DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is a first action on the merits of the application. Claims 14-32 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of invention II, claims 14-32 in the reply filed on March 31, 2026 is acknowledged. It is noted that the non-elected claims 1-13 have been cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 recites “the period of time” in line 5 which lacks an antecedent basis. It is respectfully suggested to amend the limitation to “a period of time” or define “a period of time” earlier in the claim.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regard(s) as the invention.
Claim 20 recites “the controller” in line 2 which lacks an antecedent basis. The recitation “a controller” is recited in claim 16, not in claim 14. Therefore, the dependency of claim 20 is amended as “The refrigeration appliance of claim 16
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-32 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandra et al. (US 2019/0351352 Al, herein referred as “Chandra”), in view of Neville (GB 2 290 086 A).
In regard to claim 14, Chandra discloses a filter assembly used in a refrigeration appliance (paragraph [0001]).
Chandra discloses a refrigeration appliance (100, Fig. 1), comprising (Figs. 1-3 shows the same embodiment; paragraphs [0032]-[0050]):
(i) a cabinet defining a chilled chamber (120, Fig. 2);
(ii) a water filtration assembly (170, Fig. 2; 200, Fig. 3 is installed in the water filter assembly 170, Fig. 2, paragraph [0044]) comprising (Figs. 5 and 6; paragraphs [0007]; [0057]-[0060]);
a manifold defining a cavity and a magnet disposed within the cavity;
a conducting coil disposed within the cavity, the conducting coil in electrical communication with a power supply;
a filter cartridge removably mounted to the manifold and comprising a housing that defines a chamber;
a filter media disposed within the chamber;
a magnetic member projecting from the housing of the filter cartridge, when the filter cartridge is mounted to the manifold, the magnetic member is received within the cavity of the manifold such that the conducting coil surrounds at least a portion of the magnetic member, and the magnetic member is attracted to the magnet.
But Chandra discloses does not explicitly disclose the water filtration assembly comprising a filtration housing, an electrolytic cell comprising a first electrode and a second electrode, and a power supply system operably coupled to the electrolytic cell as recited.
However, Neville discloses a water filtration assembly comprising an electrically conducting filter medium (20) that is cleaned in situ by applying, at intervals, a brief voltage pulse between the medium (20) and a counter electrode (18) so the process liquid undergoes electrolysis, and occasionally applying a voltage of reverse polarity (Abstract). Neville discloses arranging a counter electrode in contact with the process liquid so that the filter, the process liquid and the counter electrode together constitute an electrochemical cell, and periodically applying a potential difference between the filter and the counter electrode so as to generate by electrolysis a gaseous product at the filter and so to clean the filter, wherein a potential difference of opposite polarity to the periodically-applied potential difference is applied at least occasionally between the filter and the counter electrode (page 2, lines 6-19).
Neville discloses a water filtration assembly (10, Figure) comprising (Figure; page 4, line 14 thru page 6, line 29);
(i) a filtration housing (10, Figure) forming a first end (12, Figure) distal from a second end (14, Figure), wherein the first end (12, Figure) includes one or more of a fluid inlet port (25, Figure) or a fluid outlet port (26, Figure) fixed to the filtration housing (10, Figure), wherein the filtration housing forms a first volume configured to receive unfiltered water (the internal volume at a lower header 12, Figure), and wherein the filtration housing forms a second volume configured to receive filtered water (the internal volume at an upper head 14, Figure), wherein a filter medium (20, Figure) is positioned at the filtration housing and separates the first volume from the second volume (the filter plates 20, Figure separates the lower header 12 and the upper head 14);
(ii) an electrolytic cell (the electrical cell comprising an anode plate 18, filter medium 20, an electrically-operated on/off switch 42, and an electrically-operated reversing switch 44) comprising a first electrode (the filter plates 20 functioning as a cathode electrode) and a second electrode (18, Figure functioning as an anode electrode) (page 5, lines 21-29), the filter medium (20, Figure) forming the first electrode (the filter plates 20 functioning as a cathode electrode), the second electrode (18, Figure) extending into the first volume (18, Figure is extended to the lower header 12, Figure region), wherein the electrolytic cell is configured to reverse polarity to reverse an ionic current through the electrolytic cell to restore permeability at the filter medium (page 6, lines 7-30); and
(iii) a power supply system (a high voltage DC power supply 40) operably coupled to the electrolytic cell, the power supply system configured to selectively apply a potential difference between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the power supply system is configured to selectively reverse a polarity of the applied potential (the reversing switch 44, Figure reverses a polarity of the applied potential, page 6, lines 7-23).
