Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/15/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hald et al. (US 20220037692 A1) hereinafter referred to as Hald.
Regarding Claim 1, Hald teaches a power storage cell comprising:
a wound electrode body that includes an electrode sheet and a separator, and a case that accommodates the wound electrode body, wherein: the wound electrode body is wound such that the electrode sheet and the separator surround a winding axis; a cylindrical housing and a wound composite body helically wound around a winding axis where at least two electrode strips have a separator strip arranged between them ([0017-0019]).
the wound electrode body includes an outer peripheral surface on which a bulging portion is formed; in producing a wound composite body that has a local defect (analogous to bulge) spatially assigned to the deviation of the winding core ([0028]).
the case includes an inner peripheral surface that faces the outer peripheral surface; and a recessed portion is provided on the inner peripheral surface at a position facing the bulging portion. the housing case has an inner housing lateral surface that delimits the interior to the outside ([0018]) and a depression 53 in which the wall thickness of the casing is reduced to compensate for irregularities or defects in the outer region of the composite body (Fig.5; [0174]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hald as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ueda et al. (JP-2022152423-A, citations from enclosed machine translation), hereinafter referred to as Ueda.
Regarding Claim 2, Hald teaches the bulging portion is formed so as to extend in an axial direction of the wound electrode body; where the winding core has a local deviation (Figs. 1-4) in at least one region of the outer circumferential surface ([0024]) and the winding is carried out so the local defect (analogous structure to a bulge) in the structure is spatially assigned to the deviation of the winding core ([0028]) and is further illustrated by the edges of the conductor aligning with the bulges on the peripheral of the composite body in Fig. 1 ([0163]). Hald further teaches that the deviation resulting in either the reduction and/or expansion of the outer diameter extends axially over the entire height of the winding core ([0069]). Hald does teach a recessed, open portion of the inner peripheral surface of the case in which the bulge is assigned to as mentioned above (Figs. 5) and how to orient the deviation by leaving a channel open (Fig.7; 71 & 76) by implementing a strip-like insert that rests against the inner side of the housing ([0177]).
However, Hald does not explicitly teach the recessed portion includes a groove portion provided so as to extend along the bulging portion, only that the recessed portion extends axially to orient with the defect caused by winding core deviation as mentioned above and is illustrated in the x-ray of the button cell in Fig. 1 where bulges 7 and 8 spatially orient to the edges of the edges of the conductor 4 ([0163]).
Ueda teaches this limitation, including multiple orientations (Figs. 1-2 & 3-4) to compensate a bulge caused by tape in both: a circumferential orientation, 39, (Fig. 2; [0030]) and a portion of the circumferential direction, 139, (Fig. 5; [0057]). Ueda further teaches circumferential recesses (analogous to grooves), 45, (Fig. 2; [0031]) on the inner circumferential surface of the can and a non-annular recess, 145, (Fig. 5; [0057]) on the inner portion of the can to secure and support the bulges caused by the tape. A skilled artisan would be able to either; change the orientation of the circumferential recesses or to narrow and extend the non-annular recess to extend axially and align with a bulge formed by the winding core or other defect in the compound body to alleviate the load caused by said defect.
Regarding Claim 3, Hald teaches all the limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose tape to secure the outer winding body or any bulge formed as a result.
Ueda teaches this limitation the power storage cell according to claim 1, wherein: the outer peripheral surface includes a terminal portion of winding of the wound electrode body; the wound electrode body includes a tape attached to the terminal portion so as to maintain the wound electrode body in a wound state; the bulging portion is formed by the tape; and the recessed portion is provided at a position facing the tape as mention in regards to claim 2 as a bulging component; including the positioning of the tape and the addition of recesses for the tape/bulge. Ueda further teaches that the portion of the electrode that the tape is attached to is subject to greater pressure from the outer casing ([0004]) and by providing a recess in the cylindrical outer casing that orients with the tape or bulging portion where the portion of tape can be housed, solves the problem ([0006]).
Further both Hald and Ueda are considered analogous in the art as both inventions are directed to composite (electrode and separator layered) wound electrodes in cylindrical cases. Further both inventions teach where the increased load caused by the electrochemical cycle is focused on a bulging portion of the case and can be alleviated by the addition of a grooved portion of the case for the bulge is housed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art in both claims to modify the shape and proportion of the recesses in the casing of Ueda to partially house the bulge caused by axially aligned protrusion on the outer circumference of the winding body of Hald to reduce the local load.
Claims 4, 5 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hald as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kang et al. (KR-20200027337-A, citations from enclosed machine translation), hereinafter referred to as Kang.
