DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to the amendment filed 6/25/2026. Claims 1, 4-6, 9-12, 14-16 and 18-19 are pending and are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 11, 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rajagopal et al. (USP 10,581,643).
Regarding claims 1, 11, Rajagopal et al.’s figure 3 shows a gate driver circuit comprising a signal source (314A) to generate one or more control signals, an isolation circuit arrangement, configured to receive one or more input signals on a low voltage side (314A capable of being low voltage side) and deliver one or more output signals on a high voltage side (314B capable of being high voltage side), the isolation circuit arrangement comprising an isolation barrier, comprising: a first capacitor (C1B), arranged along a first input line (306); a second capacitor (C2B) arranged along a second input line (308), in electrically parallel fashion to the first capacitor; a first inductor (first inductor on the left of 316B) having a first end that is coupled to a first electrode of the first capacitor and having a second end that is coupled to a first electrode of the second capacitor; a first ground center tap (the center output tap of the output transformer 316B connected to another reference voltage (column 9, lines 25-30); see column 8, lines 49-56; column 9, line 8, mentions “center output tap”; column 9, line 25-27 also suggests the center tap output 316A can also be connected directly to ground) comprising a connection between first and second ends of the first inductor and configured to redirect current caused in negative common-mode transient events directly to a first ground domain (the center output tap of the output transformer 316B connected to another reference voltage (column 9, lines 25-30)), (Rajagopal et al.’s column 8, lines 14-34, teaches the center output tap of transformer 316A provides “common mode rejection and to help protect against circuit faults”. Furthermore, the functional limitations of “to redirect current caused in negative common-mode transient events directly to ground” does not add or modify any structural limitations to the first inductor of the claim; they are simply a manner of operation of the center tap. According to MPEP 2114 (II), the manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art. “Apparatus claim cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)” ; a second inductor (second coil on the right of 316B) that is inductively coupled to the first inductor and is arranged with a first output end and a second output end on a high voltage side of the isolation circuit arrangement; a third inductor (coil on the right of 316A) having a first end that is coupled to a second electrode of the first capacitor and having a second end that is coupled to a second end of the second capacitor; a second ground center tap (the center output tap of the transformer 316A tied to ground; see column 9, lines 25-27), connected to the third inductor, wherein the second ground center tap comprising a connection between the first and second ends of the third inductor and configured to redirect current caused in positive common-mode transient events directly to a second ground domain different from the first ground domain (the center output tap of the transformer 316A tied to ground; see column 9, lines 25-27; see column 8, lines 49-56; column 9, line 8, mentions “center output tap”; column 9, line 25-27 also suggests the center tap output can also connected directly to ground; Rajagopal et al.’s column 8, lines 14-34, teaches the center output tap of transformer 316A provides “common mode rejection and to help protect against circuit faults. Furthermore, the functional limitations of “to redirect current caused in positive common-mode transient events directly to ground” does not add or modify any structural limitations to the second inductor of the claim; they are simply a manner of operation of the center tap. According to MPEP 2114 (II), the manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art. “Apparatus claim cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)”; and a fourth inductor (right coil of 316A) that is inductively coupled to the third inductor and is arranged with a first input end and a second input end on a low voltage side (314A) of the isolation circuit arrangement.as called for in claims 1 and 11.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the first capacitor (C1B), second capacitor (C2B), first inductor (first coil of 316B) and second inductor (a second coil of 316B) are arranged in a first isolation circuit, and the third capacitor, fourth capacitor, third inductor and fourth inductor are arranged in a second isolation circuit.
Regarding claims 5, 15, 18, wherein the first isolation circuit and the second isolation circuit together form the isolation barrier, wherein the first isolation circuit is disposed in a first semiconductor chip (200B, figure 2), the second isolation circuit is disposed in a second semiconductor chip (220A; figure 2), and wherein the first isolation circuit is connected to the second isolation circuit via a pair of conductive connectors (204; figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10, 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajagopal et al. (USP 10,581,643) in view of Takeda et al. (USP 8,774,288).
Regarding claim 14, Rajagopal et al. reference shows an isolation circuit comprising all the aspects of the present invention as noted above except wherein the third inductor, fourth inductor, the first capacitor and second capacitor are disposed in a first semiconductor chip, and wherein the first inductor and second inductor are disposed in a second semiconductor chip as called for in claim 14.
