DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 10, 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi, US 2010/0304665 A1 (Higuchi here in after), in view of Wentink, US 2005/0094588 A1 (Wentink hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 1, Higuchi discloses a communication system (Higuchi, abstract, A base station used in a relay transmission system is disclosed) comprising
a communication control apparatus that performs processing for selecting (Higuchi, Fig. 3, step S311, “select relay station”. Also see paragraph [0061], When determining that the relay is not required to be performed (NO in step S111), the process goes to step S117 (i.e., a control apparatus performing the process for selecting a relay). On the other hand, when determining that the relay is required to be performed (YES in step S11), the process goes to step S113), from among a plurality of relay stations (Higuchi, paragraph [0040], This configuration may be preferable from the viewpoint of selecting one or more relay stations which are closer to the user equipment (UE) terminal from among one or more relay stations), a relay station to be used for relaying of upward communication from a terminal station to a base station (Higuchi, paragraph [0040], the relay information may be generated in a manner such that the uplink signal is to be relayed by one or more relay stations having a path loss value equal to or less than a predetermined value),
wherein the communication control apparatus selects a relay station to be used for the relaying from remaining relay stations (Higuchi, Fig. 3 step S311 and paragraph [0062], In step S113, it is determined which relay station among one or more relay stations (i.e. selecting relay from the remaining relay stations) should perform the relay on the uplink signal from the user equipment (UE) terminal (i.e. a relay station to perform the relay is selected)),
Regarding claim 10, Higuchi discloses a communication control method for executing a communication control apparatus that performs processing for selecting (Higuchi, Fig. 3, step S311, “select relay station”. Also see paragraph [0061], When determining that the relay is not required to be performed (NO in step S111), the process goes to step S117 (i.e., a control apparatus performing the process for selecting a relay). On the other hand, when determining that the relay is required to be performed (YES in step S11), the process goes to step S113), from among a plurality of relay stations that constitute a communication system (Higuchi, paragraph [0040], This configuration may be preferable from the viewpoint of selecting one or more relay stations which are closer to the user equipment (UE) terminal from among one or more relay stations), a relay station to be used for relaying of upward communication from a terminal station to a base station (Higuchi, paragraph [0040], the relay information may be generated in a manner such that the uplink signal is to be relayed by one or more relay stations having a path loss value equal to or less than a predetermined value),
the communication control apparatus selecting a relay station to be used for the relaying from remaining relay stations (Higuchi, Fig. 3 step S311 and paragraph [0062], In step S113, it is determined which relay station among one or more relay stations (i.e. selecting relay from the remaining relay stations) should perform the relay on the uplink signal from the user equipment (UE) terminal (i.e. a relay station to perform the relay is selected)),
Regarding claim 19, Higuchi discloses a communication control apparatus that performs processing for selecting (Higuchi, Fig. 3, step S311, “select relay station”. Also see paragraph [0061], When determining that the relay is not required to be performed (NO in step S111), the process goes to step S117 (i.e., a control apparatus performing the process for selecting a relay). On the other hand, when determining that the relay is required to be performed (YES in step S11), the process goes to step S113), from among a plurality of relay stations that constitute a communication system (Higuchi, paragraph [0040], This configuration may be preferable from the viewpoint of selecting one or more relay stations which are closer to the user equipment (UE) terminal from among one or more relay stations), a relay station to be used for relaying of upward communication from a terminal station to a base station (Higuchi, paragraph [0040], the relay information may be generated in a manner such that the uplink signal is to be relayed by one or more relay stations having a path loss value equal to or less than a predetermined value), and
executes selecting a relay station to be used for the relaying from remaining relay stations (Higuchi, Fig. 3 step S311 and paragraph [0062], In step S113, it is determined which relay station among one or more relay stations (i.e. selecting relay from the remaining relay stations) should perform the relay on the uplink signal from the user equipment (UE) terminal (i.e. a relay station to perform the relay is selected)),
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 19, Higuchi does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 1, obtained by removing relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption from one or two or more relay stations that are usable for the relaying, out of the plurality of relay stations.
Regarding claim 10, obtained by removing relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption from relay stations that are usable for the relaying, out of the plurality of relay stations.
