DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 10-11, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro et al. (US 2025/0261282) in view of Fujishiro et al. (US 2025/0184167).
Regarding claim 1, Fujishiro et al. (US 2025/0261282) teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) release message (i.e., the gNB 200 transmits to the UE 100 in the RRC connected state an RRC release (Release) message for causing the UE 100 to transition to the RRC to inactive state. The RRC Release message includes a configuration (Suspend Config.) for the RRC inactive state [0056]-[0057], [0061], [0117]) including multicast broadcast services (MBS) configuration information and multicast control channel (MCCH) configuration information (i.e., In step S13, the gNB 200 transmits the MCCH including the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) relating to the multicast sessions. The UE 100 receives the MCCH. Note that the UE 100 receives the SIB 20 prior to the reception of the MCCH, and receives the MCCH based on the SIB 20. Note that the MCCH transmission (and reception) may be performed before step S11 or may be performed simultaneously with step S11 [0063], [0168]-[0170]), and the MCCH configuration information is associated with reception of a MBS multicast in an RRC inactive state (i.e., The MCCH is a PTM downlink channel for transmitting MBS broadcast control information associated with one or more MTCHs from the network 10 to the UE 100. Regarding a configuration of MBS broadcast, the UE 100 in the RRC idle state, the RRC inactive state, or the RRC connected state receives a PTM configuration for a broadcast session (e.g., parameters necessary for MTCH reception) via the MCCH. Parameters necessary for reception of the MCCH (MCCH configuration) are provided through system information. More specifically, system information block/type 20 (SIB 20) includes the MCCH configuration [0050]-[0051]); and in case that a multicast session that the UE joined is not provided for the RRC inactive state in a current cell, performing an RRC connection resume (i.e., When cell reselection for a neighboring cell is performed during an active multicast session, and the UE in the inactive state cannot use the session configuration in a new cell, the UE needs to resume RRC connection and acquire a multicast MRB configuration [0166], [0245]).
Fujishiro (282) does not specifically teach the MBS configuration information includes at least one of a list of neighboring cells, a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI), or an MBS session identity (ID).
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Fujishiro (167) teaches The MCCH provides a list of all broadcast services including ongoing sessions transmitted on the MTCH, and the related information of the broadcast session includes an MBS session ID (e.g., Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI)), related G-RNTI scheduling information, and information regarding neighboring cells providing a specific service on the MTCH [0058]. an MBS broadcast configuration (MBSBroadcastConfiguration) message in the MCCH as defined in the RRC Technical Specifications (TS38.331). The MCCH includes an MBS session information list (mbs-SessionInfoList) providing a configuration of each MBS session (each broadcast session) provided through MBS broadcast in a current cell, a list of neighboring cells (mbs-NeighbourCellList) providing an MBS broadcast service through a broadcast MRB, a list of DRX configurations (drx-ConfigPTM-List), and a parameter (pdsch-ConfigMTCH) for acquiring the PDSCH for the MTCH ([0072]). The UE 100 receives the RRC release message for causing the UE 100 to transition to the RRC inactive state from the network 10 (gNB 200). The RRC release message includes the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) provided by the network 10 (gNB 200) on the MCCH ([0087]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Fujishiro (167) within the system Fujishiro (282) in order to provide a plurality of MBS configurations that include a broadcast configuration for a broadcast session and a multicast configuration for a multicast session.
Regarding claim 5, Fujishiro (282) in view of Fujishiro(167) teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro (282) further teaches receiving, from the base station while the UE is in the RRC inactive state, an MBS multicast data based on the MBS configuration information (i.e., a user equipment in a mobile communication system for providing a Multicast/Broadcast Service (MBS) includes the steps of: performing multicast reception in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state based on a multicast configuration received from a network ([0006]-[0007]). When the UE in the inactive state is receiving an MBS service, the multicast session is considered to be deactivated or released, and a gNB is likely to stop transmission of the PTM/MTCH in response to this release [0190]).
