DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to response to election/restriction filed 2/11/2026, wherein claims 8-20 were elected without traverse. Application has a provisional application No: 63/585,743 filed 09/27/2023.
This action is made Non-Final.
Claims 8-20 are pending in the case. Claims 8 and 17 are independent claims. Claims 1-7 have been withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/15/2025 and 2/15/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 2/15/2024 have been accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phister (USPUB 20230386629 A1) in view of Voznyuk (USPUB 20240358354 A1).
Claim 8:
Phister discloses A method of determining text data associated with a point-of-interest, comprising: receiving a user selection of the point-of-interest in a medical image (0102 and 0114: The module may display the image within a viewer (e.g., in the first portion of the display unit 108) and query a click from the user. The coordinates of the click may be appended as properties of a node labeled “ROI” to the node labeled “CT“via an edge labeled”:SHOWS”... if a user draws a rectangle in a CT image to define a region (e.g., ROI), an algorithmic module may be triggered that searches for anomalies in the specific region. A simple example for a trigger via a user interaction may be a simple button that is clicked by a user); constructing a prompt containing the point-of-interest and the context set of points; and generating, by a large language model, text data associated with the point-of- interest in response to the prompt (0115-116: if a user hovers over a highlighted anomaly that may display the inputs of a node labeled “ROI”, a module database query might be performed. All modules that require an input node labeled “ROI” may be listed and displayed to a user. Examples of such modules may include: “COMPUTE_SIZE”, a module that may be configured to compute a size of the ROI; “SPECIFY_FINDING”, a GUI module that may requests the user to specify different types of diseases connected to this finding via a drop-down menu; and “COMPUTE_LOCATION”, an algorithmic module that may be configured to compute the location of the finding by atlas matching. In other words, the selection of the at least one program module may be performed by a user, possible based on a list of program modules having input requirements matching a region specified by the user... For each of the one or more ROIs, their anatomical location, and a patient history node labeled “HISTORY”, an algorithmic module may compute a list of possible diagnoses and append a node labeled “DIAGNOSIS_LIST” comprising the list as a property. This node may be connected to the respective node(s) labeled “ROI”, “LOC” and “HISTORY”. A UI module may in response to the generation of the node labeled “DIAGNOSIS_LIST” display a textual representation of the node labeled “DIAGNOSIS_LIST” via a GUI, e.g., by displaying each of the possible diagnoses in the list in text format in the second portion of the display 108. Subsequently, a radiologist may select one of the textual representations to confirm a diagnosis, and a corresponding node labeled “DIAGNOSIS” may be added to the graph).
Phister, by itself, does not seem to completely teach generating a context set of points nearest to the point-of-interest.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Voznyuk.
Voznyuk teaches generating a context set of points nearest to the point-of-interest (0186-189).
Phister and Voznyuk are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, analyzing images to determine information associated with the images.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Phister and Voznyuk before him or her, to combine the teachings of Phister and Voznyuk. The rationale for doing so would have been to obtain the benefit of accurate object identification.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Phister and Voznyuk to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 9:
Phister, by itself, does not seem to completely teach determining normalized coordinates of the point-of-interest.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Voznyuk.
Voznyuk teaches determining normalized coordinates of the point-of-interest (0186).
Phister and Voznyuk are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, analyzing images to determine information associated with the images.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Phister and Voznyuk before him or her, to combine the teachings of Phister and Voznyuk. The rationale for doing so would have been to obtain the benefit of accurate object identification.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Phister and Voznyuk to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 10:
Phister, by itself, does not seem to completely teach determining the normalized coordinates of the point-of-interest comprises using a trained regression neural network.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Voznyuk.
Voznyuk teaches determining the normalized coordinates of the point-of-interest comprises using a trained regression neural network (0186).
Phister and Voznyuk are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, analyzing images to determine information associated with the images.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Phister and Voznyuk before him or her, to combine the teachings of Phister and Voznyuk. The rationale for doing so would have been to obtain the benefit of accurate object identification.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Phister and Voznyuk to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 11:
Phister, by itself, does not seem to completely teach generating the context set of points comprise identifying the context set of points from a database of landmarks.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Voznyuk.
