DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed July 1, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1-18 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10-13, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown in view of Frieberger and in further view of US 11328562 (hereinafter “Smart”).
Regarding claim 1, Brown discloses a claw machine that has
a machine body (Fig. 1, 10) including a base (Fig. 1, bottom half of 10) that has a prize outlet passage (Fig. 1, 30) and a cabinet (Fig. 1, 12) that is disposed on and above said base and that defines an inner space (Fig. 1, 16) in spatial communication with the prize outlet passage, the inner space having a start zone and a game field (Para. 0190, claw starts in one area and moves to another for play);
a setting module (Fig. 1, components of interior 16 – for example 32, 34, and 38) disposed in the game field of the inner space, and including at least one divider (Fig. 1, wall of 38 or 40.3) that partitions the game field of the inner space into a plurality of game compartments (Fig. 1, 32, 34, Para. 0128), the game compartments being in spatial communication with the prize outlet passage;
a claw (Fig. 1A, 58) disposed in the inner space, and movable within the inner space; and
a control device (Fig. 1, 18) disposed on said machine body, and including a coin module that has a coin slot (Fig. 1, 26) and that is configured to generate a start signal upon detecting a coin put into the coin slot (Para. 004), an operating interface (Fig. 1, 24) that is operable to move said claw and to generate a grab signal for making said claw to perform a grabbing action,
when said claw is in one of the game compartments, execute the play mode for one time in the one of the game compartments (Para. 0196), the play mode including a step of allowing said claw to move, by operating said operating interface, only within the one of the game compartments (Para. 0190, playing area 32),
upon receiving the grab signal, control said claw to perform the grabbing action (Para. 0192, “drop” button),
and after the grabbing action is completed, control said claw sequentially to move to a position above the prize outlet passage, and to open,
determine whether a prize is successfully grabbed in the one of the game compartments,
in response to determining that no prize is successfully grabbed in the open of the game compartments, control said claw to move to another one of the game compartments (Para. 0196 and Para. 0192).
While Brown also discloses the machine can control said claw to move from the start zone to one of the game compartments (Para. 0190), it does not expressly say this is done by a processing unit that is electrically connected to said coin module and said operating interface, said processing unit being configured to upon receiving the start signal from said coin module. However, Frieberger in the analogous art of claw machines, discloses using a processor to receive and transmit signals between the human interface (including coin slot) and gantry assembly (including claw) (Fig. 1, 12 and Pg. 6 line 24 – Pg. 7 line 5). Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a processor to have the claw and control module communicate as a means of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Further, market pressures would have prompted a person of ordinary skill to use modern electronics (i.e. a processing unit) in the prior art device. See MPEP 2143 – Leapfrog Enters., Inc. v. Fisher-Price, Inc., 485 F.3d 1157, 82 USPQ2d 1687 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
Brown does not disclose that each compartment corresponds to one time of execution of play mode, since the second playing area (34) allows for multiple grab attempts. However, the first playing area (32) only allows for one time of execution (Para. 0196). The court has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In the instant case, repeating the method of each compartment having only one execution of play mode would yield the expected result of the player potentially not winning a prize. This would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, as giving only one chance in a compartment is a traditional play mode for claw machines. One would be motivated to make this modification to Brown’s claw machine in order to make the game more challenging and reduce cost of refilling the prizes. See MPEP 2144 – In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Additionally, Brown states in para. 038, “The determined outcome can be a failure to win a prize during a game session”, suggesting that one could have a mode with limited times of play executions.
Brown does not explicitly state in response to determining that a prize is successfully grabbed in the one of the game compartments, control said claw to move to the start zone. Smart discloses an analogous game wherein if the user is successful in grabbing a prize, the crane will lift the prize and then return to the start position (Col. 8, lines 44-46). Thus, this mode of operation is well known in the field and would be within the level of ordinary skill for a person in the art. Further, one would be motivated to make the claw return to the start to standardize beginning play position and keep the game fair.
Regarding claim 8, modified Brown further discloses the game compartments (Brown, Fig. 1, 32, 34) are arranged along a first direction (Brown, Para. 069 “arranged adjacent”).
Regarding claim 10, modified Brown further discloses that the setting module further includes a separator (Brown, Fig. 1, wall of 38 or 40.3) defining a bonus compartment (Brown, Fig. 1, 36) that is within the game field of the inner space and that is outside of the game compartments,
wherein said claw machine further comprises a bonus gaming module (Brown, Fig. 1, 42, 44, 46) that is disposed in the bonus compartment, that is electrically connected to said processing unit, and that is configured to be controlled by said processing unit (Frieberger, Fig. 1, 12 – reasons for combination of prior art as stated in claim 1) to perform a bonus game for a bonus prize, and
wherein when said claw is in one of the game compartments that is adjacent to the bonus compartment, said processing unit, is further configured to
control said claw to perform the grabbing action upon receiving the grab signal, and
after the grabbing action is completed, control said claw sequentially to move to the bonus compartment, to open, and then to move back to the start zone (Brown, Para. 0192).
Regarding claim 11, modified Brown further discloses that the bonus gaming module includes a motion unit (Brown, Fig. 1, 42) that is configured to be controlled by said processing unit (Frieberger, Fig. 1, 12 – reasons for combination as stated supra in claim 1) to operate in the bonus game.
