DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 09/10/2026. The previous objections to the drawings have been withdrawn. Furthermore, the previous 35 USC 112 rejections have also been withdrawn. Claims 1-5, 7, 15, 17-19, 21-26, and 28-31 remain pending for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the third temperature of the cell” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “the third temperature of the cell” will be interpreted as -- a third temperature of the cell --
Regarding claim 21, the claim recites “a shape of at least a portion of the wall” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 1 from which the claim depends previously disclosed “a first tray configured to define at least a portion of a wall”. Therefore, it is unclear if the disclosed “portion of the wall” of claim 21 is referring to the previously disclosed “portion of a wall” of claim 1 or to an entirely different portion of the wall. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 23, the claim recites “a shape of at least a portion of the wall” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 15 from which the claim depends previously disclosed “a first tray configured to define at least a portion of a wall”. Therefore, it is unclear if the disclosed “portion of the wall” of claim 23 is referring to the previously disclosed “portion of a wall” of claim 15 or to an entirely different portion of the wall. More clarity is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertolini et al. (US 20190293335 A1, herein after referred to as Bertolini), in view of Chandrashekaran et al. (US 20190120534 A1, herein after referred to as Chandrashekaran), and in further view of Yoshikazu (JPH06273014A).
Regarding claim 1, Bertolini teaches an ice maker (automatic spherical ice maker 18 Fig. 2), comprising: a cell (mold M1 Fig. 5A) in which a liquid (disclosed “water” in paragraph [0050]) is phase-changed into ice (spherical ice balls IB Fig. 8); a first tray (upper stationary ice mold 30 Fig. 4) configured to define at least a portion (upper wall forming mold M1 Fig. 5A) of a wall (upper and lower walls forming mold M1 Fig. 5A) for providing the cell (Fig. 5A); a second tray (lower rotatable ice mold 40 Fig. 4) configured to define at least another portion of the wall (lower wall forming mold M1 Fig. 5A) for providing the cell (Fig. 5A); a temperature sensor (thermistor T Fig. 4); a driver (drive motor 50 Fig. 4) connected to the second tray (Fig. 3) and providing power to the second tray (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0061]); a first heater (first heating element 72 Fig. 4) and a second heater (second heating element 72' Fig. 4) configured to supply heat to at least one of the first tray or the second tray (paragraph [0052]); an ice making process (disclosed “ice production mode” in paragraph [0061]) at an ice making position (corresponds to the position of lower rotatable ice mold 40 illustrated in Fig. 2) where the second tray is in contact with the first tray in order to form the ice in the cell (paragraph [0061] and Fig. 2), and an ice separation process (disclosed “ice harvesting mode” in paragraph [0061]) in which the second tray is spaced apart from the first tray to separate the ice from the cell (paragraph [0061]), the ice separation process including a step to turn on the second heater (paragraph [0061]).
Bertolini teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the ice maker comprising: a first tray case formed as a separate component to the first tray and provided at one side of the first tray; a first tray cover disposed outside of the wall for providing the cell of the first tray; the temperature sensor installed in the first tray case; wherein the first tray includes a portion disposed between the first tray case and the first tray cover”.
However, Chandrashekaran teaches an ice maker (the ice maker illustrated in Fig. 16 corresponds to the icemaker of Bertolini) comprising: a first tray case (bracket cover 76 Fig. 16) formed as a separate component to a first tray (Fig. 16 where ice tray 40 corresponds to the first tray of Bertolini) and provided at one side of the first tray (corresponds to the top side of ice tray 40 Fig. 16); a first tray cover (air channel 80 Fig. 16) disposed outside of a wall (perimeter wall 28 Fig. 6B corresponds to the wall of Bertolini) for providing a cell of the first tray (Fig. 25 where ice well 42 corresponds to the portion of the cell of Bertolini); a temperature sensor (thermistor 78 Fig. 16 corresponds to the temperature sensor of Bertolini) installed in the first tray case (Fig. 16); wherein the first tray includes a portion (corresponds to the upper portion of ice tray 40 Fig. 24) disposed between the first tray case and the first tray cover (Fig. 24) to accommodate both the heater and the temperature sensor (paragraph [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Bertolini to include “the ice maker comprising: a first tray case formed as a separate component to the first tray and provided at one side of the first tray; a first tray cover disposed outside of the wall for providing the cell of the first tray; the temperature sensor installed in the first tray case; wherein the first tray includes a portion disposed between the first tray case and the first tray cover” in view of the teachings of Chandrashekaran to accommodate both the heater and the temperature sensor.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the ice maker comprising: a controller configured to perform the ice making process and perform the ice separation process, wherein the controller is configured to: after a liquid supply is completed, turn on the first heater when the controller determines that a temperature of the cell sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a turn-on reference temperature, the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed, turn off the first heater when the controller determines that a first turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied, and start the ice separation process after the first heater is turned off”.
