DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to communication submitted on 02/15/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
3. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Martin et al. (US 20180170710 A1) in view of Christy et al. (US 20090308695 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses an elevator system, comprising:
means for obtaining (i.e. sensor 326/426) an indication of a heavy object to be transported with the elevator system (pars. 55-57, i.e. The detection can be made of potential load change elements (e.g., people, cargo, etc.);
means for activating (322), in response to the indication, at least one pre-emptive action associated with the allocated elevator car (303) in an adjustment mode (pars. 42, 45-49).
wherein the adjustment mode (i.e. see normal/hover mode) is configured to substantially maintain a vertical position of the elevator car (303) in an elevator shaft when the heavy object is loaded into the elevator car (pars. 45-57).
Martin does not explicitly disclose means for allocating an elevator car to transport the heavy object based on the indication.
However, Christy discloses and shows (Figs. 1-5) means for allocating (i.e. assign) an elevator car (i.e. 106a to 106d) to transport the heavy object (i.e. large item or weight) based on the indication; (see Fig. 4, steps 60-66; pars. 17, 21-35 and claims 1-3, 7-9; i.e. dispatch controller 20 may estimate the number of passengers …this estimate may be adjusted by measuring changes in load weight as determined by, for example, load weight sensors associated with each elevator… dispatch controller 120 receives information that there is a passenger with a large item on floor F6 who wants to be transported to floor F8, dispatch controller 120 evaluates each elevator car 106 with respect to assigned load, location, and direction of movement to determine which elevator car 106 should be assigned to the passenger with the large item. Dispatch controller 120 determines the number of stops each elevator car 106 must make to transport passengers in each car to their respective destination floors, as well as the number of stops each elevator car 106 must make to transport passengers assigned to, but not yet on, each car. In addition, dispatch controller 120 establishes the number of passengers that would be in each car for the entire trip if the car were assigned to transport passenger 102 and large item LI).
Hence, given the teaching of Christy it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of Martin in order control allocation or destruction from an elevator car system to transport objects based on different indications such weight, capacity, space, etc. as to optimize the distribution logic for heavy transport, and implementing a hover model in this distribution elevator, consequently improving the system accuracy and reliability.
In regards to claim 2, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the at least one pre-emptive action comprises an activation of a pawl device (par. 49, implicit as elevator machine 311 includes a braking mechanism that is used to stop movement of the elevator machine 311 (or a portion thereof) and, thereby, the load bearing members. Accordingly, movement of the elevator car 303 within the elevator shaft may be stopped).
In regards to claim 3, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the adjustment mode comprises a precision mode, and wherein in the precision mode the means for activating (322) are configured to, as the at least one pre-emptive action:
open machinery brakes at least partially; and maintain the position of the elevator car (303) in the elevator shaft (117) with the motor (111) based on information from at least one sensor (i.e. sensor 326/426), when the load carried by the elevator car changes (pars. 45-59).
In regards to claim 4, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the at least one sensor comprises at least one of a position sensor, a strain sensor, a torque sensor and a load sensor (i.e. sensor 326/426), (pars. 45-59).
In regards to claims 5 and 17-19 Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the means for obtaining the indication of the heavy object are configured to obtain the indication from a system external to the elevator system (pars. 39-40, i.e. the computing system 200 may include one or more transceivers and/or devices configured to transmit and/or receive information or data from sources external to the computing system 200 (e.g., part of the I/O devices 210). For example, in some embodiments, the computing system 200 may be configured to receive information over a network (wired or wireless) or through a cable or wireless connection with one or more devices remote from the computing system 200).
In regards to claims 6 and 20, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the means for obtaining comprise a sensor (i.e. sensor 326/426) system configured to obtain image data provided by at least one camera and process the image data in order to identify the heavy object (pars. 22-23, 50, 53, 56, i.e. the sensor(s) 326 are cameras or other similar detection devices… as the image processing system of the hover mode control system can make use of a detected object gait profile (e.g., profile of a person walking) along with visual material properties of the detected object (e.g., is the detected object metallic, reflective, etc. … in some embodiments, multiple visual or other type-sensors can be located at both locations described above to provide adequate and/or accurate information to make potential load change determinations. For example, a combination of visual, infrared, proximity, time-of-flight arrays, and weight sensors can all be used in embodiments of the present disclosure. Each of the sensors can be in communication with a computing system to enable control as described herein).
