Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Applicant’s claims, filed on 02/15/2024.
Claims 1-14 are currently pending and have been examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following:
Figure 6 is recited as a cross sectional view however the figure does not include any cross hatching.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 8 recite “wherein the elongated key is configured to be fixed to a first cup…and configured to be received within a second cup...” The limitations directed to the “first cup” and the “second cup” are not positively recited as structural elements of the claimed hinge assembly. The preamble and transitional phrase (“a hinge assembly comprising”) limits the claimed subject matter to the hinge bracket and elongated hinge key. The “first cup” and “second cup” are introduced only within a wherein clause and are described solely in terms of being “configured to be attached” to respective motorized and non-motorized tailgates.
The claim does not affirmatively recite the first cup or second cup as components of the hinge assembly, nor does it clearly establish whether they are required structural elements of the claim assembly. As recited, it is unclear whether the first cup and second cup form a part of the hinge assembly; whether the assembly includes both cups simultaneously or alternatively; and what structural relationship, if any, is required between the first and second cups independent of the respective tailgates.
Because the first and second cup are relied upon to define the functional relationship of the elongated hinge key and not positively recited as structural elements of the claimed assembly, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Dependent claims 2-7 and 9-14 which recite limitations such as “wherein the first cup…,” “wherein the second cup…,” and “interior surface of the first cup…,” are also indefinite because they depend from an independent claim that fails to positively recite these elements, and are unclear what structure the dependent claims further limit.
Applicant may overcome this rejection by amending the claims to positively recite the first and second cups as elements of the hinge assembly or by otherwise clarifying that these elements are part of the claim structure and defining their structural relationship with the elongated hinge key.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sukhdeo et al. (US12030557)
Claim 1. Sukhdeo discloses, as best understood by the indefinite language: A hinge assembly (Fig. 3) configured to couple either a motorized tailgate or a non-motorized tailgate (18 tailgate, Fig. 1-2) to a side wall of a bed (14 sidewall of 16 bed, Fig. 1-2) of a vehicle (10 vehicle, Fig. 1-2) the hinge assembly comprising:
a hinge bracket (32 mounting bracket, Fig. 2-3) configured to be fixed to the side wall (Col. 3, lines 47-51); and
an elongated hinge key (40 post, Fig. 3) having a proximate end attached to the hinge bracket (Fig. 3) and a distal end including a keyed surface (42 flat surface, Fig. 3),
wherein the elongated hinge key is configured to be fixed to a first cup (56 cavity of 46 pivot body, Fig. 3) that is configured to be attached to the motorized tailgate (46 is attached to tailgate, Fig. 2; 18 tailgate may be powered; Col. 7, lines 55-58) and configured to be received within a second cup (52 opening in 18, Fig. 2) that is configured to be attached to the non-motorized tailgate (Fig. 2) such that the second cup can rotate about the elongated hinge key (18 tailgate may rotate relative to 46 pivot body; Col. 4, lines 3-5).
Claim 2. Sukhdeo discloses, as best understood by the indefinite language: The hinge assembly of Claim 1, wherein the distal end includes a threaded aperture (82 thread in 68 opening of 40, Fig. 7) configured for receipt of a threaded pin (64 connector, Fig. 7) that fixes the hinge key to the first cup and prevents the first cup from rotating relative to the hinge key (64 connector couples 40 post to 56 pivot body and prevents rotation along with flat surfaces, Fig. 7).
Claim 3. Sukhdeo discloses, as best understood by the indefinite language: The hinge assembly of Claim 2, wherein the first cup has a through-hole (66 opening, Fig. 7) configured to be aligned with the threaded aperture and configured for receipt of the threaded pin (Fig. 7).
Claim 4. Sukhdeo discloses, as best understood by the indefinite language: The hinge assembly of Claim 1, wherein the keyed surface includes a profile that is configured to mate with an interior surface of the first cup that has a profile that corresponds to the profile of the keyed surface to prevent the first cup from rotating relative to the hinge key (mating flat surfaces of 48 and 46, Fig. 3, 7).
Claim 5. Sukhdeo discloses, as best understood by the indefinite language: The hinge assembly of Claim 4, wherein the first cup is fixed to the hinge key such that when the motorized tailgate is moved from a closed position to an open position, the motorized tailgate moves relative to the first cup (18 tailgate may rotate relative to 46 pivot body; Col. 4, lines 3-5; see previously rejected claim 1).
