DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are (structural terms are noted in bold while functional language is noted in italic):
Claim 16:
a sensor electronics unit in communication with the continuous analyte sensor, the sensor electronics unit being programmed to perform operations comprising:
generating sensor data during a first time period using the continuous analyte sensor, the sensor data comprising a plurality of sensor data points;
accessing, by the sensor electronics unit, calibration information;
evaluating, by the sensor electronics unit, a predictive accuracy of calibration information;
determining, by the sensor electronics unit, to request reference data based at least in part on the predictive accuracy of calibration information; and
providing, by the sensor electronics unit, a prompt for reference data.
Claim 17:
the determining to request reference data comprising determining an amount of time before reference data will be requested.
Claim 18:
the calibration information comprising a set of matched data pairs, and the evaluating of the predictive accuracy of the calibration information comprising evaluating a correlation of at least one matched data pair of the set of matched data pairs with at least some of the calibration information.
Claim 19:
the determining to request reference data being based at least in part on the correlation of the at least one matched data pair and the calibration information.
Claim 20:
the accessing of the calibration information comprising:
receiving reference data from a reference analyte monitor;
forming at least one matched data pair;
forming a calibration set including the at least one matched data pair; and
forming a calibration line from the calibration set, wherein the evaluating of the predictive accuracy of the calibration information comprises evaluating a correlation of the calibration set with the calibration line.
The electronics unit has both hardware and software attributes. For example, the electronics unit which requires some specialized structure for evaluating, by the sensor electronics unit, a predictive accuracy of calibration information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
The primary purpose of the requirement of definiteness of claim language is to ensure that the scope of the claims is clear so the public is informed of the boundaries of what constitutes infringement of the patent. See MPEP 2173. Claims invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, must have some structure to "avoid pure functional claiming.” Aristocrat Techs. Australia Pty Ltd. v. Int'l Game Tech., 521 F.3d 1328, 1333 (Fed. Cir. 2008). For a computer-implemented means plus function claim limitation invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, the corresponding structure must be more than simply a general purpose computer or microprocessor because these components can be programmed to perform very different functions in very different ways. Id. The structure must include the algorithm needed to transform the general purpose computer or microprocessor into a structure that is a special purpose computer. Id. at 1338.
A rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) is appropriate if the specification discloses no corresponding algorithm associated with a computer or microprocessor. Id. at 1337-38. The specification must explicitly disclose the algorithm, and simply reciting the claimed function in the specification will not be a sufficient disclosure for an algorithm. Blackboard, Inc. v. Design2Learn, Inc., 574 F.3d 1371, 1384 (stating that language that simply describes the function to be performed describes an outcome, not a means for achieving that outcome).
Because the specification fails to explicitly disclose the algorithms for performing the functions required by the language of claims 16-20, they must be rejected as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by US 2005/0027463 A1 to Goode et al. (“Goode”).
As to claims 1 and 16 (system claim elements being changed mutatis mutandis), Goode discloses a method for generating analyte measurements of a host, the method comprising:
generating sensor data during a first time period using a continuous analyte sensor coupled to a sensor electronics unit, the sensor data comprising a plurality of sensor data points (see [0001], [0006], [0279] – receiving a data stream from an analyte sensor including one or moe sensor data point; the sensor takes a sensor reading every 5-10 minutes);
accessing, by the sensor electronics unit, calibration information (see [0006], [0026]-[0027] – receiver/processor accesses calibration information including matched data pairs, a calibration set and a conversion function);
evaluating, by the sensor electronics unit, a predictive accuracy of calibration information (see [0171], [0181]-[0184], [0377], [0385]-[0387] – quality evaluation module evaluates the quality of the calibration by determining a statistical association of the matched data pairs that form the calibration set; r-value is a threshold used to determine predictive accuracy);
determining, by the sensor electronics unit, to request reference data based at least in part on the predictive accuracy of calibration information (see [0355], [0385], [0395]-[0397] – evaluation data used to evaluate optimal time for measurement; if calibration quality is not good, the fail-safe module asks user to update reference analyte values); and
providing, by the sensor electronics unit, a prompt for reference data (see above).
As to claims 2 and 17, Goode further discloses the determining to request reference data comprising determining an amount of time before reference data will be requested (see [0355]).
