DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/6/25 and 5/16/25. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (US Publication 2025/0016748) disclosed in 63/511,716.
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Hu teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: (i.e. fig. 9 shows a electronic device (UE) comprising a processor, transceiver and memory for executing programmed instructions; see paragraphs 102 - 105)
receive, via the one or more transceivers, a configuration of a sensing
pattern and a configuration of one or more non-sensing time division duplex
(TDD) communication patterns, wherein the sensing pattern indicates sensing
time resources during which the UE is configured to perform sensing operations; (i.e. fig. 6 shows the UE may receive configuration information regarding a first set of resources for TDD UL/DL pattern for performing communications (element 602) and a second configuration (element 604) specifying a second set of time resources for sensing operations; see paragraphs 63 - 64) (see Also; the network supports integrated sensing and communication (ISAC); see paragraph 30, 31) and
perform one or more sensing operations during the sensing time
resources. (i.e. fig. 6 shows the UE may perform either sensing or communications operations based upon the configuration (element 606); see paragraphs 63 - 64)
Claim(s) 1 – 14, 16 – 25, 29, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US Publication 2025/0293910).
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Li teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: (i.e. fig. 9 shows a terminal device (UE) comprising a processor, transceiver and memory for executing programmed instructions; see paragraphs 206 - 211)
receive, via the one or more transceivers, a configuration of a sensing
pattern and a configuration of one or more non-sensing time division duplex
(TDD) communication patterns, wherein the sensing pattern indicates sensing
time resources during which the UE is configured to perform sensing operations; (i.e. fig. 4 shows the terminal device may receive indication information regarding a first numerology, (element 430) which is a time domain sensing pattern and a second numerology (element 440), which is a time domain sensing pattern for a communication signal; see paragraphs 143 - 163) (see Also; the network supports integrated sensing and communication (ISAC); see paragraph 3) and
perform one or more sensing operations during the sensing time
resources. (i.e. fig. 4 shows the terminal device may perform either sensing or communications operations based upon the indication (element 460); see paragraphs 169 - 171)
Regarding claims 2, Li teaches the user equipment of claim1, wherein, to perform the one or more sensing operations, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are configured to transmit sensing signals, detect sensing signals, or both for monostatic sensing, bistatic sensing, or multistatic sensing for more than two entities. (i.e. fig, 1 shows the terminal may detect or transmit signal for bistatic or monostatic sensing; see paragraphs 75 - 77)
Regarding claims 3, Li teaches the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the configuration of the sensing pattern includes configuration of the sensing time resources as downlink, uplink, or flexible. (i.e. the configuration or indication of a sensing pattern may include downlink sensing (DS), uplink sensing (US), flexible sensing (FS); see paragraph 70, 130)
Regarding claims 4, Li teaches the user equipment of claim 3, wherein, to perform the one or more sensing operations during the sensing time resources, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are configured to perform UE monostatic sensing operations during at least some sensing time resources configured as uplink. (i.e. monostatic sensing may include the terminal performing in US (uplink sensing) as it may transmit or receive sensing signals; see paragraph 70, 120, 124)
Regarding claims 5, Li teaches the user equipment of claim 3, wherein, to perform the one or more sensing operations during the sensing time resources, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are configured to perform UE bistatic sensing operations during at least some sensing time resources configured as uplink. (i.e. bistatic sensing may include the terminal performing in US (uplink sensing) as it may transmit or receive sensing signals; see paragraph 70, 123, 124)
Regarding claims 6, Li teaches the user equipment of claim 3, wherein, to perform the one or more sensing operations during the sensing time resources, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are configured to perform UE bistatic sensing operations during at least some sensing time resources configured as downlink. (i.e. bistatic sensing may include the terminal performing in DS (downlink sensing) as it may transmit or receive sensing signals; see paragraph 70, 123, 124, 132)
Regarding claims 7, Li teaches the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the configuration of the sensing pattern includes configuration of at least some of the sensing time resources as full duplex, and wherein performing the one or more sensing operations during the sensing time resources comprises performing UE monostatic sensing operations during at least some of the sensing time resources configured as full duplex. (i.e. one of the time domain sensing patterns can be configured as flexible which supports both downlink and uplink operations; see paragraph 70, 71, 130)
Regarding claims 8, Li teaches the user equipment of claim 1, wherein the configuration of the sensing pattern includes an indication of a sensing mode. (i.e. the indication of the sensing pattern may correspond to the sensing scenario (mode), indicating bistatic or monostatic; see paragraphs 119 - 124)
Regarding claims 9 and 30, Li teaches the user equipment of claim 8, wherein the indication of the sensing mode comprises an indication of monostatic sensing, an indication of bistatic sensing, an indication of UE sensing, an indication of Radio Access Network (RAN node sensing), or a combination thereof. (i.e. the indication of the sensing pattern may correspond to the sensing scenario (mode), indicating bistatic or monostatic; see paragraphs 119 - 124)