It is noted that both the Chandra and Nevill references direct a water filtration assembly comprising a filter element by applying an electromagnetic energy.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the filter element for a filter system of Chandra to provide the features of “the water filtration assembly comprising a filtration housing, an electrolytic cell comprising a first electrode and a second electrode, and a power supply system operably coupled to the electrolytic cell” as taught by Nevill, this is because the claimed feature is a known, effective water filtration assembly having electrolytic cell that is configured to reverse polarity to reverse an ionic current through the electrolytic cell to restore permeability at the filter medium as taught by Nevill (page 6, lines 7-30).
In regard to claim 15, Nevill discloses the filter medium (20, Figure) comprises graphite membrane (page 1, lines 28-33).
In regard to claim 16, Nevill discloses a controller (46, Figure) operably coupled to the power supply system (40, Figure), the controller configured to command at the power supply system: applying the potential difference between the first electrode and the second electrode; and reversing, for a period of time, the polarity of the applied potential, wherein reversing the polarity reverses the ionic current at the electrolytic cell (page 5, line 21 thru page 6, line 23).
In regard to claim 17, Nevill discloses applying the potential difference comprises controlling a voltage at the electrolytic cell (the power supply system is a high voltage DC power supply 40, page 5, lines 11-19). Nevill discloses a controller (46, Figure) operably coupled to the power supply system (40, Figure), the controller configured to command at the power supply system: applying the potential difference between the first electrode and the second electrode; and reversing, for a period of time, the polarity of the applied potential, wherein reversing the polarity reverses the ionic current at the electrolytic cell (page 5, line 21 thru page 6, line 23).
In regard to claims 18 and 19, Nevill discloses a controller (46, Figure) operably coupled to the power supply system (40, Figure), the controller configured to command at the power supply system: applying the potential difference between the first electrode and the second electrode; and reversing, for a period of time, the polarity of the applied potential, wherein reversing the polarity reverses the ionic current at the electrolytic cell (page 5, line 21 thru page 6, line 23). Nevill discloses that: once every two hours, just prior to switching on the switch 42, the timer 46 (i.e., the controller) operates the reversing switch 44 for just sufficient time that the next voltage pulse makes the anode plate 18 a cathode, and the filter plates 20 anodes. After a pulse of reversed polarity has been applied, the reversing switch 44 reverts to its normal state, so the next pulse makes the anode plate 18 (col. 6, lines 7-23). Nevill’s teachings directs after the sufficient time (e.g., two hours), there is a set potential difference between the cathode and the anode, and there is a current change due to the fouling materials (page 6, lines 7-23). The mechanism of switching polarity of anode and cathode taught by Nevill meets the recitation “the controller is configured to reverse the polarity based on potential difference between the first and second electrodes” or “the power supply system is configured to reverse the polarity based on current through the electrolytic cell”.
In regard to claim 20, regarding the recitation “a measuring system configured to determine a flow characteristic, wherein the controller is configured to reverse the polarity of the applied potential difference for the period of time when a flow characteristic threshold is exceeded”, the claimed recitation would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation in an effort to optimize water filter activity in conjunction with electrolytic cell and power supply system and utility taking into consideration the operational parameters of the water filtration and subsequent filter cleaning operation (water filter residence time, pH, temperature, pressure, throughput), the geometry of the water filter bodies, the physical and chemical make-up of the water feedstock to be treated as well as the nature of the treated water end-products.
In regard to claim 21, Chandra discloses a filter assembly used in a refrigeration appliance (paragraph [0001]).
Chandra discloses a refrigeration appliance (100, Fig. 1), comprising (Figs. 1-3 shows the same embodiment; paragraphs [0032]-[0050]):
(i) a cabinet defining a chilled chamber (120, Fig. 2);
(ii) a water filtration assembly (170, Fig. 2; 200, Fig. 3 is installed in the water filter assembly 170, Fig. 2, paragraph [0044]) comprising (Figs. 5 and 6; paragraphs [0007]; [0057]-[0060]);
a manifold defining a cavity and a magnet disposed within the cavity;
a conducting coil disposed within the cavity, the conducting coil in electrical communication with a power supply;
a filter cartridge removably mounted to the manifold and comprising a housing that defines a chamber;
a filter media disposed within the chamber;
a magnetic member projecting from the housing of the filter cartridge, when the filter cartridge is mounted to the manifold, the magnetic member is received within the cavity of the manifold such that the conducting coil surrounds at least a portion of the magnetic member, and the magnetic member is attracted to the magnet.
