“input the subset of measurement samples of the set to a fine peak estimation algorithm” (claim 15)
“wherein the subset of measurement samples are processed to reduce unknown phase offset from the subset of measurement samples;” (claim 15)
“based on a statistical relation between samples of the subset of measurement samples.” (claim 15)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "such as" in “such as smaller than 5, such as 2” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the measurement samples " in "the measurement samples of the set of measurement samples". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Perhaps the Applicant intended this to recite “the subset of the set of measurement samples”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The claim(s) are directed to a system for determining the position of an aerial vehicle and recite(s) judicial exceptions as explained in the Step 2A, Prong 1 analysis below. The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application as explained in the Step 2A, Prong 2 analysis below. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as explained in the Step 2B analysis below.
Claim 1:
A method for determining a time duration for signal propagation between a first and a second radio signal transceiver in relation to determining a distance between the first and the second radio signal transceiver, said method comprising:
receiving a set of measurement samples defining a time sequence, wherein the set of measurement samples is acquired by signal reception by the first radio signal transceiver, said set of measurement samples representing a time duration related to propagation of a signal between the second radio signal transceiver and the first radio signal transceiver;
determining a rough estimate of a time instance of a pulse peak value in the measurement samples;
identifying a subset of the set of measurement samples around the rough estimate of the time instance;
inputting the subset of measurement samples of the set to a fine peak estimation algorithm, wherein the subset of measurement samples are processed to reduce unknown phase offset from the subset of measurement samples; and
performing fine peak estimation by the fine peak estimation algorithm, wherein the fine peak estimation algorithm uses an estimation of a shape of a pulse peak for determining a fine estimate of the time instance of the pulse peak value based on a statistical relation between samples of the subset of measurement samples.
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. The claim recites a method and therefore, is eligible for further analysis.
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activities such as a fundamental economic practice, or mental processes)?
Yes. The claim recites the limitations of:
“determining a rough estimate of a time instance of a pulse peak value in the measurement samples;”
“identifying a subset of the set of measurement samples around the rough estimate of the time instance;”
“inputting the subset of measurement samples of the set to a fine peak estimation algorithm, wherein the subset of measurement samples are processed to reduce unknown phase offset from the subset of measurement samples;” and
“performing fine peak estimation by the fine peak estimation algorithm, wherein the fine peak estimation algorithm uses an estimation of a shape of a pulse peak for determining a fine estimate of the time instance of the pulse peak value based on a statistical relation between samples of the subset of measurement samples.”
These limitations, as drafted, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind and are simply mathematical manipulation of data. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No.
The claim does not recite any additional elements that would integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The recitation of the limitation of:
“receiving a set of measurement samples defining a time sequence, wherein the set of measurement samples is acquired by signal reception by the first radio signal transceiver, said set of measurement samples representing a time duration related to propagation of a signal between the second radio signal transceiver and the first radio signal transceiver;” amounts to mere data gathering and is considered an insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No.
Step 2 considers whether the claim provides limitations which amount to “significantly more” than the recited judicial exception. The claim as a whole does not provide any meaningful limitations which amount to significantly more than the mental process of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is ineligible.
Independent claim(s) 15 is a system claim reflecting the limitations of claim 1 and is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 due to the same analysis and rationale as independent claim 1 above.
Dependent claim(s) 2-14 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of the dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Specifically, the dependent claims only recite limitations further defining the mental process and the mathematical manipulation of the gathered data. These limitations are considered mental process steps and additional steps that amount to data processing and data output. These additional elements fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose meaningful limits on the claimed invention. As such, the additional elements individually and in combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Therefore, when considering the combination of elements and the claimed invention as a whole, claims 1-15 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,5-7,11,12,14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ALAWIEH (US 20190250241 A1).