Regarding claims 10, Li teaches The user equipment of claim 1, wherein the configuration of the sensing pattern further includes configuration of sensing frequency resources, and wherein the configuration of the sensing pattern includes configuration of at least some of the sensing pattern as frequency division duplex (FDD). (i.e. the indication of sensing resources may also include a configuration of frequency resources where the resources may be frequency divided; see paragraphs 173 - 176)
Regarding claims 11, Li teaches The user equipment of claim 10, wherein the configuration of the sensing pattern includes configuration of some of the sensing pattern as frequency division duplex and some of the sensing pattern as time division duplex. (i.e. the indication of sensing resources may include a combination of both time and frequency resources; see paragraphs 173 - 176)
Regarding claims 12, Li teaches The user equipment of claim 1, wherein, to receive the configuration of the sensing pattern, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are configured to receive configuration of communication resources included in the sensing pattern. (i.e. the resources determined and indicated for the configuration of a sensing pattern also include resources for communications; see paragraphs 96 - 101)
Regarding claims 13, Li teaches the user equipment of claim 12, wherein, to receive the configuration of the communication resources included in the sensing pattern, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are configured to receive Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration of the communication resources included in the sensing pattern, to receive Downlink Control Information (DCI) configuration of the communication resources included in the sensing pattern, to receive Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) configuration of the communication resources included in the sensing pattern, or a combination thereof. (i.e. the resources may be indicated to the terminal via an RRC layer or a MAC later or may indicate through DCI; see paragraphs 79, 80)
Regarding claims 14, Li teaches the user equipment of claim 1, wherein, to receive the configuration of the sensing pattern, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are configured to receive configuration of sensing time resources for an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplex (OFDM) sensing waveform. (i.e. the configuration of the resources for the sensing pattern may be time resources (symbols) for a OFDM mechanism; see paragraph 98)
Regarding claims 16, Li teaches the user equipment of claim 1, wherein receiving the configuration of the sensing pattern comprises receiving configuration of the sensing pattern for a plurality of carriers, wherein the sensing time resources include sensing time resources for each of the plurality of carriers, and wherein the sensing time resources for a first carrier of the plurality of carriers overlap the sensing time resources for a second carrier of the plurality of carriers. (i.e. the allocation of the sensing pattern indicates a numerology for time domain resources, wherein adjusting the numerology, spacing for a plurality of carriers, also changes the size of the symbol resources, this includes overlap of carriers in order to flexibly adjust the interference range; see paragraph 92)
Regarding claims 17, Li teaches The user equipment of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, configuration of a second sensing pattern, wherein the second sensing pattern indicates second sensing time resources during which the UE is configured to perform sensing operations. (i.e. the numerologies corresponding to sensing patterns are shown in Tables 6 and 7 of the prior art, indicating the configuration of sensing patterns are not limited to one, as the terminal may be configured to performing multiple sensing operations including bistatic and monostatic sensing; see paragraphs 113 - 118)
Regarding claims 18, Li teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: (i.e. fig. 9 shows a terminal device (UE) comprising a processor, transceiver and memory for executing programmed instructions; see paragraphs 206 - 211)
receive, via the one or more transceivers, a configuration of one or more
non-sensing time division duplex (TDD) communication patterns, wherein the
one or more non-sensing TDD communication patterns indicate communication
time resources during which the UE is configured to perform communication
operations; receive, via the one or more transceivers, an indication of a sensing
pattern, wherein the sensing pattern indicates sensing time resources for
performing sensing operations for a sensing mode not supported by the UE; (i.e. fig. 4 shows the terminal device may receive indication information regarding a first numerology, (element 430) which is a time domain sensing pattern and a second numerology (element 440), which is a time domain sensing pattern for a communication signal; see paragraphs 143 - 163) (see Also; the network supports integrated sensing and communication (ISAC); see paragraph 3) and
perform one or more communication operations during the communication time resources. (i.e. fig. 4 shows the terminal device may perform either sensing or communications operations based upon the indication (element 460); see paragraphs 169 - 171)
Regarding claims 19, Li teaches the user equipment of claim 18, wherein, to perform the one or more communication operations during the communication time resources, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are configured to perform rate matching around the sensing time resources. (i.e. inherently a UE performs rate matching around allocated resources to avoid transmitting or receiving data on resource elements (REs) already reserved for other critical signals, such as synchronization blocks (SSB), LTE cell-specific reference signals (CRS) in DSS, or control channels. This prevents interference, ensures proper data decoding, and maximizes spectral efficiency. This is essentially a generic embodiment)
Regarding claims 20, Li teaches the user equipment of claim 18, wherein the sensing pattern further indicates communication time resources during which the UE is configured to perform communication operations, and wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: perform communication operations during the communication time resources
