DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahmadloo et al. (US 2021/0351499).
In regard to Claim 1:
Ahmadloo discloses, in Figure 6, a waveguide segment for a microwave antenna (¶ 0003), wherein the waveguide segment is embodied as an injection-molded part that is metallized with a solderable metal surface (¶ 0004),
wherein the waveguide segment (645) is configured to be electrically and mechanically coupled to a first side of a printed circuit board (PCB) (640 top side), and
wherein a monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC) (642, ¶ 0006) is configured to be electrically and mechanically coupled to a second side of the PCB (640 bottom side) that is opposite the first side (640 top side).
In regard to Claim 2:
Ahmadloo discloses, in Figure 6, the waveguide segment according to claim 1, wherein the waveguide segment includes an open channel for assembly on the metal structure on the printed circuit board (640, ¶ 0005).
In regard to Claim 8:
Ahmadloo discloses, in Figure 6, a method for producing at least one waveguide segment for a microwave antenna, the method comprising the following steps:
producing the at least one waveguide segment (645) using injection molding (¶ 0004);
metallizing the at least one waveguide segment (645) with a solderable metal surface (¶ 0005), wherein the waveguide segment (645) is configured to be electrically and mechanically coupled to a first side of a printed circuit board (PCB) (640 top side), and
wherein a monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC) (642, ¶ 0006) is configured to be electrically and mechanically coupled to a second side of the PCB (640 bottom side) that is opposite the first side (640 top side).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadloo et al. (US 2021/0351499), in view of Simms (US 2004/0120632).
In regard to Claim 3:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claim 1 above, except for wherein the waveguide segment comprises connections for SMD assembly.
Simms discloses wherein the waveguide segment comprises connections for SMD assembly (¶ 0006, where SMT is the process for mounting SMD components onto a PCB).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the SMD assembly taught by Simms with the waveguide taught by Ahmadloo, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
In regard to Claim 4:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claim 1 above, except for wherein the waveguide segment is configured to be handled by an automated assembly system.
Simms discloses wherein the waveguide segment is configured to be handled by an automated assembly system (¶ 0022).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the automated assembly system taught by Simms with the waveguide taught by Ahmadloo, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
In regard to Claim 5:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claims 1 and 4 above, except for wherein the waveguide segment is configured to be handled by an SMD assembly system.
Simms further discloses wherein the waveguide segment is configured to be handled by an SMD assembly system (¶ 0006, where SMT is the process for mounting SMD components onto a PCB).
In regard to Claim 6:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claims 1 and 4 above, except for wherein the waveguide segment is configured in such a way that it is optically recognized in the automated assembly system to be precisely positioned in an automated assembly process.
Simms further discloses wherein the waveguide segment is configured in such a way that it is optically recognized in the automated assembly system (¶ 0010) to be precisely positioned in an automated assembly process (¶ 0009).
In regard to Claim 7:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claims 1, 4, and 6 above, except for wherein the automated assembly process is an SMD assembly process.
Simms further discloses wherein the automated assembly process is an SMD assembly process (¶ 0009-0010).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadloo et al. (US 2021/0351499), in view of Ice (US 2006/0032665).
In regard to Claim 10:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claim 8 above, except for wherein a plurality of waveguide segments is produced in one panel.
Ice discloses, in Figure 4, wherein a plurality of waveguide segments is produced in one panel (12a is one panel for the waveguide segment)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the automated assembly system taught by Simms with the waveguide taught by Ahmadloo, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
In regard to Claim 11:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claims 8 and 10 above, except for wherein the waveguide segments are packaged, after being separated, in packaging that is compatible with an automated assembly process.
Ice further discloses wherein the waveguide segments are packaged, after being separated, in packaging that is compatible with an automated assembly process (¶ 0088).
In regard to Claim 12:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claims 8 and 10-11 above, except for wherein the packaging that is compatible with the automated assembly process is a tape and reel packaging.
Ice further discloses wherein the packaging that is compatible with the automated assembly process is a tape and reel packaging (¶ 0095).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to Claim 9:
None of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claims:
wherein the at least one waveguide segment is produced using digital injection molding (DIM) technology.
In regard to Claim 13:
None of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claims:
wherein the waveguide segment at least partially defines one or more channels and one or more waveguide openings, and wherein the one or more waveguide openings are laterally offset from the one or more channels in a direction perpendicular to the PCB.
In regard to Claim 14:
None of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claims:
wherein the waveguide segment cooperates with the PCB to define a channel extending between the MMIC and one or more waveguide openings.
Conclusion
/JOHN W POOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843