DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s 05/20/2026 amendment or response in the application of BABAEI for “Anchor Cell for Network Energy Saving” filed 02/15/2024. The amendment or response to the claims have been entered. No claims have been canceled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-20 are now pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 11-13, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (US 2022/0021498 A1), hereinafter KHOSHNEVISAN.
Regarding claim 1, KHOSHNEVISAN discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, via a first cell, a synchronization signal (SS)/physical broadcast control channel (PBCH) block (SSB) and system information (a UE 104 receives a medio access control (MAC) control element from a network entity indicating a synchronization signal block (SSB) set, see figure 9 and ¶ 0065; or the PCI/SSB set for a given serving cell is determined through cell search procedures. For example, non-serving cell PCI may be configured by dedicated RRC signaling for a serving cell/component carrier (CC) (e.g., Pcell or Scell), see ¶ 0025);
determining, based on the SSB received via the first cell, a first physical cell identifier (PCI) associated with the first cell (the UE 104 determines a plurality of PCIs in a serving cell based on the received SSB in MAC CE, see ¶ 0025, 0061, 0065); and
determining, based at least on one of the SSB received via the first cell and the system information received via the first cell, a second PCI associated with a second cell (UE determines the information through cell search procedures (i.e., from detected SSB (PSS/SSS/MIB) and SIB). For example, the PCI is determined from PSS and SSS signals...Additionally, other information is determined from SIB (e.g., periodicity of SSB, etc.). For Scell, UE may be configured with SSB information through dedicated RRC signaling by the parameter ServingCellConfigCommon. For each serving cell (e.g., Pcell or Scell), there is only one SSB set with an associated PCI, see ¶ 0061).
Regarding claim 2, KHOSHNEVISAN discloses the SSB, received via the first cell, comprises a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS); and the determining the first PCI is based on the PSS and the SSS (UE determines the information through cell search procedures (i.e., from detected SSB (PSS/SSS/MIB) and SIB). For example, the PCI is determined from PSS and SSS signals, see ¶ 0061).
Regarding claim 3, KHOSHNEVISAN discloses the determining the second PCI is based on the PSS and the SSS of the SSB received via the first cell (UE determines the information through cell search procedures (i.e., from detected SSB (PSS/SSS/MIB) and SIB). For example, the PCI is determined from PSS and SSS signals…UE determines the information through cell search procedures (i.e., from detected SSB (PSS/SSS/MIB) and SIB). For example, the PCI is determined from PSS and SSS signals, see ¶ 0061).
Regarding claim 5, KHOSHNEVISAN discloses determining a timing reference for the first cell based on the SSB received via the first cell; and determining a timing reference for the second cell based on the SSB received via the first cell (timing information is determined from PBCH/MIB, such as, half frame bit, SFN time, and SSB index of the detected SSB. Additionally, other information is determined from SIB (e.g., periodicity of SSB, etc.). For Scell, UE may be configured with SSB information through dedicated RRC signaling by the parameter ServingCellConfigCommon. For each serving cell (e.g., Pcell or Scell), there is only one SSB set with an associated PCI, see ¶ 0061).
Regarding claim 11, KHOSHNEVISAN discloses a wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:
receive, by a wireless device, via a first cell, a synchronization signal (SS)/physical broadcast control channel (PBCH) block (SSB) and system information (a UE 104 receives a medio access control (MAC) control element from a network entity indicating a synchronization signal block (SSB) set, see figure 9 and ¶ 0065; or the PCI/SSB set for a given serving cell is determined through cell search procedures. For example, non-serving cell PCI may be configured by dedicated RRC signaling for a serving cell/component carrier (CC) (e.g., Pcell or Scell), see ¶ 0025);
determine, based on the SSB received via the first cell, a first physical cell identifier (PCI) associated with the first cell (the UE 104 determines a plurality of PCIs in a serving cell based on the received SSB in MAC CE, see ¶ 0061, 0065); and
determine, based at least on one of the SSB received via the first cell and the system information received via the first cell, a second PCI associated with a second cell (UE determines the information through cell search procedures (i.e., from detected SSB (PSS/SSS/MIB) and SIB). For example, the PCI is determined from PSS and SSS signals...Additionally, other information is determined from SIB (e.g., periodicity of SSB, etc.). For Scell, UE may be configured with SSB information through dedicated RRC signaling by the parameter ServingCellConfigCommon. For each serving cell (e.g., Pcell or Scell), there is only one SSB set with an associated PCI, see ¶ 0061).
