DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Further, as noted within the rejection below, applicant’s claim amendments have introduced numerous new issues now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-10, 12-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 5, recites “a server” which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear if this is meant to reference the “server” of line 1 or a different server.
Claim 10, line 6, recites “receiving messages from a plurality of vehicles via the communication interface” which renders the claim indefinite as the “communication interface” is recited as being configured for wireless communication with “a vehicle” in line 3. The relationship between the “plurality of vehicles” and “a vehicle” is unclear.
Claim 10, lines 9-10, recite “position information of the vehicle” which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear which vehicle is being referenced. Claim 10 previously recites “a vehicle” in line 3, “a plurality of vehicles” in line 6, and “the respective vehicle” in line 8, as it is unclear which previous vehicle instance is intended.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the stationary road side unit" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
While it appears “road side unit” is meant to reference the RSU acronym, this connection has not been previously established within the claim as the claim previously only recites “RSU”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the deviation data " in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears this is meant to reference the previous “position deviation data”.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the database" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the deviation data" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears this is meant to reference the previous “position deviation data”.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the stationary road side unit" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
While it appears “road side unit” is meant to reference the RSU acronym, this connection has not been previously established within the claim as the claim previously only recites “RSU”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (Lin) (US 2019/0232972) (of record) in view of Lattin (US 11,828,861) (of record) and Whyte et al. (Whyte) (US 2022/0256333) (of record).
As to claim 15, while Lin discloses a method for a server, comprising:
receiving messages from a plurality of vehicles (vehicles reporting devices with inaccurate sensor data; paragraph 28, 30, 47, 93), each of the messages being based on a first sensor value detected by a sensor of a stationary RSU (RSUs may include a sensor set to report position data; paragraph 47, 93, 109) and a correlated second sensor value detected by a sensor of the respective vehicle (accuracy information determined via variance between local sensor data and received data; paragraph 138, 157, 176, 183),
storing position deviation data in the database (paragraph 28, 30, 101, 120) based on the received messages (paragraph 79, 83).
While Lin discloses the server selectively initiating corrective actions of the stationary roadside unit based on the deviation data (paragraph 28, 30, 47), they fail to specifically disclose calculating a mean position deviation based on the deviation data and selectively initiating recalibrating the stationary road side unit based upon comparing the mean position deviation with a predefined threshold.
In an analogous art, Lattin discloses a system for determining the accuracy of operational data collected by a road side unit (column 2, line 56-column 3, line 3, column 5, lines 18-44) which will calculate a mean position deviation based on collected deviation data (column 16, line 16-45) and selectively initiating a remedial action of the stationary road side unit based upon comparing the mean position deviation with a predefined threshold (column 18, line 12-26) so as to calculate the confidence in the devices accuracy utilizing a gathered collection of messages of sufficient sample size (column 15, line 19-53, column 16, line 16-45).
Additionally, in an analogous art, Whyte discloses a method performed by a vehicle communication system server (Fig. 5; paragraph 137-150) wherein the server receives messages regarding the status of RSU sensors behavior (misbehavior report and sensor data for V2X system participant, including an RSU, Fig. 5, paragraph 41, 43, 137-140) and in response selectively initiates recalibration of the RSU (server transmitting remediation instruction, such as sensor recalibration, to the system participant; paragraph 148-150) so as to enable the server to immediately remediate or mitigate the impact of the reported misbehavior condition (paragraph 150).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin’s system to include calculating a mean position deviation based on the deviation data and selectively initiating remediation based upon comparing the mean position deviation with a predefined threshold, as taught in combination with Lattin, for the typical benefit of utilizing a known and existing method for analyzing deviation data gathered from plural different device messages (column 15, line 19-53, column 16, line 16-45).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin and Lattin’s system to include selectively initiating recalibrating the RSU, as taught in combination with Whyte, for the typical benefit of enabling the immediate remediation or mitigation of the impact of the reported misbehavior condition (paragraph 150).
Conclusion
/James R Sheleheda/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424