DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 02/15/2024 complies with 37 CFR 1.97. Therefore, the information referred therein has been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 is a method claim that reads improperly. For example, the limitation “the central radio device receiving data from a first peripheral radio device over a first unicast radio connection;” should be written as “receiving, by the central radio device, data from a first peripheral radio device” as it is the method claim. The various limitations of claim 1 should also be changed to a similar format. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 6 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: The parenthetical plural “(s)” in the term “signal(s)” is stylistically problematic and reduces clarity. Applicant is requested to amend the claim to remove the parenthetical plural and to consistently use a single, clear plurality (e.g., “signal” or “signals”) or the phrase “one or more signals,” as appropriate, to clarify claim scope. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19 is unclear and ambiguous. The claim is in independent format while depending on the method of claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 20 is a system claim that is narrative without any structure (e.g., a processor, memory, transceiver, etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al. (US 2022/0383881).
Regarding claim 1, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo discloses a method of operating a radio communication system comprising a central radio device and a plurality of peripheral radio devices, the method comprising: the central radio device receiving data from a first peripheral radio device ([0053], “Referring to FIG. 2, a system 200 includes a first device 102 coupled to a second device 202 via a communication link 172.”) over a first unicast radio connection ([0117], “In accordance with FIGS. 7B and 7C, the media packet 700 can be sent via unicast, such as a connected isochronous stream (CIS)”); the central radio device broadcasting ([0117], “In accordance with FIGS. 7B and 7C, the media packet 700 can be sent … via broadcast, such as broadcast isochronous stream (BIS), or a combination thereof.”) a radio signal in which data received from the first peripheral radio device are encoded ([0053], “The first device 102 is configured to generate, based on link data 168 received from the second device 202, encoded audio data 129 that represents audio data 123 from an audio source 122.”); at least one peripheral radio device receiving the radio signal broadcast by the central radio device and decoding the data encoded therein ([0053], “The second device 202 is configured to receive encoded audio data via the communication link 172, decode the received audio data”); the central radio device receiving data from a second peripheral radio device over a second unicast radio connection ([0117], “In accordance with FIGS. 7B and 7C, the media packet 700 can be sent via unicast, such as a connected isochronous stream (CIS)”); the central radio device broadcasting a radio signal in which data received from the second peripheral radio device are encoded ([0106], “Encoded audio data output by the encoder 678 may be transmitted to the first device 602 via the modem 650 and may be used at the first device 602 for processing, such as in conjunction with execution of a game engine or an audio conferencing application at the first device 602.”); and at least one peripheral radio device receiving the radio signal broadcast by the central radio device and decoding the data encoded therein ([0053], “The second device 202 is configured to receive encoded audio data via the communication link 172, decode the received audio data”).
Regarding claim 2, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo discloses the method of claim 1, comprising the central radio device broadcasting ([0117], “In accordance with FIGS. 7B and 7C, the media packet 700 can be sent … via broadcast, such as broadcast isochronous stream (BIS), or a combination thereof.”) a radio signal in which data produced by the central radio device are encoded ([0053], “The first device 102 is configured to generate, based on link data 168 received from the second device 202, encoded audio data 129 that represents audio data 123 from an audio source 122. The encoded audio data 129 is encoded using a coding mode 152 that is dynamically adjusted based on a condition of the communication link 172. The second device 202 is configured to receive encoded audio data via the communication link 172, decode the received audio data”).
Regarding claim 6, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first and/or second unicast radio connection comprises a Connected Isochronous Stream and the radio signal(s) broadcast by the central radio device comprises a Broadcast Isochronous Stream ([0117], “In accordance with FIGS. 7B and 7C, the media packet 700 can be sent via unicast, such as a connected isochronous stream (CIS), sent via broadcast, such as broadcast isochronous stream (BIS), or a combination thereof.”).
Regarding claim 16, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data received over the first and/or second unicast radio connections and/or the data encoded in the radio signal(s) broadcast by the central device are audio data ([0053], “The first device 102 is configured to generate, based on link data 168 received from the second device 202, encoded audio data 129 that represents audio data 123 from an audio source 122. The encoded audio data 129 is encoded using a coding mode 152 that is dynamically adjusted based on a condition of the communication link 172.”).
Regarding claim 17, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo discloses the method of claim 16, comprising one or more of the peripheral radio devices playing back of audio data from the first and/or second peripheral radio device received in the radio signal broadcast by the central radio device ([0053], “The second device 202 is configured to receive encoded audio data via the communication link 172, decode the received audio data, adjust the decoded audio data based on movement of the second device 202, and play out the resulting audio, reducing latency associated with transmitting movement information from the second device 202 to the first device 102 for motion-based adjustment of the audio data at the first device 102.”).
