DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 (filed 09/08/2026) have been considered in this action. Claims 1, 9, 17 and 20 have been amended. Claims 2-8, 10-16 and 18-19 have been provided in the same format as previously presented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10 paragraph 1, filed 09/08/2026, with respect to objection to claim 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 2 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10 paragraph 3, filed 09/08/2026, with respect to rejection of claims 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, filed 09/08/2026, with respect to rejection of claims 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Yraceburu fails to teach “performing a temperature-based control routine of the heater to maintain the target temperature” the examiner notes that Yraceburu teaches “[0050] after the initial seeding value has been applied to the control mechanism 106, the control mechanism 106 may perform feedback control of the heat generating device 102 to maintain the temperature of the heated system 100 at or near the setpoint temperature 306 within a predefined accuracy” which teaches this feature.
Applicant has further argued that while Yraceburu teaches the temperature sensor 104 that senses a heating process, including the belt temperature, it does not teach “obtaining a process variable indicative of the heater temperature”. The examiner disagrees, because under the BRI of the claim, the temperature of the belt is indicative of the heater temperature because the heater is what is supply the heat that affects the temperature of the belt. The claim does not require a temperature sensor that measures a temperature of the heater, nor is it claimed a sensor that senses a temperature of the heater for example by having the resistive heating sensing outlined in paragraph [0029] of the published instant application (US20240264616). The claim is formulated in such a way that under the BRI, it can be considered that the measured temperature of the belt in Yraceburu is “indicating the temperature of the heater” because as noted by Yraceburu “[0023] The heat generating device 102 may be a radiant heater, which may include a heating element 218. The heat generating device 102 may extend within the belt 204 to heat a heating zone 220 of the belt 204 by thermal radiation. The heating zone 220 may include the portions of the belt 204 that are in the field of view of the heat generating device 102 at any given moment in time” and “[0025] The controller 110 may control the heat generating device 102 and the control mechanism 106 and may receive input from the temperature sensor 104” and “[0026] Based on the determination, the controller 110 may initiate supply of power to the heat generating device 102 at a first power level to thus cause the heat generating device 102 to be ramped up such that the heated system 100 reaches a setpoint temperature”. What this means is that the heating of the heater is performed while the heated zone 220 of the belt is heated by the heater. This relationship establishes that the heating of the heater and the heating of the belt are inexorably linked, and thus, a temperature of the belt is indicative of a temperature of the heater.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejection of claim(s) 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but they are not found convincing.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
The cited portions of Yraceburu teaches a first initial application of energy to a heater in an initial time at full power/wattage, and a second steady-state time applying a second application of energy afterwards. Paragraphs [0032] and [0038] teach that the seeded value for the steady-state control is determined at time 308 in Figure 3, which is after the initial application of energy (section 302) and then the second energy is applied at 306. Thus the identification of how the second amount of energy is after the identification of the first amount of energy is taught by Yraceburu. This is further supported by paragraphs [0037-0048] which states that there is a sequential process of varying voltages, fan speeds, and initial temperature for building the “energy profile” of Yraceburu. When the first and second amount of electrical energy are for when the machine has been left in different states related to an ambient temperature, they would inherently have been determined at different times, and be for different amounts of energy. Thus, Yraceburu teaches the amended features of claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 9 recites the limitation "the temperature of the heater" in the amended claim language. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “the temperature of the heater” and “a temperature of a heated process” are the same or different, as this is the closest term in the claims. For the sake of compact prosecution, the examiner shall consider this to recite “a temperature of the heater” when considering the prior art.
Claims 2-8 and 10-16 are dependent upon claims 1 and 9 respectively, and thus inherit the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yraceburu et al. (US 20210114384, hereinafter Yraceburu) in view of Advantage’s “Heat Load Calculation For Mold Temperature Controllers” (hereinafter Advantage).
In regards to Claim 1, Yraceburu teaches “A method for controlling a heated process of a heater, the method comprising: obtaining a target temperature” ([0023] The heat generating device 102 may be a radiant heater, which may include a heating element 218. [0026] the setpoint temperature may be a desired temperature or other pre-established temperature value appropriate for achieving a desired heat transfer behavior in the heated system 100 to condition media 202 that passes through the heated system 100. The controller 110 may directly control the supply of power to the heat generating device 102) “a prediction that the first amount of electrical energy is sized to cause a temperature of the heated process to reach the target temperature wherein the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of one or more wattage, the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of a quantity of time that the one or more wattage is applied to the heater, and the prediction is based on an energy profile associated with the heater” ([0013] Particularly, a controller of a heated system disclosed herein may cause a full or high percentage of available power to be supplied to a heat generating device during the ramp up period and may cause a lower percentage of the available power to be supplied to the heat generating device during the steady-state period. To reduce or minimize thermal overshoot, the controller may stop the supply of power to the heat generating device prior to the temperature in the heated system reaching a setpoint (e.g., target) temperature of the heated system. [0014] The heat generating device may continue to heat the heated system and thus, the temperature in the heated system may continue to rise following deactivation of the heat generating device. The predefined temperature may be based on the amount of temperature increase predicted or calculated to occur following deactivation of the heat generating device, e.g., following the ramp up period. In addition, the predefined temperature may be determined based on a rate of temperature change that occurred in the heated system during at least a portion of the ramp up period. The rate of temperature change may also be affected by the duration of time that has elapsed since a prior print job as discussed herein.) “and providing the one or more wattage to the heater for a portion of the quantity of time” ([0013] a controller of a heated system disclosed herein may cause a full or high percentage of available power to be supplied to a heat generating device during the ramp up period; [0027] According to examples, the first power level may be a full power level (e.g., a 100% power level, a maximum power level, or the like), to cause the heated system 100 to reach the setpoint temperature in a shortest length of time. As a result, a delay in conditioning the media 202 caused by heating up the heated system 100 may be minimized. In any regard, the controller 110 may continuously or at set periods of time receive temperature measurement readings from the temperature sensor 104 as the temperature in the heated system 100 changes; wherein power in wattage is a well-known and obvious form of heater rating; wherein a ramp up period is a quantity of time, and the rated full power level is a wattage of the heater) “while providing the one or more wattage to the heater, obtaining a process variable indicating the heater temperature” ([0024] the temperature sensor 104 may monitor the temperature of the belt 204 to facilitate control by the controller 110 of the heat generating device 102. The temperature sensor 104 may be a non-contacting thermistor located outside and below the belt 204. Although a single temperature sensor 104 is depicted in FIG. 2, additional sensors may be disposed at different locations along the width of the belt 204. Other examples may include another form of non-contact temperature sensor or may include a contact temperature sensor located in another appropriate position; [0025] The controller 110 may control the heat generating device 102 and the control mechanism 106 and may receive input from the temperature sensor 104. Particularly, for instance, the controller 110 may determine that the heated system 100 is to be implemented to apply heat to an object, for instance, a sheet of media 202. The controller 110 may make this determination based on receipt of an instruction from a processor; [0028] The controller 110 may also track the received temperatures to determine 114 that the temperature in the heated system 100 has reached a predefined temperature value, which may occur as the heating device 102 is operated under the ramp up period.) “determining whether the temperature of the heater is equal to the target temperature, and performing a temperature-based control routine of the heater to maintain the target temperature in response to the heater being equal to the target temperature” ([0033] Application of the first level of power begins a ramp-up phase of operation, e.g., from around t1 to around t1.6 in FIG. 3. The temperature in the heated system 100 ramps up towards the setpoint temperature 306. The ramp-up phase may end when the temperature reaches the predefined temperature value 304, e.g., when application of power at the first level to the heat generating device 102 is stopped; [0048] The control mechanism 106 may control the operation of the heat generating device 102 over a length of time 310, e.g., may control the amount of power delivered to the heat generating device 102 after the temperature in the heated system 100 has reached or nearly reached the setpoint temperature 306. That is, the control mechanism 106 may vary the heat output from the heat generating device 102 as temperature in the heated system 100 fluctuates over the period of time 310. The temperature in the heated system 100 may fluctuate over time based on, for instance, retention and/or dissipation of heat by components in the heated system 100, which may vary depending upon the length of time between heating jobs performed in the heated system 100; [0049] According to examples, the control mechanism 106 may be a PID controller (proportional-integral-derivative control loop feedback mechanism) or other feedback controller that may receive detected temperatures from the temperature sensor 104 and may continuously vary the power output to the heat generating device 102 based upon the received temperatures to maintain the temperature in the heated system 100 around the setpoint temperature. That is, the control mechanism 106 may control the power delivery to the heat generating device 102 to maintain the temperature in the heated system 100 within a predefined accuracy based on detected temperatures in the heated system 100).