Regarding claim 19, obtained by removing relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption from relay stations that are usable for the relaying, out of the plurality of relay stations.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Wentink discloses a method related to power conservation in a wireless network that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 1, obtained by removing relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption from one or two or more relay stations that are usable for the relaying, out of the plurality of relay stations (Wentink, paragraph [0027], the present invention provides a technique for reducing the transmit power of a transmitting wireless device. In at least one embodiment, the PCN 102 identifies and selects a suitable relay node 104 for use in relaying uplink information 122 (e.g., one or more frames) to the access point 106, where the relay node 104 may be closer to the PCN 102, may have less interference, and/or is capable of supporting a higher transmit rate than the access point 106, thus reducing the transmit power consumed by the PCN 102. After identifying and selecting a suitable relay node 104, a direct wireless link 112 may be established between the PCN 102 and the relay node 104 and the direct wireless link 112 may be used to provide the uplink information 122 to the relay node 104 for relay to the access point 106. Also see paragraph [0023], Referring now to FIG. 1, In the illustrated example, the wireless devices include a power conserving node (PCN) 102 and a relay node 104).
Regarding claim 10, obtained by removing relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption from relay stations that are usable for the relaying, out of the plurality of relay stations (Wentink, paragraph [0027], the present invention provides a technique for reducing the transmit power of a transmitting wireless device. In at least one embodiment, the PCN 102 identifies and selects a suitable relay node 104 for use in relaying uplink information 122 (e.g., one or more frames) to the access point 106, where the relay node 104 may be closer to the PCN 102, may have less interference, and/or is capable of supporting a higher transmit rate than the access point 106, thus reducing the transmit power consumed by the PCN 102. After identifying and selecting a suitable relay node 104, a direct wireless link 112 may be established between the PCN 102 and the relay node 104 and the direct wireless link 112 may be used to provide the uplink information 122 to the relay node 104 for relay to the access point 106. Also see paragraph [0023], Referring now to FIG. 1, In the illustrated example, the wireless devices include a power conserving node (PCN) 102 and a relay node 104).
Regarding claim 19, obtained by removing relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption from relay stations that are usable for the relaying, out of the plurality of relay stations (Wentink, paragraph [0027], the present invention provides a technique for reducing the transmit power of a transmitting wireless device. In at least one embodiment, the PCN 102 identifies and selects a suitable relay node 104 for use in relaying uplink information 122 (e.g., one or more frames) to the access point 106, where the relay node 104 may be closer to the PCN 102, may have less interference, and/or is capable of supporting a higher transmit rate than the access point 106, thus reducing the transmit power consumed by the PCN 102. After identifying and selecting a suitable relay node 104, a direct wireless link 112 may be established between the PCN 102 and the relay node 104 and the direct wireless link 112 may be used to provide the uplink information 122 to the relay node 104 for relay to the access point 106. Also see paragraph [0023], Referring now to FIG. 1, In the illustrated example, the wireless devices include a power conserving node (PCN) 102 and a relay node 104).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Higuchi by using the features, as taught by Wentink, in order to support improved techniques for economizing the transmit power of a transmitting wireless device (see Wentink, abstract and paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 5 and 14, Higuchi does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 5, wherein the communication control apparatus selects a first relay station, which is a relay station that has already been used for a terminal station other than the terminal station, as a relay station to be used for the relaying, from among the one or two or more relay stations.
Regarding claim 14, wherein the communication control apparatus selects a first relay station, which is a relay station that has already been used for a terminal station other than the terminal station, as a relay station to be used for the relaying, from among the one or two or more relay stations.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Wentink discloses a method related to power conservation in a wireless network that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 5, wherein the communication control apparatus selects a first relay station, which is a relay station that has already been used for a terminal station other than the terminal station, as a relay station to be used for the relaying, from among the one or two or more relay stations (Wentink, paragraph [0029], Although PCN 102 is described herein as the transmitting device and relay node 104 is described as the relaying device, the PCN 102 may act as a relay node for relay node 104 or another wireless device and the relay node may act as a PCN. Accordingly, those skilled in the art will appreciate that a wireless device may implement some or all of the features of both the PCN 102 and the relay node 104 such that the wireless device is enabled to both identify, select and use one or more relay nodes to conserve transmit power, as well as relay uplink information for another wireless device. Also see paragraph [0030], The PCN 102 further may include a power conservation module 210 for identifying and selecting a suitable relay node (e.g., relay node 104) for relaying uplink information 122, establishing and/or maintaining a direct link 110 with the identified relay node, and/or managing the transmission of the uplink information 122 to the selected relay node via the direct link 110. Also see paragraph [0038], If more than one relay node 104 is maintained in the list or database of relay nodes, the power conservation module 210 may select a relay node having the highest link quality for comparison with the access point's link quality).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the communication control apparatus selects a first relay station, which is a relay station that has already been used for a terminal station other than the terminal station, as a relay station to be used for the relaying, from among the one or two or more relay stations (Wentink, paragraph [0029], Although PCN 102 is described herein as the transmitting device and relay node 104 is described as the relaying device, the PCN 102 may act as a relay node for relay node 104 or another wireless device and the relay node may act as a PCN. Accordingly, those skilled in the art will appreciate that a wireless device may implement some or all of the features of both the PCN 102 and the relay node 104 such that the wireless device is enabled to both identify, select and use one or more relay nodes to conserve transmit power, as well as relay uplink information for another wireless device. Also see paragraph [0030], The PCN 102 further may include a power conservation module 210 for identifying and selecting a suitable relay node (e.g., relay node 104) for relaying uplink information 122, establishing and/or maintaining a direct link 110 with the identified relay node, and/or managing the transmission of the uplink information 122 to the selected relay node via the direct link 110. Also see paragraph [0038], If more than one relay node 104 is maintained in the list or database of relay nodes, the power conservation module 210 may select a relay node having the highest link quality for comparison with the access point's link quality).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Higuchi by using the features, as taught by Wentink, in order to support improved techniques for economizing the transmit power of a transmitting wireless device (see Wentink, abstract and paragraph [0008]).
