DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seler et al. (US 2021/0225719).
In regard to Claim 1:
Seler discloses, in Figure 1, a waveguide segment (20) for a microwave antenna (16), wherein the waveguide segment (20) is embodied as an injection-molded part (Paragraph 0031) that is metallized with a solderable metal surface (28, Paragraph 0037),
wherein the waveguide segment (20) is configured to be electrically coupled to a monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC) (14) via a solder connection (10) to a metal structure on a printed circuit board (12, Paragraph 0036).
In regard to Claim 2:
Seler discloses, in Figure 1, the waveguide segment according to claim 1, wherein the waveguide segment (20) includes an open channel (22) for assembly on the metal structure on the printed circuit board (12, Paragraph 0036).
In regard to Claim 3:
Seler discloses, in Figure 1, the waveguide segment according to claim 1, wherein the waveguide segment comprises connections for SMD assembly (Paragraph 0005).
In regard to Claim 8:
Seler discloses, in Figure 1, a method for producing at least one waveguide segment (20) for a microwave antenna (16), the method comprising the following steps:
producing the at least one waveguide segment (20) using injection molding (Paragraph 0031);
metallizing the at least one waveguide segment (20) with a solderable metal surface (28, Paragraph 0037),
wherein the waveguide segment (20) is configured to be electrically coupled to a monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC) (14) via a solder connection (10) to a metal structure on a printed circuit board (12, Paragraph 0036).
In regard to Claim 9:
Seler discloses, in Figure 1, the method according to claim 8, wherein the at least one waveguide segment is produced using digital injection molding (DIM) technology (Paragraph 0066).
In regard to Claim 10:
Seler discloses, in Figure 1, the method according to claim 8, wherein a plurality of waveguide segments is produced in one panel (Figure 1 shows two waveguides 22 of waveguide component 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seler et al. (US 2021/0225719), in view of Simms (US 2004/0120632).
In regard to Claim 4:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to claim 1 above, except for wherein the waveguide segment is configured to be handled by an automated assembly system.
Simms discloses wherein the waveguide segment is configured to be handled by an automated assembly system (Paragraph 0022, "the present invention permits fully automatic SMT (surface mount technology) PCB manufacture").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the automated waveguide assembly process taught by Simms with the waveguide taught by Seler, in order to take advantage of SMT processing's automated manufacture and smaller sizes without human intervention (Simms Paragraph 0010).
In regard to Claim 5:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to claims 1 and 4 above, except for wherein the waveguide segment is configured to be handled by an SID assembly system.
Simms further discloses wherein the waveguide segment is configured to be handled by an SMD assembly system (Paragraph 0022, "the present invention permits fully automatic SMT (surface mount technology) PCB manufacture").
In regard to Claim 6:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to claims 1 and 4 above, except for wherein the waveguide segment is configured in such a way that it is optically recognized in the automated assembly system to be precisely positioned in an automated assembly process.
Simms further discloses wherein the waveguide segment is configured in such a way that it is optically recognized in the automated assembly system to be precisely positioned in an automated assembly process (Paragraph 0020).
In regard to Claim 7:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to claims 1, 4, and 6 above, except for wherein the automated assembly process is an SMD assembly process.
Simms further discloses wherein the automated assembly process is an SMD assembly process (Paragraph 0022, "the present invention permits fully automatic SMT (surface mount technology) PCB manufacture").
In regard to Claim 11:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to claims 8 and 10 above, except for wherein the waveguide segments are packaged, after being separated, in packaging that is compatible with an automated assembly process.
Simms discloses wherein the waveguide segments are packaged, after being separated, in packaging that is compatible with an automated assembly process (Paragraph 0022, "the present invention permits fully automatic SMT (surface mount technology) PCB manufacture").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the automated waveguide assembly process taught by Simms with the waveguide taught by Seler, in order to take advantage of SMT processing's automated manufacture and smaller sizes without human intervention (Simms Paragraph 0010).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seler et al. (US 2021/0225719) and Simms (US 2004/0120632) as applied to claims 4-7 and 11 above, and further in view of Ice (US 2006/0032665).
In regard to Claim 12:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to claims 8 and 10-11 above, except for wherein the packaging that is compatible with the automated assembly process is a tape and reel packaging.
Ice discloses wherein the packaging that is compatible with the automated assembly process is a tape and reel packaging (Paragraph 0095).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the tape and reel packaging taught by Ice with the waveguide and waveguide assembly process taught by Seler and Simms, in order to reduce the cost of manufacture and decrease the overall cost to the consumer (Ice Paragraph 0101).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN W POOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896