Yraceburu fails to teach “identifying a first amount of electrical energy based on a prediction that the first amount of electrical energy is sized to cause a temperature of the heated process to reach the target temperature wherein the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of one or more wattage, the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of a quantity of time that the one or more wattage is applied to the heater, and the prediction is based on an energy profile associated with the heater”.
Advantage teaches “identifying a first amount of electrical energy based on a prediction that the first amount of electrical energy is sized to cause a temperature of the heated process to reach the target temperature wherein the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of one or more wattage, the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of a quantity of time that the one or more wattage is applied to the heater, and the prediction is based on an energy profile associated with the heater” ([page 1] Heaters are selected by Kilowatt rating That is, the amount of heat energy introduced into the system, expressed in thousands of watts per hour.... To determine the process heat requirements the following formula is presented:
Determine the mold's weight. Do this by multiplying the outside dimensions to compute total cubic inches. Multiply this by the particular weight of the mold material.
Determine the mold's temperature rise. This is the difference between the non-operating (ambient) temperature and the setpoint temperature. It can be assumed the average ambient temperature is 70°F.
Determine the mold's specific heat value. The standard value for steel is .12 and for aluminum is .24. Other values are listed on Advantage FYI #108.
#Formula# KW per Hour = Mold Weight x Temperature Rise x Specific Heat/3412
KW Per Hour is the kilowatts required to bring the mold up to temperature within one hour. Select the nearest "standard" KW rating for the heat load. Example: a 7.5KW load would require a 9KW standard heater.
If a faster heat-up time is required, then the heater must be sized accordingly. For example, a 6KW load for one hour becomes a 12KW load for a half hour. Furthermore, a 4KW load for one hour becomes a 16KW load for 15 minutes. 45 minute heat-up : divide KW per hour by .75 30 minute heat-up : divide KW per hour by .50 15 minute heat-up : divide KW per hour by .25; Advantage teaches that the heat load formula for the heat capacity of a heated process is a formula for determining how much energy in Wh to apply based on energy profile characteristics of the heated process associated with the heater being used, such as the material properties of the material being administered with the heated process).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the method for applying to a heater a fully rated power for a ramp up period to get a heated process heated by the heater up to a target temperature, with the use of a method for determining via a formula how much energy would be required to be consumed by a heater that operates at full power in the form of a wattage within a desired amount of time to reach a target temperature, because it can be considered the use of a known technique for determining how much energy to apply to a heater for heating a heated process within a particular period of time and applying it to the heater for heating a heated process that operates at a full power that is applied for a portion of the period in a known way that achieves predictable results. The invention is claimed such that the use of a heat load formula could be utilized for determining how much maximum energy to apply and for how long such as for the warmup period of Yraceburu using the formula of Advtage in a known and obvious way that achieves predictable results.
In regards to Claim 2, the combination of Yraceburu and Advantage teaches the method for controlling a heated process as incorporated by claim 1 above. Yraceburu further teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more wattage and the quantity of time are predicted to cause the temperature of the heated process to remain less than or equal to the target temperature for the quantity of time and the one or more wattage and the quantity of time are predicted to cause the temperature of the heated process to remain less than or equal to the target temperature based on the energy profile for the heater” ([0030] Due, for instance, to the configuration and the components of the heat generating device 102, the heat generating device 102 may continue to transfer heat for a period of time after the heat generating device 102 has been turned off. As a result, should the heat generating device 102 be powered on until the setpoint temperature 306 has been reached, the temperature in the heated system 100 may likely overshoot the setpoint temperature 306. Such overshooting may cause damage to components in the heated system 100. According to examples, the controller 110 may turn off the heat generating device 102 at the predefined temperature value 304 below the setpoint temperature 306, in which the predefined temperature value 304 may be defined based upon the amount of additional heating predicted to occur in the heated system 100 following the heat generating device 102 being turned off. The predefined temperature value 304 may be determined through empirical testing, through modeling, or the like, and may thus vary for different types of heated systems. By way of particular example, however, the predefined temperature may be between about 5° C. and about 15° C. below the setpoint temperature, although other temperatures may be implemented; wherein the use of the predefined temperature which can be considered a part of the energy profile, a target temperature is either reached or remained below because Yraceburu mentions that overshooting the target temperature would damage the process). It can further be considered that Advantage teaches this feature as values for steel, aluminum, or other material types would impact the calculation and thus different energy profiles for the types of materials in the heated process impact the prediction.
In regards to Claim 3, the combination of Yraceburu and Advantage teaches the method for controlling a heated process as incorporated by claim 1 above. Yraceburu further teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein the temperature of the heated process reaches a temperature approach band based on the provision of the one or more wattage to the heater for the portion of the quantity of time, and the method further comprises” ([0030] Due, for instance, to the configuration and the components of the heat generating device 102, the heat generating device 102 may continue to transfer heat for a period of time after the heat generating device 102 has been turned off. As a result, should the heat generating device 102 be powered on until the setpoint temperature 306 has been reached, the temperature in the heated system 100 may likely overshoot the setpoint temperature 306. Such overshooting may cause damage to components in the heated system 100. According to examples, the controller 110 may turn off the heat generating device 102 at the predefined temperature value 304 below the setpoint temperature 306, in which the predefined temperature value 304 may be defined based upon the amount of additional heating predicted to occur in the heated system 100 following the heat generating device 102 being turned off. The predefined temperature value 304 may be determined through empirical testing, through modeling, or the like, and may thus vary for different types of heated systems. By way of particular example, however, the predefined temperature may be between about 5° C. and about 15° C. below the setpoint temperature, although other temperatures may be implemented; wherein the temperature approach band is the band between the predetermined temperature and the setpoint temperature between which the temperature is controlled) “providing a second amount of electrical energy to the heater” ([0013] Disclosed herein are heated systems, methods, and machine readable instructions that may control the temperature of a heated system during both a ramp up period and a steady-state period of the heated system that may prevent or minimize thermal overshoot caused by a heat generating device in the heated system. Particularly, a controller of a heated system disclosed herein may cause a full or high percentage of available power to be supplied to a heat generating device during the ramp up period and may cause a lower percentage of the available power to be supplied to the heat generating device during the steady-state period; [0072] At block 506, based on a determination that a detected temperature in the heated system 100 has reached a predefined temperature value 304 that is below the setpoint temperature 306, the controller 110 may reduce the supply of power to the heat generating device 102. As discussed herein, the predefined temperature value 304 may be below the setpoint temperature 306 by a certain amount, in which the certain amount may be based on a temperature increase that may be predicted to occur in the heated system 100 following deactivation of the heat generating device 102. Thus, for instance, by reducing the power supply to the heat generating device 102 prior to the temperature in the heated system 100 reaching the setpoint temperature, the temperature in the heated system 100 may be prevented from overshooting the setpoint temperature 306; wherein the reduced or zero power supplied after the ramp-up period is a second amount of electrical energy).