Claim(s) 2-3, 8, 11-12, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi, US 2010/0304665 A1 (Higuchi here in after), in view of Wentink, US 2005/0094588 A1 (Wentink hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Lin et al., US 2024/0137779 A1 (Lin hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 2-3, 8, 11-12, 17 and 20, Higuchi and Wentink disclose the communication system according to claim 1, the communication control method according to claim 10 and the communication control apparatus according to claim 19. Higuchi and Wentink do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the communication control apparatus extracts the one or two or more relay stations, based on a value indicating communication quality between each of the plurality of relay stations and the terminal station and gains requested of respective relay stations for the relaying.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption include a relay station that has transmitted a request to consider power consumption to the communication control apparatus.
Regarding claim 8, wherein the communication control apparatus selects, when there are no relay stations that have already been used for a terminal station other than the terminal station in the one or two or more relay stations, a relay station of which requested gain for the relaying is smallest, from among the one or two or more relay stations, as a relay station to be used for the relaying.
Regarding claim 11, wherein the communication control apparatus extracts relay stations that are usable for the relaying, based on a value indicating communication quality between each of the plurality of relay stations and the terminal station and gains requested of respective relay stations for the relaying.
Regarding claim 12, wherein the relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption include a relay station that has transmitted a request to consider power consumption to the communication control apparatus.
Regarding claim 17, wherein the communication control apparatus selects, when there are no relay stations that have already been used for a terminal station other than the terminal station in the one or two or more relay stations, a relay station of which requested gain for the relaying is smallest, from among the one or two or more relay stations, as a relay station to be used for the relaying.
Regarding claim 20, wherein the communication control apparatus extracts the one or two or more relay stations, based on a value indicating communication quality between each of the plurality of relay stations and the terminal station and gains requested of respective relay stations for the relaying.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Lin discloses a control method in a wireless communication system that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the communication control apparatus extracts the one or two or more relay stations (Lin, paragraph [0036], The signal forwarding method 100 is applied to a first device, in which the first device is used to amplify cellular communication signals between a second device and a plurality of third devices in a network. The first device, the second device and the plurality of third devices may be a repeater, a base station (e.g., gNB) and user equipments, respectively, but the invention is not limited thereto. Also see paragraph [0057], in the determining step, the signals corresponding to the user equipment that is directly served by the repeater are determined to be forwarded, and the signals corresponding to the user equipment that is not directly served by the repeater are removed), based on a value indicating communication quality between each of the plurality of relay stations and the terminal station and gains requested of respective relay stations for the relaying (Lin, paragraph [0038], the repeater selectively forwards the received signals based on an instruction or indication of the network. The repeating signals are selected by the repeater and then forwarded to the base station (for uplink signals) or one or more user equipments (for downlink signals). The selective repeating signal is a useful signal obtained from the received signal, which will be amplified by the repeater with a specific gain and sent out. Also see paragraphs [0101]-[0102], obtaining second information on which UEs the at least one repeater can serve and reception quality reported by the UEs for signals transmitted by the at least one repeater … second information is obtained by the base station. The second information includes which UEs the at least one repeater can serve and reception quality reported by the UEs for signals transmitted by the at least one repeater. Thus, the base station will have information on which UEs the repeater can serve and the reception quality associated with those UEs. Also see Fig. 10, steps 410, 421 and paragraphs [0097]-[0102]).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption include a relay station that has transmitted a request to consider power consumption to the communication control apparatus (Lin, paragraph [0057], in the determining step, the signals corresponding to the user equipment that is directly served by the repeater are determined to be forwarded, and the signals corresponding to the user equipment that is not directly served by the repeater are removed. That is, if the user equipment is not directly served by the repeater, the repeater may not forward corresponding signals. The repeater may only forward the signals the signals corresponding to the user equipment that is directly served by the repeater. This selective forwarding may at least save power consumption of the repeater and reduce possible interferences. Also see Fig. 2 and paragraphs [0063]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the communication control apparatus selects, when there are no relay stations that have already been used for a terminal station other than the terminal station in the one or two or more relay stations (Lin, paragraph [0065], The wireless communication method 200 is applied to a first device, in which the first device is used to amplify cellular communication signals between a second device and at least one