DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the width of the first exhaust zone and the width of the second exhaust zone being different” of claim 5, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are objected to because:
Claim 1, line 4, “the direction” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 1, line 5, “the back” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 1, line 6, “insulation” should apparently be -insulating- (see previous line) and “portions” is grammatically incorrect and should apparently be -portion-.
Claim 2, line 3, “the two exhaust zones” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 5, line 2, “the width of the first exhaust zone” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 5, lines 2-3, “the width of the second exhaust zone” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 6, lines 1-2, “an arc extinguishing device” should be -the arc extinguishing device-.
Claim 6, line 6, “the exhaust air” lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 5, the phrase, “the width of the first exhaust zone and the width of the second exhaust zone being different” is unclear and leaves doubts as to what is being referred to, since it is not defined how much the two widths are different and also there is no indication of a difference in width in the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muders et al, DE 102009056190 [Muders] in view of Oishi, JPS 6210831.
Regarding claim 1, Muders discloses (figs. 1-3) an arc extinguishing device (100) for a circuit-breaker, comprising
an arc splitter stack (3), the arc splitter stack comprising a plurality of extinguishing splitter plates (4) stacked on top of each other and being kept apart from each other in the direction of stacking, wherein:
an insulating rear plate (5) is fixed at the back of the arc splitter stack (3), the insulation rear plate (5) being subdivided into a first and a second vertical portions, each vertical portion comprising respectively a first and a second exhaust zone, each exhaust zone comprising one or more vents (6’, 6) facing spaces between two adjacent extinguishing splitter plates (4).
Muders fails to disclose the first exhaust zone being located in an upper part of the first portion, the second exhaust zone being located in a lower part of the second portion.
Oishi discloses (figs.1-2) a first exhaust zone (labeled in fig.2, below) being located in an upper part of a first portion, a second exhaust zone (labeled in fig.2, below) being located in a lower part of a second portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of the exhaust zones of Muders, with the teaching of the arrangement of the exhaust zones of Oishi, thereby providing arc gases that do not interfere with each other and do not flow backwards, so that the arc can be discharged smoothly; therefore the time it takes for the arc to be divided by the grid plate is shorted, and the current limiting and cutting characteristics are improved.
Regarding claim 2, Muders and Oishi further disclose the first and second exhaust zone (labeled in fig.2, above) being separated by a vertical partition wall (30) arranged to prevent exhaust air flow between the two exhaust zones (labeled in fig.2, above).
Regarding claim 3, Muders and Oishi further disclose where each vertical portion comprising respectively a first and a second insulation zone (labeled in fig.2, above):
the first insulation zone (labeled in fig.2, above) being located in a lower part of the first portion, below the first exhaust zone (labeled in fig.2, above),
the second insulation zone (labeled in fig.2, above) being located in an upper part of the second portion, above the second exhaust zone (labeled in fig.2, above).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muders and Oishi and further in view of Hannequin, EP4064307.
Regarding claim 4, Muders and Oishi fail to explicitly disclose the insulating rear plate comprising one or more positioning ribs adapted to be inserted between two adjacent extinguishing splitter plates.
Hannequin discloses (figs.1-5) a switching device (2) having an insulating rear plate comprising one or more positioning ribs (34, 36) adapted to be inserted between two adjacent extinguishing splitter plates (14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the rear plate of Muders, with the teaching of the rear plate of Hannequin, thereby serving to slow down the flow and balancing the pressure of the cutting gases and therefore improving the operation of the cutting chamber and the switching device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome claim objections, and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination, the claimed miniature circuit breaker comprising an arc extinguishing device to extinguish an electric arc generated in an arc extinguishing chamber, the miniature circuit breaker being adapted to direct the exhaust air outgoing from the first exhaust zone to the arc extinguishing chamber.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ferree, Meinders, Mortenson et al, Boehn and Wood are examples of arc extinguishing devices configured similar to the present invention.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/WILLIAM A BOLTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833