Voznyuk teaches generating the context set of points comprise identifying the context set of points from a database of landmarks (0186-189).
Phister and Voznyuk are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, analyzing images to determine information associated with the images.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Phister and Voznyuk before him or her, to combine the teachings of Phister and Voznyuk. The rationale for doing so would have been to obtain the benefit of accurate object identification.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Phister and Voznyuk to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 12:
Phister, by itself, does not seem to completely teach the database of landmarks are defined in a normalized coordinate system.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Voznyuk.
Voznyuk teaches the database of landmarks are defined in a normalized coordinate system (0186-189).
Phister and Voznyuk are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, analyzing images to determine information associated with the images.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Phister and Voznyuk before him or her, to combine the teachings of Phister and Voznyuk. The rationale for doing so would have been to obtain the benefit of accurate object identification.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Phister and Voznyuk to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 14:
Phister teaches constructing the prompt comprises constructing the prompt that requests for a description of an anatomical feature at the point-of-interest (0115-116: if a user hovers over a highlighted anomaly that may display the inputs of a node labeled “ROI”, a module database query might be performed. All modules that require an input node labeled “ROI” may be listed and displayed to a user. Examples of such modules may include: “COMPUTE_SIZE”, a module that may be configured to compute a size of the ROI; “SPECIFY_FINDING”, a GUI module that may requests the user to specify different types of diseases connected to this finding via a drop-down menu; and “COMPUTE_LOCATION”, an algorithmic module that may be configured to compute the location of the finding by atlas matching. In other words, the selection of the at least one program module may be performed by a user, possible based on a list of program modules having input requirements matching a region specified by the user... For each of the one or more ROIs, their anatomical location, and a patient history node labeled “HISTORY”, an algorithmic module may compute a list of possible diagnoses and append a node labeled “DIAGNOSIS_LIST” comprising the list as a property. This node may be connected to the respective node(s) labeled “ROI”, “LOC” and “HISTORY”. A UI module may in response to the generation of the node labeled “DIAGNOSIS_LIST” display a textual representation of the node labeled “DIAGNOSIS_LIST” via a GUI, e.g., by displaying each of the possible diagnoses in the list in text format in the second portion of the display 108. Subsequently, a radiologist may select one of the textual representations to confirm a diagnosis, and a corresponding node labeled “DIAGNOSIS” may be added to the graph).
Claim 15:
Phister teaches the prompt requests for the description of the anatomical feature oat the point-of-interest given normalized coordinates of the point-of-interest and the context set of points (0115-116: if a user hovers over a highlighted anomaly that may display the inputs of a node labeled “ROI”, a module database query might be performed. All modules that require an input node labeled “ROI” may be listed and displayed to a user. Examples of such modules may include: “COMPUTE_SIZE”, a module that may be configured to compute a size of the ROI; “SPECIFY_FINDING”, a GUI module that may requests the user to specify different types of diseases connected to this finding via a drop-down menu; and “COMPUTE_LOCATION”, an algorithmic module that may be configured to compute the location of the finding by atlas matching. In other words, the selection of the at least one program module may be performed by a user, possible based on a list of program modules having input requirements matching a region specified by the user... For each of the one or more ROIs, their anatomical location, and a patient history node labeled “HISTORY”, an algorithmic module may compute a list of possible diagnoses and append a node labeled “DIAGNOSIS_LIST” comprising the list as a property. This node may be connected to the respective node(s) labeled “ROI”, “LOC” and “HISTORY”. A UI module may in response to the generation of the node labeled “DIAGNOSIS_LIST” display a textual representation of the node labeled “DIAGNOSIS_LIST” via a GUI, e.g., by displaying each of the possible diagnoses in the list in text format in the second portion of the display 108. Subsequently, a radiologist may select one of the textual representations to confirm a diagnosis, and a corresponding node labeled “DIAGNOSIS” may be added to the graph).
Claim 16:
Phister teaches the large language model is trained with medical health record data (0023).