third device in a network. The first device, the second device and the at least one third device may be a repeater, a base station ( e.g., gNB) and at least one user equipment (UE), respectively, but the invention is not limited thereto), a relay station of which requested gain for the relaying is smallest, from among the one or two or more relay stations, as a relay station to be used for the relaying (Lin, paragraph [0078], the greater a distance between the repeater and the at least one user equipment is, the greater the repeater gain is utilized. For example, the base station may determine the distance between the repeater and the user equipment by estimating the pass loss between the repeater and the user equipment based on reference signal received strength (RSRP). It may be determined a large distance between the repeater and the user equipment when the pass loss is relatively large; it may be determined a small distance between the repeater and the user equipment when the pass loss is relatively small. As a result, a large repeater gain may be designated to the repeater in the case of large distance, and a small repeater gain may be designated to the repeater in the case of small distance. Also see paragraph [0074], the base station can determine an appropriate repeater gain for the repeater to amply the signal received by the repeater, either in downlink direction or in uplink direction. The appropriate repeater gain can facilitate efficient power utilization of the repeater in downlink transmission and reduce transmit power of the at least one user equipment in uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the communication control apparatus extracts relay stations that are usable for the relaying (Lin, paragraph [0036], The signal forwarding method 100 is applied to a first device, in which the first device is used to amplify cellular communication signals between a second device and a plurality of third devices in a network. The first device, the second device and the plurality of third devices may be a repeater, a base station (e.g., gNB) and user equipments, respectively, but the invention is not limited thereto. Also see paragraph [0057], in the determining step, the signals corresponding to the user equipment that is directly served by the repeater are determined to be forwarded, and the signals corresponding to the user equipment that is not directly served by the repeater are removed), based on a value indicating communication quality between each of the plurality of relay stations and the terminal station and gains requested of respective relay stations for the relaying (Lin, paragraph [0038], the repeater selectively forwards the received signals based on an instruction or indication of the network. The repeating signals are selected by the repeater and then forwarded to the base station (for uplink signals) or one or more user equipments (for downlink signals). The selective repeating signal is a useful signal obtained from the received signal, which will be amplified by the repeater with a specific gain and sent out. Also see paragraphs [0101]-[0102], obtaining second information on which UEs the at least one repeater can serve and reception quality reported by the UEs for signals transmitted by the at least one repeater … second information is obtained by the base station. The second information includes which UEs the at least one repeater can serve and reception quality reported by the UEs for signals transmitted by the at least one repeater. Thus, the base station will have information on which UEs the repeater can serve and the reception quality associated with those UEs).
Regarding claim 12, wherein the relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption include a relay station that has transmitted a request to consider power consumption to the communication control apparatus (Lin, paragraph [0057], in the determining step, the signals corresponding to the user equipment that is directly served by the repeater are determined to be forwarded, and the signals corresponding to the user equipment that is not directly served by the repeater are removed. That is, if the user equipment is not directly served by the repeater, the repeater may not forward corresponding signals. The repeater may only forward the signals the signals corresponding to the user equipment that is directly served by the repeater. This selective forwarding may at least save power consumption of the repeater and reduce possible interferences).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the communication control apparatus selects, when there are no relay stations that have already been used for a terminal station other than the terminal station in the one or two or more relay stations (Lin, paragraph [0065], The wireless communication method 200 is applied to a first device, in which the first device is used to amplify cellular communication signals between a second device and at least one third device in a network. The first device, the second device and the at least one third device may be a repeater, a base station ( e.g., gNB) and at least one user equipment (UE), respectively, but the invention is not limited thereto), a relay station of which requested gain for the relaying is smallest, from among the one or two or more relay stations, as a relay station to be used for the relaying (Lin, paragraph [0078], the greater a distance between the repeater and the at least one user equipment is, the greater the repeater gain is utilized. For example, the base station may determine the distance between the repeater and the user equipment by estimating the pass loss between the repeater and the user equipment based on reference signal received strength (RSRP). It may be determined a large distance between the repeater and the user equipment when the pass loss is relatively large; it may be determined a small distance between the repeater and the user equipment when the pass loss is relatively small. As a result, a large repeater gain may be designated to the repeater in the case of large distance, and a small repeater gain may be designated to the repeater in the case of small distance. Also see paragraph [0074], the base station can determine an