However, Yoshikazu teaches an ice maker (the ice maker illustrated in Fig. 4 corresponds to the ice maker of Bertolini) comprising: a controller (microcomputer 51 Fig. 5) configured to perform an ice making process (paragraphs [0013] and [0014] where the disclosed “ice-making process” corresponds to that of Bertolini) and perform an ice separation process (the described “ice removal process” in paragraphs [0016] and [0017] corresponds to the ice separation process of Bertolini), wherein the controller is configured to: after a liquid supply (corresponds to the disclosed “water supply process” described in paragraph [0013]) is completed (paragraph [0013]), turn on a first heater (paragraph [0014] where lid heater 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the first heater of Bertolini) when the controller determines that a temperature (corresponds to the temperature detected by temperature sensor 37 Fig. 4 as described in paragraph [0013]) of a cell (block 9 Fig. 2 corresponds to the cell of Bertolini) sensed by a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 37 Fig. 4 corresponds to that of Bertolini) reaches a turn-on reference temperature (corresponds to the disclosed “water supply completion temperature” in paragraph [0013]), the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed (paragraph [0014] where there is a step in between the completion of the water supply and the energization of lid heater 20), turn off the first heater when the controller determines that a first turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied (corresponds to when step S8 Fig. 6 which is turning off pulse motor 23 is completed as described in paragraph [0015]), and start the ice separation process after the first heater is turned off (paragraphs [0016] to [0017]) to remove air bubbles contained in the water (paragraph [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the ice maker comprising: a controller configured to perform the ice making process and perform the ice separation process, wherein the controller is configured to: after a liquid supply is completed, turn on the first heater when the controller determines that a temperature of the cell sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a turn-on reference temperature, the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed, turn off the first heater when the controller determines that a first turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied, and start the ice separation process after the first heater is turned off” in view of the teachings of Yoshikazu to remove air bubbles contained in the water.
Further, it is understood, claim 1 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configure to...”. The Applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach wherein the first turn-off condition of the first heater in the ice making process is different from a condition to determine that the ice making process is completed (paragraph [0015] of Yoshikazu where ice completion is determined when the temperature falls below the “ice making completion temperature”).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach wherein the controller is configured to determine that the ice making process is completed, based on the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor (paragraph [0015] of Yoshikazu).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach wherein the turn-on reference temperature of the first heater in the ice making process is below zero degrees Celsius (disclosed “-9.5°C” in paragraph [0012] of Yoshikazu).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach wherein the controller is configured to turn off the second heater (paragraph [0016] and Fig. 4 of Yoshikazu where tray heater 33 corresponds to the second heater of Bertolini) when the temperature of the cell sensed by the temperature sensor reaches an off-reference temperature (corresponds to a temperature of “0°C or higher” as described in paragraph [0016] of Yoshikazu) in the ice separation process (paragraph [0016] of Yoshikazu).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach a refrigerator (refrigerator appliance 10 Fig. 1 of Bertolini) comprising the ice maker (Fig. 1 of Bertolini).
Regarding claim 21, the combined teachings teach wherein the first tray cover is provided with an opening (corresponds to the bottom opening of bracket cover 76 Fig. 24 of Chandrashekaran) corresponding to a shape (corresponds to the shape of ice tray perimeter 28 Figs. 6B and 24 of Chandrashekaran) of at least a portion of the wall (corresponds to ice tray perimeter 28 Figs. 6B and 24 of Chandrashekaran) for providing the cell of the first tray, the first tray cover being spaced apart from the cell (Fig. 24 of Chandrashekaran).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertolini in view of Chandrashekaran and Yoshikazu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ito et al. (JP2005326035A, herein after referred to as Ito).