But Chandra discloses does not explicitly disclose the water filtration assembly comprising a filtration housing, an electrolytic cell comprising a first electrode and a second electrode, and a power supply system operably coupled to the electrolytic cell as recited.
However, Neville discloses a water filtration assembly comprising an electrically conducting filter medium (20) that is cleaned in situ by applying, at intervals, a brief voltage pulse between the medium (20) and a counter electrode (18) so the process liquid undergoes electrolysis, and occasionally applying a voltage of reverse polarity (Abstract). Neville discloses arranging a counter electrode in contact with the process liquid so that the filter, the process liquid and the counter electrode together constitute an electrochemical cell, and periodically applying a potential difference between the filter and the counter electrode so as to generate by electrolysis a gaseous product at the filter and so to clean the filter, wherein a potential difference of opposite polarity to the periodically-applied potential difference is applied at least occasionally between the filter and the counter electrode (page 2, lines 6-19).
Neville discloses a water filtration assembly (10, Figure) comprising (Figure; page 4, line 14 thru page 6, line 29);
(i) a filtration housing (10, Figure) forming a first end (12, Figure) distal from a second end (14, Figure), wherein the first end (12, Figure) includes one or more of a fluid inlet port (25, Figure) or a fluid outlet port (26, Figure) fixed to the filtration housing (10, Figure), wherein the filtration housing forms a first volume configured to receive unfiltered water (the internal volume at a lower header 12, Figure), and wherein the filtration housing forms a second volume configured to receive filtered water (the internal volume at an upper head 14, Figure), wherein a filter medium (20, Figure) is positioned at the filtration housing and separates the first volume from the second volume (the filter plates 20, Figure separates the lower header 12 and the upper head 14);
(ii) an electrolytic cell (the electrical cell comprising an anode plate 18, filter medium 20, an electrically-operated on/off switch 42, and an electrically-operated reversing switch 44) comprising a first electrode (the filter plates 20 functioning as a cathode electrode) and a second electrode (18, Figure functioning as an anode electrode) (page 5, lines 21-29), the filter medium (20, Figure) forming the first electrode (the filter plates 20 functioning as a cathode electrode), the second electrode (18, Figure) extending into the first volume (18, Figure is extended to the lower header 12, Figure region), wherein the electrolytic cell is configured to reverse polarity to reverse an ionic current through the electrolytic cell to restore permeability at the filter medium (page 6, lines 7-30); and
(iii) a power supply system (a high voltage DC power supply 40) operably coupled to the electrolytic cell, the power supply system configured to selectively apply a potential difference between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the power supply system is configured to selectively reverse a polarity of the applied potential (the reversing switch 44, Figure reverses a polarity of the applied potential, page 6, lines 7-23).
It is noted that both the Chandra and Nevill references direct a water filtration assembly comprising a filter element by applying an electromagnetic energy.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the filter element for a filter system of Chandra to provide the features of “the water filtration assembly comprising a filtration housing, an electrolytic cell comprising a first electrode and a second electrode, and a power supply system operably coupled to the electrolytic cell” as taught by Nevill, this is because the claimed feature is a known, effective water filtration assembly having electrolytic cell that is configured to reverse polarity to reverse an ionic current through the electrolytic cell to restore permeability at the filter medium as taught by Nevill (page 6, lines 7-30).
In regard to claims 22 and 23, Nevill discloses a controller (46, Figure) operably coupled to the power supply system (40, Figure), the controller configured to command at the power supply system: applying the potential difference between the first electrode and the second electrode; and reversing, for a period of time, the polarity of the applied potential, wherein reversing the polarity reverses the ionic current at the electrolytic cell (page 5, line 21 thru page 6, line 23). Nevill discloses that: once every two hours, just prior to switching on the switch 42, the timer 46 (i.e., the controller) operates the reversing switch 44 for just sufficient time that the next voltage pulse makes the anode plate 18 a cathode, and the filter plates 20 anodes. After a pulse of reversed polarity has been applied, the reversing switch 44 reverts to its normal state, so the next pulse makes the anode plate 18 (col. 6, lines 7-23). Nevill’s teachings directs after the sufficient time (e.g., two hours), there is a set potential difference between the cathode and the anode, and there is a current change due to the fouling materials (page 6, lines 7-23). The mechanism of switching polarity of anode and cathode taught by Nevill meets the recitation “the controller is configured to reverse the polarity based on potential difference between the first and second electrodes” or “the power supply system is configured to reverse the polarity based on current through the electrolytic cell”.