Regarding claim 19, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo discloses a radio communication system arranged to perform the method of claim 1 ([0145], “The device 1900 may include a smart speaker, a speaker bar, a mobile communication device, a smart phone, a cellular phone, a laptop computer, a computer, a tablet, a personal digital assistant, a display device, a television, a gaming console, a music player, a radio,”).
Regarding claim 20, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo discloses a central radio device arranged to: receive data from a first peripheral radio device ([0053], “Referring to FIG. 2, a system 200 includes a first device 102 coupled to a second device 202 via a communication link 172.”) over a first unicast radio connection ([0117], “In accordance with FIGS. 7B and 7C, the media packet 700 can be sent via unicast, such as a connected isochronous stream (CIS)”); broadcast a radio signal ([0117], “In accordance with FIGS. 7B and 7C, the media packet 700 can be sent … via broadcast, such as broadcast isochronous stream (BIS), or a combination thereof.”) in which data received from the first peripheral radio device are encoded ([0053], “The first device 102 is configured to generate, based on link data 168 received from the second device 202, encoded audio data 129 that represents audio data 123 from an audio source 122.”); receive data from a second peripheral radio device over a second unicast radio connection ([0117], “In accordance with FIGS. 7B and 7C, the media packet 700 can be sent via unicast, such as a connected isochronous stream (CIS)”); and broadcast a radio signal ([0117], “In accordance with FIGS. 7B and 7C, the media packet 700 can be sent … via broadcast, such as broadcast isochronous stream (BIS), or a combination thereof.”) in which data received from the second peripheral radio device are encoded ([0106], “Encoded audio data output by the encoder 678 may be transmitted to the first device 602 via the modem 650 and may be used at the first device 602 for processing, such as in conjunction with execution of a game engine or an audio conferencing application at the first device 602.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al. (US 2022/0383881) in view of Haggai et al. (US 2024/0089715).
Regarding claim 3, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo discloses and at least one peripheral radio device receiving the radio signal broadcast ([0117], “In accordance with FIGS. 7B and 7C, the media packet 700 can be sent … via broadcast, such as broadcast isochronous stream (BIS), or a combination thereof.”) by the central radio device and decoding the data encoded therein ([0053], “The second device 202 is configured to receive encoded audio data via the communication link 172, decode the received audio data”). Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo does not disclose the further peripheral device. Haggai discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: the central radio device receiving data from at least one further peripheral radio device ([0077], “In this scenario, the first processor (or, in another configuration, the communication manager) may be configured to define a further time-offset 306b associated with a further device, e.g. a third device, for example a further peripheral device.”) over at least one further unicast radio connection ([0019], “As shown in FIG. 1, a CIS may be divided into one or more sub-events 106, i.e. one or more time slots for the central device and the peripheral device to exchange data packets 102, 104. Illustratively, in each sub-event 106, the central device sends a data packet 102 (to request data) to the peripheral device, and the peripheral device responds with a corresponding data packet 104 to the central device.”); the central radio device broadcasting ([0075], “Illustratively, the first device may establish a plurality of communication links with a plurality of other devices (e.g., a plurality of secondary devices, e.g. a plurality of peripherals), and may be configured to synchronize the communication with the plurality of other devices.”) a radio signal in which data received from the at least one further peripheral radio device are encoded ([0052], “Illustratively, a communication interface 210, 212 may be configured to allow the respective device 202, 204 to communicate with other devices, e.g. may be configured to allow the respective device 202, 204 to transmit and/or receive data (illustratively, signals encoding data) with other devices (illustratively, other devices external to the respective device 202, 204).”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo in view of Haggai to have the further peripheral device. The motivation would have been to reduce overhead and latency (e.g., Haggai [0032]).
Regarding claim 4, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo does not disclose the plurality of peripheral devices. Haggai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein every peripheral device in the system is operable to transmit data to the central radio device for broadcast ([0067], “FIG. 3A to FIG. 3F each shows a respective graph 300a, 300b, 300c, 300d, 300e, 300f illustrating a communication among multiple devices, according to the present disclosure.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo in view of Haggai to have the plurality of peripheral devices. The motivation would have been to reduce overhead and latency (e.g., Haggai [0032]).
Regarding claim 5, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo does not disclose the radio devices being BLE devices. Haggai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the radio devices are Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) devices ([0061], “The first device 202 and the second device 204 may thus be or be configured as Bluetooth® devices, e.g. Bluetooth® Low Energy devices (for example, the first device 202 may be a central device for use in a BLE-network, and the second device 204 may be a peripheral device for use in a BLE-network).”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo in view of Haggai to have the radio devices being BLE devices. The motivation would have been to reduce overhead and latency (e.g., Haggai [0032]).