appropriate repeater gain for the repeater to amply the signal received by the repeater, either in downlink direction or in uplink direction. The appropriate repeater gain can facilitate efficient power utilization of the repeater in downlink transmission and reduce transmit power of the at least one user equipment in uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 20, wherein the communication control apparatus extracts the one or two or more relay stations (Lin, paragraph [0036], The signal forwarding method 100 is applied to a first device, in which the first device is used to amplify cellular communication signals between a second device and a plurality of third devices in a network. The first device, the second device and the plurality of third devices may be a repeater, a base station (e.g., gNB) and user equipments, respectively, but the invention is not limited thereto. Also see paragraph [0057], in the determining step, the signals corresponding to the user equipment that is directly served by the repeater are determined to be forwarded, and the signals corresponding to the user equipment that is not directly served by the repeater are removed), based on a value indicating communication quality between each of the plurality of relay stations and the terminal station and gains requested of respective relay stations for the relaying (Lin, paragraph [0038], the repeater selectively forwards the received signals based on an instruction or indication of the network. The repeating signals are selected by the repeater and then forwarded to the base station (for uplink signals) or one or more user equipments (for downlink signals). The selective repeating signal is a useful signal obtained from the received signal, which will be amplified by the repeater with a specific gain and sent out. Also see paragraphs [0101]-[0102], obtaining second information on which UEs the at least one repeater can serve and reception quality reported by the UEs for signals transmitted by the at least one repeater … second information is obtained by the base station. The second information includes which UEs the at least one repeater can serve and reception quality reported by the UEs for signals transmitted by the at least one repeater. Thus, the base station will have information on which UEs the repeater can serve and the reception quality associated with those UEs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Higuchi and Wentink by using the features, as taught by Lin, in order to provide appropriate repeater gain to facilitate efficient power utilization of the repeater in downlink transmission and reduce transmit power of the user equipment in uplink transmission (see Lin, abstract and paragraph [0074]).
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi, US 2010/0304665 A1 (Higuchi here in after), in view of Wentink, US 2005/0094588 A1 (Wentink hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Kobayashi et al., US 2006/0293061 A1 (Kobayashi hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Higuchi and Wentink disclose the communication system according to claim 1 and the communication control method according to claim 10. Higuchi and Wentink do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption include a relay station of which remaining amount of battery to be used for driving the relay station is below a threshold value.
Regarding claim 13, wherein the relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption include a relay station of which remaining amount of battery to be used for driving the relay station is below a threshold value.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Kobayashi discloses a method related to radio communication and route discovery that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption include a relay station of which remaining amount of battery to be used for driving the relay station is below a threshold value (Kobayashi, paragraph [0197], the source radio communication device can obtain a route selected giving preference to radio communication devices having information of only a few routes for actually performing the relay processing and also having enough battery remaining power, and therefore, the relay load of each radio communication device can be leveled and a route usable for a long valid time can be obtained. Also see paragraph [0127], In the present embodiment, the battery remaining power level is divided into three stages, but it can be further divided into 4 stages or 5 stages, or it can be divided into 2 stages only. For example, in the case of 5 stages, they are labeled in order from higher to lower battery amounts as level 5, level 4, level 3, level 2, and level 1, and the respective delay amounts in these levels set to be (0, T 4, T3, T2, T1) (with T4<T3<T2<T1)).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption include a relay station of which remaining amount of battery to be used for driving the relay station is below a threshold value (Kobayashi, the source radio communication device can obtain a route selected giving preference to radio communication devices having information of only a few routes for actually performing the relay processing and also having enough battery remaining power, and therefore, the relay load of each radio communication device can be leveled and a route usable for a long valid time can be obtained. Also see paragraph [0127], In the present embodiment, the battery remaining power level is divided into three stages, but it can be further divided into 4 stages or 5 stages, or it can be divided into 2 stages only. For example, in the case of 5 stages, they are labeled in order from higher to lower battery amounts as level 5, level 4, level 3, level 2, and level 1, and the respective delay amounts in these levels set to be (0, T 4, T3, T2, T1) (with T4<T3<T2<T1)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Higuchi and Wentink by using the features, as taught by Kobayashi, in order to provide a radio communication device and a route discovery method which is capable of obtaining an appropriate route easily in accordance with the operating state characteristics of radio communication devices (see Kobayashi, paragraphs [0001] and [0008]).