In regards to Claim 4, the combination of Yraceburu and Advantage teaches the method for controlling a heated process as incorporated by claim 3 above. Yraceburu further teaches “The method of claim 3, wherein the provision of the second amount of electrical energy to the heater is expected to maintain the heated process within the temperature approach band during the provision of the second amount of electrical energy” ([0015] the controller may control the control mechanism to perform feedback control over the power supplied to the heat generating device to cause the heat generating device to maintain the temperature in the heated system at or near, e.g., within a predefined accuracy level, the setpoint temperature during a steady-state period. [0028] The controller 110 may also stop 116 application of power to the heat generating device 102 upon making a determination that a detected temperature in the heated system 100 has reached the predefined temperature. That is, based on the received temperature measurement readings from the temperature sensor 104, the controller 110 may determine that the detected temperature has reached the predefined temperature and may turn off the heat generating device 102. The predefined temperature may be a set temperature that is below the setpoint temperature of the heated system 100 (or the belt 204). [0061] If execution of the PID control loop were to be started without providing the initial integral error term, a significant amount of undesirable temperature sag or overshoot may occur as the PID control loop constructs its own error term from scratch. If the initial integral error term applied by the PID control loop is too low, the heat generating device 102 temperature may sag and the PID control loop may calculate larger error terms and, thus, a larger resultant heat generating device 102 duty cycle. However, until the PID control can react, the heat generating device 102 temperature may sag. Conversely, if the initial integral error term applied is too high for the amount of heat already stored in the heat generating device 102 components, the heat generating device 102 temperature may overshoot the setpoint temperature 306 until the PID controller can adjust, which may take time since the nature of PID control relies on the error terms that are periodically calculated. [0063] The controller 110 may determine 122 that a predefined condition has occurred at some time following the heat generating device 102 being turned off, e.g., following the stoppage of power flow to the heat generating device when the detected temperature has reached the predefined temperature value 304. The occurrence of the predefined condition may trigger the control mechanism 106 to initiate the supply of power to the heat generating device 102 at the determined seeding value. The predefined condition may be, for instance, an expiration of a maximum wait time. The maximum wait time may be a user-defined period of time following the stoppage of the application of power to the heat generating device 116 based on the temperature reaching the predefined temperature value 304; wherein the steady state power is applied such that a seed value for the PID is selected such that overshoot of the target temperature is avoided and temperature is applied up to the determined temperature below the target temperature, thus the second energy is used to control between the band of the target temperature and the predetermined temperature that is the basis of the energy profile).
In regards to Claim 5 the combination of Yraceburu and Advantage teaches the method for controlling a heated process as incorporated by claim 3 above. Yraceburu further teaches “The method of claim 3, wherein the provision of the second amount of electrical energy to the heater is based on a temperature control model configured to maintain the temperature of the heater at a setpoint variable” ([0052] According to examples, the controller 110 may use the rate of temperature change to determine the seeding value, e.g., the initial value to be applied to the heat generating device 102 by the control mechanism 106, which may maintain the temperature at or near the setpoint temperature 306 in the heated system 100, e.g., within a predefined accuracy. The control mechanism 106 control phase may begin following occurrence of a predefined condition as discussed herein with the application to the heat generating device 102 of the seeding value. Thus, the control mechanism 106 control phase may not occur immediately following the stoppage of power delivered to the heat generating device 102 at the first power level, e.g., full power level. [0053] The seeding value may be the value applied to the control mechanism 106 to maintain the temperature in the heated system 100 at or near the setpoint temperature 306. By way of particular example, a second seeding value (e.g., an initial integral error term that gets preloaded to the PID control loop) may be calculated based on a first seeding value and the rate of temperature change, according to the formula: IIET=(IHDC−(Kp*Et)−(Kd*Ed))/K ;).
In regards to Claim 6 the combination of Yraceburu and Advantage teaches the method for controlling a heated process as incorporated by claim 1 above. Yraceburu further teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein the energy profile is based on a response time of the heater or the energy profile is based on gain values of a controller” ([0053] The seeding value may be the value applied to the control mechanism 106 to maintain the temperature in the heated system 100 at or near the setpoint temperature 306. By way of particular example, a second seeding value (e.g., an initial integral error term that gets preloaded to the PID control loop) may be calculated based on a first seeding value and the rate of temperature change, according to the formula: IIET=(IHDC−(Kp*Et)−(Kd*Ed))/Ki
Where [0054] IIET=initial integral error term [0055] IHDC=initial heater duty cycle [0056] Kp=proportional term gain constant (based on system characteristics) [0057] Kd=derivative term gain constant (based on system characteristics) [0058] Ki=integral term gain constant (based on system characteristics) [0059] Et=temperature error (=target temperature−dryer temperature) [0060] Ed=temperature derivative error (=rate of temperature change) [0061] If execution of the PID control loop were to be started without providing the initial integral error term, a significant amount of undesirable temperature sag or overshoot may occur as the PID control loop constructs its own error term from scratch. If the initial integral error term applied by the PID control loop is too low, the heat generating device 102 temperature may sag and the PID control loop may calculate larger error terms and, thus, a larger resultant heat generating device 102 duty cycle. However, until the PID control can react, the heat generating device 102 temperature may sag. Conversely, if the initial integral error term applied is too high for the amount of heat already stored in the heat generating device 102 components, the heat generating device 102 temperature may overshoot the setpoint temperature 306 until the PID controller can adjust, which may take time since the nature of PID control relies on the error terms that are periodically calculate; wherein the seeding value for the steady state control as the second energy applied after the ramp up energy is based on gain values of the PID connected to the heated process, which can be considered an additional term of the energy profile).
In regards to Claim 7 the combination of Yraceburu and Advantage teaches the method for controlling a heated process as incorporated by claim 1 above. Yraceburu further teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein the heated process is subjected to thermal load changes other than the provision of the one or more wattage to the heater for the portion of the quantity of time that affect the temperature of the heated process or the heated process is subjected to thermal system changes other than the provision of the one or more wattage to the heater for the portion of the quantity of time that affect the temperature of the heated process” ([0034] The heated system 100 has a thermal mass (the ability of matter to absorb and store heat energy), which may affect the rate of temperature change in the heated system 100 produced by the heat generating device 102. In some examples, the heat generating device 102 may not be a closed system, but instead may include a vent and a fan that expels some air from the interior of the heated system 100 and pulls in some fresh, ambient air. The higher the fan speed, the more air that is expelled, and the more ambient air that comes into the heated system 100. As the air that is expelled is heated air, more heat energy is lost from the heated system 100 at higher fan speeds than at lower fan speeds. This may also affect the rate of temperature change, causing the temperature to rise slower at a higher fan speed; wherein the air being expelled is a thermal load change process).
In regards to Claim 8 the combination of Yraceburu and Advantage teaches the method for controlling a heated process as incorporated by claim 1 above. Advantage further teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein the prediction that the first amount of electrical energy is sized to cause the temperature of the heated process to reach the target temperature is based on a correlation of the first amount of electrical energy and the target temperature, and the correlation is based on the energy profile” ([page 1] KW per hour = (mold weight x temperature rise x specific heat)/3412 is a formula that correlates the amount of electrical heat in kwh with the temperature rise from the current temperature to the target temperature and includes energy profile parameters of the heated process including the specific heat of the material and its weight under the BRI of an energy profile).