In regards to claim 7, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the sensor system is configured to identify the heavy object by identifying from the image data an identifier associated with the object (pars. 22-23, 50, 53, 56, i.e. the sensor(s) 326 are cameras or other similar detection devices… as the image processing system of the hover mode control system can make use of a detected object gait profile (e.g., profile of a person walking) along with visual material properties of the detected object (e.g., is the detected object metallic, reflective, etc. … in some embodiments, multiple visual or other type-sensors can be located at both locations described above to provide adequate and/or accurate information to make potential load change determinations. For example, a combination of visual, infrared, proximity, time-of-flight arrays, and weight sensors can all be used in embodiments of the present disclosure. Each of the sensors can be in communication with a computing system to enable control as described herein).
In regards to claim 8, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the elevator system comprises the at least one camera (pars. 22-23, 50, 53, 56, i.e. the sensor(s) 326 are cameras or other similar detection devices… as the image processing system of the hover mode control system can make use of a detected object gait profile (e.g., profile of a person walking) along with visual material properties of the detected object (e.g., is the detected object metallic, reflective, etc. … in some embodiments, multiple visual or other type-sensors can be located at both locations described above to provide adequate and/or accurate information to make potential load change determinations. For example, a combination of visual, infrared, proximity, time-of-flight arrays, and weight sensors can all be used in embodiments of the present disclosure. Each of the sensors can be in communication with a computing system to enable control as described herein).
In regards to claim 9, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the at least camera comprises a camera configured in at least one of the following: a car operating panel; a car display; an elevator signalization device; an info display; a destination operating panel; and a floor display (see pars. 22-23, 50, 53, 56, “implicit” i.e. the sensor(s) 326 are cameras or other similar detection devices… as the image processing system of the hover mode control system can make use of a detected object gait profile (e.g., profile of a person walking) along with visual material properties of the detected object (e.g., is the detected object metallic, reflective, etc. … in some embodiments, multiple visual or other type-sensors can be located at both locations described above to provide adequate and/or accurate information to make potential load change determinations. For example, a combination of visual, infrared, proximity, time-of-flight arrays, and weight sensors can all be used in embodiments of the present disclosure. Each of the sensors can be in communication with a computing system to enable control as described herein). the sensor can detect passengers/cargo at the landing and in the car for potential load change identification).
Thus, preventing hat camera detection coverage is guaranteed, integrating a camera with an installation position of an elevator existing equipment, the car operation panel, the car display, the destination operation panel, the ground display, and the like are all devices inherent to the elevator, its installation position (inside the car, next to the landing elevator) can naturally cover the inside of the car and the landing area, fully satisfying the requirements of the position of the camera to detect the load, the person skilled in the art, easily thinks to integrate the camera on the above-mentioned inherent equipment without creative effort. These location choices are only routine optimizations based on detection needs and installation costs, without incurring any outstanding substantial technological improvements.
In regards to claims 10 and 12, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the sensor system and the at least one camera are arranged in a single communication segment in the elevator system; and wherein an analysis unit of the multiple analysis units and at least one camera are arranged in a single communication segment in the elevator system. (See pars. 22-23, 50, 53, 56, “implicit” i.e. the sensor(s) 326 are cameras or other similar detection devices… as the image processing system of the hover mode control system can make use of a detected object gait profile (e.g., profile of a person walking) along with visual material properties of the detected object (e.g., is the detected object metallic, reflective, etc. … in some embodiments, multiple visual or other type-sensors can be located at both locations described above to provide adequate and/or accurate information to make potential load change determinations. For example, a combination of visual, infrared, proximity, time-of-flight arrays, and weight sensors can all be used in embodiments of the present disclosure. Each of the sensors can be in communication with a computing system to enable control as described herein). the sensor can detect passengers/cargo at the landing and in the car for potential load change identification).
Thus, preventing hat camera detection coverage is guaranteed, integrating a camera with an installation position of an elevator existing equipment, the car operation panel, the car display, the destination operation panel, the ground display, and the like are all devices inherent to the elevator, its installation position (inside the car, next to the landing elevator) can naturally cover the inside of the car and the landing area, fully satisfying the requirements of the position of the camera to detect the load, the person skilled in the art, easily thinks to integrate the camera on the above-mentioned inherent equipment without creative effort. These location choices are only routine optimizations based on detection needs and installation costs, without incurring any outstanding substantial technological improvements.
Martin as modified by Christy discloses the claimed invention except for arranged in a single communication segment. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to integrate and reduce soace, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article, which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together, involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893). The term “integral” is sufficiently broad to embrace constructions united by such means as fastening and welding. In re Hotte, 177 USPQ 326, 328 (CCPA 1973).
In regards to claim 11, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the sensor system comprises multiple analysis units configured in different locations in the elevator system (pars. 51-61, 68).