In regard to claim 24, Nevill discloses the filter medium (20, Figure) comprises graphite membrane (page 1, lines 28-33).
In regard to claim 25, Nevill discloses the second electrode (18, Figure) extending into the first volume (18, Figure is extended to the lower header 12, Figure region), the second electrode comprising a conductive material (low chromium stainless steel, page 7, lines 4-6).
In regard to claim 26, Nevill discloses a controller (46, Figure) operably coupled to the power supply system (40, Figure), the controller configured to command at the power supply system: applying the potential difference between the first electrode and the second electrode; and reversing, for a period of time, the polarity of the applied potential, wherein reversing the polarity reverses the ionic current at the electrolytic cell (page 5, line 21 thru page 6, line 23).
In regard to claim 27, Nevill discloses the water filtration assembly is configured to dispose unfiltered water in the first volume, wherein the unfiltered water is in fluid communication at a first side of the filter medium (unfiltered water transported to the internal volume side at a lower header 12, Figure), and wherein the second volume is formed at a second side of the filter medium at which filtered water is disposable (filtered water transported to the internal volume at an upper head 14, Figure) (Figure; page 4, lines 14 thru page 5, line 10).
In regard to claim 28, Nevill discloses a controller (46, Figure) operably coupled to the power supply system (40, Figure), the controller configured to command at the power supply system: applying the potential difference between the first electrode and the second electrode; and reversing, for a period of time, the polarity of the applied potential, wherein reversing the polarity reverses the ionic current at the electrolytic cell (page 5, line 21 thru page 6, line 23). Nevill discloses that: once every two hours, just prior to switching on the switch 42, the timer 46 (i.e., the controller) operates the reversing switch 44 for just sufficient time that the next voltage pulse makes the anode plate 18 a cathode, and the filter plates 20 anodes. After a pulse of reversed polarity has been applied, the reversing switch 44 reverts to its normal state, so the next pulse makes the anode plate 18 (col. 6, lines 7-23). Nevill’s teachings directs after the sufficient time (e.g., two hours), there is a set potential difference between the cathode and the anode, and there is a current change due to the fouling materials (page 6, lines 7-23) which also affects the flow characteristic across the filter medium. The mechanism of switching polarity of anode and cathode taught by Nevill meets the recitation “the controller is configured to determine a flow characteristic across the filter medium and reverse the polarity of the applied potential based on the determined flow characteristic”.
In regard to claim 29, regarding the recitation “a measuring system configured to determine a flow characteristic, wherein the controller is configured to reverse the polarity of the applied potential difference for the period of time when a flow characteristic threshold is exceeded”, the claimed recitation would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation in an effort to optimize water filter activity in conjunction with electrolytic cell and power supply system and utility taking into consideration the operational parameters of the water filtration and subsequent filter cleaning operation (water filter residence time, pH, temperature, pressure, throughput), the geometry of the water filter bodies, the physical and chemical make-up of the water feedstock to be treated as well as the nature of the treated water end-products.
In regard to claim 30, Nevill discloses that: Once every two hours, just prior to switching on the switch 42, the timer 46 operates the reversing switch 44 for just sufficient time that the next voltage pulse makes the anode plate 18 a cathode, and the filter plates 20 anodes. Gas evolution (of oxygen) at the surface of the filter plates 20, and back-flushing, have the effect of dislodging fouling material just as with the normal polarity pulse. However, the electrolysis makes the liquid in the vicinity of the filter plates 20 become acidic, and this appears to dissolve fine clogging material which is not otherwise removed; in hard water, which contains cations such as calcium or magnesium, this fine material is probably a precipitate of carbonates of these cations (page 6, lines 6-20). This renders the recitation of claim 30 prima facie obvious.
In regard to claim 31, Chandra discloses a refrigeration appliance comprising a manifold comprising a water inlet and a water outlet (paragraphs [0034]-[0041]), and an interlocking feature, wherein the first end of the filtration housing comprises an interlocking feature configured to engage the interlocking feature of the manifold (Figs. 3-6; paragraph [0063])).
In regard to claim 32, Nevill discloses an electrical connection electrically coupling the water filtration assembly (10, Figure) to the power delivery system (40, Figure), the electrical connection comprising a first electrical contact positioned on the filtration housing (Figure). In addition, the feature of a second electrical contact positioned at a cabinet of the refrigeration appliance is taught by Chandra (paragraph [0065]; [0066]; claim 1). The recitation of claim 32 is considered obvious over the teachings from Chandra in view of Neville.
Conclusion
/YOUNGSUL JEONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772