Regarding claim 1, ALAWIEH discloses
A method for determining a time duration for signal propagation between a first and a second radio signal transceiver in relation to determining a distance between the first and the second radio signal transceiver (see method of Fig. 1A where in step 126 a Time of Arrival (i.e. time delay of a transmission) is determined based on a signal propagation between a transmitter and a receiver, further see paragraph 0134, “At step 124, a peak sample may be retrieved in the correlation function. The peak sample may directly associate the measurement received signal to a distance (e.g., between the antenna of the transmitter and the antenna of the receiver). In particular, it is possible to estimate a TOA by determining the peak sample, which is the sample (in the succession of samples of the correlation profile) which has the maximum value (e.g., the maximum absolute value).”), said method comprising:
receiving a set of measurement samples defining a time sequence, wherein the set of measurement samples is acquired by signal reception by the first radio signal transceiver, said set of measurement samples representing a time duration related to propagation of a signal between the second radio signal transceiver and the first radio signal transceiver (see Fig. 1A, further see paragraph 0129, “The method 120 may be performed on a measurement signal which has (when received) a sampling rate (measurement sampling rate). For example, a transmission received from a transmitter may be sampled at the sampling rate. The sampling rate may be such that a measurement received signal is processed as a succession of discrete samples (each sample associated to a particular time instant). Therefore, a received signal may be represented as a succession of samples (e.g., 0, 1, 2, . . . , i−1, i, i+1, I), each of which is associated to a value (which may be connected, for example, to electromagnetic or ultrasound magnitudes), which received by the receiver by sampling (the received signal may be physically obtained by an antenna).”);
determining a rough estimate of a time instance of a pulse peak value in the measurement samples (see paragraph 0140, “Therefore, a peak sample determination, as such, estimates a TOF whose resolution is limited by the sampling rate (coarse estimation). Therefore, at least at step 124, additional data, other than the position of the peak in the correlation profile, are collected from the correlation profile to correct the estimation that may be computed using the peak sample determination.”, where an initial “coarse estimation” using the sampling rate is used to determine the TOF of a pulse peak, further see paragraph 0144, “At step 126, a TOA and/or a distance may be calculated on the basis of the peak sample and correction data derived by the at least one additional sample. For example, a coarse estimation of the TOA or distance may be performed from the peak sample in the correlation profile (e.g., the sample with the maximum absolute value). This estimation may be corrected using a correction data derived at least by the correlation data of at least one additional sample preceding and/or following the peak sample. For example, the quotient discussed above (corrindex) may be used to correct the estimation obtained from the peak sample.”);
identifying a subset of the set of measurement samples around the rough estimate of the time instance (see paragraphs 0157-0158, “A correction data determination unit 148 may be provided. The correction data determination unit 148 may make use of the correlation data (e.g., value) 142 of the sample(s) close to (e.g., immediately before and after) the peak sample 140 in the measurement correlation function 136 and/or the estimated TOA or distance 146. From the data of the close samples it is possible to derive information of the position of a transmitter which is even more accurate than the information inferred by the position of the peak sample…The correction data determination unit 148 may be input with data associated to the measurement correlation function 136 (e.g., peak sample 140 and/or correlation data 142 associated to the samples close to the peak sample 140, the estimated TOA or distance 146).”, where determining the measurements samples before and after the peak sample 140 are the “subset of the set of measurement samples”, further see Fig. 2C and paragraph 0169, “However, the positions of the samples immediately before and after the peak sample in the second correlation profile 212 are different from the samples 242′ of the first correlation profile 210. Therefore, even if, from the position of the peaks 240 the distance of the transmitter would not be measured with a great precision, it is notwithstanding possible to use samples close to the peak sample (e.g., samples 242″) to reconstruct a more exact location of the transmitter at a subsample resolution. Using the correction data 152 obtained by the data carried by the samples 242″ (e.g., values 142), it is possible to correct the results of the estimation.”);