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi, US 2010/0304665 A1 (Higuchi here in after), in view of Wentink, US 2005/0094588 A1 (Wentink hereinafter), in view of Kobayashi et al., US 2006/0293061 A1 (Kobayashi hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Mehta et al., US 2007/0165581 A1 (Mehta hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Higuchi, Wentink Kobayashi disclose the communication system according to claim 5 and the communication control method according to claim 14. Higuchi, Wentink and Kobayashi do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 6, wherein the communication control apparatus selects, from among a plurality of the first relay stations, a first relay station, to which a second gain that is larger than a first gain requested of relay stations for relaying of the terminal station has been requested regarding relaying of a terminal station other than the terminal station and the second gain value is closest to the first gain value, as a relay station to be used for the relaying.
Regarding claim 15, wherein the communication control apparatus selects, from among a plurality of the first relay stations, a first relay station, to which a second gain that is larger than a first gain requested of relay stations for relaying of the terminal station has been requested regarding relaying of a terminal station other than the terminal station and the second gain value is closest to the first gain value, as a relay station to be used for the relaying.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Mehta discloses a method related to communicating information in a cooperative relay network of wireless nodes that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 6, wherein the communication control apparatus selects, from among a plurality of the first relay stations, a first relay station (Mehta, paragraph [0012], The embodiments of the invention provide a method for selecting a subset of relay nodes and for satisfying an outage constraint in a cooperative relay network. The selected relay nodes cooperate to relay data packets from a source node to a destination node in parallel), to which a second gain that is larger than a first gain requested of relay stations for relaying of the terminal station has been requested regarding relaying of a terminal station other than the terminal station and the second gain value is closest to the first gain value, as a relay station to be used for the relaying (Mehta, paragraph [0064], The destination can declare outage when the sum of the relay gains falls below a threshold. Similarly, an alternate relay selection rule selects enough relays so that a sum of relay gains exceeds the threshold. Also paragraph [0153], If M >M*, the destination selects K*(M) relays and does not declares outage 350, unless the condition 340 M=1 is met, in which case, the destination allows the relay to transmit 360 only if its relay gain is above a threshold).
Regarding claim 15, wherein the communication control apparatus selects, from among a plurality of the first relay stations, a first relay station (Mehta, paragraph [0012], The embodiments of the invention provide a method for selecting a subset of relay nodes and for satisfying an outage constraint in a cooperative relay network. The selected relay nodes cooperate to relay data packets from a source node to a destination node in parallel), to which a second gain that is larger than a first gain requested of relay stations for relaying of the terminal station has been requested regarding relaying of a terminal station other than the terminal station and the second gain value is closest to the first gain value, as a relay station to be used for the relaying (Mehta, paragraph [0064], The destination can declare outage when the sum of the relay gains falls below a threshold. Similarly, an alternate relay selection rule selects enough relays so that a sum of relay gains exceeds the threshold. Also paragraph [0153], If M >M*, the destination selects K*(M) relays and does not declares outage 350, unless the condition 340 M=1 is met, in which case, the destination allows the relay to transmit 360 only if its relay gain is above a threshold).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Higuchi, Wentink and Kobayasi by using the features, as taught by Mehta, in order to consider the cost of acquiring channel state information (CSI) in relay selection so that the selection process can be optimized, and total power consumption in the network can be minimized (see Mehta, abstract and paragraph [0011]).
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi, US 2010/0304665 A1 (Higuchi here in after), in view of Wentink, US 2005/0094588 A1 (Wentink hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Mehta et al., US 2007/0165581 A1 (Mehta hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Higuchi and Wentink disclose the communication system according to claim 1 and the communication control method according to claim 10. Higuchi and Wentink do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 9, wherein the communication control apparatus transmits to a selected relay station an instruction of the relaying and an instruction to set a gain to be applied for the relaying.
Regarding claim 18, wherein the communication control apparatus transmits to a selected relay station an instruction of the relaying and an instruction to set a gain to be applied for the relaying.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Mehta discloses a method related to communicating information in a cooperative relay network of wireless nodes that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 9, wherein the communication control apparatus transmits to a selected relay station an instruction of the relaying and an instruction to set a gain to be applied for the relaying (Mehta, paragraph [0012], The embodiments of the invention provide a method for selecting a subset of relay nodes and for satisfying an outage constraint in a cooperative relay network. The selected relay nodes cooperate to relay data packets from a source node to a destination node in parallel. Also see paragraph [0064], The destination can declare outage when the sum of the relay gains falls below a threshold. Similarly, an alternate relay selection rule selects enough relays so that a sum of relay gains exceeds the threshold).
