Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “C” hooks described in [0010] is not shown in drawings.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
the crisscross strings A is coated with a synthetic sponge material configured to expand upon contact with a fluid and fill the net voids, recited in claim 7,
the spring closure clasps recited in claim 12,
the alligator clamps recited in claim 13,
the "S" hooks recited in claim 14, and
the elastic bungee cords recited in claim 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6: Claim 6 depend from the apparatus/system of claim 1. Examiner recognizes the claim limitation of “forming a net of a coarse mesh based on a folding over of the net” as a product-by-process claim. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) see MPEP 2113.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hartigan (U.S. 5,529,341).
Regarding claim 1, Hartigan discloses a vehicle net (10, see figs. 1-2; col. 2, line 11 “passenger vehicle”; col. 2, line 51: “net 10”) comprising:
a plurality of longitudinal and latitudinal crisscross strings (12; see fig. 2 and col. 2, line 2) configured to form a net (10) comprising a plurality of terminating corners (corners of 12 terminating along frame 16) and net voids (14);
a plurality of extension strings (30, 32; see figs. 1-2) each disposed at one of the plurality of terminating corners (as shown in fig. 2) on a first end (as shown in figs. 1-2) and each comprising a second end (34); and
a plurality of attachments (36) each disposed at the second end (34) of one of the plurality of extension strings (30, 32).
Regarding claim 2, Hartigan discloses a border string (16a, 16b, 16c, 16d) running a complete loop adjoining the plurality of terminating corners (as shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Hartigan discloses wherein the plurality of crisscross strings (12) run angularly to the border string (as shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Hartigan discloses wherein the plurality of crisscross strings run parallel to the border string.
Regarding claim 5, Hartigan discloses additional extension strings (20, 22, figs. 1-2) and additional attachments (26) disposed intermediate to the plurality of terminating corners (as shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Hartigan discloses wherein the plurality of attachments (36) include "J" hooks bent backward at an angle (see fig. 4: hook 36 is in the form of “J” and is bent backward).
Regarding claim 14, Hartigan wherein the plurality of attachments (36) include "S" hooks (as shown in fig. 5, the shape of 36 defines a “S-shape).
Regarding claim 15, Hartigan discloses wherein the plurality of attachments (36) include "U" hooks (as shown in fig. 4, the shape of 36 defines a “U-shape).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartigan (U.S. 5,529,341) in view of Kleinberg (U.S. 5,690,355).
Regarding claim 6, Hartigan teaches all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; however, Hartigan fails to teach that the crisscross strings form a net of a coarse mesh and form a net of a coarse mesh based on a folding over of the net.
Kleinberg teaches that making fabricating nets from coarse mesh provide extra strength to the net for holding/supporting materials (refer to col. 2, lines 53-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the net of Hartigan such that it is made up of coarse mech, as taught by Kleinberg, for the purpose of increasing the strength of the net for holding/supporting materials (refer to col. 2, lines 53-60).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartigan (U.S. 5,529,341) in view of Gandhi et al. (U.S. 2021/0046880A1).
Regarding claims 8-10, Hartigan teaches all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; however, Hartigan fails to teach that strings (i.e., the longitudinal and latitudinal strings) are made of elastic fibers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted one type of flexible string for another for the predictable result of producing the net used for storing/holding vehicle cargo.
Gandhi et al. generally teach that flexible strings can be made from elastic strings, elastic cords, bungee cords, or elastic fibers (refer to claim 9).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartigan (U.S. 5,529,341) in view of Cole et al. (U.S. 2002/0011505A1).
Regarding claim 12, Hartigan teaches all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; however, Hartigan fails to teach that the plurality of attachments include spring closure clasps.
Cole et al. generally teach a cargo retention system for vehicles (refer to abstract), wherein the cargo retention system includes an attachment feature, wherein the attachment feature includes a hook (48) comprising a spring closure clasps (51, see figs. 3-4 and refer to para 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted one type of attachment for another to achieve the predictable result of securing the net to the vehicle body.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartigan (U.S. 5,529,341) in view of Hyers (U.S. 2015/0167707A1).
Regarding claim 13, Hartigan teaches all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; however, Hartigan fails to teach that the plurality of attachments include alligator clamps.
Hyers generally teaches that attachment devices can include hooks, clamps, alligator clamps, and more (refer to para 0078).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted one type of attachment for another to achieve the predictable result of securing the net to the vehicle body.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartigan (U.S. 5,529,341) in view of Smith et al. (U.S. 2019/0283644A1).
Regarding claim 16, Hartigan teaches all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; however, Hartigan fails to teach that the extension strings comprise elastic bungee cords.
Smith et al. teach a vehicle storage pocket (144, fig. 3) made of net, wherein the net is constructed from a network of bungee cords or other similar materials (refer to para 0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted one type of net structure for another (i.e., the generic net of Hartigan with the bungee cord nets of Smith) for the predictable result of storing and holding vehicle cargo.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Binder et al. (U.S. 12,351,955) teach an expandable mesh screen that expands when in contact with a fluid. However, fail to teach coating a string with synthetic sponge material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sparks (U.S 6,648,410B2) and Toyota (U.S. 6,089,659).
/YANICK A AKARAGWE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672