Regarding claim 12, KHOSHNEVISAN discloses the SSB, received via the first cell, comprises a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS); and the determining the first PCI is based on the PSS and the SSS (UE determines the information through cell search procedures (i.e., from detected SSB (PSS/SSS/MIB) and SIB). For example, the PCI is determined from PSS and SSS signals, see ¶ 0061).
Regarding claim 13, KHOSHNEVISAN discloses the determining the second PCI is based on the PSS and the SSS of the SSB received via the first cell (UE determines the information through cell search procedures (i.e., from detected SSB (PSS/SSS/MIB) and SIB). For example, the PCI is determined from PSS and SSS signals…UE determines the information through cell search procedures (i.e., from detected SSB (PSS/SSS/MIB) and SIB). For example, the PCI is determined from PSS and SSS signals, see ¶ 0061).
Regarding claim 15, KHOSHNEVISAN discloses determining a timing reference for the first cell based on the SSB received via the first cell; and determining a timing reference for the second cell based on the SSB received via the first cell (timing information is determined from PBCH/MIB, such as, half frame bit, SFN time, and SSB index of the detected SSB. Additionally, other information is determined from SIB (e.g., periodicity of SSB, etc.). For Scell, UE may be configured with SSB information through dedicated RRC signaling by the parameter ServingCellConfigCommon. For each serving cell (e.g., Pcell or Scell), there is only one SSB set with an associated PCI, see ¶ 0061).
Regarding claim 20, KHOSHNEVISAN discloses a system comprising:
a base station; and a wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:
receiving, by a wireless device, via a first cell, a synchronization signal (SS)/physical broadcast control channel (PBCH) block (SSB) and system information (a UE 104 receives a medio access control (MAC) control element from a network entity indicating a synchronization signal block (SSB) set, see figure 9 and ¶ 0065; or the PCI/SSB set for a given serving cell is determined through cell search procedures. For example, non-serving cell PCI may be configured by dedicated RRC signaling for a serving cell/component carrier (CC) (e.g., Pcell or Scell), see ¶ 0025);
determining, based on the SSB received via the first cell, a first physical cell identifier (PCI) associated with the first cell (the UE 104 determines a plurality of PCIs in a serving cell based on the received SSB in MAC CE, see ¶ 0061, 0065); and
determining, based at least on one of the SSB received via the first cell and the system information received via the first cell, a second PCI associated with a second cell (UE determines the information through cell search procedures (i.e., from detected SSB (PSS/SSS/MIB) and SIB). For example, the PCI is determined from PSS and SSS signals...Additionally, other information is determined from SIB (e.g., periodicity of SSB, etc.). For Scell, UE may be configured with SSB information through dedicated RRC signaling by the parameter ServingCellConfigCommon. For each serving cell (e.g., Pcell or Scell), there is only one SSB set with an associated PCI, see ¶ 0061).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9, 14, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHOSHNEVISAN in in view of JOSEPH et al. (US 2021/0100062 A1), hereinafter JOSEPH.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, KHOSHNEVISAN fails to explicitly disclose the system information comprises a system information block (SIB); and the determining the second PCI is based on the SIB.
In the same field of endeavor, JOSEPH discloses that the PCI for second cell may be determined in the received system information at the UE (see ¶ 0008).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement JOSEPH’s teaching in the network taught by KHOSHNEVISAN for the Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) in System Information Blocks (SIBs), specifically SIB1, allows User Equipment (UE) to distinguish between neighboring cells in 4G LTE and 5G NR networks.
Regarding claims 9, 18-19, KHOSHNEVISAN fails to explicitly disclose the system information comprises first system information associated with the first cell and second system information associate with the second cell.
In the same field of endeavor, JOSEPH discloses that the first SIB for the first PCI of the first cell and the second SIB for the second PCI of the second cell and the UE receiving the first and the second SIBs (see ¶ 0119-0120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement JOSEPH’s teaching in the network taught by KHOSHNEVISAN for the Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) in System Information Blocks (SIBs), specifically SIB1, allows User Equipment (UE) to distinguish between neighboring cells in 4G LTE and 5G NR networks.
