DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (2020/0132470).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses a device for wireless communication (see abstract, fig.1, element 124, paragraphs [0005], [0024-0025] and its description), comprising: at least one processor (see fig.11, element 1110, paragraph [0015], [0046] and its description); and a memory coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to (see fig.11, elements 1114, 1110, paragraph [0015], [0046] and its description): receive, from an electronic shelf label (ESL) server, configuration information for position determination (see abstract, fig.1, elements 116-122, 124, paragraphs [0005], [0024-0026] and its description); receive, from the ESL server, address generation information (see abstract, fig.1, elements 116-122, 124, paragraphs [0005], [0024-0026] and its description); generate, address information based on the address generation information and the configuration information (see abstract, paragraphs [0021-0023]); and transmit, to one or more ESL radios, a beacon start transmission including the address information, the beacon start transmission configured to cause one or more ESL devices to generate a corresponding encrypted dynamic address based on the address generation information and transmit a beacon indicating the corresponding encrypted dynamic address (see abstract, fig.1, elements 124, 130, paragraphs [0005], [0024-0030], [0033] and its description), except for encrypted dynamic dress. However, encrypted dynamic dress in networking is well-known. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use encrypting information in order to prevent attacker and ensure privacy for user.
Regarding claim 2, Xu further discloses wherein the address generation information corresponds to a top level address associated with the device, and wherein the address information corresponds to a derived and encrypted address associated with the device (see abstract, fig.1, element 128, paragraphs [0024-0025] and its description).
Regarding claim 3, Xu further discloses wherein the configuration information includes or corresponds to information encryption information, dynamic address generation configuration information, or both is (see abstract, paragraphs [0021-0023]).
Regarding claim 4, Xu further discloses wherein the address generation information includes or corresponds to a unique sequence value (see abstract, paragraphs [0022-0023].
Regarding claim 5, the limitations of this claim same as claim 1, except for using another device to transmit to another ESL devices.
Regarding claim 6, Xu discloses a device for wireless communication, comprising: at least one processor (see fig.11, element 1110, paragraph [0015], [0046] and its description); and a memory coupled to the at least one processor (see fig.11, elements 1114, 1110, paragraph [0015], [0046] and its description), wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to: obtain configuration information for position determination (see abstract, fig.1, element 116, 124, 130 fig.10, step 1002, paragraphs [0005], [0014], [0026], [0031-0032], [0046] and its description); receive, from an electronic shelf label (ESL) access point (AP), a beacon start transmission including address generation information (see abstract, fig.1, elements 124, 130, paragraphs [0005], [0024-0026] and its description); generate, using encryption information, encrypted address information based on stored device specific information, the configuration information, and the address generation information (see abstract, paragraphs [0021-0023]); and transmit the encrypted address information, the encrypted address information corresponding to a dynamic encrypted address, the encrypted address information configured to enable secure position determination (see abstract, fig.1, elements 130, 102, paragraphs [0005], [0021-0023], [0027-0028] and its description), except for encrypted address information. However, encrypted address information in networking is well-known. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use encrypting information in order to prevent attacker and ensure privacy for user.
Regarding claim 7, Xu further discloses wherein the address generation information corresponds to an encrypted address associated with the ESL AP, and wherein the encrypted address information corresponds to a derived and encrypted address associated with the device (see abstract, fig.1, element 124, paragraphs [0024-0025] and its description).
Regarding claim 8, Xu further discloses wherein the encrypted address information is generated based on the address generation information and based on time slot index information associated with the beacon start transmission (see abstract, fig.1, elements 124, 130, paragraphs [0005], [0024-0026] and its description).
Regarding claim 9, Xu further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: obtain a unique identifier for the device for an ESL system, and wherein the encrypted address information is generated further based on the unique identifier (see abstract, paragraphs [0022-0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Xu further discloses wherein the unique identifier is received in the beacon start transmission (see abstract, fig.1, elements 124, 130, paragraphs [0005], [0024-0026] and its description).
Regarding claim 11, Xu further discloses wherein the configuration information intentionally maps two ESL devices of an ESL system to a same address to garble ESL system addresses to outside devices (see fig.3, element 126s paragraph [0029] and its description).
Regarding claim 12, Xu further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: receive time varying key information from the ESL AP, and wherein the encrypted address information is generated further based on the time varying key information (see abstract, fig.1, elements 124, 130, paragraphs [0005], [0024-0026] and its description).