Takeda et al.’s figures 18, 19, 20, 21 and 24-25 teach that isolation circuit can be formed either by itself, on a first chip with a transmitter or on a second chip with a receiver without altering its intended functions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have wherein the third inductor, fourth inductor, and the first capacitor and second capacitor are disposed in a first semiconductor chip, and wherein the first inductor and second inductor are disposed in a second semiconductor chip as taught by Takeda et al. reference.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Rajagopal et al. reference shows an isolation circuit comprising all the aspects of the present invention as noted above except the first semiconductor chip or the second semiconductor chip is a silicon-on-insulator chip as called for in claims 9 and 10.
Takeda et al.’s figures 18, 19, 20, 21 and 24-25 teach that isolation circuit can be formed either by itself, on a first chip with a transmitter or on a second chip with a receiver without altering its intended functions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the first semiconductor chip or the second semiconductor chip is a silicon-on-insulator chip as taught by Takeda et al. reference.
Regarding claim 16, Rajagopal et al. reference shows an isolation circuit comprising all the aspects of the present invention as noted above except wherein the isolation barrier is arranged in a single semiconductor chip as called for in claim 16.
Takeda et al.’s figures 18, 19, 20, 21 and 24-25 teach that isolation circuit can be formed either by itself, on a first chip with a transmitter or on a second chip with a receiver without altering its intended functions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the isolation barrier is arranged in a single semiconductor chip as taught by Takeda et al. reference.
Claim(s) 6, 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajagopal et al. (USP 10,581,643) in view of May et al. (US 2023/0387782).
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 19, Rajagopal et al.’s discloses a gate driver comprising an isolation circuit comprising all the aspects of the invention as noted above except for a demodulator, arranged on the high voltage side; and a gate driver, coupled to the demodulator, and arranged to output a gate drive signal to a high side switch as called for in claims 6, 12 and 19.
May et al.’s figures 2A, 10 and 12 shows a receiver coupled to an isolation circuit. The receiver comprises demodulation circuit (1007), gate driver (1010) and arranged to output a gate drive signal (1020) to a high side switch (232, figure 2a). Thus, it would have been obvious to person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have May et al.’s demodulator, gate driver and high side switch arranged in Rajagopal et al.’s circuit arrangement as taught by May et al. reference.
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 11-12, 15-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manikandan et al. (US 2023/002575) in view of Brown (US 2006/0109918), Glasband (RE39108) and Rajagopal et al. (USP 10,581,643).
Regarding claims 1, 11-12, Manikandan et al.’s figures 1A and 1B disclose a gate driver comprising a signal source (132, figure 1A) to generate one or more control signals, an isolation circuit arrangement (166), configured to receive one or more input signals on a low voltage side (102; figure 1A being low voltage side) and deliver one or more output signals on a high voltage side (104, figure 1B capable of being high voltage side), the isolation circuit arrangement comprising an isolation barrier, comprising: a first capacitor (156), arranged along a first input line (150); a second capacitor (158) arranged along a second input line (154), in electrically parallel fashion to the first capacitor; a first inductor (162a) having a first end that is coupled to a first electrode of the first capacitor and having a second end that is coupled to a first electrode of the second capacitor; and a second inductor (162B) that is inductively coupled to the first inductor and is arranged with a first output end and a second output end on a high voltage side of the isolation circuit arrangement, a third inductor (138b) having a first end that is coupled to a second electrode of the first capacitor and having a second end that is coupled to a second end of the second capacitor, and a fourth inductor that is inductively coupled to the third inductor and is arranged with a first input end and a second input end on a low voltage side of the isolation circuit arrangement, a demodulator (168) coupled to the second inductor; and a gate driver (172), coupled to the demodulator, and arranged to output a gate drive signal to a power switch (176).
Manikandan et al. does not show a first center tap comprising a connection between first and second ends of the first inductor and configured connected to a first ground domain and to redirect current caused by negative common mode transients directly to ground; and a second center tap comprising a connection between first and second ends of the third inductor and configured connected to a second ground domain different from the first ground domain and to redirect current caused in positive common mode transient events directly to ground as called for in claims 1, 11 and 12. However, it is a common knowledge in an electrical distribution systems, grounding the center tap provides a reference point for the system and helps prevent unwanted voltage potentials, i.e., achieving symmetrical outputs (see abstract of Glasband et al. RE39108). The connection of a center to ground is also illustrated in Brown’s figure 5. Rajagopal et al. (USP 10,581,643) further teach that the center tap output of data transformer 316A and data transformer 316B can be connected to two different potentials (see column 9, lines 25-30. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have center tap outputs connected to different potentials for the purpose of preventing unwanted voltage potentials as taught by Rajagopal et al. reference.