Regarding claim 12, modified Brown further discloses that the bonus gaming module further includes a processing module (Brown, Para. 0127 and Frieberger, Fig. 1, 12), and that is configured to determine whether to output the bonus prize (Brown, Para. 0196). This is merely how a processor integrates and controls movements of elements during operation based on receiving information including signals from sensed conditions and it is the examiner’s position that the modified Brown would rely on the processing means of Frieberger to determine when to output or release a bonus prize.
Regarding claims 13, 15, and 17, modified Brown further discloses the game compartments (Brown, Fig. 1, 32, 34) are arranged along a first direction, and the bonus compartment (Brown, Fig. 1, 36) is adjacent to one of the game compartments along a first direction (Brown, Para. 069 “arranged adjacent”).
Claims 9, 14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown in view Frieberger and Smart, and in further view of JP 2010284276 (hereinafter “Takasugi”).
Regarding claims 9, 14, 16, and 18, while modified Brown discloses the prize outlet passage (Brown, Fig. 1, 30) is located on one side of the game field, it does not necessarily disclose that it is along a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction, and has an upper end that is adjacent to the game field along the second direction and that is formed with an opening. Takasugi, in the analogous art of claw machine games, discloses a prize outlet that runs in a second direction perpendicular to the game field compartment (Fig. 1, 3) with an upper end (Fig. 1, 13) and an opening (Fig. 1, 15). Takasugi cites that this design allows for a grabbed prize to fall into the prize slot even if it is not accurately placed in the slot (Para. 0030). Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a prize outlet configuration such as Takasugi’s to have a greater margin of error for getting the grabbed prize into the prize outlet. Additionally, this configuration is a known means of prize disposal in claw machine games.
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown in view Frieberger and Smart, and in further view of CN 107198874 (hereinafter “Che”).
Regarding claim 2, modified Brown discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Though Brown discloses having sensors in the area equivalent of the setting module (Brown, Para. 0160, setting module being components of the interior 16), it does not disclose that they are configured to detect a position of said claw and to send, to said processing unit, a position signal indicating which one of the game compartments said claw is currently located in. However, Frieberger discloses that sensors may be used at various locations of the claw machine to sense various parameters (Pg. 6, lines 19-23). Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use position sensors to monitor the position of the claw in Brown’s design.
Neither Brown nor Frieberger disclose the adjusting of a gaming parameter related to the grabbing action according to the one of the game compartments indicated by the position signal, and the gaming parameter has a plurality of values corresponding respectively to the game compartments. Che, in the analogous claw machine art, discloses a multi-compartment claw machine that has different grip capture probabilities depending on area the claw is in (Summary of the Invention). This is advantageous because it “activates the playing interest of the user” and “can reduce the cost of the game provider” (Summary of the Invention). Thus, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to change claw parameters to increase variety and amusement from the game.
Regarding claim 6, modified Brown further discloses the game compartments (Brown, Fig. 1, 32, 34) are arranged along a first direction (Brown, Para. 069 “arranged adjacent”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown in view Frieberger, Smart, and Che, and in further view of Takasugi.
Regarding claim 7, while modified Brown discloses the prize outlet passage (Brown, Fig. 1, 30) is located on one side of the game field, it does not necessarily disclose that it is along a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction, and has an upper end that is adjacent to the game field along the second direction and that is formed with an opening. Takasugi discloses a prize outlet that runs in a second direction perpendicular to the game field compartment (Fig. 1, 3) with an upper end (Fig. 1, 13) and an opening (Fig. 1, 15). Using this configuration for a prize outlet would be considered obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art. See more detailed explanation and reasons for combination in response to claim 9 supra.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown in view Frieberger, Smart, and Che, and in further view of JP 2005312926 (hereinafter “Watanabe”).
Regarding claim 3, modified Brown discloses a changeable gaming parameter (Che, Summary of the Invention), but does not disclose that the parameter is specifically gripping force of the claw. Watanabe, in an analogous art, discloses a method for changing difficulty of prize acquisition by adjusting gripping force as a parameter (Description, Para. 0004). Thus, it would be obvious that the gaming parameter affecting capture probability could be grip force, as this is a known means of adjusting game difficulty.
Regarding claim 4, modified Brown further discloses the game compartments (Brown, Fig. 1, 32, 34) are arranged along a first direction (Brown, Para. 069 “arranged adjacent”).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown in view Frieberger, Smart, Che, and Watanabe and in further view of Takasugi.
Regarding claim 5, while modified Brown discloses the prize outlet passage (Brown, Fig. 1, 30) is located on one side of the game field, it does not necessarily disclose that it is along a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction, and has an upper end that is adjacent to the game field along the second direction and that is formed with an opening. Takasugi discloses a prize outlet that runs in a second direction perpendicular to the game field compartment (Fig. 1, 3) with an upper end (Fig. 1, 13) and an opening (Fig. 1, 15). Using this configuration for a prize outlet would be considered obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art. See more detailed explanation and reasons for combination in response to claim 9 supra.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Amended limitation of “game compartments each corresponding to one time of execution of a play mode” is addressed in the prior art rejection supra.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3711 /EUGENE L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711