Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,5,6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 6815056) in view of Ko et al (US 5846650) and in view of BYUN, JIN SEOK et al (TW 201802169 A) and further in view of Sakai et al (US 20170315396)
Regarding Claim 1,
Choi et al discloses an anti-reflection film comprising: a substrate (column 4, lines 5-45); a first layer, comprising a metal oxide film, disposed on the substrate; and a second layer, comprising a polymer disposed on a first layer.
Choi et al does not disclose the second layer comprising a fluorinated organic thin film having pores and wherein the pores have uneven surfaces exposed upward.
Ko et al disclose the second layer comprising a fluorinated organic thin film (ABSTRACT)
BYUN, JIN SEOK et al discloses the fluorinated organic thin film having pores.(“… In addition, a method for preparing an antireflection film is provided herein, which includes the steps of applying a resin composition for forming a low-refractive layer on a hard coat layer, and drying the resin composition, the resin composition including a photopolymerizable compound Or a (co) polymer thereof, a fluorinated compound including a photoreactive functional group, a photoinitiator, and porous inorganic nano particles having a diameter of 5 to 70 nm, the porous inorganic nano particles containing particles having a diameter of 0.5 to 10 nm micropores; and the dried product of the resin composition was photocured…”)
Sakai et al discloses (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) wherein the pores (62) have uneven surfaces exposed upward (as shown in the figures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi et al to include Ko et al’s fluorinated organic thin film motivated by the desire to improve optical performance and durability to further include BYUN, JIN SEOK et al’s fluorinated organic thin film having pores motivated by the desire to achieve high scratch resistance and anti pollution properties therefore increasing the screen clarity of the display device (tech-problem) to further include Sakai et al’s pores having uneven surfaces exposed upward motivated by the desire to provide a reliable anti reflective surface.
Regarding Claim 5,
In addition to Choi et al, Ko et al, and Byun, Jin Seok et al and Sakai et al, Ko et al discloses wherein the second layer is formed of Teflon (column 5, lines 17-25).
Regarding Claim 6,
In addition to Choi et al, Ko et al, and Byun, Jin Seok et al, and Sakai et al, Ko et al discloses wherein the second layer comprises an organic material, comprising a fluorine group in an organic chain (column 5, lines 27-37).
Claim(s) 2,7,8,10,13,14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 6815056) and of Ko et al (US 5846650) and of BYUN, JIN SEOK et al (TW 201802169 A) in view of ZHOU GUANGHUI (CN 106564228 A)
Regarding Claim 2,
Choi et al, Ko et al, and Byun, Jin Seok et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Choi et al does not disclose an ultra-thin layer disposed on an uppermost surface of the second layer.
ZHOU GUANGHUI discloses an ultra-thin layer disposed on an uppermost surface of the second layer (ABSTRACT)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi et al, Ko et al, and Byun, and Jin Seok et al to include ZHOU GUANGHUI’s ultra-thin layer disposed on an uppermost surface of the second layer motivated by the desire to provide a protective screen that has anti scratching and fingerprinting proof display.
Regarding Claim 7,
Choi et al discloses a method of manufacturing an anti-reflection film (ABSTRACT), the method comprising: forming a first layer by vacuum-depositing a metal oxide film (metal oxide) on a substrate.
Choi et al does not disclose forming a fluorinated organic material layer by depositing a fluorinated organic material on the first layer; forming an ultra-thin film layer by depositing an ultra-thin film material on the fluorinated organic material layer; and forming a second layer by injecting accelerated ions onto the ultra-thin film layer and etching the fluorinated organic material layer.