In regards to Claim 9, Yraceburu teaches “A system for controlling a heater, the system comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium; and a processor configured to execute instructions stored on the non- transitory computer-readable medium, wherein an execution of the instructions cause the processor to” ([0020] The controller 110 may be a semiconductor-based microprocessor, a central processing unit (CPU), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), and/or other suitable hardware device.[0085] Examples of non-transitory, machine readable media include computer system RAM, ROM, EPROM, EEPROM, and magnetic or optical disks or tapes. It is therefore to be understood that any electronic device capable of executing the above-described functions may perform those functions enumerated above) “obtain a target temperature” ([0023] The heat generating device 102 may be a radiant heater, which may include a heating element 218. [0026] the setpoint temperature may be a desired temperature or other pre-established temperature value appropriate for achieving a desired heat transfer behavior in the heated system 100 to condition media 202 that passes through the heated system 100. The controller 110 may directly control the supply of power to the heat generating device 102) “a prediction that the first amount of electrical energy is sized to cause a temperature of the heated process to reach the target temperature wherein the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of one or more wattage, the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of a quantity of time that the one or more wattage is applied to the heater, and the prediction is based on an energy profile associated with the heater” ([0013] Particularly, a controller of a heated system disclosed herein may cause a full or high percentage of available power to be supplied to a heat generating device during the ramp up period and may cause a lower percentage of the available power to be supplied to the heat generating device during the steady-state period. To reduce or minimize thermal overshoot, the controller may stop the supply of power to the heat generating device prior to the temperature in the heated system reaching a setpoint (e.g., target) temperature of the heated system. [0014] The heat generating device may continue to heat the heated system and thus, the temperature in the heated system may continue to rise following deactivation of the heat generating device. The predefined temperature may be based on the amount of temperature increase predicted or calculated to occur following deactivation of the heat generating device, e.g., following the ramp up period. In addition, the predefined temperature may be determined based on a rate of temperature change that occurred in the heated system during at least a portion of the ramp up period. The rate of temperature change may also be affected by the duration of time that has elapsed since a prior print job as discussed herein.) “and provide the one or more wattage to the heater for a portion of the quantity of time” ([0013] a controller of a heated system disclosed herein may cause a full or high percentage of available power to be supplied to a heat generating device during the ramp up period; [0027] According to examples, the first power level may be a full power level (e.g., a 100% power level, a maximum power level, or the like), to cause the heated system 100 to reach the setpoint temperature in a shortest length of time. As a result, a delay in conditioning the media 202 caused by heating up the heated system 100 may be minimized. In any regard, the controller 110 may continuously or at set periods of time receive temperature measurement readings from the temperature sensor 104 as the temperature in the heated system 100 changes; wherein power in wattage is a well-known and obvious form of heater rating; wherein a ramp up period is a quantity of time, and the rated full power level is a wattage of the heater) “while providing the one or more wattage to the heater, obtaining a process variable indicating the heater temperature” ([0024] the temperature sensor 104 may monitor the temperature of the belt 204 to facilitate control by the controller 110 of the heat generating device 102. The temperature sensor 104 may be a non-contacting thermistor located outside and below the belt 204. Although a single temperature sensor 104 is depicted in FIG. 2, additional sensors may be disposed at different locations along the width of the belt 204. Other examples may include another form of non-contact temperature sensor or may include a contact temperature sensor located in another appropriate position; [0025] The controller 110 may control the heat generating device 102 and the control mechanism 106 and may receive input from the temperature sensor 104. Particularly, for instance, the controller 110 may determine that the heated system 100 is to be implemented to apply heat to an object, for instance, a sheet of media 202. The controller 110 may make this determination based on receipt of an instruction from a processor; [0028] The controller 110 may also track the received temperatures to determine 114 that the temperature in the heated system 100 has reached a predefined temperature value, which may occur as the heating device 102 is operated under the ramp up period.) “determining whether the temperature of the heater is equal to the target temperature, and performing a temperature-based control routine of the heater to maintain the target temperature in response to the heater being equal to the target temperature” ([0033] Application of the first level of power begins a ramp-up phase of operation, e.g., from around t1 to around t1.6 in FIG. 3. The temperature in the heated system 100 ramps up towards the setpoint temperature 306. The ramp-up phase may end when the temperature reaches the predefined temperature value 304, e.g., when application of power at the first level to the heat generating device 102 is stopped; [0048] The control mechanism 106 may control the operation of the heat generating device 102 over a length of time 310, e.g., may control the amount of power delivered to the heat generating device 102 after the temperature in the heated system 100 has reached or nearly reached the setpoint temperature 306. That is, the control mechanism 106 may vary the heat output from the heat generating device 102 as temperature in the heated system 100 fluctuates over the period of time 310. The temperature in the heated system 100 may fluctuate over time based on, for instance, retention and/or dissipation of heat by components in the heated system 100, which may vary depending upon the length of time between heating jobs performed in the heated system 100; [0049] According to examples, the control mechanism 106 may be a PID controller (proportional-integral-derivative control loop feedback mechanism) or other feedback controller that may receive detected temperatures from the temperature sensor 104 and may continuously vary the power output to the heat generating device 102 based upon the received temperatures to maintain the temperature in the heated system 100 around the setpoint temperature. That is, the control mechanism 106 may control the power delivery to the heat generating device 102 to maintain the temperature in the heated system 100 within a predefined accuracy based on detected temperatures in the heated system 100).
Yraceburu fails to teach “identify a first amount of electrical energy based on a prediction that the first amount of electrical energy is sized to cause a temperature of the heated process to reach the target temperature wherein the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of one or more wattage, the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of a quantity of time that the one or more wattage is applied to the heater, and the prediction is based on an energy profile associated with the heater”.
Advantage teaches “identifying a first amount of electrical energy based on a prediction that the first amount of electrical energy is sized to cause a temperature of the heated process to reach the target temperature wherein the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of one or more wattage, the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of a quantity of time that the one or more wattage is applied to the heater, and the prediction is based on an energy profile associated with the heater” ([page 1] Heaters are selected by Kilowatt rating That is, the amount of heat energy introduced into the system, expressed in thousands of watts per hour.... To determine the process heat requirements the following formula is presented:
Determine the mold's weight. Do this by multiplying the outside dimensions to compute total cubic inches. Multiply this by the particular weight of the mold material.
Determine the mold's temperature rise. This is the difference between the non-operating (ambient) temperature and the setpoint temperature. It can be assumed the average ambient temperature is 70°F.
Determine the mold's specific heat value. The standard value for steel is .12 and for aluminum is .24. Other values are listed on Advantage FYI #108.
#Formula# KW per Hour = Mold Weight x Temperature Rise x Specific Heat/3412
KW Per Hour is the kilowatts required to bring the mold up to temperature within one hour. Select the nearest "standard" KW rating for the heat load. Example: a 7.5KW load would require a 9KW standard heater.
If a faster heat-up time is required, then the heater must be sized accordingly. For example, a 6KW load for one hour becomes a 12KW load for a half hour. Furthermore, a 4KW load for one hour becomes a 16KW load for 15 minutes. 45 minute heat-up : divide KW per hour by .75 30 minute heat-up : divide KW per hour by .50 15 minute heat-up : divide KW per hour by .25; Advantage teaches that the heat load formula for the heat capacity of a heated process is a formula for determining how much energy in Wh to apply based on energy profile characteristics of the heated process associated with the heater being used, such as the material properties of the material being administered with the heated process).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the method for applying to a heater a fully rated power for a ramp up period to get a heated process heated by the heater up to a target temperature, with the use of a method for determining via a formula how much energy would be required to be consumed by a heater that operates at full power in the form of a wattage within a desired amount of time to reach a target temperature, because it can be considered the use of a known technique for determining how much energy to apply to a heater for heating a heated process within a particular period of time and applying it to the heater for heating a heated process that operates at a full power that is applied for a portion of the period in a known way that achieves predictable results. The invention is claimed such that the use of a heat load formula could be utilized for determining how much maximum energy to apply such as for the warmup period of Yraceburu.