Regarding claim 22, the combined teachings teach further comprising a bracket (component 82 Fig. 16 of Chandrashekaran), and wherein the first tray case is manufactured as a separate part from the bracket (Fig. 16 of Chandrashekaran) and then is coupled to the bracket (Fig. 16 of Chandrashekaran).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein each component of the ice maker is provided inside or outside the bracket”.
However, Ito teaches wherein each component of an ice maker (corresponds to the all the components of the ice maker illustrated in Fig. 5 where the illustrated ice maker corresponds to the ice maker of Bertolini) is provided inside a bracket (Fig. 5 rotating housing 13 corresponds to the bracket of Chandrashekaran) to house the ice maker (Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein each component of the ice maker is provided inside or outside the bracket” in view of the teachings of Ito to house the ice maker.
Claims 15, 17-19, 23, and 31are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertolini, in view of Chandrashekaran, in view of Yoshikazu, and in further view of Song et al. (US 20200340726 A1, herein after referred to as Song).
Regarding claim 15, Bertolini teaches an ice maker (automatic spherical ice maker 18 Fig. 2), comprising: a cell (mold M1 Fig. 5A) in which a liquid (disclosed “water” in paragraph [0050]) is phase-changed into ice (spherical ice balls IB Fig. 8); a first tray (upper stationary ice mold 30 Fig. 4) configured to define at least a portion (upper wall forming mold M1 Fig. 5A) of a wall (upper and lower walls forming mold M1 Fig. 5A) for providing the cell (Fig. 5A); a second tray (lower rotatable ice mold 40 Fig. 4) configured to define at least another portion of the wall (lower wall forming mold M1 Fig. 5A) for providing the cell (Fig. 5A); a temperature sensor (thermistor T Fig. 4); a driver (drive motor 50 Fig. 4) connected to the second tray (Fig. 3) and providing power to the second tray (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0061]); a first heater (first heating element 72 Fig. 4) and a second heater (second heating element 72' Fig. 4) configured to supply heat to at least one of the first tray or the second tray (paragraph [0052]); an ice making process (disclosed “ice production mode” in paragraph [0061]) at an ice making position (corresponds to the position of lower rotatable ice mold 40 illustrated in Fig. 2) where the second tray is in contact with the first tray in order to form the ice in the cell (paragraph [0061] and Fig. 2), an ice separation process (disclosed “ice harvesting mode” in paragraph [0061]) in which the second tray is spaced apart from the first tray to separate the ice from the cell (paragraph [0061]), start the ice making process in a state (paragraph [0061] and Fig. 2) in which the second tray moves to the ice making position (Fig. 2), the ice separation process including a step (paragraph [0061]) to turn on the second heater.
Bertolini teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the ice maker comprising: a first tray case formed as a separate component to the first tray and provided at one side of the first tray; the temperature sensor installed in the first tray case; the second heater being installed on the first tray case”.
However, Chandrashekaran teaches an ice maker (the ice maker illustrated in Fig. 16 corresponds to the icemaker of Bertolini) comprising: a first tray case (bracket cover 76 Fig. 16) formed as a separate component to a first tray (Fig. 16 where ice tray 40 corresponds to the first tray of Bertolini) and provided at one side of the first tray (corresponds to the top side of ice tray 40 Fig. 16); a temperature sensor (thermistor 78 Fig. 16 corresponds to the temperature sensor of Bertolini) installed in the first tray case (Fig. 16); a second heater (heater 72 Fig. 16 corresponds to the second heater of Bertolini) being installed on the first tray case (Fig. 16) to accommodate both the heater and the temperature sensor (paragraph [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Bertolini to include “the ice maker comprising: a first tray case formed as a separate component to the first tray and provided at one side of the first tray; the temperature sensor installed in the first tray case; the second heater being installed on the first tray case” in view of the teachings of Chandrashekaran to accommodate both the heater and the temperature sensor.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the ice maker comprising: a controller configured to perform the ice making process and perform the ice separation process, wherein the controller is configured to: start the ice making process after a liquid supply is completed, determine that a turn-on condition of the first heater is satisfied when a first temperature of the cell sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a turn-on reference temperature, turn on the first heater when the controller determines that the turn-on condition of the first heater is satisfied, the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed, turn off the first heater when the controller determines that a turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied, and start the ice separation process after the first heater is turned off”.