Note, the functional limitations of the first center tap redirects current caused by negative common mode transients directly to ground; and the second center tap redirects current caused by positive common mode transients directly to ground does not add or modify any structural limitations to the first inductor/the second inductor of the claim; they are simply a manner of operation of the center tap. According to MPEP 2114 (II), the manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art. “Apparatus claim cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Thus, the limitations of redirecting current caused by negative common mode transients directly to ground; and redirecting current caused by positive common mode transients directly to ground are also met.
Regarding claim 16, wherein the isolation barrier is arranged in a single semiconductor chip (Manikandan et al.’s figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Manikandan et al.’s figures 1A and 1B shows wherein the first capacitor, second capacitor, first inductor and second inductor are arranged in a first isolation circuit, and the second isolation circuit comprising: the third capacitor (144), the fourth capacitor (146); the third inductor (138b) and the fourth inductor are arranged in a second isolation circuit.
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Manikandan et al.’s figures 1A and 1B shows the first isolation circuit and the second isolation circuit together form an isolation barrier, wherein the first isolation circuit is disposed in a first semiconductor chip (transmitter side), the second isolation circuit is disposed in a second semiconductor chip (receiver side), and wherein the first isolation circuit is connected to the second isolation circuit via a pair of conductive connectors.
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 19, Manikandan et al.’s figures 1A and 1B shows a transmitter, and the second semiconductor chip further comprising a demodulator (168) and a gate driver (172).
Regarding claim 15, , Manikandan et al.’s figures 1A and 1B wherein the first capacitor, second capacitor, first inductor and second inductor are arranged in a first isolation circuit, wherein the first isolation circuit is arranged in a first chip (104), and wherein the third inductor and the fourth inductor are arranged in a second semiconductor chip (102).
Claim(s) 9-10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manikandan et al. (US 2023/002575), Glasband (RE39108), Brown (US 2006/0109918), Rajagopal et al. (USP 10,581,643), and further in view of Takeda et al. (USP 8,774,288).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Manikandan et al. (US 2023/002575) and Brown, Rajagopal et al. and Glasband references shows an isolation circuit comprising all the aspects of the present invention as noted above except wherein the third inductor, the fourth inductor, the first capacitor and the second capacitor are disposed in a first semiconductor chip, and wherein the first inductor and second inductor are disposed in a second semiconductor chip as called for in claim 14.
Takeda et al.’s figures 18, 19, 20, 21 and 24-25 teach that isolation circuit can be formed either by itself, on a first chip with a transmitter or on a second chip with a receiver without altering its intended functions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have wherein the third inductor, the fourth inductor, the first capacitor and the second capacitor are disposed in a first semiconductor chip, and wherein the first inductor and second inductor are disposed in a second semiconductor chip as taught by Takeda et al. reference.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the combination of Manikandan et al. (US 2023/002575), Brown, Rajagopal et al. and Glasband references shows an isolation circuit comprising all the aspects of the present invention as noted above except the first/second semiconductor chip is a silicon-on-insulator chip as called for in claims 9 and 10.
Takeda et al.’s figures 18, 19, 20, 21 and 24-25 teach that isolation circuit can be formed either by itself, on a first chip with a transmitter or on a second chip with a receiver without altering its intended functions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have either the first or second semiconductor chip is a silicon-on-insulator chip as taught by Takeda et al. reference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the rejection of claims 1, 4-5, 11, 15, 18 as being anticipated by Rajagopal et al. (USP 10,581,643), applicant argues that Rajagopal does not teach/disclose “the first grounded center tap …. redirects current caused by negative common mode transients directly to a first ground domain”; and “the second grounded center tap …redirects current caused by positive common mode transients directly to a second ground domain different from the first ground domain” found not persuasive. Rajagopal et al. (USP 10,581,643)’s column 9, lines 25-30 teaches that the center output taps of the transformer 316A and 316B are capable of being connected directly to two different potentials. Thus, the rejection is deemed proper.
Regarding the rejection of 1, 4-6, 11-12, 15-16 and 18-19 as being unpatentable over Manikandan et al. (US 2023/002575) in view of Brown (US 2006/0109918), Glasband (RE39108) and Rajagopal et al. (USP 10,581,643), applicant argues that the combination of references does not teach or disclose the functional limitations “the first grounded center tap …. redirects current caused by negative common mode transients directly to a first ground domain”; and “the second grounded center tap …redirects current caused by positive common mode transients directly to a second ground domain different from the first ground domain” found not persuasive. Rajagopal et al. (USP 10,581,643) teaches that the center tap output of data transformer 316A and data transformer 316B can be connected to two different potentials (see column 9, lines 25-30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have center tap outputs connected to different potentials for the purpose of preventing unwanted voltage potentials as taught by Rajagopal et al. reference. The rejection is deemed proper.
Conclusion
/TUAN T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842 6/30/2026