inputting the subset of measurement samples of the set to a fine peak estimation algorithm, wherein the subset of measurement samples are processed to reduce unknown phase offset from the subset of measurement samples (see Fig. 1B where the data from samples before and after the peak sample are input for fine peak estimation (i.e. correction data), further see paragraph 0144, “At step 126, a TOA and/or a distance may be calculated on the basis of the peak sample and correction data derived by the at least one additional sample. For example, a coarse estimation of the TOA or distance may be performed from the peak sample in the correlation profile (e.g., the sample with the maximum absolute value). This estimation may be corrected using a correction data derived at least by the correlation data of at least one additional sample preceding and/or following the peak sample. For example, the quotient discussed above (corrindex) may be used to correct the estimation obtained from the peak sample.”, further see paragraph 0168, “Notwithstanding, it is possible to correct the deviation of the TOA measurements, e.g., by implementing the method 120 and/or using the device 130 or 160. FIG. 2C shows a first correlation profile (function) 210 (which may represent a measurement correlation function 136) of a first received signal received in a measurement session from a distance which is exactly detectable by retrieving the peak sample when correlating a received function (i.e., the transmitter is placed at a distance which is multiple to approximately 3 m for a 10 ns sample time). A peak 240 may be identified (e.g., by the sample determination unit 138 or step 124). Accordingly, the peak sample may be identified (in FIG. 2C the peak sample is in the 17.sup.th sample), and the TOA and/or distance may be coarsely estimated (e.g., by unit 144). Two other samples, associated to the correlation values 242′, may be identified as the samples immediately before and after the sample with the peak 240.”); and
performing fine peak estimation by the fine peak estimation algorithm, wherein the fine peak estimation algorithm uses an estimation of a shape of a pulse peak for determining a fine estimate of the time instance of the pulse peak value based on a statistical relation between samples of the subset of measurement samples (see paragraph 0140, “For example, when a receiver estimates the distance of a transmitter which moves towards the receiver, at a first instant the peak value in the correlation profile may be retrieved at an i.sup.th sample (associated to a particular TOA and/or a particular distance), while at a second instant the peak value may be retrieved at an (i+1).sup.th sample (associated to another TOA and/or another distance), but the determination of the peak values, as such, does not give information on the signal time of flight (TOF) at an instant intermediate between the sample and the (i+1).sup.th sample (and, therefore, does not give information on the distance of receiver form the transmitter). Therefore, a peak sample determination, as such, estimates a TOF whose resolution is limited by the sampling rate (coarse estimation). Therefore, at least at step 124, additional data, other than the position of the peak in the correlation profile, are collected from the correlation profile to correct the estimation that may be computed using the peak sample determination”, further see paragraph 0144, “At step 126, a TOA and/or a distance may be calculated on the basis of the peak sample and correction data derived by the at least one additional sample. For example, a coarse estimation of the TOA or distance may be performed from the peak sample in the correlation profile (e.g., the sample with the maximum absolute value). This estimation may be corrected using a correction data derived at least by the correlation data of at least one additional sample preceding and/or following the peak sample. For example, the quotient discussed above (corrindex) may be used to correct the estimation obtained from the peak sample.”, where sampling process is indeed “an estimation of a shape of a pulse peak” (see Fig. 2C) and used to determine the fine (i.e. corrected) peak sample determination using correlation (i.e. a statistical relation)).
Regarding claim 2, ALAWIEH further discloses
The method according to claim 1, further comprising after identifying the subset of the set of measurement samples, oversampling the subset of measurement samples to generate an increased number of measurement samples in the subset (see paragraph 0141 and 0144, “At step 126, a TOA and/or a distance may be calculated on the basis of the peak sample and correction data derived by the at least one additional sample. For example, a coarse estimation of the TOA or distance may be performed from the peak sample in the correlation profile (e.g., the sample with the maximum absolute value). This estimation may be corrected using a correction data derived at least by the correlation data of at least one additional sample preceding and/or following the peak sample. For example, the quotient discussed above (corrindex) may be used to correct the estimation obtained from the peak sample.”).
Regarding claim 5, ALAWIEH further discloses
The method according to claim 1, wherein the set of measurement samples are formed based on a cross correlation between a received signal and a reference signal (see Fig. 1B, samples are determined at 138 based on a cross correlation at 134 between reference signal 133 and received measurement signal 132), wherein the set of measurement samples are processed based on an absolute value of the cross correlation for reducing the unknown phase offset (see paragraph 0134, “At step 124, a peak sample may be retrieved in the correlation function. The peak sample may directly associate the measurement received signal to a distance (e.g., between the antenna of the transmitter and the antenna of the receiver). In particular, it is possible to estimate a TOA by determining the peak sample, which is the sample (in the succession of samples of the correlation profile) which has the maximum value (e.g., the maximum absolute value).”, where using the maximum absolute value reduces unknown phase offset).