However, Yoshikazu teaches an ice maker (the ice maker illustrated in Fig. 4 corresponds to the ice maker of Bertolini) comprising: a controller (microcomputer 51 Fig. 5) configured to perform an ice making process (paragraphs [0013] and [0014] where the disclosed “ice-making process” corresponds to that of Bertolini) and perform an ice separation process (the described “ice removal process” in paragraphs [0016] and [0017] corresponds to the ice separation process of Bertolini), wherein the controller is configured to: start the ice making process after a liquid supply (corresponds to the disclosed “water supply process” described in paragraph [0013]) is completed (paragraph [0013]), determine that a turn-on condition (corresponds to the condition needed to turn on lid heater 20 Fig. 3 as described in paragraph [0014]) of a first heater (lid heater 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the first heater of Bertolini) is satisfied when a first temperature (corresponds to the temperature detected by temperature sensor 37 Fig. 4 as described in paragraph [0013]) of a cell (block 9 Fig. 2 corresponds to the cell of Bertolini) sensed by a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 37 Fig. 4 corresponds to that of Bertolini) reaches a turn-on reference temperature (corresponds to the disclosed “water supply completion temperature” in paragraph [0013]), turn on the first heater when the controller determines that the turn-on condition of the first heater is satisfied (paragraph [0013]), the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed (paragraph [0014] where there is a step in between the completion of the water supply and the energization of lid heater 20), turn off the first heater when the controller determines that a turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied (corresponds to when step S8 Fig. 6 which is turning off pulse motor 23 is completed as described in paragraph [0015]), and start the ice separation process after the first heater is turned off (paragraphs [0016] to [0017]) to remove air bubbles contained in the water (paragraph [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the ice maker comprising: a controller configured to perform the ice making process and perform the ice separation process, wherein the controller is configured to: start the ice making process after a liquid supply is completed, determine that a turn-on condition of the first heater is satisfied when a first temperature of the cell sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a turn-on reference temperature, turn on the first heater when the controller determines that the turn-on condition of the first heater is satisfied, the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed, turn off the first heater when the controller determines that a turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied, and start the ice separation process after the first heater is turned off” in view of the teachings of Yoshikazu to remove air bubbles contained in the water.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the controller is configured to vary an output of the first heater, after the first heater turns on”.
However, Song teaches wherein a controller (controller 105 Fig. 20 corresponds to the controller of Yoshikazu) is configured to vary an output (corresponds to the output of heater 120 Fig. 23 and paragraph [0150]) of a first heater (heater 120 Fig. 6 corresponds to the first heater of Bertolini), after the first heater turns on (paragraph [0150] and Fig. 23) to efficiently control the rate of change of temperature in the cell (paragraph [0150]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the controller is configured to vary an output of the first heater, after the first heater turns on” in view of the teachings of Song to efficiently control the rate of change of temperature in the cell.
Further, it is understood, claim 15 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configure to...”. The Applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach wherein the controller is configured to determine that the ice making process is completed, based on the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor (paragraph [0015] of Yoshikazu).
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach wherein the turn-on reference temperature of the first heater is below zero degrees Celsius (disclosed “-9.5°C” in paragraph [0012] of Yoshikazu).
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings teach wherein the controller is configured to turn off the second heater (paragraph [0016] and Fig. 4 of Yoshikazu where tray heater 33 corresponds to the second heater of Bertolini) when a third temperature of the cell (corresponds to the temperature detected at step S12 as described in paragraph [0016] of Yoshikazu) sensed by the temperature sensor reaches an off-reference temperature (corresponds to a temperature of “0°C or higher” as described in paragraph [0016] of Yoshikazu).