Claim 17:
Phister teaches One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising computer-readable instructions, that when executed by a processor device, cause the processor device to perform steps comprising: receiving a user selection of a point-of-interest in a medical image (0102 and 0114: The module may display the image within a viewer (e.g., in the first portion of the display unit 108) and query a click from the user. The coordinates of the click may be appended as properties of a node labeled “ROI” to the node labeled “CT“via an edge labeled”:SHOWS”... if a user draws a rectangle in a CT image to define a region (e.g., ROI), an algorithmic module may be triggered that searches for anomalies in the specific region. A simple example for a trigger via a user interaction may be a simple button that is clicked by a user); constructing a prompt containing the point-of-interest and the context set of points; and generating, by a large language model, text data associated with the point-of- interest in response to the prompt (0115-116: if a user hovers over a highlighted anomaly that may display the inputs of a node labeled “ROI”, a module database query might be performed. All modules that require an input node labeled “ROI” may be listed and displayed to a user. Examples of such modules may include: “COMPUTE_SIZE”, a module that may be configured to compute a size of the ROI; “SPECIFY_FINDING”, a GUI module that may requests the user to specify different types of diseases connected to this finding via a drop-down menu; and “COMPUTE_LOCATION”, an algorithmic module that may be configured to compute the location of the finding by atlas matching. In other words, the selection of the at least one program module may be performed by a user, possible based on a list of program modules having input requirements matching a region specified by the user... For each of the one or more ROIs, their anatomical location, and a patient history node labeled “HISTORY”, an algorithmic module may compute a list of possible diagnoses and append a node labeled “DIAGNOSIS_LIST” comprising the list as a property. This node may be connected to the respective node(s) labeled “ROI”, “LOC” and “HISTORY”. A UI module may in response to the generation of the node labeled “DIAGNOSIS_LIST” display a textual representation of the node labeled “DIAGNOSIS_LIST” via a GUI, e.g., by displaying each of the possible diagnoses in the list in text format in the second portion of the display 108. Subsequently, a radiologist may select one of the textual representations to confirm a diagnosis, and a corresponding node labeled “DIAGNOSIS” may be added to the graph).
Phister, by itself, does not seem to completely teach determining normalized coordinates of the point-of-interest; generating a context set of points nearest to the point-of-interest, wherein the context set of points are identified from a database of landmarks defined in a normalized coordinate system.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Voznyuk.
Voznyuk teaches determining normalized coordinates of the point-of-interest; generating a context set of points nearest to the point-of-interest, wherein the context set of points are identified from a database of landmarks defined in a normalized coordinate system (0186-189: the image 310 is provided as input to a first stage configured to perform a pre-treatment of the image comprising at least one of the following operations of cropping, scaling and padding, detecting the image type (i.e., simple image, doppler image, two different images on the same frame), improving qualitatively and quantitatively the image, and/or normalizing the image. Then the pre-treated image is processed by a convolutional neural network (CNN) followed by a fully connected regression neural network configured to provide as output five continuous values. A tanh activation operation layer (from −1 to 1, or from 0 to 1) and a scaling operator (for values 1 and 3—from 0 to the image width, for values 2 and 4—from 0 to the image height, for value 5—from 0 to 89 degrees) are than configured to use the result of the regression algorithm to provide the coordinates and orientation of the bounding box defining the global ROI comprising all landmarks present in the image ...The at least one processor is further configured to evaluate whether the dimension or quality (for example the signal-to-noise ratio) of the defined ROI are acceptable 330 to be able to perform a correct further processing of the image 310. An area of the ROI may be compared to a predefined threshold, and so that the processor proceeds to the localization of the landmarks only if the area of the ROI exceeds the predefined threshold. Otherwise, the processor will trigger the reception of at least one additional image 310. The area of the ROI may be for example evaluated as the number of pixels comprised in the ROI or any other measure known by the person skilled in the art... the step of detection and identification of the landmarks 340 is performed only in the ROI. When the step of detection and identification also comprises localization (FIG. 16), these operations may all be performed on the ROI).