Regarding claim 18, wherein the communication control apparatus transmits to a selected relay station an instruction of the relaying and an instruction to set a gain to be applied for the relaying (Mehta, paragraph [0012], The embodiments of the invention provide a method for selecting a subset of relay nodes and for satisfying an outage constraint in a cooperative relay network. The selected relay nodes cooperate to relay data packets from a source node to a destination node in parallel. Also see paragraph [0064], The destination can declare outage when the sum of the relay gains falls below a threshold. Similarly, an alternate relay selection rule selects enough relays so that a sum of relay gains exceeds the threshold).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Higuchi and Wentink by using the features, as taught by Mehta, in order to consider the cost of acquiring channel state information (CSI) in relay selection so that the selection process can be optimized, and total power consumption in the network can be minimized (see Mehta, abstract and paragraph [0011]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment and remarks received on 05/29/2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, filed on 05/29/2026, with respect to the claims 1-20 have been fully considered and they are found not to be persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, on page 4, second to last paragraph last paragraph of remarks, applicant argues that, “That is, Wentink merely discloses reducing the transmit power consumed by a transmitting wireless device (PCN 102) by selecting a suitable relay node (e.g., one closer to PCN 102 or supporting a higher transmission rate), rather than the relay node itself. Wentink's goal is to conserve power at the transmitting wireless device (PCN 102), not at the relay node itself. Wentink does not disclose or even suggest avoiding the use of a relay node, e.g., to save the relay node's power consumption (battery). This is fundamentally different from claim 1, which requires removing relay stations based on power consumption concerns”. This argument is not persuasive. The argued feature of the claim recites, “a communication system comprising a communication control apparatus that performs processing for selecting … wherein the communication control apparatus selects a relay station to be used for the relaying from remaining relay stations, obtained by removing relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption from one or two or more relay stations that are usable for the relaying, out of the plurality of relay stations”. As noted in the office action Wentink discloses a method for reducing the transmit power of a transmitting wireless device, where a PCN (i.e., a communication control apparatus) identifies and selects a suitable relay node that is closer to the PCN, may have less interference, and/or is capable of supporting a higher transmit rate than the access point, thus reducing the transmit power consumed by the PCN (i.e. PCN or communication control apparatus selects or removes relay stations giving consideration into reducing power consumption from the one or more relay stations).
on page 4, last paragraph page 5 first paragraph of remarks, applicant argues that, “Wentink does not disclose or suggest removing relay stations from a plurality of relay stations with power consumption concerns. Rather, Wentink simply selects the best relay node based on distance or link quality without any removing of relay stations based on power consumption”. As mentioned above and in the office action Wentink discloses “the PCN identifies and selects a suitable relay node for use in relaying uplink information to an access point … may have less interference, and/or is capable of supporting a higher transmit rate than the access point 106, thus reducing the transmit power consumed by the PCN”, is understood as PCN select relays that does not contribute to power consumption and not selecting or removing those relays that contributes to the power consumption.
On page 5, second paragraph of remark, applicant argues that, “Therefore, Wentink does not disclose or suggest "[a] communication control apparatus [that] selects a relay station to be used for the relaying from remaining relay stations, obtained by removing relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption from one or two or more relay stations that are usable for the relaying, out of the plurality of relay stations," as recited in claim 1”. This argument is not persuasive for the reasons as explained above.
On page 5, second paragraph of remark, applicant argues that, “Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 should be allowed. Independent claims 10 and 19, while varying in scope from claim 1 and each other, recite features similar to those discussed above with regard to claim 1. Consequently, claims 10 and 19 should be allowable”. This argument is not persuasive since claim 1 stands rejected. Claims 10 and 19, reciting similar features as claim 1 stands rejected for similar reasoning.
On page 5 fifth paragraph of remark applicants arguments regarding the dependent claims 2-9, 11-18 and 20, have been fully considered but they are found not to be persuasive since the independent claims stand rejected for the reasons as explained above. Thus, the dependent claims could not be allowed based on their dependency on a rejected base claims.