Regarding claim 23, the combined teachings teach further comprising a first tray cover (air channel 80 Fig. 16 of Chandrashekaran) disposed outside the wall for providing the cell of the first tray (Fig. 24 of Chandrashekaran) and provided with an opening (corresponds to the bottom opening of bracket cover 76 Fig. 24 of Chandrashekaran) corresponding to a shape (corresponds to the shape of ice tray perimeter 28 Figs. 6B and 24 of Chandrashekaran) of at least a portion of the wall (corresponds to ice tray perimeter 28 Figs. 6B and 24 of Chandrashekaran) for providing the cell of the first tray, the first tray cover being spaced apart from the cell (Fig. 24 of Chandrashekaran).
Regarding claim 31, the combined teachings teach a refrigerator (refrigerator appliance 10 Fig. 1 of Bertolini) comprising the ice maker (Fig. 1 of Bertolini).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertolini in view of Chandrashekaran, Yoshikazu, and Song as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Ito.
Regarding claim 24, the combined teachings teach further comprising a bracket (component 82 Fig. 16 of Chandrashekaran), and wherein the first tray case is manufactured as a separate part from the bracket (Fig. 16 of Chandrashekaran) and then is coupled to the bracket (Fig. 16 of Chandrashekaran).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein each component of the ice maker is provided inside or outside the bracket”.
However, Ito teaches wherein each component of an ice maker (corresponds to the all the components of the ice maker illustrated in Fig. 5 where the illustrated ice maker corresponds to the ice maker of Bertolini) is provided inside a bracket (Fig. 5 rotating housing 13 corresponds to the bracket of Chandrashekaran) to house the ice maker (Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein each component of the ice maker is provided inside or outside the bracket” in view of the teachings of Ito to house the ice maker.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertolini in view of Chandrashekaran, Yoshikazu, and Song as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Boarman et al. (US 20140165598 A1, herein after referred to as Boarman).
Regarding claim 30, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a pusher including at least one extension part to push out the ice disposed in the cell during the ice separation process, wherein the first tray case is provided with a hole through which a portion of the pusher passes”.
However, Boarman teaches further comprising a pusher (ejector apparatus 470 Fig. 30) including at least one extension part (ejector pin 475 Fig. 30) to push out ice disposed in a cell (paragraph [0120] and Fig. 26 where mold cavity 440 corresponds to the cell of Bertolini) during an ice separation process (the process described in paragraph [0121] corresponds to the ice separation process of Bertolini), wherein a first tray case (chill ring cover 504 Fig. 30 corresponds to the first tray case of Chandrashekaran) is provided with a hole (spacing 510 Fig. 30) through which a portion of the pusher (corresponds to a lower portion of ejector pin 475 Fig. 30) passes (Fig. 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a pusher including at least one extension part to push out the ice disposed in the cell during the ice separation process, wherein the first tray case is provided with a hole through which a portion of the pusher passes” in view of the teachings of Boarman to improve the efficiency of the ice removal process.
Claims 25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertolini, in view of Boarman, and in further view of Yoshikazu.
Regarding claim 25, Bertolini teaches an ice maker (automatic spherical ice maker 18 Fig. 2), comprising: a cell (mold M1 Fig. 5A) in which a liquid (disclosed “water” in paragraph [0050]) is phase-changed into ice (spherical ice balls IB Fig. 8); a first tray (upper stationary ice mold 30 Fig. 4) configured to define at least a portion (upper wall forming mold M1 Fig. 5A) of a wall (upper and lower walls forming mold M1 Fig. 5A) for providing the cell (Fig. 5A); a second tray (lower rotatable ice mold 40 Fig. 4) configured to define at least another portion of the wall (lower wall forming mold M1 Fig. 5A) for providing the cell (Fig. 5A); a temperature sensor (thermistor T Fig. 4) disposed adjacent to the first tray (Fig. 4); a driver (drive motor 50 Fig. 4) connected to the second tray (Fig. 3) and providing power to the second tray (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0061]); a first heater (first heating element 72 Fig. 4) configured to supply heat to the cell (paragraph [0052]); a second heater (second heating element 72' Fig. 4) configured to supply heat to the cell (paragraph [0052]); an ice making process (disclosed “ice production mode” in paragraph [0061]) at an ice making position (corresponds to the position of lower rotatable ice mold 40 illustrated in Fig. 2) where the second tray is in contact with the first tray to form the ice in the cell (paragraph [0061] and Fig. 2), and an ice separation process (disclosed “ice harvesting mode” in paragraph [0061]) in which the second tray is spaced apart from the first tray to separate the ice from the cell (paragraph [0061]), the ice separation process including a step (paragraph [0061]) to turn on the second heater (paragraph [0061]).