In regards to Claim 10, the combination of Yraceburu and Advantage teaches the system for controlling a heated process as incorporated by claim 9 above. Yraceburu further teaches “The system of claim 9, wherein the one or more wattage and the quantity of time are predicted to cause the temperature of the heated process to remain less than or equal to the target temperature for the quantity of time and the one or more wattage and the quantity of time are predicted to cause the temperature of the heated process to remain less than or equal to the target temperature based on the energy profile for the heater” ([0030] Due, for instance, to the configuration and the components of the heat generating device 102, the heat generating device 102 may continue to transfer heat for a period of time after the heat generating device 102 has been turned off. As a result, should the heat generating device 102 be powered on until the setpoint temperature 306 has been reached, the temperature in the heated system 100 may likely overshoot the setpoint temperature 306. Such overshooting may cause damage to components in the heated system 100. According to examples, the controller 110 may turn off the heat generating device 102 at the predefined temperature value 304 below the setpoint temperature 306, in which the predefined temperature value 304 may be defined based upon the amount of additional heating predicted to occur in the heated system 100 following the heat generating device 102 being turned off. The predefined temperature value 304 may be determined through empirical testing, through modeling, or the like, and may thus vary for different types of heated systems. By way of particular example, however, the predefined temperature may be between about 5° C. and about 15° C. below the setpoint temperature, although other temperatures may be implemented; wherein the use of the predefined temperature which can be considered a part of the energy profile, a target temperature is either reached or remained below because Yraceburu mentions that overshooting the target temperature would damage the process). It can further be considered that Advantage teaches this feature as values for steel, aluminum, or other material types would impact the calculation and thus different energy profiles for the types of materials in the heated process impact the prediction.
In regards to Claim 11, the combination of Yraceburu and Advantage teaches the system for controlling a heated process as incorporated by claim 9 above. Yraceburu further teaches “The system of claim 9, wherein the temperature of the heated process reaches a temperature approach band based on the provision of the one or more wattage to the heater for the portion of the quantity of time” ([0030] Due, for instance, to the configuration and the components of the heat generating device 102, the heat generating device 102 may continue to transfer heat for a period of time after the heat generating device 102 has been turned off. As a result, should the heat generating device 102 be powered on until the setpoint temperature 306 has been reached, the temperature in the heated system 100 may likely overshoot the setpoint temperature 306. Such overshooting may cause damage to components in the heated system 100. According to examples, the controller 110 may turn off the heat generating device 102 at the predefined temperature value 304 below the setpoint temperature 306, in which the predefined temperature value 304 may be defined based upon the amount of additional heating predicted to occur in the heated system 100 following the heat generating device 102 being turned off. The predefined temperature value 304 may be determined through empirical testing, through modeling, or the like, and may thus vary for different types of heated systems. By way of particular example, however, the predefined temperature may be between about 5° C. and about 15° C. below the setpoint temperature, although other temperatures may be implemented; wherein the temperature approach band is the band between the predetermined temperature and the setpoint temperature between which the temperature is controlled) “and the execution of the instruction further cause the processor to: provide a second amount of electrical energy to the heater” ([0013] Disclosed herein are heated systems, methods, and machine readable instructions that may control the temperature of a heated system during both a ramp up period and a steady-state period of the heated system that may prevent or minimize thermal overshoot caused by a heat generating device in the heated system. Particularly, a controller of a heated system disclosed herein may cause a full or high percentage of available power to be supplied to a heat generating device during the ramp up period and may cause a lower percentage of the available power to be supplied to the heat generating device during the steady-state period; [0072] At block 506, based on a determination that a detected temperature in the heated system 100 has reached a predefined temperature value 304 that is below the setpoint temperature 306, the controller 110 may reduce the supply of power to the heat generating device 102. As discussed herein, the predefined temperature value 304 may be below the setpoint temperature 306 by a certain amount, in which the certain amount may be based on a temperature increase that may be predicted to occur in the heated system 100 following deactivation of the heat generating device 102. Thus, for instance, by reducing the power supply to the heat generating device 102 prior to the temperature in the heated system 100 reaching the setpoint temperature, the temperature in the heated system 100 may be prevented from overshooting the setpoint temperature 306; wherein the reduced or zero power supplied after the ramp-up period is a second amount of electrical energy).
In regards to Claim 12, the combination of Yraceburu and Advantage teaches the system for controlling a heated process as incorporated by claim 11 above. Yraceburu further teaches “The system of claim 11, wherein the provision of the second amount of electrical energy to the heater is expected to maintain the heated process within the temperature approach band during the provision of the second amount of electrical energy” ([0015] the controller may control the control mechanism to perform feedback control over the power supplied to the heat generating device to cause the heat generating device to maintain the temperature in the heated system at or near, e.g., within a predefined accuracy level, the setpoint temperature during a steady-state period. [0028] The controller 110 may also stop 116 application of power to the heat generating device 102 upon making a determination that a detected temperature in the heated system 100 has reached the predefined temperature. That is, based on the received temperature measurement readings from the temperature sensor 104, the controller 110 may determine that the detected temperature has reached the predefined temperature and may turn off the heat generating device 102. The predefined temperature may be a set temperature that is below the setpoint temperature of the heated system 100 (or the belt 204). [0061] If execution of the PID control loop were to be started without providing the initial integral error term, a significant amount of undesirable temperature sag or overshoot may occur as the PID control loop constructs its own error term from scratch. If the initial integral error term applied by the PID control loop is too low, the heat generating device 102 temperature may sag and the PID control loop may calculate larger error terms and, thus, a larger resultant heat generating device 102 duty cycle. However, until the PID control can react, the heat generating device 102 temperature may sag. Conversely, if the initial integral error term applied is too high for the amount of heat already stored in the heat generating device 102 components, the heat generating device 102 temperature may overshoot the setpoint temperature 306 until the PID controller can adjust, which may take time since the nature of PID control relies on the error terms that are periodically calculated. [0063] The controller 110 may determine 122 that a predefined condition has occurred at some time following the heat generating device 102 being turned off, e.g., following the stoppage of power flow to the heat generating device when the detected temperature has reached the predefined temperature value 304. The occurrence of the predefined condition may trigger the control mechanism 106 to initiate the supply of power to the heat generating device 102 at the determined seeding value. The predefined condition may be, for instance, an expiration of a maximum wait time. The maximum wait time may be a user-defined period of time following the stoppage of the application of power to the heat generating device 116 based on the temperature reaching the predefined temperature value 304; wherein the steady state power is applied such that a seed value for the PID is selected such that overshoot of the target temperature is avoided and temperature is applied up to the determined temperature below the target temperature, thus the second energy is used to control between the band of the target temperature and the predetermined temperature that is the basis of the energy profile).
In regards to Claim 13 the combination of Yraceburu and Advantage teaches the system for controlling a heated process as incorporated by claim 11 above. Yraceburu further teaches “The system of claim 11, wherein the provision of the second amount of electrical energy to the heater is based on a temperature control model configured to maintain the temperature of the heater at a setpoint variable” ([0052] According to examples, the controller 110 may use the rate of temperature change to determine the seeding value, e.g., the initial value to be applied to the heat generating device 102 by the control mechanism 106, which may maintain the temperature at or near the setpoint temperature 306 in the heated system 100, e.g., within a predefined accuracy. The control mechanism 106 control phase may begin following occurrence of a predefined condition as discussed herein with the application to the heat generating device 102 of the seeding value. Thus, the control mechanism 106 control phase may not occur immediately following the stoppage of power delivered to the heat generating device 102 at the first power level, e.g., full power level. [0053] The seeding value may be the value applied to the control mechanism 106 to maintain the temperature in the heated system 100 at or near the setpoint temperature 306. By way of particular example, a second seeding value (e.g., an initial integral error term that gets preloaded to the PID control loop) may be calculated based on a first seeding value and the rate of temperature change, according to the formula: IIET=(IHDC−(Kp*Et)−(Kd*Ed))/K ; wherein the formula for determining the seeding values for the steady-state control are considered a model because a model is under the BRI just a mathematical formula/representation).