Regarding claim 2, on page 6 first paragraph of remarks, applicant argues that, “That is, Lin merely discloses an internal signal processing function within a single repeater, in which the repeater selectively forwards signals only from the UE it serves while filtering out other signals. This disclosure has nothing to do with the selection of a relay station by a communication control apparatus (e.g., a base station), as recited in claim 2”. This argument is not persuasive. Lin also discloses a control method performed by a second device (i.e., a control apparatus) to detect which UEs the base station can serve. The method is performed periodically or aperiodically in order for the base station to get the information about whether one or more UEs should join or leave the coverage of the repeaters and/or the base station (i.e., extracting or removing one or more repeaters). The selection process is performed by obtaining a first or a second information (i.e., a value) that includes information on which UEs the at least one repeater can serve and reception quality reported by the UEs for signals transmitted by the at least one repeater, interpreted as based on a value indicating communication quality between each of the plurality of relay stations and the terminal station and gains requested of respective relay stations for the relaying (see Lin, Fig. 10, steps 410, 421 and paragraphs [0097]-[0102]).
On page 6 last paragraph and page 7 first paragraph of remarks, applicant argues that, “In contrast, claim 2 requires that the communication control apparatus (e.g., a base station) "extracts the one or two or more relay stations, based on a value indicating communication quality between each of the plurality of relay stations and the terminal station and gains requested of respective relay stations for the relaying." The internal filtering of unwanted signals within a single repeater and the collection of reception quality information solely to identify served UEs, as described in Lin, cannot be equated to a system-level selection or extraction of an optimal relay node from multiple candidates by a base station, as required by claim 2”. This argument is not persuasive for the reasons as explained above.
Regarding claim 3, second to last paragraph of remarks applicant argues that, “Lin merely discloses that "[t]he repeater may only forward the signals the signals corresponding to the user equipment that is directly served by the repeater. This selective forwarding may at least save power consumption of the repeater and reduce possible interferences." Lin at ¶ [0057]. That is, Lin merely discloses an incidental effect that selective forwarding may save power consumption of the repeater. Lin does not, however, disclose or suggest that a relay station has transmitted a request to consider power consumption to the communication control apparatus”. This argument is not persuasive. Claim 3 recites, “wherein the relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption include a relay station that has transmitted a request to consider power consumption to the communication control apparatus”. Lin also discloses in order to efficiently reduce the power consumption, a novel repeating gain control scheme is proposed, in which the base station can control the repeater to provide different repeating gains for the devices ( or UEs) served by the repeater (i.e., the relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption). In the proposed method of reporting a capability of the repeater to the base station (i.e., transmitting a request to consider power consumption to the communication control apparatus) so that the base station can determine a repeater gain, where the capability of the repeater may be power transmission capability or repeater gain capability of the repeater. The capability of the repeater may include maximum Total Power Repeater Gain (TPRG), maximum resource block repeater gain (RBRG) or maximum total transmit power (see Lin, Fig. 2, and paragraphs [0063]-[0070]).
On page 7 last paragraph and page 8 first paragraph of remarks applicant argues that, “Therefore, Lin does not disclose or suggest "the relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption include a relay station that has transmitted a request to consider power consumption to the communication control apparatus," as recited in claim 3”. This argument is not persuasive for the reasons as explained above.
Regarding claim 4, on page 8 last paragraph and page 9 first paragraph of remarks applicant argues that, “That is, Kobayashi merely discloses a decentralized ad-hoc network where each node autonomously delays a route reply message based on its battery level to be less likely selected as a route. Kobayashi does not, however, disclose or suggest a communication control apparatus (e.g., a base station) that actively removes a relay station whose remaining battery is below a threshold value”. This argument is not persuasive. The claim does not explicitly recites, “a communication control apparatus (e.g., a base station) that actively removes a relay station whose remaining battery is below a threshold value” as argued”. The claim recites “wherein the relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption include a relay station of which remaining amount of battery to be used for driving the relay station is below a threshold value”. As noted in the office action, Kobayashi discloses a source radio communication device selects a route giving preference to routes for which the relays having enough battery remaining power (i.e., the relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption) so that the relay load of each radio communication device can be leveled and a route usable for a long valid time can be obtained. Kobayashi further discloses the battery remaining power level is divided into 2, 3, 4 and 5 stages. In a typical example, in the case of 5 stages, the power levels are labeled in order from higher to lower battery amounts as level 5, level 4, level 3, level 2, and level 1, and the respective delay amounts in these levels set to be (0, T 4, T3, T2, T1) (i.e., relays selected for the route includes a relay station of which remaining amount of battery to be used for driving the relay station is below a threshold value) (see, Kobayashi, paragraph [0127] and [0197]).
On page 9, second paragraph of remarks applicant argues that, “Therefore, Kobayashi does not disclose or suggest "the relay stations for which consideration needs to be given regarding power consumption include a relay station of which remaining amount of battery to be used for driving the relay station is below a threshold value," as recited in claim 4”. This argument is not persuasive for the reasons as explained above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OBAIDUL HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473 Dated: 07/04/2026