As to claim 3, Goode further discloses the amount of time before reference data will be requested being between about 1 minute and about 60 minutes (see [0008] and [0330]).
As to claim 4, Goode further discloses the amount of time before reference data will be requested being between about 1 hour and about 24 hours (see [0008] and [0330]).
As to claim 5, Goode further discloses the amount of time before reference data will be requested being between about 1 day and about 7 days (see [0008] and [0330]).
As to claims 6 and 18, Goode further discloses the calibration information comprising a set of matched data pairs, and the evaluating of the predictive accuracy of the calibration information comprising evaluating a correlation of at least one matched data pair of the set of matched data pairs with at least some of the calibration information (see [0181]-[0184], [0385], [0388]-[0394]).
As to claims 7 and 19, Goode further discloses the determining to request reference data being based at least in part on the correlation of the at least one matched data pair and the calibration information (see [0385]-[0387], [0394]-[0396] – fail-safe module is started when association is inadequate).
As to claims 7 and 20, Goode further discloses the accessing of the calibration information comprising: receiving reference data from a reference analyte monitor; forming at least one matched data pair; forming a calibration set including the at least one matched data pair; and forming a calibration line from the calibration set, wherein the evaluating of the predictive accuracy of the calibration information comprises evaluating a correlation of the calibration set with the calibration line (see [0322]-[0326], [0382]-[0385], [0388]-[0394] – data matching module matches reference analyte data points to substantially time-corresponding sensor data points; calibration set module forms the calibration set; conversion function modules creates a regression line (calibration line); R-value evaluates correlation of calibration set with regression line) .
As to claim 9, Goode further discloses the calibration information comprising a matched data pair, the method further comprising forming a calibration set including the matched data pair, and the evaluating of the predictive accuracy of the calibration information comprising determining a discordance of the calibration set, the determining to request reference data being based at least in part on the discordance of the calibration set (see [0107], [049], [0372] – calibration evaluation includes evaluating rate of change of analyte concentration, congruence of respective sensor and reference data in matched data pairs, and physiological changes; the least concordant matched data pair can be displaced).
As to claims 10-12, Goode further discloses
forming one or more matched data pairs at least in part by matching time corresponding sensor and reference data; and
forming a calibration set including one or more matched data pairs wherein the evaluating of the predictive accuracy of the calibration information comprises iteratively evaluating a plurality of combinations of matched data pairs in the calibration set to obtain a plurality of calibration lines; removing at least one matched data pair from the calibration set in response to the iterative evaluation, the determining to request reference data being based at least in part on the iterative evaluation (see [0110], [0131], [0151]-[0152], and [0372] – calibration evaluation includes evaluating combinations of matched data pairs from the calibration set and the new matched data pair; receiver may remove least concordant or oldest matched data pair in response to the iterative evaluation).
As to claim 13, Goode further discloses receiving reference data; forming one or more matched data pairs; and forming a calibration set including one or more matched data pairs, the evaluating of the predictive accuracy of the calibration information comprising evaluating a goodness of fit of the calibration set with a calibration line drawn from the calibration set, the determining to request reference data being based at least in part on the goodness of fit (see [0181], [0265], [0385] – quality evaluated by performing linear least square regression; r-value measures how well data fits the regression line (goodness of fit).
As to claim 15, Goode further discloses displaying an amount of time before reference data will be requested (see [0355] – user interface prompts the user to provide reference data point within a given time period).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 14 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Goode in view of US 2006/0020188 A1 to Kamath et al. (“Kamath”).
As to claim 14, Goode discloses the calibration information comprising reference data (see treatment of claim 1, above), but does not disclose the evaluating of the predictive accuracy of the calibration information comprising evaluating a leverage of the reference data based at least in part on a glucose concentration associated with the reference data, the determining to request the reference data being based at least in part on the leverage of the reference data.
However, in a related invention, King teaches that low leverage results in a low predictive accuracy of the calibration information (see p. 320 – Discussion – Calibration). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to also evaluate a leverage of the reference data based at least in part on a glucose concentration associated with the reference data, the determining to request the reference data being based at least in part on the leverage of the reference data given that low leverage has been an identified contributor to poor sensor calibration.
Conclusion
/ERIC J MESSERSMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791