Phister and Voznyuk are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, analyzing images to determine information associated with the images.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Phister and Voznyuk before him or her, to combine the teachings of Phister and Voznyuk. The rationale for doing so would have been to obtain the benefit of accurate object identification.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Phister and Voznyuk to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claim 18:
Phister teaches constructing the prompt comprises constructing the prompt that requests for a description of an anatomical feature at the point-of-interest (0115-116: if a user hovers over a highlighted anomaly that may display the inputs of a node labeled “ROI”, a module database query might be performed. All modules that require an input node labeled “ROI” may be listed and displayed to a user. Examples of such modules may include: “COMPUTE_SIZE”, a module that may be configured to compute a size of the ROI; “SPECIFY_FINDING”, a GUI module that may requests the user to specify different types of diseases connected to this finding via a drop-down menu; and “COMPUTE_LOCATION”, an algorithmic module that may be configured to compute the location of the finding by atlas matching. In other words, the selection of the at least one program module may be performed by a user, possible based on a list of program modules having input requirements matching a region specified by the user... For each of the one or more ROIs, their anatomical location, and a patient history node labeled “HISTORY”, an algorithmic module may compute a list of possible diagnoses and append a node labeled “DIAGNOSIS_LIST” comprising the list as a property. This node may be connected to the respective node(s) labeled “ROI”, “LOC” and “HISTORY”. A UI module may in response to the generation of the node labeled “DIAGNOSIS_LIST” display a textual representation of the node labeled “DIAGNOSIS_LIST” via a GUI, e.g., by displaying each of the possible diagnoses in the list in text format in the second portion of the display 108. Subsequently, a radiologist may select one of the textual representations to confirm a diagnosis, and a corresponding node labeled “DIAGNOSIS” may be added to the graph).
Claim 19:
Phister teaches the prompt requests for the description of the anatomical feature oat the point-of-interest given normalized coordinates of the point-of-interest and the context set of points (0115-116: if a user hovers over a highlighted anomaly that may display the inputs of a node labeled “ROI”, a module database query might be performed. All modules that require an input node labeled “ROI” may be listed and displayed to a user. Examples of such modules may include: “COMPUTE_SIZE”, a module that may be configured to compute a size of the ROI; “SPECIFY_FINDING”, a GUI module that may requests the user to specify different types of diseases connected to this finding via a drop-down menu; and “COMPUTE_LOCATION”, an algorithmic module that may be configured to compute the location of the finding by atlas matching. In other words, the selection of the at least one program module may be performed by a user, possible based on a list of program modules having input requirements matching a region specified by the user... For each of the one or more ROIs, their anatomical location, and a patient history node labeled “HISTORY”, an algorithmic module may compute a list of possible diagnoses and append a node labeled “DIAGNOSIS_LIST” comprising the list as a property. This node may be connected to the respective node(s) labeled “ROI”, “LOC” and “HISTORY”. A UI module may in response to the generation of the node labeled “DIAGNOSIS_LIST” display a textual representation of the node labeled “DIAGNOSIS_LIST” via a GUI, e.g., by displaying each of the possible diagnoses in the list in text format in the second portion of the display 108. Subsequently, a radiologist may select one of the textual representations to confirm a diagnosis, and a corresponding node labeled “DIAGNOSIS” may be added to the graph).
Claim 20:
Phister, by itself, does not seem to completely teach determining the normalized coordinates of the point-of-interest comprises using a trained regression neural network.
The Examiner maintains that these features were previously well-known as taught by Voznyuk.
Voznyuk teaches determining the normalized coordinates of the point-of-interest comprises using a trained regression neural network (0186).
Phister and Voznyuk are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, analyzing images to determine information associated with the images.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Phister and Voznyuk before him or her, to combine the teachings of Phister and Voznyuk. The rationale for doing so would have been to obtain the benefit of accurate object identification.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Phister and Voznyuk to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Note
The Examiner cites particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraph numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed in the attached PTOL-892 form.
/MOHAMMED H ZUBERI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178