DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 5, it should be dependent on claim 4 instead of claim 3 since it further limits applying the fluidic pressure.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 14-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 110687140 A) (hereinafter Zhang) (citations from attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a method of evaluating a core sample obtained from a hydrocarbon formation [rock core sample] (Pg. 2, second paragraph, see Abstract), the method comprising:
positioning a triaxial test assembly [triaxial loading seepage device] (see Claim 1, Fig. 1) configured to evaluate a core sample obtained from a hydrocarbon formation [sample 4] within a Computer Tomography (CT) imaging system [triaxial loading function; through X-ray irradiation and display in CT instrument, the dynamic change can be observed] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Claim 1, Fig. 1);
while the triaxial test assembly is positioned within the CT imaging system [matched with the CT instrument] (see Abstract):
connecting a core sample to the triaxial test assembly [sample 4 installation] (Page 7, first paragraph),
operating the triaxial test assembly to evaluate the core sample [triaxial loading function; three-axis loading providing confining pressure to sample 4] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Claim 1, Fig. 1),
operating the CT imaging system while evaluating the core sample by operating the triaxial test assembly [through X-ray irradiation and display in CT instrument, the dynamic change can be observed] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Claim 1, Fig. 1), and
determining properties of the core sample using results of operating the triaxial assembly and of operating the CT imaging system [triaxial loading function; through X-ray irradiation and display in CT instrument, the dynamic change can be observed] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Claim 1, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein operating the CT imaging system while evaluating the core sample by operating the triaxial test assembly comprises, while evaluating the core sample by operating the triaxial test assembly, capturing images of fractures formed in the core sample [through X-ray irradiation and display in CT instrument, it can dynamically observe change of microscopic structure such as crack, micro-pore, and so on in the sample] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Claim 1, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang as applied to claim 2 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the triaxial test assembly comprises a sleeve to receive the core sample [sleeve 301] wherein connecting the core sample to the triaxial test assembly comprises: positioning the core sample within the sleeve [sample 4 is sleeved in the middle position of rubber sleeve 301] (Page 7, first paragraph); and positioning the sleeve within the CT imaging system [matched with the CT instrument] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang as applied to claim 3 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein operating the triaxial test assembly comprises applying fluidic pressure to the core sample positioned within the sleeve [provide confining pressure to the sample; axial pressure is increased in turn] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Claim 1, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang as applied to claim 4 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein applying the fluidic pressure comprises flooding the sleeve with a fluid that applies the fluidic pressure to a lateral surface of the core sample [triaxial loading function; provide confining pressure to the sample 4 by injecting the fluid tin the loading chamber 2; providing axial pressure to the sample 4 by hydraulic oil] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang as applied to claim 5 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the fluid is a single-phase fluid [hydraulic oil] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang as applied to claim 6 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the fluid comprises gas, brine, or oil [hydraulic oil] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang as applied to claim 5 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising measuring properties of the fluid while applying the fluidic pressure [confining pressure value is dynamically displayed on the first pressure gauge 601] (Page 7, last paragraph, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang as applied to claim 4 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein capturing images of fractures formed in the core sample comprises capturing a plurality of images of fractures over a period of time for which the fluidic pressure is applied to the core sample positioned within the sleeve [triaxial loading function; through X-ray irradiation and display in CT instrument, the dynamic change can be observed] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Claim 1, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang as applied to claim 3 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein operating the triaxial test assembly comprises applying heat to the core sample positioned within the sleeve [first temperature control box to set the needed fluid temperature; heated hydraulic oil introduced; temperature control experiment] (Page 4, fourth paragraph, Page 8, third paragraph, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang as applied to claim 10 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein applying heat to the core sample comprises increasing a temperature within the sleeve at a controlled rate [temperature control box; temperature control experiment; temperature control principles] (Page 8, third-fifth paragraph).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang as applied to claim 11 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein capturing images of fractures formed in the core sample comprises capturing a plurality of images of fractures over a period of time for which the temperature within the sleeve is increased at the controlled rate [through X-ray irradiation and display in CT instrument, the dynamic change can be observed; by changing the set temperature, observing the influence of the triaxial loading experiment and seepage experiment at different temperatures on the microscopic structure such as crack and pore] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, Page 8, third paragraph).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches a method (see Abstract) comprising:
connecting a core sample obtained from a hydrocarbon formation [sample 4] to a triaxial test assembly [triaxial loading seepage device] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Claim 1, Fig. 1);
positioning the triaxial test assembly connected to the core sample within a Computer Tomography (CT) imaging system [triaxial loading function; through X-ray irradiation and display in CT instrument, the dynamic change can be observed] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Claim 1, Fig. 1);