Regarding claim 7, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo does not disclose the central device receiving data from multiple devices at the same time. Haggai discloses the method of claim 1, comprising the central radio device receiving data from the first and second peripheral radio devices at the same time ([0040], “In general, the first device 202 may be capable of communicating with more than one further device, e.g. at the same time (illustratively over a same time period).”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo in view of Haggai to have the central device receiving data from multiple devices at the same time. The motivation would have been to reduce overhead and latency (e.g., Haggai [0032]).
Regarding claim 8, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo does not disclose the subsequent broadcasting of first and second radio signals. Haggai discloses the method of claim 1, comprising the central radio device broadcasting at a first time a radio signal in which data received from the first peripheral radio device are encoded and subsequently broadcasting at a second time a radio signal in which data received from the second peripheral radio device are encoded ([0040], “The time-offset 216 may be uniquely associated with the second device 204. In general, the first device 202 may be capable of communicating with more than one further device, e.g. at the same time (illustratively over a same time period). The first processor 206 may thus be configured to define a unique time-offset 216 for each device with which the first device 202 may have a data transmission (see also FIG. 3C).”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo in view of Haggai to have the subsequent broadcasting of first and second radio signals. The motivation would have been to reduce overhead and latency (e.g., Haggai [0032]).
Regarding claim 9, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo does not disclose the transition from the first device to the second device. Haggai discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the central radio device transitions ([0019], “As shown in FIG. 1, a CIS may be divided into one or more sub-events 106, i.e. one or more time slots for the central device and the peripheral device to exchange data packets 102, 104. Illustratively, in each sub-event 106, the central device sends a data packet 102 (to request data) to the peripheral device, and the peripheral device responds with a corresponding data packet 104 to the central device.”) from broadcasting data from the first peripheral radio device to broadcasting data from the second peripheral radio device in response to a transition signal ([0019], “Each CIG event may include one or more CIS events, depending on the number of CISs in the CIG. Each CIS event may occur at a regular interval, and may be partitioned into the one or more sub-events 106. A CIG event includes the corresponding CIS events of the CISs currently included in the CIG (for example, each CIS may be associated with a different peripheral, e.g. the left and right earbuds as an example). A CIG event starts at the CIG anchor point of the earliest (in transmission order) CIS of the CIG.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo in view of Haggai to have the transition from the first device to the second device. The motivation would have been to reduce overhead and latency (e.g., Haggai [0032]).
Regarding claim 10, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo does not disclose the transitional signal by a peripheral device. Haggai discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the transition signal is issued by the first or second peripheral radio device ([0019], “As shown in FIG. 1, a CIS may be divided into one or more sub-events 106, i.e. one or more time slots for the central device and the peripheral device to exchange data packets 102, 104. Illustratively, in each sub-event 106, the central device sends a data packet 102 (to request data) to the peripheral device, and the peripheral device responds with a corresponding data packet 104 to the central device.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo in view of Haggai to have the transitional signal by a peripheral device. The motivation would have been to reduce overhead and latency (e.g., Haggai [0032]).
Claims 11-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al. (US 2022/0383881) in view of Young et al. (US 2022/0103607).
Regarding claim 11, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo does not disclose broadcasting simultaneously the data from first and second peripheral devices. Young discloses the method of claim 1, comprising the central radio device broadcasting a single radio signal in which data received from the first peripheral radio device and data received from the second peripheral radio device are encoded, such that the central radio device broadcasts simultaneously data from the first and second peripheral radio devices ([0077], “As each device within system 100, e.g., first device 102, second device 104, and/or peripheral device 108, is configured to receive one or more isochronous data streams broadcasted or transmitted by each of the plurality of source devices 106 within environment E, one or more devices of the system can be responsible for managing or otherwise coordinating the data used to generate the audio playbacks rendered at the first device 102 and the second device 104 using first speaker 122 and second speaker 140, respectively, and provide simultaneous playback of the audio from at least two streams using first device 102 and second device 104.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo in view of Young to have broadcasting simultaneously the data from first and second peripheral devices. The motivation would have been to equalize power consumption across devices (e.g., Young [0089]).
Regarding claim 12, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo does not disclose the first and second broadcast isochronous streams. Young discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the single radio signal comprises a first Broadcast Isochronous Stream containing data received from the first peripheral radio device and a second Broadcast Isochronous Stream containing data received from the second peripheral radio device ([0074], “Each isochronous data stream of the plurality of isochronous data streams may utilize LE Audio protocols and each stream can be a broadcast isochronous stream or a connected isochronous stream as discussed above.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo in view of Young to have the first and second broadcast isochronous streams. The motivation would have been to equalize power consumption across devices (e.g., Young [0089]).