In regards to Claim 14 the combination of Yraceburu and Advantage teaches the system for controlling a heated process as incorporated by claim 9 above. Yraceburu further teaches “The system of claim 9, wherein the energy profile is based on a response time of the heater or the energy profile is based on gain values of a controller” ([0053] The seeding value may be the value applied to the control mechanism 106 to maintain the temperature in the heated system 100 at or near the setpoint temperature 306. By way of particular example, a second seeding value (e.g., an initial integral error term that gets preloaded to the PID control loop) may be calculated based on a first seeding value and the rate of temperature change, according to the formula: IIET=(IHDC−(Kp*Et)−(Kd*Ed))/Ki
Where [0054] IIET=initial integral error term [0055] IHDC=initial heater duty cycle [0056] Kp=proportional term gain constant (based on system characteristics) [0057] Kd=derivative term gain constant (based on system characteristics) [0058] Ki=integral term gain constant (based on system characteristics) [0059] Et=temperature error (=target temperature−dryer temperature) [0060] Ed=temperature derivative error (=rate of temperature change) [0061] If execution of the PID control loop were to be started without providing the initial integral error term, a significant amount of undesirable temperature sag or overshoot may occur as the PID control loop constructs its own error term from scratch. If the initial integral error term applied by the PID control loop is too low, the heat generating device 102 temperature may sag and the PID control loop may calculate larger error terms and, thus, a larger resultant heat generating device 102 duty cycle. However, until the PID control can react, the heat generating device 102 temperature may sag. Conversely, if the initial integral error term applied is too high for the amount of heat already stored in the heat generating device 102 components, the heat generating device 102 temperature may overshoot the setpoint temperature 306 until the PID controller can adjust, which may take time since the nature of PID control relies on the error terms that are periodically calculate; wherein the seeding value for the steady state control as the second energy applied after the ramp up energy is based on gain values of the PID connected to the heated process, which can be considered an additional term of the energy profile).
In regards to Claim 15 the combination of Yraceburu and Advantage teaches the system for controlling a heated process as incorporated by claim 9 above. Yraceburu further teaches “The system of claim 9, wherein the heated process is subjected to thermal load changes other than the provision of the one or more wattage to the heater for the portion of the quantity of time that affect the temperature of the heated process or the heated process is subjected to thermal system changes other than the provision of the one or more wattage to the heater for the portion of the quantity of time that affect the temperature of the heated process” ([0034] The heated system 100 has a thermal mass (the ability of matter to absorb and store heat energy), which may affect the rate of temperature change in the heated system 100 produced by the heat generating device 102. In some examples, the heat generating device 102 may not be a closed system, but instead may include a vent and a fan that expels some air from the interior of the heated system 100 and pulls in some fresh, ambient air. The higher the fan speed, the more air that is expelled, and the more ambient air that comes into the heated system 100. As the air that is expelled is heated air, more heat energy is lost from the heated system 100 at higher fan speeds than at lower fan speeds. This may also affect the rate of temperature change, causing the temperature to rise slower at a higher fan speed; wherein the air being expelled is a thermal load change process).
In regards to Claim 16 the combination of Yraceburu and Advantage teaches the system for controlling a heated process as incorporated by claim 9 above. Advantage further teaches “The system of claim 9, wherein the prediction that the first amount of electrical energy is sized to cause the temperature of the heated process to reach the target temperature is based on a correlation of the first amount of electrical energy and the target temperature, and the correlation is based on the energy profile” ([page 1] KW per hour = (mold weight x temperature rise x specific heat)/3412 is a formula that correlates the amount of electrical heat in kwh with the temperature rise from the current temperature to the target temperature and includes energy profile parameters of the heated process including the specific heat of the material and its weight under the BRI of an energy profile).
In regards to Claim 17, Yraceburu teaches “A method for controlling a first process of a heater and a second process of the heater” ([0013] Disclosed herein are heated systems, methods, and machine readable instructions that may control the temperature of a heated system during both a ramp up period and a steady-state period of the heated system that may prevent or minimize thermal overshoot caused by a heat generating device in the heated system. [0023] The heat generating device 102 may be a radiant heater, which may include a heating element 218.) “the method comprising: obtaining a target temperature” ([0026] the setpoint temperature may be a desired temperature or other pre-established temperature value appropriate for achieving a desired heat transfer behavior in the heated system 100 to condition media 202 that passes through the heated system 100. The controller 110 may directly control the supply of power to the heat generating device 102) “…a prediction that the first amount of electrical energy is sized to cause a temperature of a heated process to reach the target temperature wherein the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of one or more first wattage, the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of a first quantity of time that the one or more first wattage is applied to the heater, and the prediction is based on an energy profile associated with the heater” ([0013] Particularly, a controller of a heated system disclosed herein may cause a full or high percentage of available power to be supplied to a heat generating device during the ramp up period and may cause a lower percentage of the available power to be supplied to the heat generating device during the steady-state period. To reduce or minimize thermal overshoot, the controller may stop the supply of power to the heat generating device prior to the temperature in the heated system reaching a setpoint (e.g., target) temperature of the heated system. [0014] The heat generating device may continue to heat the heated system and thus, the temperature in the heated system may continue to rise following deactivation of the heat generating device. The predefined temperature may be based on the amount of temperature increase predicted or calculated to occur following deactivation of the heat generating device, e.g., following the ramp up period. In addition, the predefined temperature may be determined based on a rate of temperature change that occurred in the heated system during at least a portion of the ramp up period. The rate of temperature change may also be affected by the duration of time that has elapsed since a prior print job as discussed herein.) “and providing the one or more first wattage to the heater for a portion of the quantity of time” ([0013] a controller of a heated system disclosed herein may cause a full or high percentage of available power to be supplied to a heat generating device during the ramp up period; [0027] According to examples, the first power level may be a full power level (e.g., a 100% power level, a maximum power level, or the like), to cause the heated system 100 to reach the setpoint temperature in a shortest length of time. As a result, a delay in conditioning the media 202 caused by heating up the heated system 100 may be minimized. In any regard, the controller 110 may continuously or at set periods of time receive temperature measurement readings from the temperature sensor 104 as the temperature in the heated system 100 changes; wherein power in wattage is a well-known and obvious form of heater rating; wherein a ramp up period is a quantity of time, and the rated full power level is a wattage of the heater) “after the identifying the first amount of electrical energy, identifying a second amount of electrical energy” ([0037] Every time a job is completed, some amount of heat energy may be stored in the heated system 100. As more jobs are performed in a specified/given time period, e.g., a day, part of a day, etc., the heated system 100 may accumulate more energy (heat) that is stored in the system, which means that less energy (i.e., a lower duty cycle) may be employed to achieve the same setpoint temperature 306. As the delta temperature between the heated air and surrounding materials is lessened over time, the heat transfer into the surrounding materials slows down, and the rate of temperature change (dT/dt slope) increases. This is due, at least in part, because the heat energy transfer rate is proportional to the temperature difference between two objects—in this case, the heated system 100 and/or its air, and the surrounding components and materials. [0038] The controller 110 may determine 120, based on the calculated rate of change, a seeding value for the control mechanism 106 of the heat generating device 102. The seeding value may be an initial value that may be applied to the control mechanism 106 to maintain the temperature in the heated system 100 and/or the belt 204 at or near the setpoint temperature 306. That is, for instance, the control mechanism 106 may use the seeding value to control the amount of power initially supplied to the heat generating device 102 following the heat generating device 102 being turned