Ko et al disclose the second layer comprising a fluorinated organic thin film (ABSTRACT)
BYUN, JIN SEOK et al discloses the fluorinated organic thin film having pores.(“… In addition, a method for preparing an antireflection film is provided herein, which includes the steps of applying a resin composition for forming a low-refractive layer on a hard coat layer, and drying the resin composition, the resin composition including a photopolymerizable compound Or a (co) polymer thereof, a fluorinated compound including a photoreactive functional group, a photoinitiator, and porous inorganic nano particles having a diameter of 5 to 70 nm, the porous inorganic nano particles containing particles having a diameter of 0.5 to 10 nm micropores; and the dried product of the resin composition was photocured…”)
ZHOU GUANGHUI discloses an ultra-thin layer disposed on an uppermost surface of the second layer (ABSTRACT)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi et al to include Ko et al’s fluorinated organic thin film motivated by the desire to improve optical performance and durability to further include BYUN, JIN SEOK et al’s fluorinated organic thin film having pores motivated by the desire to achieve high scratch resistance and anti-pollution properties therefore increasing the screen clarity of the display device. (tech-problem) to further include ZHOU GUANGHUI’s ultra-thin layer disposed on an uppermost surface of the second layer motivated by the desire to provide a protective screen that has anti scratching and fingerprinting proof display.
Regarding Claim 8,
In addition to Choi et al, Ko et al, Byun, Jin Seok et al, and ZHOU GUANGHUI, ZHOU GUANGHUI discloses (ABSTRACT) wherein at least a portion of the ultra-thin material remains on an uppermost surface of the second layer to form an ultra-thin layer.
Regarding Claim 10,
In addition to Choi et al, Ko et al, Byun, Jin Seok et al, Choi et al discloses wherein the ultra-thin film material has a wavelength in a visible light region, and the ultra-thin film material comprises at least one of TiOx, ZnOx, TaOx, SiOx, ZrOx, CrOx, CuOx, WOx, and Vox, where x is 0.5 to 2.5. (column 1, lines 25-40)
Regarding Claim 13,
In addition to Choi et al, Ko et al, Byun, Jin Seok et al, Ko et al discloses wherein the second layer is formed of Teflon (column 5, lines 17-25).
Regarding Claim 14,
In addition to Choi et al, Ko et al, Byun, Jin Seok et al, Ko et al discloses wherein the second layer comprises an organic material, comprising a fluorine group in an organic chain (column 5, lines 27-37).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 6815056) and of Ko et al (US 5846650) and of BYUN, JIN SEOK et al (TW 201802169 A) in view of KIMURA, and Sakai et al (US 20170315396) in view of TOMOYUKI et al (TW 202122886 A)
Regarding Claim 3,
Choi et al, Ko et al, and Byun, Jin Seok et al, and Sakai et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Choi et al, Ko et al, and Byun, and Sakai et al Jin Seok et al does not disclose wherein a refractive index of the first layer is 1.7 or less
KIMURA, TOMOYUKI et al discloses wherein a refractive index of the first layer is 1.7 or less.(“… The material of the inorganic fine particles is, for example, a metal oxide. Specific examples of metal oxides include zirconia (refractive index: 2.19), alumina (refractive index: 1.56 to 2.62), titanium oxide (refractive index: 2.49 to 2.74), silicon oxide (refractive index: 1.25 to 1.46). These metal oxides not only have low light absorption, but also have a higher refractive index than organic materials such as ionizing radiation hardening resins or thermoplastic resins, so they are suitable for adjusting the refractive index of the high refractive index layers 1 and 3. The inorganic fine particles preferably contain zirconium oxide or titanium oxide…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi et al, Ko et al, and Byun, Jin Seok et al and Sakai et al to include KIMURA, TOMOYUKI et al refractive index of the first layer (metal oxide) is 1.7 or less . The metal oxide has low light absorption, but also have a higher refractive index than organic materials such as ionizing radiation hardening resins or thermoplastic resins, so they are suitable for adjusting the refractive index of the high refractive index layers 1 and 2.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 6815056) and of Ko et al (US 5846650) and of BYUN, JIN SEOK et al (TW 201802169 A) and Sakai et al (US 20170315396) in view of Song et al (US 10983252)
Regarding Claim 4,
Choi et al, Ko et al, and Byun, Jin Seok et al, and Sakai et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Choi et al, Ko et al, and Byun, Jin Seok et al and Sakai et al does not disclose wherein a total volume ratio of voids in the second layer is 20% or more relative to a total volume of the second layer.