Regarding claim 6, ALAWIEH further discloses
The method according to claim 5, wherein the set of measurement samples are processed based on the absolute value after identifying the subset of the set of measurement samples and before performing fine peak estimation (see the steps of Fig. 1B, where the processing of the measurement samples to determine TOA at 144 is done after the identifying subset of the set of measurement samples (i.e. data from samples immediately preceding and following the peak sample) and before the fine peak estimation (i.e. corrected TOA at 156): NOTE: under the BRI of the claim the samples are “processed” at multiple points in Fig. 1B and performed at both times before and after the identification of the subset of the set of measurement sample (i.e. the identification of data from samples immediately preceding and following the peak samples)).
Regarding claim 7, ALAWIEH further discloses
The method according to claim 5, wherein the set of measurement samples are processed based on the absolute value before identifying the subset of the set of measurement samples (see the steps of Fig. 1B, where the processing of the measurement samples to determine the measurements correlation function at 136 is done before the identifying subset of the set of measurement samples (i.e. data from samples immediately preceding and following the peak sample): NOTE: under the BRI of the claim the samples are “processed” at multiple points in Fig. 1B and performed at both times before and after the identification of the subset of the set of measurement sample (i.e. the identification of data from samples immediately preceding and following the peak samples)).
Regarding claim 11, ALAWIEH further discloses
The method according to claim 1, wherein the rough estimate of the time instance of the pulse peak value is determined based on identifying a pulse peak in the set of measurement samples (see Fig. 1A, where the rough TOA estimation is determined based on identifying a pulse peak in the set of measurement samples, further see paragraph 0144, “At step 126, a TOA and/or a distance may be calculated on the basis of the peak sample and correction data derived by the at least one additional sample. For example, a coarse estimation of the TOA or distance may be performed from the peak sample in the correlation profile (e.g., the sample with the maximum absolute value). This estimation may be corrected using a correction data derived at least by the correlation data of at least one additional sample preceding and/or following the peak sample. For example, the quotient discussed above (corrindex) may be used to correct the estimation obtained from the peak sample.”).
Regarding claim 12, ALAWIEH further discloses
The method according to claim 1, wherein the measurement samples of the set of measurement samples correspond to combining measurement samples based on multiple receiver chains between the first radio signal transceiver and the second radio signal transceiver (see paragraph 0046, “According to an example, it is possible to perform real configuration measurements in the configuration session using a hardware chain for the transceiver. Cables of different length may be used for this configuration session to get a correlation profile at each length. The cable may directly connect the transmitter to the receiver output. The exact signal propagation time for each cable may be controlled with a measurement instrument set at the defined carrier frequency. The transmitter and the receiver may be synchronized. The number of cables used may be related to the number of subsamples (K). Accordingly, pre-assigned configuration data may be calculated for each measurement with a different cable length. Knowing the exact signal propagation time for each cable”).
Regarding claim 14, ALAWIEH further discloses
A computer program product comprising computer-readable instructions such that when executed on a processing unit the computer program product will cause the processing unit to perform the method according to claim 1 (see paragraph 0009, “According to another embodiment, a non-transitory digital storage medium may have a computer program stored thereon to perform the inventive method when said computer program is run by a computer.”, further see paragraph 0087, “In some examples, there is provided a device comprising non-transitory storage means which contain processor readable instructions which, when performed by a processor, cause the processor to perform any of the methods below or above.”).
Regarding claim 15, the same cited section and rationale as claim 1 is applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,4,9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALAWIEH (US 20190250241 A1) in view of Hedley et al. (US 20110286505 A1), hereinafter Hedley.