Regarding claim 6, Fujishiro et al. (US 2025/0261282) teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver (UE 100); and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) release message (i.e., the gNB 200 transmits to the UE 100 in the RRC connected state an RRC release (Release) message for causing the UE 100 to transition to the RRC to inactive state. The RRC Release message includes a configuration (Suspend Config.) for the RRC inactive state [0056]-[0057], [0061], [0117]) including multicast broadcast services (MBS) configuration information and multicast control channel (MCCH) configuration information (i.e., In step S13, the gNB 200 transmits the MCCH including the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) relating to the multicast sessions. The UE 100 receives the MCCH. Note that the UE 100 receives the SIB 20 prior to the reception of the MCCH, and receives the MCCH based on the SIB 20. Note that the MCCH transmission (and reception) may be performed before step S11 or may be performed simultaneously with step S11 [0063], [0168]-[0170]), and the MCCH configuration information is associated with reception of a MBS multicast in an RRC inactive state (i.e., The MCCH is a PTM downlink channel for transmitting MBS broadcast control information associated with one or more MTCHs from the network 10 to the UE 100. Regarding a configuration of MBS broadcast, the UE 100 in the RRC idle state, the RRC inactive state, or the RRC connected state receives a PTM configuration for a broadcast session (e.g., parameters necessary for MTCH reception) via the MCCH. Parameters necessary for reception of the MCCH (MCCH configuration) are provided through system information. More specifically, system information block/type 20 (SIB 20) includes the MCCH configuration [0050]-[0051]); and in case that a multicast session that the UE joined is not provided for the RRC inactive state in a current cell, performing an RRC connection resume (i.e., When cell reselection for a neighboring cell is performed during an active multicast session, and the UE in the inactive state cannot use the session configuration in a new cell, the UE needs to resume RRC connection and acquire a multicast MRB configuration [0166], [0245]).
Fujishiro (282) does not specifically teach the MBS configuration information includes at least one of a list of neighboring cells, a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI), or an MBS session identity (ID).
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Fujishiro (167) teaches The MCCH provides a list of all broadcast services including ongoing sessions transmitted on the MTCH, and the related information of the broadcast session includes an MBS session ID (e.g., Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI)), related G-RNTI scheduling information, and information regarding neighboring cells providing a specific service on the MTCH [0058]. an MBS broadcast configuration (MBSBroadcastConfiguration) message in the MCCH as defined in the RRC Technical Specifications (TS38.331). The MCCH includes an MBS session information list (mbs-SessionInfoList) providing a configuration of each MBS session (each broadcast session) provided through MBS broadcast in a current cell, a list of neighboring cells (mbs-NeighbourCellList) providing an MBS broadcast service through a broadcast MRB, a list of DRX configurations (drx-ConfigPTM-List), and a parameter (pdsch-ConfigMTCH) for acquiring the PDSCH for the MTCH ([0072]). The UE 100 receives the RRC release message for causing the UE 100 to transition to the RRC inactive state from the network 10 (gNB 200). The RRC release message includes the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) provided by the network 10 (gNB 200) on the MCCH ([0087]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Fujishiro (167) within the system Fujishiro (282) in order to provide a plurality of MBS configurations that include a broadcast configuration for a broadcast session and a multicast configuration for a multicast session.
Regarding claim 5, Fujishiro(282) in view of Fujishiro(167) teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro(282) further teaches receiving, from the base station while the UE is in the RRC inactive state, an MBS multicast data based on the MBS configuration information (i.e., receiving, by a user equipment in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state, a multicast session from a network by using a first MBS configuration provided on a multicast control channel (MCCH) ([0010]). When the UE in the inactive state is receiving an MBS service, the multicast session is considered to be deactivated or released, and a gNB is likely to stop transmission of the PTM/MTCH in response to this release [0190]).
Regarding claim 10, Fujishiro(282) in view of Fujishiro(167) teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro(282) further teaches receive, from the base station while the UE is in the RRC inactive state, an MBS multicast data based on the MBS configuration information (i.e., When the UE in the inactive state is receiving an MBS service, the multicast session is considered to be deactivated or released, and a gNB is likely to stop transmission of the PTM/MTCH in response to this release [0190]).