Song et al discloses wherein a total volume ratio of voids in the second layer is 20% or more relative to a total volume of the second layer (Column 6, lines 10-25)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi et al, Ko et al, and Byun, Jin Seok et al and Sakai et al to include Song et al’s total volume ratio of voids in the second layer is 20% or more relative to a total volume of the second layer motivated by the desire to improve the mechanical properties of the outer surface while maintain an optimized refractive index distribution thereby realizing lower reflectance and having a relatively stable structure against scratches or external contaminants (column 6, lines 30-35)
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 6815056) and of Ko et al (US 5846650) and of BYUN, JIN SEOK et al (TW 201802169 A) and of ZHOU GUANGHUI (CN 106564228 A) in view of KIMURA, TOMOYUKI et al (TW 202122886 A)
Regarding Claim 9,
Choi et al, Ko et al, Byun, ZHOU GUANGHUI, and Jin Seok et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Choi et al, Ko et al, Byun, ZHOU GUANGHUI, and Jin Seok et al does not disclose wherein a refractive index of the first layer is 1.7 or less
KIMURA, TOMOYUKI et al discloses wherein a refractive index of the first layer is 1.7 or less.(“… The material of the inorganic fine particles is, for example, a metal oxide. Specific examples of metal oxides include zirconia (refractive index: 2.19), alumina (refractive index: 1.56 to 2.62), titanium oxide (refractive index: 2.49 to 2.74), silicon oxide (refractive index: 1.25 to 1.46). These metal oxides not only have low light absorption, but also have a higher refractive index than organic materials such as ionizing radiation hardening resins or thermoplastic resins, so they are suitable for adjusting the refractive index of the high refractive index layers 1 and 3. The inorganic fine particles preferably contain zirconium oxide or titanium oxide…”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi et al, Ko et al, Byun, ZHOU GUANGHUI, and Jin Seok et al to include KIMURA, TOMOYUKI et al refractive index of the first layer (metal oxide) is 1.7 or less . The metal oxide has low light absorption, but also have a higher refractive index than organic materials such as ionizing radiation hardening resins or thermoplastic resins, so they are suitable for adjusting the refractive index of the high refractive index layers 1 and 2.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 6815056) and of Ko et al (US 5846650) and of BYUN, JIN SEOK et al (TW 201802169 A) and of ZHOU GUANGHUI (CN 106564228 A) and of KIMURA, TOMOYUKI et al (TW 202122886 A) in view of LIAO M et al (CN 115101619 A)
Regarding Claim 11,
Choi et al, Ko et al, Byun, ZHOU GUANGHUI, and Jin Seok et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Choi et al, Ko et al, Byun, ZHOU GUANGHUI, and Jin Seok et al does not disclose wherein the ultra-thin film material has a thickness of 10 nm or less.
LIAO M et al discloses wherein the ultra-thin film material has a thickness of 10 nm or less.(ABSTRACT NOVELTY)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi et al, Ko et al, Byun, ZHOU GUANGHUI, and Jin Seok et al to include Liao M et al ultra-thin film material has a thickness of 10 nm or less motivated by the desire to improve battery efficiency.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 6815056) and of Ko et al (US 5846650) and of BYUN, JIN SEOK et al (TW 201802169 A) and of ZHOU GUANGHUI (CN 106564228 A) and of KIMURA, TOMOYUKI et al (TW 202122886 A) in view of Song et al (US 10983252)
Regarding Claim 12,
Choi et al, Ko et al, Byun, ZHOU GUANGHUI, and Jin Seok et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Choi et al, Ko et al, Byun, ZHOU GUANGHUI, and Jin Seok et al does not disclose
Song et al discloses wherein a total volume ratio of voids in the second layer is 20% or more relative to a total volume of the second layer (Column 6, lines 10-25)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi et al, Ko et al, Byun, ZHOU GUANGHUI, and Jin Seok et al to include Song et al’s total volume ratio of voids in the second layer is 20% or more relative to a total volume of the second layer motivated by the desire to improve the mechanical properties of the outer surface while maintain an optimized refractive index distribution thereby realizing lower reflectance and having a relatively stable structure against scratches or external contaminants (column 6, lines 30-35)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871