off. The seeding value may thus be a value that corresponds to the amount of heat that the heat generating device 102 generates when first activated by the control mechanism 106; [0040] In one example, the piecewise-continuous function may be determined empirically by heating the heated system 100 from an initial temperature to a given setpoint temperature, recording the rate of temperature change at the point where the setpoint temperature is met or exceeded, and recording the duty cycle that kept the heated system 100 temperature at the setpoint temperature.) “based on a prediction that the second amount of electrical energy is sized to cause a temperature of a heated process to reach the target temperature wherein the second amount of electrical energy is indicative of one or more second wattage, the second amount of electrical energy is indicative of a second quantity of time that the one or more second wattage is applied to the heater, and the prediction is based on the energy profile associated with the heater” ([0030] should the heat generating device 102 be powered on until the setpoint temperature 306 has been reached, the temperature in the heated system 100 may likely overshoot the setpoint temperature 306. Such overshooting may cause damage to components in the heated system 100. According to examples, the controller 110 may turn off the heat generating device 102 at the predefined temperature value 304 below the setpoint temperature 306, in which the predefined temperature value 304 may be defined based upon the amount of additional heating predicted to occur in the heated system 100 following the heat generating device 102 being turned off. The predefined temperature value 304 may be determined through empirical testing, through modeling, or the like, and may thus vary for different types of heated systems; [0031] The controller 110 may calculate 118 a rate of change of the stored temperatures corresponding to a predefined period of time 308 prior to the application of power to the heat generating device 102 being stopped. That is, the controller 110 may store the detected temperatures (T) received from the temperature sensor 104 along with the times (t) at which the temperatures were detected or received and may calculate the rate of temperature change (dT/dt) from the stored temperatures and times. Particularly, the controller 110 may calculate the rate of temperature change for the predefined period of time 308, e.g., about 2 seconds, about 3 seconds, or the like, prior to the point in time at which the temperature in the heated system 100 was detected to have reached the predefined temperature value 304…[0038] The controller 110 may determine 120, based on the calculated rate of change, a seeding value for the control mechanism 106 of the heat generating device 102. The seeding value may be an initial value that may be applied to the control mechanism 106 to maintain the temperature in the heated system 100 and/or the belt 204 at or near the setpoint temperature 306.) “and
providing the one or more second wattage to the heater for a portion of the second quantity of time, wherein the first amount of electrical energy is different from the second amount of electrical energy” ([0048] The control mechanism 106 may control the operation of the heat generating device 102 over a length of time 310, e.g., may control the amount of power delivered to the heat generating device 102 after the temperature in the heated system 100 has reached or nearly reached the setpoint temperature 306. That is, the control mechanism 106 may vary the heat output from the heat generating device 102 as temperature in the heated system 100 fluctuates over the period of time 310. The temperature in the heated system 100 may fluctuate over time based on, for instance, retention and/or dissipation of heat by components in the heated system 100, which may vary depending upon the length of time between heating jobs performed in the heated system 100 or sheets of media passing through the heated system 100. [0049] According to examples, the control mechanism 106 may be a PID controller (proportional-integral-derivative control loop feedback mechanism) or other feedback controller that may receive detected temperatures from the temperature sensor 104 and may continuously vary the power output to the heat generating device 102 based upon the received temperatures to maintain the temperature in the heated system 100 around the setpoint temperature. That is, the control mechanism 106 may control the power delivery to the heat generating device 102 to maintain the temperature in the heated system 100 within a predefined accuracy based on detected temperatures in the heated system 100; wherein a varied power is not the same as full power during the ramp up period).
Yraceburu fails to teach “identifying a first amount of electrical energy based on a prediction that the first amount of electrical energy is sized to cause a temperature of a heated process to reach the target temperature wherein the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of one or more first wattage, the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of a first quantity of time that the one or more first wattage is applied to the heater, and the prediction is based on an energy profile associated with the heater; identifying a second amount of electrical energy based on a prediction that the second amount of electrical energy is sized to cause the temperature of the heated process to reach the target temperature wherein the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of one or more second wattage, the second amount of electrical energy is indicative of a second quantity of time that the one or more second wattage is applied to the heater, and the prediction is based on the energy profile associated with the heater”.
Advantage teaches “identifying a first amount of electrical energy based on a prediction that the first amount of electrical energy is sized to cause a temperature of a heated process to reach the target temperature wherein the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of one or more first wattage, the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of a first quantity of time that the one or more first wattage is applied to the heater, and the prediction is based on an energy profile associated with the heater; identifying a second amount of electrical energy based on a prediction that the second amount of electrical energy is sized to cause the temperature of the heated process to reach the target temperature wherein the first amount of electrical energy is indicative of one or more second wattage, the second amount of electrical energy is indicative of a second quantity of time that the one or more second wattage is applied to the heater, and the prediction is based on the energy profile associated with the heater” ([page 1] Heaters are selected by Kilowatt rating That is, the amount of heat energy introduced into the system, expressed in thousands of watts per hour.... To determine the process heat requirements the following formula is presented:
Determine the mold's weight. Do this by multiplying the outside dimensions to compute total cubic inches. Multiply this by the particular weight of the mold material.
Determine the mold's temperature rise. This is the difference between the non-operating (ambient) temperature and the setpoint temperature. It can be assumed the average ambient temperature is 70°F.
Determine the mold's specific heat value. The standard value for steel is .12 and for aluminum is .24. Other values are listed on Advantage FYI #108.
#Formula# KW per Hour = Mold Weight x Temperature Rise x Specific Heat/3412
KW Per Hour is the kilowatts required to bring the mold up to temperature within one hour. Select the nearest "standard" KW rating for the heat load. Example: a 7.5KW load would require a 9KW standard heater.
If a faster heat-up time is required, then the heater must be sized accordingly. For example, a 6KW load for one hour becomes a 12KW load for a half hour. Furthermore, a 4KW load for one hour becomes a 16KW load for 15 minutes. 45 minute heat-up : divide KW per hour by .75 30 minute heat-up : divide KW per hour by .50 15 minute heat-up : divide KW per hour by .25; Advantage teaches that the heat load formula for the heat capacity of a heated process is a formula for determining how much energy in Wh to apply based on energy profile characteristics of the heated process associated with the heater being used, such as the material properties of the material being administered with the heated process; Advantage further teaches that the relationship between the wattage of the heater and the time that wattage is applied are formulaic and can be determined from the formulas of Advantage).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the method for applying to a heater a fully rated power for a ramp up period and a variable amount of power in a steady-state control process to get a heated process heated by the heater up to a target temperature, with the use of a method for determining via a formula how much energy would be required to be consumed by a heater that operates at full power and variable power for first and second energy amounts in the form of a wattage within a desired amount of time to reach a target temperature on the basis of energy profile material properties, because it can be considered the use of a known technique for determining how much energy to apply to a heater for heating a heated process within a particular period of time and applying it to the heater for heating a heated process that operates at a full power that is applied for a portion of the first period and a variable power based on a PID that is applied in a second period in a known way that achieves predictable results. The invention is claimed such that the use of a heat load formula could be utilized for determining how much maximum energy to apply such as for the ramp up period of Yraceburu and the steady-state period of Yraceburu.