Regarding claim 3, ALAWIEH discloses [Note: what ALAWIEH fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The method according to claim 2,
Hedley discloses,
wherein said oversampling comprises performing a Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) on the subset of measurement samples to generate an FFT representation of the subset, zero padding of the FFT representation, and performing an inverse FFT to output an increased number of measurement samples of the subset (see paragraph 0078, “To obtain the channel impulse response h[n] (step 750), the wideband frequency response H'(.omega.) is extended to 512 samples by padding with zeros, a Blackman window is applied, then an inverse FFT converts the data to the time domain, yielding the impulse response h[n]. The temporal spacing between the output samples is 5 ns”, where data is first transformed by performing an FFT on the samples and then an inverse FFT, see paragraph 0049 for support, “At the receiver 110-n, the received signal portions y.sub.b[n] are combined in the frequency domain to form an estimate of the channel frequency response H(.omega.), compensating for the effects of the transmitter and receiver frequency response (T(.omega.) and R(.omega.) respectively). This compensation may occur before or after the estimation of the channel frequency response. The wideband channel impulse response h[n] is then obtained by applying the inverse Fourier transform to the estimate of the channel frequency response H(.omega.).”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Hedley into the invention of ALAWIEH. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose the estimation of a time of arrival of a signal between a transmitter and a receiver and both further disclose methods to accurately estimate pulse peak information. The combination above would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve resolution of the data and reduce data loss.
Regarding claim 4, ALAWIEH discloses [Note: what ALAWIEH fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The method according to claim 3,
Hedley discloses,
wherein an oversampling factor used in the zero padding is smaller than 10, such as smaller than 5, such as 2 (see paragraph 0078, “To obtain the channel impulse response h[n] (step 750), the wideband frequency response H'(.omega.) is extended to 512 samples by padding with zeros, a Blackman window is applied, then an inverse FFT converts the data to the time domain, yielding the impulse response h[n]”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Hedley into the invention of ALAWIEH. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose the estimation of a time of arrival of a signal between a transmitter and a receiver and both further disclose methods to accurately estimate pulse peak information. Hedley discloses the feature of zero-padding the sampled data. Although Hedley fails to clearly disclose the oversampling factor used in the zero padding, it would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an oversampling factor used in the zero padding to be smaller than 10. MPEP § 2141 provides that an invention may render a claimed limitation obvious when it would be “obvious to try” to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. In such an instance it would be obvious to try to an integer factor between 0 and 10. The combination above would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve resolution of the data and reduce data loss.
Regarding claim 9, ALAWIEH discloses [Note: what ALAWIEH fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The method according to claim 1,
Hedley discloses,
wherein a size of the subset of measurement samples is based on tradeoff between accurate finding of peak and processing complexity (see paragraph 0068, “The method 800 can also be applied to signal portions with different numbers of samples and to different block sizes. The reduction in the number of samples reduces the process gain, while the number of samples within a block determines the maximum delay spread which will not result in aliasing. In the preferred embodiment maximum possible delay spread for the received signal that will not result in aliasing is 1024 (samples).times.40 ns (sample period)/16 (sample reduction factor)=2560 ns (corresponding to a range differential between the shortest path and the longest path of 768 m assuming propagation at the speed of light).”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Hedley into the invention of ALAWIEH. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose the estimation of a time of arrival of a signal between a transmitter and a receiver and both further disclose methods to accurately estimate pulse peak information. The combination above would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to accurately determine data while conserving processing resources.
Regarding claim 10, ALAWIEH discloses [Note: what ALAWIEH fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The method according to claim 1,
Hedley discloses,
wherein the rough estimate of the time instance of a first pulse peak value is determined using a leading-edge algorithm based on detection of a non-first peak (see paragraph 0088, “The step 1330 seeks the first peak that is not eliminated as being due to noise or being a side lobe. The leading edge is a set of multiple samples prior to and including the first peak.”, where “the samples being prior to the first peak” is indeed “based on detection of a non-first peak”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Hedley into the invention of ALAWIEH. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose the estimation of a time of arrival of a signal between a transmitter and a receiver and both further disclose methods to accurately estimate pulse peak information. The combination above would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the accuracy of the data.