In regards to claim 13, Martin implicitly discloses wherein the means for obtaining the indication of the heavy object are configured to obtain the indication together with an elevator call (i.e. In one non-limiting example, the hover mode control system can obtain “intent” based information from activation of a car call button (located inside the car) for a given destination floor, information from a destination entry system that is installed within the building, with a detection system located inside the elevator car, and/or using visual detection of the movement of one or more passengers toward the elevator car door at the landing, as the car approaches the respective landing floor).
However, Christy further discloses means for obtaining the indication of the heavy object are configured to obtain the indication together with an elevator call (pars. 14, 16, 24-25).
In regards to claim 14, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the indication comprise the mass of the object (pars. 42-43, 46, 52, 56-57, 60-61; 53i.e. mass/weight).
In regards to claim 15, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the means for obtaining the indication of the heavy object are configured to obtain the indication via a radio frequency transmission (pars. 39-40, i.e. Implicit and obvious as the I/O device(s) 210 may include one or more of a keyboard or keypad, a touchscreen or touch panel, a display screen, a microphone, a speaker, a mouse, a button, a remote control, a joystick, a printer, a telephone or mobile device (e.g., a smartphone), a sensor, etc. The I/O device(s) 210, in some embodiments, include communication components, such as broadband or wireless communication elements. The components of the computing system 200 may be operably and/or communicably connected by one or more buses. The computing system 200 may further include other features or components as known in the art. For example, the computing system 200 may include one or more transceivers and/or devices configured to transmit and/or receive information or data from sources external to the computing system 200 (e.g., part of the I/O devices 210). For example, in some embodiments, the computing system 200 may be configured to receive information over a network (wired or wireless) or through a cable or wireless connection with one or more devices remote from the computing system 200 (e.g. direct connection to an elevator machine, etc.). The information received over the communication network can stored in the memory 202 (e.g., as data 206) and/or may be processed and/or employed by one or more programs or applications (e.g., program 204) and/or the processor 208).
In regards to claim 15, Martin shows (Figs. 1-5) and discloses wherein the adjustment mode comprises a precision mode, and wherein in the precision mode the means for activating are configured to, as the at least one pre-emptive action: set a torque to a motor associated with the elevator car in order to keep the elevator car in place in the elevator shaft; open machinery brakes at least partially; and maintain the position of the elevator car in the elevator shan with the motor based on information from at least one sensor, when the load carried by the elevator car changes (i.e. see pars. 22-23, 33, 45-50, 53, 56, “implicit” i.e. the sensor(s) 326, load bearing members 107 engage the machine 111, which is part of an overhead structure of the elevator system 101. The machine 111 is configured to control movement between the elevator car 103 and the counterweight 105. The position encoder 113 may be mounted on an upper sheave of a speed-governor system 119 and may be configured to provide position signals related to a position of the elevator car 103 within the elevator shaft 117. In other embodiments, the position encoder 113 may be directly mounted to a moving component of the machine 111, or may be located in other positions and/or configurations as known in the art… The elevator machine 311 includes a braking mechanism that is used to stop movement of the elevator machine 311 (or a portion thereof) and, thereby, the load bearing members. Accordingly, movement of the elevator car 303 within the elevator shaft may be stopped. The braking mechanism, in normal operation, is controlled to engage when the elevator car 303 stops at a landing (e.g., landing 325) and enables passengers and/or cargo to be safely loaded and/or unloaded between the landing 325 and the elevator car 303. However, if the hover mode control system 322 determines that hover mode is required or necessary, the brakes will not be engaged, and the hover mode control system 322 will control the elevator machine 311 to maintain the elevator car 303 at a specific vertical position within the elevator shaft, even when the load within the elevator car 303 changes).
Related Prior Arts
6. The following related prior arts made of record are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure to further show the general state of the art and may be applied alone or in combination for rejection of the claims.
CHOI et al. (US 20210154843 A1) discloses wherein the processor is configured to: obtain, by a camera of the detecting device, an image of the internal area after the robot boards the elevator, detect, from the obtained image, a passenger and an object in the internal area, estimate weight distribution based on the detected passenger and object, and set the boarding position based on the estimated weight distribution.
PALAZZOLA et al. (CN 107428495 B) discloses imaging data captured by 3D depth imaging device and thermo-sensitive imaging device of, to identify object and determining whether the object is a human or a non-human. may be based on volume analysis to estimate the total weight of human and non-human subject, and reports the total weight of human and non-human subject to the elevator dispatch controller so as to more effectively scheduling elevator car.
Conclusion
/JORGE L CARRASQUILLO/Primary Examiner Engineer, Art Unit 2837