Regarding claim 13, Xu further discloses wherein the beacon start transmission is transmitted within a Bluetooth ESL synchronization packet (see abstract, fig.1, elements 124, 130, paragraphs [0005], [0024-0030], [0033] and its description).
Regarding claim 14, Xu further discloses wherein the beacon start transmission includes an ESL payload which includes one or more commands, wherein the one or more command comprises length command values (LCVs) (see abstract, fig.1, elements 124, 130, paragraphs [0005], [0024-0030], [0033] and its description).
Regarding claim 15, Xu further discloses wherein each command of the one or more commands indicates address generation information for a particular ESL group (see fig.1, element 128s. paragraph [0042] and its description).
Regarding claim 16, Xu further discloses wherein each command of the one or more commands indicates address generation information for a particular ESL device (see paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 17, Xu further discloses wherein each command of the one or more commands is associated with a particular ESL group and a particular device of the particular ESL group, and wherein each command of the one or more commands is arranged in an order which corresponds to an order of the corresponding associated device of the particular ESL group (see fig.1, element 128s. paragraphs [0032], [0042] and its description).
Regarding claim 18, Xu further discloses wherein the stored device specific information includes or corresponds to a public address or a static address associated with the device (see paragraphs [0024-0025]).
Regarding claim 19, Xu further discloses wherein the stored device specific information is a static address and corresponds to a medium access control (MAC) address of the device (see paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 20, Xu further discloses wherein the encrypted address information is further generated based on a private key received from the ESL AP or an ESL server (see abstract fig.1, elements 111/ 124, paragraph [0024] and its description).
Regarding claim 21, Xu further discloses wherein the encrypted address information changes each duty cycle or each beacon start transmission (see abstract, fig.1, elements 124, 130, paragraphs [0005], [0024-0026] and its description).
Regarding claim 22, Xu further discloses wherein the encryption information corresponds to a private key (see paragraphs [0024-0025]) .
Regarding claims 23-24, the limitations of this claim same as claim 6, except for using another device to transmit to another ESL devices.
Regarding claim 25, Xu further discloses wherein the encryption information corresponds to Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) encryption information, and wherein the AES encryption information is used to perform AES encryption based on the stored device specific information and the address generation information to generate the encrypted address information (see paragraphs [0046], [0050]).
Regarding claim 26, Xu further discloses wherein the encryption information corresponds to a random or pseudo-random sequence generator configured to perform random or pseudo-random encryption based on the stored device specific information and the address generation information to generate the encrypted address information (see paragraphs [0025-0026]).
Regarding claim 27, Xu discloses a device for wireless communication (see abstract, fig.1, element 102, paragraphs [0005], [0027] and its description), comprising: at least one processor (see fig.11, element 1110, paragraph [0015], [0046] and its description); and a memory coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to (see fig.11, elements 1114, 1110, paragraphs [0015], [0046] and its description): obtain address mapping information for position determination (see abstract, fig.1, element 104/102, fig.10, step 1002, paragraphs [0005], [0014], [0026], [0031-0032], [0046] and its description); receive, from a first electronic shelf label (ESL) device, a first beacon transmission including first encrypted address information (see abstract, fig.1, element 104/102, 130s, fig.10, steps 1006-1008, paragraphs [0005], [0026], [0032-0033] and its description); receive, from a second ESL device, a second beacon transmission including second encrypted address information (see abstract, fig.1, element 104/102, 130s, fig.10, steps 1006-1008, paragraphs [0005], [0026], [0032-0033] and its description); determine position information indicating a position of the device based on the first beacon transmission, the second beacon transmission, the first encrypted address information, the second encrypted address information, and the address mapping information (see abstract, fig.1, element 104/102, 130s, fig.10, steps 1010-1012, paragraphs [0005], [0026], [0032-0034] and its description); and use the position information (see abstract, fig.1, element 104/102, 130s, fig.10, step 1014, paragraphs [0005], [0026], [0032-0034] and its description), except for encrypted address information. However, encrypted address information in networking is well-known. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use encrypting information in order to prevent attacker and ensure privacy for user.
Regarding claim 30, Xu further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the device to: transmit the position information to an ESL device; (see abstract, fig.1, element 106/102, 130 paragraph [0045] and its description) and receive a notification from the ESL device responsive to transmission of the position information (see abstract, fig.1, element 110/102, 130s, fig.10, step 1014, paragraphs [0005], [0026], [0032-0034] and its description).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 28-29, Xu discloses all subject matters described above However, Xu fails to disclose all the limitations in claims 28-29.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
UNITED STATES PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE
/CONGVAN TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
en