Regarding claim 11, Fujishiro et al. (US 2025/0261282) teaches method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) release message (i.e., the gNB 200 transmits to the UE 100 in the RRC connected state an RRC release (Release) message for causing the UE 100 to transition to the RRC to inactive state. The RRC Release message includes a configuration (Suspend Config.) for the RRC inactive state [0056]-[0057], [0061], [0117]) including multicast broadcast services (MBS) configuration information and multicast control channel (MCCH) configuration information (i.e., In step S13, the gNB 200 transmits the MCCH including the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) relating to the multicast sessions. The UE 100 receives the MCCH. Note that the UE 100 receives the SIB 20 prior to the reception of the MCCH, and receives the MCCH based on the SIB 20. Note that the MCCH transmission (and reception) may be performed before step S11 or may be performed simultaneously with step S11 [0063], [0168]-[0170]), and the MCCH configuration information is associated with reception of a MBS multicast in an RRC inactive state (i.e., The MCCH is a PTM downlink channel for transmitting MBS broadcast control information associated with one or more MTCHs from the network 10 to the UE 100. Regarding a configuration of MBS broadcast, the UE 100 in the RRC idle state, the RRC inactive state, or the RRC connected state receives a PTM configuration for a broadcast session (e.g., parameters necessary for MTCH reception) via the MCCH. Parameters necessary for reception of the MCCH (MCCH configuration) are provided through system information. More specifically, system information block/type 20 (SIB 20) includes the MCCH configuration [0050]-[0051]); and receiving, from the UE, a message for an RRC connection resume, in case that a multicast session that the UE joined is not provided for the RRC inactive state in a current cell (i.e., When cell reselection for a neighboring cell is performed during an active multicast session, and the UE in the inactive state cannot use the session configuration in a new cell, the UE needs to resume RRC connection and acquire a multicast MRB configuration [0166], [0245], [0250]).
Fujishiro (282) does not specifically teach the MBS configuration information includes at least one of a list of neighboring cells, a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI), or an MBS session identity (ID).
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Fujishiro (167) teaches The MCCH provides a list of all broadcast services including ongoing sessions transmitted on the MTCH, and the related information of the broadcast session includes an MBS session ID (e.g., Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI)), related G-RNTI scheduling information, and information regarding neighboring cells providing a specific service on the MTCH [0058]. an MBS broadcast configuration (MBSBroadcastConfiguration) message in the MCCH as defined in the RRC Technical Specifications (TS38.331). The MCCH includes an MBS session information list (mbs-SessionInfoList) providing a configuration of each MBS session (each broadcast session) provided through MBS broadcast in a current cell, a list of neighboring cells (mbs-NeighbourCellList) providing an MBS broadcast service through a broadcast MRB, a list of DRX configurations (drx-ConfigPTM-List), and a parameter (pdsch-ConfigMTCH) for acquiring the PDSCH for the MTCH ([0072]). The UE 100 receives the RRC release message for causing the UE 100 to transition to the RRC inactive state from the network 10 (gNB 200). The RRC release message includes the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) provided by the network 10 (gNB 200) on the MCCH ([0087]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Fujishiro (167) within the system Fujishiro (282) in order to provide a plurality of MBS configurations that include a broadcast configuration for a broadcast session and a multicast configuration for a multicast session.
Regarding claim 15, Fujishiro(282) in view of Fujishiro(167) teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro(282) further teaches transmitting, to the UE in the RRC inactive state, an MBS multicast data based on the MBS configuration information (i.e., When the UE in the inactive state is receiving an MBS service, the multicast session is considered to be deactivated or released, and a gNB is likely to stop transmission of the PTM/MTCH in response to this release [0190]).
Regarding claim 16, Fujishiro et al. (US 2025/0261282) teaches a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver (gnb); and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) release message (i.e., the gNB 200 transmits to the UE 100 in the RRC connected state an RRC release (Release) message for causing the UE 100 to transition to the RRC to inactive state. The RRC Release message includes a configuration (Suspend Config.) for the RRC inactive state [0056]-[0057], [0061], [0117]) including multicast broadcast services (MBS) configuration information and multicast control channel (MCCH) configuration information (i.e., In step S13, the gNB 200 transmits the MCCH including the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) relating to the multicast sessions. The UE 100 receives the MCCH. Note that the UE 100 receives the SIB 20 prior to the reception of the MCCH, and receives the MCCH based on the SIB 20. Note that the MCCH transmission (and reception) may be performed before step S11 or may be performed simultaneously with step S11 [0063], [0168]-[0170]), and the MCCH configuration information is associated with reception of a MBS multicast in an RRC inactive state (i.e., The MCCH is a PTM downlink channel for transmitting MBS broadcast control information associated with one or more MTCHs from the network 10 to the UE 100. Regarding a configuration of MBS broadcast, the UE 100 in the RRC idle state, the RRC inactive state, or the RRC connected state receives a PTM configuration for a broadcast session (e.g., parameters necessary for MTCH reception) via the MCCH. Parameters necessary for reception of the MCCH (MCCH configuration) are provided through system information. More specifically, system information block/type 20 (SIB 20) includes the MCCH configuration [0050]-[0051]); and receiving, from the UE, a message for an RRC connection resume, in case that a multicast session that the UE joined is not provided for the RRC inactive state in a current cell (i.e., When cell reselection for a neighboring cell is performed during an active multicast session, and the UE in the inactive state cannot use the session configuration in a new cell, the UE needs to resume RRC connection and acquire a multicast MRB configuration [0166], [0245], [0250]).