applying, by the triaxial test assembly, fluidic pressure to the core sample, wherein the fluidic pressure is increased over a duration of time [provide confining pressure to the sample; axial pressure is increased in turn] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Claim 1, Fig. 1); and
while the fluidic pressure is increased over a duration of time, capturing, by the CT imaging system, a plurality of images of the core sample, each image captured at a respective time instant in the duration of time [through X-ray irradiation and display in CT instrument, the dynamic change can be observed] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Claim 1, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang as applied to claim 14 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the fluidic pressure increased over the duration of time causes a fracture in the core sample, wherein the method further comprises capturing, by the CT imaging system, an image of the fracture [through X-ray irradiation and display in CT instrument, it can dynamically observe change of microscopic structure such as crack, micro-pore, and so on in the sample] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Claim 1, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang as applied to claim 14 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein applying the fluidic pressure is a first evaluation of the core sample, wherein the method further comprises a second evaluation of the core sample separate from the first evaluation, the second evaluation comprising: after positioning the triaxial test assembly connected to the core sample within the CT imaging system, increasing a temperature of the core sample, wherein the temperature is increased over a duration of time; and while the temperature is increased over the duration of time, capturing, by the CT imaging system, a plurality of images of the c ore sample, each captured at a respective time instant in the duration of time [through X-ray irradiation and display in CT instrument, the dynamic change can be observed; by changing the set temperature, observing the influence of the triaxial loading experiment and seepage experiment at different temperatures on the microscopic structure such as crack and pore] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, Page 8, third paragraph).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang as applied to claim 14 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising, over the duration of time, measuring and recording combinations of fluidic pressure [pressure gauges 601, 901, 801], triaxial stresses on the core sample in response to the fluidic pressure [pressure strain data], and an image captured by the CT imaging system at the time instant at which the fluidic pressure and the triaxial stresses are measured [through X-ray irradiation and display in CT instrument, the dynamic change can be observed] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Claim 1, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang as applied to claim 2 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the triaxial test assembly comprises a sleeve to receive the core sample [sleeve 301] wherein connecting the core sample to the triaxial test assembly comprises: positioning the core sample within the sleeve [sample 4 is sleeved in the middle position of rubber sleeve 301] (Pg. 7, sixth paragraph); and positioning the sleeve within the CT imaging system [matched with the CT instrument] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Abstract).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang as applied to claim 2 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising, based on the applied fluidic pressure and on the plurality of images of the core sample determining properties of the core sample, the properties comprising a porosity of the core sample [dynamically observe the pore distribution condition in the sample 4] (Page 8, second paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the results of operating the triaxial test assembly comprises pressure measurements in response to applying a pressure across the core sample [the confining pressure generated by the fluid to the sample 4 can be controlled, and the confining pressure value is dynamically displayed on the first pressure gauge 601] (Page 8, third paragraph) and temperature measurements in response to applying a temperature to the core sample [the second thermocouple 904 starts to detect the fluid temperature in the loading cavity 2] (Page 9, third paragraph), wherein the results of operating the CT imaging system comprises images of fractures formed in the core sample in response to applying the pressure and applying the temperature [through X-ray irradiation and display in CT instrument, it can dynamically observe change of microscopic structure such as crack, micro-pore, and so on in the sample] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Claim 1, Fig. 1)
Zhang fails to teach wherein determining the properties of the core sample using results of operating the triaxial test assembly and of operating the CT imaging system comprises: transmitting the pressure measurements, the temperature measurements, and the images of the fractures to a computer system; and processing, by the computer system, the pressure measurements, the temperature measurements, and the images of fractures. The Examiner takes Official Notice that it is commonly known in the art to transmit sensor measurements such as pressure, temperature, and images, to a computer system for processing and analysis. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Zhang such that determining the properties of the core sample using results of operating the triaxial test assembly and of operating the CT imaging system comprises: transmitting the pressure measurements, the temperature measurements, and the images of the fractures to a computer system; and processing, by the computer system, the pressure measurements, the temperature measurements, and the images of fractures, in order to analyze the data remotely.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Huang (US 2017/0003263 A1) (hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang as applied to claim 14 above teaches the claimed invention, except for further comprising determining a drop in the fluidic pressure across the core sample representing creating of the fracture in the core sample, wherein capturing an image of the core sample after determining the drop in the fluidic pressure. Zhang additionally teaches dynamically monitoring the core sample by capturing images [through X-ray irradiation and display in CT instrument, it can dynamically observe change of microscopic structure such as crack, micro-pore, and so on in the sample] (Page 7, fourth paragraph, see Claim 1, Fig. 1). Huang teaches wherein drops in fluidic pressure across a core sample in a triaxial test assembly is representative of creation of hydraulic fractures (Para [0172]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Zhang with Huang such to further comprise determining a drop in the fluidic pressure across the core sample representing creating of the fracture in the core sample, wherein capturing an image of the core sample after determining the drop in the fluidic pressure, in order to observe for sample fractures once they occur.
Conclusion
/DAVID Z HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855