Claim 8. Sukhdeo discloses, as best understood by the indefinite language: A vehicle (10 vehicle, Fig. 1) comprising:
a vehicle body (12 cargo area, Fig. 1) having a bed (16 bed, Fig. 1) defined by a pair of side walls (14 sidewalls, Fig. 1);
either a motorized tailgate or a non-motorized tailgate positioned between the pair of sidewalls and pivotably coupled to at least one sidewall of the pair of sidewalls by a hinge assembly, the hinge assembly including:
a hinge bracket configured to be fixed to the one side wall; and
an elongated hinge key having a proximate end attached to the hinge bracket and a distal end including a keyed surface,
wherein the elongated hinge key is configured to be fixed to a first cup that is configured to be attached to the motorized tailgate and configured to be received within a second cup that is configured to be attached to the non-motorized tailgate such that the second cup can rotate about the elongated hinge key (see previously rejected claim 1).
Claim 9. The vehicle of Claim 8, wherein the distal end includes a threaded aperture configured for receipt of a threaded pin that fixes the hinge key to the first cup and prevents the first cup from rotating relative to the hinge key (see previously rejected claim 2).
Claim 10. The vehicle of Claim 9, wherein the first cup has a through-hole configured to be aligned with the threaded aperture and configured for receipt of the threaded pin (see previously rejected claim 3).
Claim 11. The vehicle of Claim 8, wherein the keyed surface includes a profile that is configured to mate with an interior surface of the first cup that has a profile that corresponds to the profile of the keyed surface to prevent the first cup from rotating relative to the hinge key (see previously rejected claim 4).
Claim 12. The vehicle of Claim 11, wherein the first cup is fixed to the hinge key such that when the motorized tailgate is moved from a closed position to an open position, the motorized tailgate moves relative to the first cup (see previously rejected claim 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sukhdeo et al. (US12030557) in view of Fabiano (US20030189354).
Claim 6. Sukhdeo discloses, as best understood by the indefinite language: The hinge assembly of Claim 1.
Sukhdeo does not disclose: wherein second cup includes a smooth interior surface that terminates at a bumper that extends radially inward from the interior surface and is configured to be abutted by the keyed surface of the hinge key, the second cup being configured to rotate relative to the hinge key until keyed surface of the hinge key abuts the bumper.
Fabiano discloses a hinge assembly for a tailgate comprising of a cup with radially inward facing flat portions wherein the flat portions interact with a hinge shaft to prevent relative movement between the two components.
Fabiano teaches: second cup (76 cup, Fig. 17) includes a smooth interior surface (71 bore, Fig. 15) that terminates at a bumper that extends radially inward from the interior surface (85 flat surfaces, Fig. 17) and is configured to be abutted by the keyed surface of the hinge key (74 shaft abuts 85, Fig. 19-20), the second cup being configured to rotate relative to the hinge key until keyed surface of the hinge key abuts the bumper (Fig. 19-20; [0052-0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the hinge assembly of Sukhdeo by incorporating a cup with flat surfaces to abut against a post as taught by Fabiano with a reasonable expectation of success in order to restrict the rotation between the cup and post as taught by Fabiano ([0052-0054]).
Claim 7. Sukhdeo, as best understood by the indefinite language, in view of Fabiano teaches: The hinge assembly of Claim 6, wherein the second cup is fixed to the non-motorized tailgate (Sukhdeo: 18 tailgate in non-motorized, Fig. 1-2) and is configured to rotate about the hinge key as the non-motorized tailgate is moved from a closed position to an open position (Fabinao: Fig. 19-20, [0052-0054]).
Claim 13. Sukhdeo discloses, as best understood by the indefinite language: The vehicle of Claim 8.
Sukhdeo does not disclose: wherein second cup includes a smooth interior surface that terminates at a bumper that extends radially inward from the interior surface and is configured to be abutted by the keyed surface of the hinge key, the second cup being configured to rotate relative to the hinge key until keyed surface of the hinge key abuts the bumper.
Fabiano further teaches: second cup includes a smooth interior surface that terminates at a bumper that extends radially inward from the interior surface and is configured to be abutted by the keyed surface of the hinge key, the second cup being configured to rotate relative to the hinge key until keyed surface of the hinge key abuts the bumper (see previously rejected claim 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the hinge assembly of Sukhdeo by incorporating a cup with flat surfaces to abut against a post as taught by Fabiano with a reasonable expectation of success in order to restrict the rotation between the cup and post as taught by Fabiano ([0052-0054]).
Claim 14. Sukhdeo, as best understood by the indefinite language, in view of Fabiano teaches: The vehicle of Claim 13, wherein the second cup is fixed to the non-motorized tailgate and is configured to rotate about the hinge key as the non-motorized tailgate is moved from a closed position to an open position (see previously rejected claim 7).
Conclusion
/DANIEL T CRAIG/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676