Claim(s) 6-8, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHOSHNEVISAN in in view of XIA et al. (US 2014/0066051 A1), hereinafter XIA.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, KHOSHNEVISAN fails to disclose the first cell is an anchor cell; and the second cell is a network energy saving (NES) cell.
In the same field of endeavor, XIA discloses that the first in the an energy-saving control method for a cell in a heterogeneous system, including: receiving, by an access control device of a serving cell, a service request of a multi-mode user equipment UE; and when a radio resource of the serving cell cannot satisfy the service request of the multi-mode UE, if the access control device of the serving cell determines that a heterogeneous-system neighboring cell of the serving cell is in an energy-saving state, sending, by the access control device of the serving cell, an exit energy-saving state request message to an access control device of the heterogeneous-system neighboring cell, where the exit energy-saving state request message is used to request the heterogeneous-system neighboring cell to exit the energy-saving state (see ¶ 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement XIA’s teaching it the network taught by KHOSHNEVISAN in order to conserve the network’s energy when not providing service to the subscriber.
Regarding claim 7, KHOSHNEVISAN discloses the system information indicates that the first cell is the anchor cell (the accessing a cell UE determines the information through cell search procedure from the serving base station by detecting SIB, see ¶ 0061).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, KHOSHNEVISAN discloses the wireless device receives paging associated with the second cell via the anchor cell (the base station 102 or the serving base station transmits paging to one or more UEs 104, see ¶ 0034 -0035).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of KHOSHNEVISAN- XIA in in view of XIA.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of KHOSHNEVISAN- XIA fails to explicitly disclose the system information comprises first system information associated with the first cell and second system information associate with the second cell.
In the same field of endeavor, JOSEPH discloses that the first SIB for the first PCI of the first cell and the second SIB for the second PCI of the second cell and the UE receiving the first and the second SIBs (see ¶ 0119-0120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement JOSEPH’s teaching in the network taught by the combination of KHOSHNEVISAN-@@@ for the Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) in System Information Blocks (SIBs), specifically SIB1, allows User Equipment (UE) to distinguish between neighboring cells in 4G LTE and 5G NR networks.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The cited reference discloses in ¶ 0025 and ¶ 0061 the following:
In an aspect, the PCI/SSB set for a given serving cell is determined through cell search procedures. For example, non-serving cell PCI may be configured by dedicated RRC signaling for a serving cell/component carrier (CC) (e.g., Pcell or Scell). A secondary SSB set is configured for the UE associated with the non-serving cell PCI allowing for multi-TRP operations in one serving cell when the second TRP has a different PCI (e.g., inter-cell multi-TRP). Further, a list of additional PCIs/SSB sets in a given serving cell (i.e., multiple secondary (or non-serving cell's) PCIs/SSB sets) are provided. In this instance, a reference signal for spatial relation information of a SRS resource may be a SSB index from one of the secondary SSB sets in a serving cell (emphasis added).
In an aspect, when accessing a cell (e.g., Pcell) from idle, UE determines the information through cell search procedures (i.e., from detected SSB (PSS/SSS/MIB) and SIB). For example, the PCI is determined from PSS and SSS signals. Some timing information is determined from PBCH/MIB, such as, half frame bit, SFN time, and SSB index of the detected SSB. Additionally, other information is determined from SIB (e.g., periodicity of SSB, etc.). For Scell, UE may be configured with SSB information through dedicated RRC signaling by the parameter ServingCellConfigCommon. For each serving cell (e.g., Pcell or Scell), there is only one SSB set with an associated PCI (emphasis added).
As cited above, the none serving PCI (Scell) may be configured to the UE by dedicated RRC signaling of a service cell (Pcell) (see ¶ 0025). UE may also be configured with SSB information through dedicated RRC signaling by the parameter ServingCellConfigCommon and other information is determined from SIB (eg. periodicity of SSB) (see ¶ 0061). Therefore, KHOSHNEVISAN discloses the claimed subject matter “determining, based at least on one of the SSB received via the first cell and the system information received via the first cell, a second PCI associated with a second cell.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412