Bertolini teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the ice maker comprising: a heater case in which the second heater is installed; a pusher including at least one extension part to push out the ice disposed in the cell during the ice separation process; wherein the heater case includes an opening through which the at least one extension part passes during the ice separation process”.
However, Boarman teaches an ice maker (ice maker 300 Fig. 26 corresponds to the ice maker of Bertolini) comprising: a heater case (chill ring cover 504 Figs. 30 and 35) in which a second heater (heating coil 520 Fig. 35 corresponds to the second heater of Bertolini) is installed (Figs. 30 and 35); a pusher (ejector apparatus 470 Fig. 30) including at least one extension part (ejector pin 475 Fig. 30) to push out ice disposed in a cell (paragraph [0120] and Fig. 26 where mold cavity 440 corresponds to the cell of Bertolini) during an ice separation process (the process described in paragraph [0121] corresponds to the ice separation process of Bertolini); wherein the heater case includes an opening (spacing 510 Fig. 30) through which the at least one extension part passes during the ice separation process (Fig. 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Bertolini to include “the ice maker comprising: a heater case in which the second heater is installed; a pusher including at least one extension part to push out the ice disposed in the cell during the ice separation process; wherein the heater case includes an opening through which the at least one extension part passes during the ice separation process” in view of the teachings of Boarman to improve the efficiency of the ice removal process.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the ice maker comprising a controller configured to: perform the ice making process and perform the ice separation process, wherein the controller is configured to: after a liquid supply is completed, turn on the first heater when the controller determines that a temperature of the cell sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a turn-on reference temperature, the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed, turn off the first heater when the controller determines that a first turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied, and start the ice separation process after the first heater is turned off”.
However, Yoshikazu teaches an ice maker (the ice maker illustrated in Fig. 4 corresponds to the ice maker of Bertolini) comprising: a controller (microcomputer 51 Fig. 5) configured to perform an ice making process (paragraphs [0013] and [0014] where the disclosed “ice-making process” corresponds to that of Bertolini) and perform an ice separation process (the described “ice removal process” in paragraphs [0016] and [0017] corresponds to the ice separation process of Bertolini), wherein the controller is configured to: after a liquid supply (corresponds to the disclosed “water supply process” described in paragraph [0013]) is completed (paragraph [0013]), turn on a first heater (paragraph [0014] where lid heater 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the first heater of Bertolini) when the controller determines that a temperature (corresponds to the temperature detected by temperature sensor 37 Fig. 4 as described in paragraph [0013]) of a cell (block 9 Fig. 2 corresponds to the cell of Bertolini) sensed by a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 37 Fig. 4 corresponds to that of Bertolini) reaches a turn-on reference temperature (corresponds to the disclosed “water supply completion temperature” in paragraph [0013]), the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed (paragraph [0014] where there is a step in between the completion of the water supply and the energization of lid heater 20), turn off the first heater when the controller determines that a first turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied (corresponds to when step S8 Fig. 6 which is turning off pulse motor 23 is completed as described in paragraph [0015]), and start the ice separation process after the first heater is turned off (paragraphs [0016] to [0017]) to remove air bubbles contained in the water (paragraph [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the ice maker comprising a controller configured to: perform the ice making process and perform the ice separation process, wherein the controller is configured to: after a liquid supply is completed, turn on the first heater when the controller determines that a temperature of the cell sensed by the temperature sensor reaches a turn-on reference temperature, the first heater being not turned on immediately after the ice making process is started and the liquid supply is completed, turn off the first heater when the controller determines that a first turn-off condition of the first heater is satisfied, and start the ice separation process after the first heater is turned off” in view of the teachings of Yoshikazu to remove air bubbles contained in the water.
Further, it is understood, claim 25 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configure to...”. The Applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 29, the combined teachings teach a refrigerator (refrigerator appliance 10 Fig. 1 of Bertolini) comprising the ice maker (Fig. 1 of Bertolini).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertolini in view of Boarman and Yoshikazu as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Chandrashekaran.
Regarding claim 26, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the temperature sensor is installed in the heater case”.