Claim(s) 8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALAWIEH (US 20190250241 A1) in view of Chrabieh (US 20210091820 A1).
Regarding claim 8, ALAWIEH discloses [Note: what ALAWIEH fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The method according to claim 5,
Chrabieh discloses,
wherein a covariance of noise in the cross correlation between the received signal and the reference signal is approximated such that covariance of colored noise is independent on a transmitter pulse shape (see paragraph 0074, “If M−1 nuisance path components are to be jointly estimated with the first path component, then the margin region following the first path component can increase in length to cover the region of nuisance multipath since the nuisance multipath in this margin region are excluded from the colored noise covariance matrix; and consequently, they may be excluded from the weight matrix W.”, further see paragraph 0096, further see paragraph 0146, “Step 322 projects (or truncate or shorten) onto the operating region the necessary vectors or matrices: a) the reference sequences matrix representing the first path component and nuisance multipath with various hypothetical delays (G′.sub.tT, post filtering), b) the colored noise covariance matrix representing noise and the remaining multipath (C′.sub.T, post filtering).”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Chrabieh into the invention of ALAWIEH. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose the estimation of a time of arrival of a signal between a transmitter and a receiver and both further disclose methods to accurately estimate pulse peak information. The combination above would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the accuracy of the data by determining and filtering noise data.
Regarding claim 13, ALAWIEH discloses [Note: what ALAWIEH fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The method according to claim 1,
Chrabieh discloses,
wherein the performing of the fine peak estimation uses a maximum likelihood estimation by maximizing a probability density function between the samples of the subset of measurement samples and the shape of the pulse peak (see paragraph 0150, “The reader should note that the above algorithm using a Maximum Likelihood (ML) criterion with Weighted Least Squares solution for Gaussian type of noise and interference, and with a projection onto a short subspace of oversampled samples is only one embodiment of the solution.”, further see paragraph 0129 for support, “A first solution is to truncate the MAP or ML correlator sequences x.sub.t to the region of high SINR (operating region with some number of samples and where the sequences are not weak). However, more optimal MAP or ML correlator sequences can be designed by truncating the space to the subspace of interest and then computing short MAP or ML correlator sequences within the subspace of interest.”, where subspace of interest is chosen based on samples where the sequences are not weak and higher density of strong samples (NOTE: this is a Maximum Likelihood (ML) criterion)).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Chrabieh into the invention of ALAWIEH. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose the estimation of a time of arrival of a signal between a transmitter and a receiver and both further disclose methods to accurately estimate pulse peak information. The combination above would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the accuracy of the data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
McCrady et al. (US 8041336 B2) is considered close pertinent art to the claimed invention as it discloses a method and apparatus of accurately determining signal time of arrival using a pulse peak sampling processes.
Fernandez-Corbaton et al. (US 7474994 B2) is considered close pertinent art to the claimed invention as it discloses a method and apparatus of accurately determining signal time of arrival using a pulse peak sampling processes (see Col. 7, lines 4-21, “The system 100 uses the mathematical model 122 to simulate the general curve of the sinc x function. The shape of the curve and the actual peak can be readily determined using a relatively low number of sample points. In one embodiment, the sinc x function is modeled by a simple quadratic function having the form: y(x)=ax.sup.2+bx+c (2) where y(x) equals the correlation output value (e.g., RSSI) as a function of x, x equals a time offset, and a, b, and c are coefficients. The coefficients a, b, and c may be readily determined using the correlation values at three sample points. The first sample point is the time offset at which the maximum signal level was detected. This is sometimes referred to as the "on-time" energy value and may be mathematically referred to with respect to equation (2) above as y(0). The two remaining values are the correlation values at adjacent sample points.”).
Zhengdi (US 7466752 B2) is considered close pertinent art to the claimed invention as it discloses a method and apparatus for determining the position of a pulse peak using a measurement set of samples (see Figs. 4 and 5).
/NAZRA NUR WAHEED/Examiner, Art Unit 3648