Fujishiro (282) does not specifically teach the MBS configuration information includes at least one of a list of neighboring cells, a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI), or an MBS session identity (ID).
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Fujishiro (167) teaches The MCCH provides a list of all broadcast services including ongoing sessions transmitted on the MTCH, and the related information of the broadcast session includes an MBS session ID (e.g., Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI)), related G-RNTI scheduling information, and information regarding neighboring cells providing a specific service on the MTCH [0058]. an MBS broadcast configuration (MBSBroadcastConfiguration) message in the MCCH as defined in the RRC Technical Specifications (TS38.331). The MCCH includes an MBS session information list (mbs-SessionInfoList) providing a configuration of each MBS session (each broadcast session) provided through MBS broadcast in a current cell, a list of neighboring cells (mbs-NeighbourCellList) providing an MBS broadcast service through a broadcast MRB, a list of DRX configurations (drx-ConfigPTM-List), and a parameter (pdsch-ConfigMTCH) for acquiring the PDSCH for the MTCH ([0072]). The UE 100 receives the RRC release message for causing the UE 100 to transition to the RRC inactive state from the network 10 (gNB 200). The RRC release message includes the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) provided by the network 10 (gNB 200) on the MCCH ([0087]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Fujishiro (167) within the system Fujishiro (282) in order to provide a plurality of MBS configurations that include a broadcast configuration for a broadcast session and a multicast configuration for a multicast session.
Regarding claim 20, Fujishiro(282) in view of Fujishiro(167) teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro(282) further teaches transmitting, to the UE in the RRC inactive state, an MBS multicast data based on the MBS configuration information (i.e., When the UE in the inactive state is receiving an MBS service, the multicast session is considered to be deactivated or released, and a gNB is likely to stop transmission of the PTM/MTCH in response to this release [0190]).
Claims 2-4, 7-9, 12-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro et al. (US 2025/0261282) in view of Fujishiro et al. (US 2025/0184167) further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2021/0289471).
Regarding claim 2, Fujishiro(282) in view of Fujishiro(167) teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro(282) further teaches receiving, from the base station, a first MCCH message including MBS configuration information (i.e., In step S13, the gNB 200 transmits the MCCH including the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) relating to the multicast sessions. The UE 100 receives the MCCH [0063]).
Fujishiro(282)(167) fails to specifically teach the first MCCH message is configured with a modification period and a repetition period.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Zhu teaches the MCCH message configuration includes an indication of a repetition period of the MCCH message, an identifier associated with the multicast traffic, one or more slots associated with the MCCH message, a modification period associated with the MCCH message, a new service start, or a combination thereof ([0035], [0061]). The MCCH configuration may also indicate an MCCH modification period associated with a duration of MCCH message configuration. That is, the MCCH message 325 may be reconfigured according to the MCCH modification period. In some cases, a change to the MCCH message configuration may be indicated by a DCI format 1C. Thus, the UE 115-e may determine to receive an additional SIB 315 indicating the updated MCCH message configuration after the MCCH modification period if the DCI format 1C indicates MCCH message configuration change ([0115]-[0116], [0121], [0149], [0154]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Zhu with the combination of Fujishiro in order to have a communication system that can provide both an on-demand MCCH message and a periodic MCCH message in a MCCH message.
Regarding claim 3, Fujishiro(282) in view of Fujishiro(167) further in view of Zhu teaches all the limitations above. Zhu further teaches in case that the multicast session is deactivated or the MBS configuration information of the first MCCH message is changed, a notification is received from the base station (i.e., The MCCH configuration may also indicate an MCCH modification period associated with a duration of the MCCH message configuration. That is, the MCCH message 325 may be reconfigured according to the MCCH modification period. In some cases, a change to the MCCH message configuration may be indicated by a DCI format 1C (e.g., addressed by the RNTI). Thus, the UE 115-e may determine to receive an additional SIB 315 indicating the updated MCCH message configuration after the MCCH modification period if the DCI format 1C indicates the MCCH message configuration change [0115], [0190], [0195]).
