Election/Restrictions
In their response dated 8/5/2026 the applicants elected to prosecute claims 6-13 (group II), which is directed to a binder composition for fiber glass, wherein recitation “for fiber glass” is a recitation of intended use. The applicants traversed the restriction of group IV which is directed to fiber composite comprising fibers cured with a binder of claim 6, indicating that compositions overlap in scope.
Examiner disagrees, while claim 6 is drawn to composition, it does not require presence of fibers and binder being cured. Having said that if composition of claim 6 is found allowable, the examiner can rejoin the claims as long as rejoined claims all comprise allowable subject matter.
Claim Interpretation
Instant claim 6 is directed to a dedusting composition utilized with a binder. Claim is an open claim that includes any type of plant oil including its derivative. Polycarboxylic acid is interpreted based on instant claim 8 to include acid or anhydride which has at minimum to carboxylic acid group. Under broadest reasonable interpretation the dedusting oil composition can be pre-reacted before it is mixed with polycarboxylic acid, or it can be mixed in situ. The dedusting composition does not have to be called “dedusting” in the prior art as long as the prior art itself discloses use of all components of the dedusting composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 7 is defines aromatic amines. Included in the list are hydroquinoline, hydroxybenzothiazole and mercaptothiazole. These compounds are not amines.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wool (US 6,121,398).
With respect to claims 6 and 7, Wool discloses resin composition (claim 13) comprising plant or animal oil (claim 1), wherein this rejection will rely on plant oil which includes soybean oil (claims 3 and 4). The oil can be epoxidized.
Example 10 discloses epoxidized triglycerides (plant oil) is reacted with isophthalic acid and 2-methylimidazole.
Isophthalic acid meets the limitation of polycarboxylic acid,
Methylimidazole meets the limitation of aromatic amine of claim 7.
With respect to claims 8 and 9, Example 26 of Wool discloses plant oil (triglyceride) was mixed with diethanolamine and maleic anhydride, wherein diethanol amine also meets the limitation of claim instant claim 9.
In Example 38, obtained maleinized plant oils are then mixed with Bisphenol A and methylimidazole and glass fiber to form glass fiber reinforced composite. Example 38 teaches use of diethanol amine, additional monomers such as styrene along with dimethylaniline and peroxide.
Components disclosed in examples above meet the components of instant claims 6-9.
Furthermore, with respect to claim 9, specification of Wool discloses additional polyol compounds which include pentaerythritol (col. 8).
With respect to claim 10, while examples disclose use of maleic anhydride (two carboxylate groups), Wool teaches not only other anhydrides but also its acidic form. Diacids are disclosed in Wool (col. 8) as functional equivalents. Examples include succinic acid, formic acid (Example 17) polyacrylate based polymer (example 8), maleic acid (example 3). Wool further teaches that presence of carboxylic acid groups improves adhesion (col. 12) with, for example, fillers.
With respect to claim 11, the plant oil as mentioned above is derived from soybean oil (claims 3 and 4) of Wool. However, specification further defines other sources which are sunflower, safflower, corn, linseed (col. 4 and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wool (US 6,121,398) or in alternative in view of Sonney (WO 2007/111834).
The discussion of Wool from paragraph 1 of this office action is incorporated here by reference. In addition to anticipation claims 6-11 as shown in paragraph 1, following aspects of the invention of Wool render instant claims 12 and 13 obvious.
With respect to claim 12, Wool discloses that the plant oil can be utilized in two different ways. First, it is utilized as a binder itself and therefore the major component of the composite article. Second, when the plant oil composition is added to another base polymer to form a composite article, which reads on the plant oil composition as an additive to the binder. Depending on how the plant oil composition is utilized its content will change.
Example 20 discloses use of 10 g of oil with 2 ml of benzylamine (contains aromatic group) 10 g of Epon 828 and 5 g of maleic anhydride, wherein content of the oil and amine add up to about 40%. Epon 828 is encompassed by the term “comprising”.
Additionally, since the composition is open to include other components such as fibers or fillers. Consequently, with additional fillers encompassed under broader reasonable interpretation the content of the oil and amine will be lower.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time instant invention was filed to adjust the content of the epoxy and aromatic amine in the binder composition, depending on intended use and if the plant oil and amine is to be utilized as an additive. Such modification would allow one of ordinary skill in the art to tailor the properties of the composition which can be made into fiber reinforced composites. The resulting articles can be also toughened thermoset articles, rigid articles thermoset articles, articles having specific surface properties as well as composition with varying mechanical properties all of which are exemplified by Wool.