Regarding claim 13, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo does not disclose the mixing of the data from the first and second peripheral devices. Young discloses the method of claim 11, comprising encoding a mix of the data from the first and second peripheral radio devices in the single radio signal ([0082], “In some examples, the first audio playback PB1 is paused, stopped, or muted prior to initiating second audio playback PB2 associated with the isochronous data stream associated with the second source device. In some examples, rather than stopping, pausing, or muting the first audio playback PB1, upon a barge-in event, the first audio playback PB1 is mixed with the second audio playback associated with the isochronous data stream of the second source device, e.g., where the user can hear a mixed audio playback which includes both first and second audio playbacks (PB1, and PB2 at the same relative volume).”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo in view of Young to have the mixing of the data from the first and second peripheral devices. The motivation would have been to equalize power consumption across devices (e.g., Young [0089]).
Regarding claim 18, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo does not disclose the swapping from first to second unicast connection. Young discloses the method of claim 1, comprising, after receiving the data from the first peripheral radio device, breaking the first unicast radio connection and then making the second unicast radio connection ([0082], “In some examples, the first audio playback PB1 associated with the isochronous data stream of the first source device can be replaced in its entirety by the second audio playback PB2 associated with the isochronous data stream of the second source device. In some examples, the first audio playback PB1 is paused, stopped, or muted prior to initiating second audio playback PB2 associated with the isochronous data stream associated with the second source device.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo in view of Young to have the swapping from first to second unicast connection. The motivation would have been to equalize power consumption across devices (e.g., Young [0089]).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo et al. (US 2022/0383881) in view of Abildgren et al. (US 2023/0005492).
Regarding claim 14, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo does not disclose the packet intervals and retransmissions of data packets. Abildgren discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: the first peripheral radio device transmitting a plurality of unicast data packets to the central radio device over the first unicast radio connection with a packet interval between each unicast data packet, wherein the first peripheral radio device is operable to transmit one or more retransmissions of a given unicast data packet in the packet interval between each unicast data packet ([0052], “Specifically, as illustrated, within the first isochronous interval 142A, the source device 102 is configured to send a first data packet 138A (shown schematically in FIG. 4A as a shaded square with the number “1” displayed thereon), and one or more retransmission packets that include an identical payload to first data packet 138A (shown schematically in FIG. 4A as white squares with the number “1” displayed thereon).”); the central radio device broadcasting a plurality of broadcast data packets with the packet interval between each broadcast data packet, wherein each broadcast data packet comprises data from a corresponding unicast data packet received from the first peripheral radio device ([0052], “Following the transmission of first data packet 138A and both of the retransmitted packets associated with first data packet 138A, and within the first broadcast isochronous stream 136A, source device 102 is also configured to transmit, via the second broadcast isochronous stream 136B, one or more supplemental packets 140, i.e., supplemental packets 140A and 140B.”); and the central radio device broadcasting one or more retransmissions of a given unicast data packet in the packet interval between each broadcast data packet ([0052], “Thus, a single radio, i.e., source radio 116, can broadcast data packets 138, the respective retransmitted packets associated with data packets 138, and the supplemental packets 140.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo in view of Abildgren to have the packet intervals and retransmissions of data packets. The motivation would have been to have increased robustness and better retransmission. (e.g., Abildgren [0039]).
Regarding claim 15, Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo does not disclose the broadcast data packet comprising data from unicast packet. Abildgren discloses the method of claim 14, comprising the central radio device broadcasting a broadcast data packet comprising data from a corresponding unicast data packet ([0051], “As shown in FIGS. 4A-6, which illustrates one example configuration, data packets 138 and supplemental packets 140 are sent via one or more isochronous streams, e.g., streams that send packets during predetermined isochronous time intervals along time T, e.g., isochronous intervals 142A-142D (collectively referred to as “isochronous intervals 142”). Each isochronous interval 142 can include a plurality of isochronous events and isochronous sub-events, which divide and sub-divide each Bluetooth isochronous interval based on the initial negotiation of a given wireless connection.“) prior to one or more retransmissions of the unicast data packet ([0052], “Specifically, as illustrated, within the first isochronous interval 142A, the source device 102 is configured to send a first data packet 138A (shown schematically in FIG. 4A as a shaded square with the number “1” displayed thereon), and one or more retransmission packets that include an identical payload to first data packet 138A (shown schematically in FIG. 4A as white squares with the number “1” displayed thereon).”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shahbazi Mirzahasanloo in view of Abildgren to have the broadcast data packet comprising data from unicast packet. The motivation would have been to have increased robustness and better retransmission. (e.g., Abildgren [0039]).
Conclusion
/NICK ANON SUNDARA/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479