Regarding claim 4, Fujishiro(282) in view of Fujishiro(167) further in view of Fujishiro(282) teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro further teaches in case that the MBS configuration information of the first MCCH message is changed or a cell is reselected, a second MCCH message is received from the base station (i.e., the gNB 200 transmits an RRC Reconfiguration message including the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) relating to multicast sessions to the ULE 100 in the RRC connected stat ([0055]). The gNB 200 transmits the MCCH including the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) relating to the multicast sessions [0063]-[0064]), the UE is obliged to start an RRC Resume procedure when the MBS configuration is provided or updated ([0177]).
Regarding claim 7, Fujishiro(282) in view of Fujishiro(167) teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro(282) further teaches receive, from the base station, a first MCCH message including MBS configuration information (i.e., In step S13, the gNB 200 transmits the MCCH including the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) relating to the multicast sessions. The UE 100 receives the MCCH [0063]).
Fujishiro(282)(167) fails to specifically teach the first MCCH message is configured with a modification period and a repetition period.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Zhu teaches the MCCH message configuration includes an indication of a repetition period of the MCCH message, an identifier associated with the multicast traffic, one or more slots associated with the MCCH message, a modification period associated with the MCCH message, a new service start, or a combination thereof ([0035], [0061]). The MCCH configuration may also indicate an MCCH modification period associated with a duration of MCCH message configuration. That is, the MCCH message 325 may be reconfigured according to the MCCH modification period. In some cases, a change to the MCCH message configuration may be indicated by a DCI format 1C. Thus, the UE 115-e may determine to receive an additional SIB 315 indicating the updated MCCH message configuration after the MCCH modification period if the DCI format 1C indicates MCCH message configuration change ([0115]-[0116], [0121], [0149], [0154]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Zhu with the combination of Fujishiro in order to have a communication system that can provide both an on-demand MCCH message and a periodic MCCH message in a MCCH message.
Regarding claim 8, Fujishiro(282) in view of Fujishiro(167) further in view of Zhu teaches all the limitations above. Zhu further teaches in case that the multicast session is deactivated or the MBS configuration information of the first MCCH message is changed, a notification is received from the base station (i.e., The MCCH configuration may also indicate an MCCH modification period associated with a duration of the MCCH message configuration. That is, the MCCH message 325 may be reconfigured according to the MCCH modification period. In some cases, a change to the MCCH message configuration may be indicated by a DCI format 1C (e.g., addressed by the RNTI). Thus, the UE 115-e may determine to receive an additional SIB 315 indicating the updated MCCH message configuration after the MCCH modification period if the DCI format 1C indicates the MCCH message configuration change [0115], [0190], [0195]).
Regarding claim 9, Fujishiro(282) in view of Fujishiro(167) further in view of Fujishiro(282) teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro(282) further teaches in case that the MBS configuration information of the first MCCH message is changed or a cell is reselected, a second MCCH message is received from the base station (i.e., the gNB 200 transmits an RRC Reconfiguration message including the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) relating to multicast sessions to the ULE 100 in the RRC connected stat ([0055]). The gNB 200 transmits the MCCH including the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) relating to the multicast sessions [0063]-[0064]), the UE is obliged to start an RRC Resume procedure when the MBS configuration is provided or updated ([0177]).
Regarding claim 12, Fujishiro(282) in view of Fujishiro(167) teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro(282) further teaches transmitting, to the UE, a first MCCH message including MBS configuration information (i.e., In step S13, the gNB 200 transmits the MCCH including the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) relating to the multicast sessions. The UE 100 receives the MCCH [0063]).
Fujishiro(282)(167) fails to specifically teach the first MCCH message is configured with a modification period and a repetition period.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Zhu teaches the MCCH message configuration includes an indication of a repetition period of the MCCH message, an identifier associated with the multicast traffic, one or more slots associated with the MCCH message, a modification period associated with the MCCH message, a new service start, or a combination thereof ([0035], [0061]). The MCCH configuration may also indicate an MCCH modification period associated with a duration of MCCH message configuration. That is, the MCCH message 325 may be reconfigured according to the MCCH modification period. In some cases, a change to the MCCH message configuration may be indicated by a DCI format 1C. Thus, the UE 115-e may determine to receive an additional SIB 315 indicating the updated MCCH message configuration after the MCCH modification period if the DCI format 1C indicates MCCH message configuration change ([0115]-[0116], [0121], [0149], [0154]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Zhu with the combination of Fujishiro in order to have a communication system that can provide both an on-demand MCCH message and a periodic MCCH message in a MCCH message.