With respect to claim 18, the exotherm is not explicitly taught by Wool, however this property is obvious for following reason. This property is attributed to the composition of claim 6, where under broadest reasonable interpretation, the plant oil can be any plant oil, polycarboxylic acid can be any acid which has at least two carboxylic groups and amine can be any aromatic amine. Each of the two components can be utilized in any amount.
Wool teaches exactly according to claims a plant oil which is a soybean oil, which is reacted with maleic anhydride (claims 1, 3, 4, 6 ) and amine the mixture then is crosslinked with glycerol (claims 10 and 11), while amines can be selected from any amine, especially those utilized in the examples such as imidazoles or those explicitly named in the specification (col. 8) which include alkylated anilines.
The examiner would like to note that while instant invention discloses preferred embodiments with respect to the type and content of each component, the examiner cannot read specification into the claims. Furthermore, instant specification does not provide any guidance as to what component actually contributes to increased exotherm and what the actual content of that component is. Consequently, the same components as disclosed in Wool under broadest reasonable interpretation will also meet the limitation of the exotherm.
In the event the applicants do not agree with examiner’s interpretation directed to claim 12 and content of the plant oil and amine, Sonny is further proof as to how choice of components can influence the properties of the final article. Specifically, Sonney discloses composition (claim 1) comprising polyisocyanate (also contemplated by Wool) which is reacted with combination of one polyol (also contemplated by Wool) in an amount of up to 99 wt.%, which polyol meets the definition of crosslinker and 1-100 wt.% of natural oil (claim 1 and 13-14). Natural polyol of Sonney can also be epoxidized (claim 16). The additional component is chain extender which is a phenylene diamine (p. 13). Content of chain extenders is 3-25 parts based on the content of the polyol.
It is clearly evident that the content of the plant oil and amine can utilized within rather broad range, wherein content and type of the components can further adjust viscoelastic properties of the composition or product semi-rigid composition (Abstract, p. 15). This can be achieved by utilizing various types of polyols which impart flexibility. Tables of Sonney show composition having 100 parts of oil resulting in density higher than the content of the plant oil at 40 parts (see Tables 1 and 2). At 20 and 30 parts of oil and altered amounts of polyol the composition has improved flexibility, consequently, the content of the plant oil is one of the key components which is adjusted to tailor physical properties of the composition.
Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that in order to tailor properties of the composition, the content of the plant oil can be adjusted. Higher content leads to more rigid composition while lower content imparts flexibility.
Double Patenting
Claim 6-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-14 of copending Application No. 18/442997 (‘997). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant claim 6 is broader in scope than claim 7 of the co-pending ‘997. While instant claims are open to any plant oil and its derivative, it encompasses in scope the epoxidized oil of ‘997.
Instant claim 7 is the same as co-pending claim 8 (including 112).
Instant claim 8 is the same as co-pending claim 9.
Instant claim 9 is the same as co-pending claim 10.
Instant claim 10 is the same as co-pending claim 11.
Instant claim 11 reciting plant oil encompasses the epoxidized oils of co-pending claim 12 as they are derived from the same plants.
Instant claim 12 is the same as co-pending claim 13.
Instant claim 13 is the same as co-pending claim 14.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Relevant Art
US 3,291,764 to Findley discloses oil composition comprising mixing plant oil with phenylene diamine (Table in col. 3-4) wherein compounds which are alkanol amines or glycols can be utilized (col. 2)
US 3,979,270 to Trecker discloses acrylic acid dimer which has up to 3 repeat units (polycarboxylic compound) is reacted with epoxidized plant oil (soybean oil) and an amine such as diphenyl amine. The compound can be utilized as a binder alone of in admixture with known components in the coating applications. Reactive solvent can be utilized in an amount of 0-100 parts the balance being the epoxide composition.
WO 2007/111834 to Sonney or US 2012/0216952 to Bushendorf disclose composition comprising polyol (claim 1), natural oil (claim 13) and and an amine chain extender which includes phenylenediamine. The composition is mixed with an isocyanate to form urethane foam for insulation.
Correspondence
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 August 18, 2026