included in the sensing pattern. (i.e. the resources determined and indicated for the configuration of a sensing pattern also include resources for communications; see paragraphs 96 - 101)
Regarding claims 21, Li teaches a network entity, comprising:
one or more memories; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to:
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, configuration of a sensing
pattern to one or more user equipments (UEs), wherein the sensing pattern
indicates sensing time resources during which the one or more UEs are
configured to perform UE sensing operations; (i.e. fig. 4 shows the terminal device may receive indication information regarding a first numerology, (element 430) which is a time domain sensing pattern; see paragraphs 153 - 163) and
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, configuration of one or more
non-sensing time division duplex (TDD) communication patterns to the one or
more UEs, wherein the non-sensing TDD communication patterns indicate
communication time resources during which the one or more UEs are configured
to perform communications operations. (i.e. fig. 4 shows the terminal device may receive indication information regarding a second numerology (element 440), which is a time domain sensing pattern for a communication signal; see paragraphs 153 - 163) (see Also; the network supports integrated sensing and communication (ISAC); see paragraph 3)
Regarding claims 22, Li teaches a the network entity of claim 21, wherein the network entity comprises a Radio Access Network (RAN) node, wherein the sensing pattern further indicates sensing time resources during which the RAN node is configured to perform sensing operations, and wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to:
perform one or more RAN node sensing operations during the sensing time
resources during which the RAN node is configured to perform RAN node sensing
operations. (i.e. the configuration or indication of a sensing pattern may include downlink sensing (DS), uplink sensing (US), flexible sensing (FS); see paragraph 70, 130)
Regarding claims 23, Li teaches the network entity of claim 22, wherein the sensing time resources during which the RAN node is configured to perform sensing operations comprise sensing time resources configured for full duplex sensing operations, and wherein, to perform the one or more RAN node sensing operations, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are configured to perform RAN node monostatic sensing during the sensing time resources configured for full duplex sensing operations. (i.e. one of the time domain sensing patterns can be configured as flexible which supports both downlink and uplink operations; see paragraph 70, 71, 130) (See Also; fig, 1 shows the terminal may detect or transmit signal for bistatic or monostatic sensing; see paragraphs 75 - 77)
Regarding claims 24, Li teaches the network entity of claim 21, wherein the configuration of the sensing pattern includes configuration of one or more sensing modes for at least one UE of the one or more UEs, at least one Transmission Reception Point (TRP) of one or more Radio Access Network (RAN) nodes, or a combination thereof, and wherein the one or more sensing modes include: a UE monostatic sensing mode; a TRP monostatic sensing mode; a TRP-TRP bistatic sensing mode; a UE-TRP bistatic sensing mode; a TRP-UE bistatic sensing mode; a UE-UE bistatic sensing mode; or a combination thereof. (i.e. fig, 1 shows the terminal may detect or transmit signal for bistatic or monostatic sensing; see paragraphs 75 - 77) (i.e. See Also; fig. 1 shows support for UE monostatic, TRP monostatic, UE-TRP bi static, TRP-UE bistatic)
Regarding claims 25, Li teaches the network entity of claim 21, wherein the configuration of the sensing pattern further includes configuration of at least some communication time resources. (i.e. the resources determined and indicated for the configuration of a sensing pattern also include resources for communications; see paragraphs 96 - 101)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Li et al. (US Publication 2025/0293910) in view of Bayesteh et al. (US Publication 2021/0286045).
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses all the recited limitations of claim 1 as described previously from which claim 15 depends. Li does not teach wherein, to receive the configuration of the sensing pattern, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are configured to receive configuration of sensing time resources for a Frequency Modulated Continuous Waveform (FMCW) sensing waveform.
However, Bayesteh teaches wherein, to receive the configuration of the sensing pattern, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are configured to receive configuration of sensing time resources for a Frequency Modulated Continuous Waveform (FMCW) sensing waveform. (i.e. Bayesteh discloses a system for integrated communication and sensing wherein the waveform may be supported by FMCW; see paragraphs 62, 106)
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed u to receive configuration of sensing time resources for a Frequency Modulated Continuous Waveform (FMCW) sensing waveform of Bayesteh into Li. Both Bayesteh and Li teach a system for integrated communication and sensing. FMCW allows for high-precision range and velocity measurements (e.g., especially in automotive radar) with lower-cost ADCs compared to OFDM-based radar.
A person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to Li to improve Hardware and Spectrum Efficiency as sharing time-frequency resources allows for a unified RF front-end, reducing hardware complexity and costs, which is highly motivating for future 6G systems aiming for "everything sensed".
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 26 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 27 objected to as being dependent upon an objected claim that would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 28 objected to as being dependent upon an objected claim that would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
ROBERT J. LOPATA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/ROBERT J LOPATA/
March 25, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471