Regarding claim 13, Fujishiro(282) in view of Fujishiro(167) further in view of Zhu teaches all the limitations above. Zhu further teaches in case that the multicast session is deactivated or the MBS configuration information of the first MCCH message is changed, a notification is transmitted to the UE (i.e., The MCCH configuration may also indicate an MCCH modification period associated with a duration of the MCCH message configuration. That is, the MCCH message 325 may be reconfigured according to the MCCH modification period. In some cases, a change to the MCCH message configuration may be indicated by a DCI format 1C (e.g., addressed by the RNTI). Thus, the UE 115-e may determine to receive an additional SIB 315 indicating the updated MCCH message configuration after the MCCH modification period if the DCI format 1C indicates the MCCH message configuration change [0115], [0190], [0195]).
Regarding claim 14, Fujishiro(282) in view of Fujishiro(167) further in view of Fujishiro(282) teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro(282) further teaches in case that the MBS configuration information of the first MCCH message is changed or a cell is reselected, a second MCCH message is transmitted to the UE (i.e., the gNB 200 transmits an RRC Reconfiguration message including the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) relating to multicast sessions to the ULE 100 in the RRC connected stat ([0055]). The gNB 200 transmits the MCCH including the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) relating to the multicast sessions [0063]-[0064]), the UE is obliged to start an RRC Resume procedure when the MBS configuration is provided or updated ([0177]).
Regarding claim 17, Fujishiro(282) in view of Fujishiro(167) teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro(282) further teaches transmitting, to the UE, a first MCCH message including MBS configuration information (i.e., In step S13, the gNB 200 transmits the MCCH including the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) relating to the multicast sessions. The UE 100 receives the MCCH [0063]).
Fujishiro(282)(167) fails to specifically teach the first MCCH message is configured with a modification period and a repetition period.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Zhu teaches the MCCH message configuration includes an indication of a repetition period of the MCCH message, an identifier associated with the multicast traffic, one or more slots associated with the MCCH message, a modification period associated with the MCCH message, a new service start, or a combination thereof ([0035], [0061]). The MCCH configuration may also indicate an MCCH modification period associated with a duration of MCCH message configuration. That is, the MCCH message 325 may be reconfigured according to the MCCH modification period. In some cases, a change to the MCCH message configuration may be indicated by a DCI format 1C. Thus, the UE 115-e may determine to receive an additional SIB 315 indicating the updated MCCH message configuration after the MCCH modification period if the DCI format 1C indicates MCCH message configuration change ([0115]-[0116], [0121], [0149], [0154]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Zhu with the combination of Fujishiro in order to have a communication system that can provide both an on-demand MCCH message and a periodic MCCH message in a MCCH message.
Regarding claim 18, Fujishiro(282) in view of Fujishiro(167) further in view of Zhu teaches all the limitations above. Zhu further teaches in case that the multicast session is deactivated or the MBS configuration information of the first MCCH message is changed, a notification is transmitted to the UE (i.e., The MCCH configuration may also indicate an MCCH modification period associated with a duration of the MCCH message configuration. That is, the MCCH message 325 may be reconfigured according to the MCCH modification period. In some cases, a change to the MCCH message configuration may be indicated by a DCI format 1C (e.g., addressed by the RNTI). Thus, the UE 115-e may determine to receive an additional SIB 315 indicating the updated MCCH message configuration after the MCCH modification period if the DCI format 1C indicates the MCCH message configuration change [0115], [0190], [0195]).
Regarding claim 19, Fujishiro(282) in view of Fujishiro(167) further in view of Fujishiro(282) teaches all the limitations above. Fujishiro(282) further teaches in case that the MBS configuration information of the first MCCH message is changed or a cell is reselected, a second MCCH message is transmitted to the UE (i.e., the gNB 200 transmits an RRC Reconfiguration message including the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) relating to multicast sessions to the ULE 100 in the RRC connected stat ([0055]). The gNB 200 transmits the MCCH including the MBS configuration (multicast configuration) relating to the multicast sessions [0063]-[0064]), the UE is obliged to start an RRC Resume procedure when the MBS configuration is provided or updated ([0177]).
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643