Regarding Claim 4, Hald teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above and further teaches that the separator strips can be attached to the winding core by welding or an adhesive ([0167]).
Hald doesn’t teach wherein the bulging portion is formed by an adhesive material applied between the outer peripheral surface and the recessed portion but does teach that defects (bulges) on the outer peripheral edge of the wound body are spatially orientated with deviations on the winding body as discussed above.
Kang does teach this limitation, where the negative electrode tab has a groove, 333, formed on the inside of the battery case that corresponds to the size and shape of said tab (Fig. 5; [0067]) where an adhesive material for fixing/increasing the bonding strength of the groove and to limit excessive movement of the electrode assembly (0070) and the side portion itself can be fixed by an adhesive material while seated in a groove formed on the side of the battery case (0072). Kang teaches “A person skilled in the art to which this invention pertains will be able to perform various applications and modifications within the scope of this invention based on the above content.” (0073) which includes an axially oriented bulge due to the defect caused by the tab and the adhesive material used to affix the bulge in the groove or recessed portion of a battery case and extend it along the height.
Regarding Claim 5, Hald teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and the power storage cell according to claim 4, wherein: the outer peripheral surface includes a terminal portion of winding of the wound electrode body; the defects, 7 & 8, are situated in the outer region of the wound composite body and correlate to the end cathodic electrode strip and anode current collector, respectively.
Hald doesn’t teach and the adhesive material is applied between the recessed portion provided at a position facing the terminal portion and the outer peripheral surface only that the coordination of the depression, 53, or opening of the strip-like insert, 76, to the defect on the outer peripheral surface of the composite body as discussed above.
Kang teaches the limitations of claim 4 as discussed above (¶ 21) which includes the inclusion of the adhesive material in the interface of a groove and a side as Kang specifies that the cylindrical battery case, 30, can also include a groove, 433, that is formed on the side surface, 431, of the case to accommodate a negative electrode tab (0048). Kang teaches that the adhesive material can further serve the invention by including a conductive material if needed (0072). A skilled artisan would find it obvious to add the adhesive material to an axial recess and bulge extending axially along the height of the winding to secure the battery in place and to serve as an electrical connection if needed.
Regarding Claim 6, Hald teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein: the electrode sheet includes a sheet-like current collector, where at least two electrode strips, each having a strip-like current collector with an active material coating on both sides with the separator strip arranged between the strips ([0148)].
Hald doesn’t teach the bulging portion is formed by the tab lead; and the recessed portion is positioned radially outward of the wound electrode body with respect to the tab lead only again the bulges in the outer periphery of the composite body can be caused by inclusions (defects or otherwise) in the wound body or from the core itself (Figs. 1-4).
Kang teaches a tab lead that projects in an axial direction of the wound electrode body from the current collector specifically, the positive tab, 121, of an electrode assembly is formed with an upwardly protruding structure and is coupled to the lower surface of a cap assembly so the cap serves as a positive terminal (Fig. 1; 0035, 0042). Kang is silent on the bulging portion is formed by the tab lead; but the teachings of Hald reinforces that the bulge can be created by inclusions and defects in the inner periphery of the cell winding and a recessed groove on the casing is necessary to alleviate the load placed on said defect. Once modified by Kang, Hald then does teach the recessed portion is positioned radially outward of the wound electrode body with respect to the tab lead as discussed above where the recessed portion is positioned against the defect in the outer periphery of the composite body to alleviate the load placed on the composite body during the electrochemical cycle and would extend to a tab lead interposed between winding layers.
Further, both Hald and Kang are considered analogous in the art as both inventions are directed towards wound composite energy storage devices inside of cases with grooves for terminal portions to be partially housed in.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the prior elements Hald: 1) composite body defects and 2) adhesive material to secure peripheral leads. To a notch or groove of Kang as Hald already disclosed using the adhesive material to secure the interior of the electrode strips to the winding core and changing the order of steps (securing one end versus the other) would be well within experimentation. As well as to extend the groove or depression of the side portion (Kang 0072) axially along the composite body axis as taught by Kang to orient with the axial bulge along the height of the core formed by either the adhesive material along the terminal portion of the sheet or the inclusion of the tab as taught by Hald. As the change in shape of the groove to extend axially and work with the recess would be obvious to try and as Kang disclosed a skilled artisan would be able to perform modifications with the scope of a wound layered cell in a cylindrical case with protruding tab leads and adhesive components.
Conclusion
/WAYNE WALTER VIGIL/Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748