In regards to Claim 18, the combination of Yraceburu and Advantage teaches the method for controlling a heated process as incorporated by claim 17 above. Yraceburu further teaches “The method of claim 17, wherein the one or more first wattage and the first quantity of time are predicted to cause the temperature of the heated process to remain less than or equal to the target temperature for the quantity of time and the one or more first wattage and the first quantity of time are predicted to cause the temperature of the heated process to remain less than or equal to the target temperature based on the energy profile for the heater” ([0030] Due, for instance, to the configuration and the components of the heat generating device 102, the heat generating device 102 may continue to transfer heat for a period of time after the heat generating device 102 has been turned off. As a result, should the heat generating device 102 be powered on until the setpoint temperature 306 has been reached, the temperature in the heated system 100 may likely overshoot the setpoint temperature 306. Such overshooting may cause damage to components in the heated system 100. According to examples, the controller 110 may turn off the heat generating device 102 at the predefined temperature value 304 below the setpoint temperature 306, in which the predefined temperature value 304 may be defined based upon the amount of additional heating predicted to occur in the heated system 100 following the heat generating device 102 being turned off. The predefined temperature value 304 may be determined through empirical testing, through modeling, or the like, and may thus vary for different types of heated systems. By way of particular example, however, the predefined temperature may be between about 5° C. and about 15° C. below the setpoint temperature, although other temperatures may be implemented; wherein the use of the predefined temperature which can be considered a part of the energy profile, a target temperature is either reached or remained below because Yraceburu mentions that overshooting the target temperature would damage the process). It can further be considered that Advantage teaches this feature as values for steel, aluminum, or other material types would impact the calculation and thus different energy profiles for the types of materials in the heated process impact the prediction. “wherein the one or more second wattage and the second quantity of time are predicted to cause the temperature of the heated process to remain less than or equal to the target temperature for the second quantity of time and the one or more second wattage and the second quantity of time are predicted to cause the temperature of the heated process to remain less than or equal to the target temperature based on the energy profile for the heater” ([0048] The control mechanism 106 may control the operation of the heat generating device 102 over a length of time 310, e.g., may control the amount of power delivered to the heat generating device 102 after the temperature in the heated system 100 has reached or nearly reached the setpoint temperature 306. That is, the control mechanism 106 may vary the heat output from the heat generating device 102 as temperature in the heated system 100 fluctuates over the period of time 310. The temperature in the heated system 100 may fluctuate over time based on, for instance, retention and/or dissipation of heat by components in the heated system 100, which may vary depending upon the length of time between heating jobs performed in the heated system 100 or sheets of media passing through the heated system 100. [0049] According to examples, the control mechanism 106 may be a PID controller (proportional-integral-derivative control loop feedback mechanism) or other feedback controller that may receive detected temperatures from the temperature sensor 104 and may continuously vary the power output to the heat generating device 102 based upon the received temperatures to maintain the temperature in the heated system 100 around the setpoint temperature. That is, the control mechanism 106 may control the power delivery to the heat generating device 102 to maintain the temperature in the heated system 100 within a predefined accuracy based on detected temperatures in the heated system 100).
In regards to Claim 19, the combination of Yraceburu and Advantage teaches the method for controlling a heated process as incorporated by claim 17 above. Yraceburu further teaches “The method of claim 17, wherein the energy profile is based on a response time of the heater or the energy profile is based on gain values of a controller” ([0053] The seeding value may be the value applied to the control mechanism 106 to maintain the temperature in the heated system 100 at or near the setpoint temperature 306. By way of particular example, a second seeding value (e.g., an initial integral error term that gets preloaded to the PID control loop) may be calculated based on a first seeding value and the rate of temperature change, according to the formula: IIET=(IHDC−(Kp*Et)−(Kd*Ed))/Ki
Where [0054] IIET=initial integral error term [0055] IHDC=initial heater duty cycle [0056] Kp=proportional term gain constant (based on system characteristics) [0057] Kd=derivative term gain constant (based on system characteristics) [0058] Ki=integral term gain constant (based on system characteristics) [0059] Et=temperature error (=target temperature−dryer temperature) [0060] Ed=temperature derivative error (=rate of temperature change) [0061] If execution of the PID control loop were to be started without providing the initial integral error term, a significant amount of undesirable temperature sag or overshoot may occur as the PID control loop constructs its own error term from scratch. If the initial integral error term applied by the PID control loop is too low, the heat generating device 102 temperature may sag and the PID control loop may calculate larger error terms and, thus, a larger resultant heat generating device 102 duty cycle. However, until the PID control can react, the heat generating device 102 temperature may sag. Conversely, if the initial integral error term applied is too high for the amount of heat already stored in the heat generating device 102 components, the heat generating device 102 temperature may overshoot the setpoint temperature 306 until the PID controller can adjust, which may take time since the nature of PID control relies on the error terms that are periodically calculate; wherein the seeding value for the steady state control as the second energy applied after the ramp up energy is based on gain values of the PID connected to the heated process, which can be considered an additional term of the energy profile).
In regards to Claim 20 the combination of Yraceburu and Advantage teaches the method for controlling a heated process as incorporated by claim 17 above. Yraceburu further teaches “The method of claim 17, wherein the heated process is subjected to thermal load changes other than the provision of the one or more first wattage or the provision of the second wattage that affect the temperature of the heated process and causes the difference between the first amount of energy and the second amount of energy” ([0034] The heated system 100 has a thermal mass (the ability of matter to absorb and store heat energy), which may affect the rate of temperature change in the heated system 100 produced by the heat generating device 102. In some examples, the heat generating device 102 may not be a closed system, but instead may include a vent and a fan that expels some air from the interior of the heated system 100 and pulls in some fresh, ambient air. The higher the fan speed, the more air that is expelled, and the more ambient air that comes into the heated system 100. As the air that is expelled is heated air, more heat energy is lost from the heated system 100 at higher fan speeds than at lower fan speeds. This may also affect the rate of temperature change, causing the temperature to rise slower at a higher fan speed; wherein the air being expelled is a thermal load change process and whose influence would be understood to be different during a ramp up vs. steady state operation for maintaining at or below the setpoint temperature; [0035] Another factor that may affect the rate of temperature change may be the initial temperature of the heated system 100, the time when the ramp-up phase begins. The rate of temperature change during the period of time 308 is negatively proportional to a difference between the setpoint temperature 306 and a lower temperature of the heated system 100 at the time full power is applied to the heat generating device 102. In other words, the greater the difference between the setpoint temperature and a lower temperature of the heated system 100 at the time full power is applied to the heat generating device 102, the slower the rate of temperature change during the period of time 308. [0036] When the heated system 100 is first started after the heated system 100 has been idle for a length of time, the components in the heated system 100 may be at ambient temperature. As heat is applied by the heat generating device 102, the components inside and around the heated system 100 may absorb a portion of the heat energy from the air. This may slow down the rate at which the air temperature rises (i.e., the rate of temperature change), which, as discussed herein, may be used to determine the seeding value for use by the control mechanism 106. The heat generating device 102 heats up and starts heating the air and other components around it, but the air gives up energy into the surrounding components. This accounts, at least in part, for why the slope is shallower when heating from near ambient in temperature as compared to heating from nearer the setpoint temperature 306. [0037] Every time a job is completed, some amount of heat energy may be stored in the heated system 100. As more jobs are performed in a specified/given time period, e.g., a day, part of a day, etc., the heated system 100 may accumulate more energy (heat) that is stored in the system, which means that less energy (i.e., a lower duty cycle) may be employed to achieve the same setpoint temperature 306. As the delta temperature between the heated air and surrounding materials is lessened over time, the heat transfer into the surrounding materials slows down, and the rate of temperature change (dT/dt slope) increases. This is due, at least in part, because the heat energy transfer rate is proportional to the temperature difference between two objects—in this case, the heated system 100 and/or its air, and the surrounding components and materials.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN MICHAEL SKRZYCKI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2116