However, Chandrashekaran teaches wherein a temperature sensor (thermistor 78 Fig. 16 corresponds to the temperature sensor of Bertolini) is installed in a heater case (bracket cover 76 Fig. 16 corresponds to the heater case of Boarman) to accommodate both the heater and the temperature sensor (paragraph [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the temperature sensor is installed in the heater case” in view of the teachings of Chandrashekaran to accommodate both the heater and the temperature sensor.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertolini in view of Boarman and Yoshikazu as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Chandrashekaran and Ito.
Regarding claim 28, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a bracket, and wherein the heater case is manufactured as a separate part from the bracket and then is coupled to the bracket or is integrally formed with the bracket”.
However, Chandrashekaran teaches further comprising a bracket (component 82 Fig. 16), and wherein a heater case (bracket cover 76 Fig. 16 corresponds to the heater case of Boarman) is manufactured as a separate part from the bracket (Fig. 16) and then is coupled to the bracket (Fig. 16) to provide support for the ice maker (Fig. 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a bracket, and wherein the heater case is manufactured as a separate part from the bracket and then is coupled to the bracket or is integrally formed with the bracket” in view of the teachings of Chandrashekaran to provide support for the ice maker.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising the bracket and an additional pusher including at least one extension part to push out the ice disposed in the cell, wherein each component of the ice maker is provided inside or outside the bracket, and the pusher is installed on the bracket”.
However, Ito teaches further comprising a bracket (rotating housing 13 Fig. 5 corresponds to the bracket of Chandrashekaran) and an additional pusher (support shaft 11A and pusher 5A Figs. 5-6) including at least one extension part (pusher 5A Figs. 5-6) to push out ice disposed in a cell (Fig. 6), wherein each component of an ice maker (corresponds to the all the components of the ice maker illustrated in Fig. 5 where the illustrated ice maker corresponds to the ice maker of Bertolini) is provided inside the bracket (Fig. 5), and a pusher (support shaft 11 and pusher 5 Figs. 5-6 correspond to the pusher of Boarman) is installed on the bracket (Fig. 5) to provide a compact unit (Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising the bracket and an additional pusher including at least one extension part to push out the ice disposed in the cell, wherein each component of the ice maker is provided inside or outside the bracket, and the pusher is installed on the bracket” in view of the teachings of Ito to provide a compact unit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-17 and 19-20, filed on 09/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 15, and 25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a newly found prior art reference and a different interpretation of the previously applied reference.
Regarding claim 1, Chandrashekaran teaches a first tray case (bracket cover 76 Fig. 16) formed as a separate component to a first tray (Fig. 16 where ice tray 40) and provided at one side of the first tray (corresponds to the top side of ice tray 40 Fig. 16); a first tray cover (air channel 80 Fig. 16) disposed outside of a wall (perimeter wall 28 Fig. 6B) for providing a cell of the first tray (Fig. 25 where ice well 42 corresponds to the portion of the cell); a temperature sensor (thermistor 78 Fig. 16) installed in the first tray case (Fig. 16); wherein the first tray includes a portion (corresponds to the upper portion of ice tray 40 Fig. 24) disposed between the first tray case and the first tray cover (Fig. 24).
Regarding claim 15, Chandrashekaran teaches a first tray case (bracket cover 76 Fig. 16) formed as a separate component to a first tray (Fig. 16 where ice tray 40) and provided at one side of the first tray (corresponds to the top side of ice tray 40 Fig. 16); a temperature sensor (thermistor 78 Fig. 16) installed in the first tray case (Fig. 16); a second heater (heater 72 Fig. 16) being installed on the first tray case (Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 25, Boarman teaches a heater case (chill ring cover 504 Figs. 30 and 35) in which a second heater (heating coil 520 Fig. 35) is installed (Figs. 30 and 35); a pusher (ejector apparatus 470 Fig. 30) including at least one extension part (ejector pin 475 Fig. 30) to push out ice disposed in a cell (paragraph [0120] and Fig. 26 where mold cavity 440 corresponds to the cell) during an ice separation process (the process described in paragraph [0121] corresponds to the ice separation process); wherein the heater case includes an opening (spacing 510 Fig. 30) through which the at least one extension part passes during the ice separation process (Fig. 30).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763