DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16 Applicant discloses, “a wheel” on line 2 and in claim 10, from which claim 16 depends, Applicant discloses, “a wheel” on line 6. Are these different components? It is not clear from the disclosure of claims 10, 15, and 16 whether these are different components and thus claim is ambiguous.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 and 15-17 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Luoma et al. (USPGPUB 2013/0066463).
Regarding claim 1, Luoma et al. disclose an adherence package comprising:
a housing (50,110,120,124);
a wheel (170,180) rotatably engaged with the housing and configured to contact a strand of medication pouches (35) stored in the housing such that the wheel rotates relative to the housing as the strand of medication pouches (35) moves between the housing and the wheel (see paragraph [0061]); and
a sensor (119 or 119,128) supported in the housing (see Figure 4B), the sensor being configured to detect movement (see paragraph [0067]) of the wheel (170) as the strand of medication pouches (35) is pulled from the housing (see paragraphs [0029], [0056], [0060], and Figures 2C, 4D, and 5B).
Regarding claim 2, Luoma et al. disclose the adherence package of claim 1, wherein the sensor (119) is rotatably supported (136) in the housing (see paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claim 3, Luoma et al. disclose the adherence package of claim 1, wherein the sensor (119) is mounted in a carriage assembly (110,112).
Regarding claim 4, Luoma et al. disclose the adherence package of claim 3, wherein the carriage (110 or 110,112) assembly is rotatably (see “136” in paragraph [0058]) and slidably mounted (see “150” in paragraph [0060]) in the housing (see Figures 4B, 4E, and 6B).
Regarding claim 5, Luoma et al. disclose the adherence package of claim 4, wherein the housing includes a guide wall (80) defining a guide groove (see Figures 2C and 6B), the carriage assembly (110,112) rides in the guide groove (see Figure 6B), and the guide wall (80) limits sliding movement of the carriage assembly (see the pressure from the child lock on “150” in Figure 6B, along with paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 6, Luoma et al. disclose the adherence package of claim 1, wherein the sensor (119) is mounted in a frame (110).
Regarding claim 7, Luoma et al. disclose the adherence package of claim 6, wherein the frame (110) is slidably mounted (150) in the housing (see paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 8, Luoma et al. disclose the adherence package of claim 7, wherein the housing defines a groove (see Figures 2C and 6B), a guide rail (150) extends from the frame (110), and the guide rail (150) is slidably received by the groove (see Figures 6B and paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 9, Luoma et al. disclose the adherence package of claim 7, wherein the housing has a lip (80) and a stop (50) and the frame engages the lip and the stop (see Figure 6B).
Regarding claim 10, Luoma et al. disclose a medication dispensing system comprising:
a computing device (see paragraphs [0080], [0087] and [0089]); and
an adherence package (100) in communication with the computing device via a cloud network (see Figure 14), the adherence package including
a housing (50,110,120,124),
a wheel (170 or 170,180) rotatably engaged with the housing and configured to contact a strand of medication pouches (35) stored in the housing such that the wheel rotates relative to the housing as the strand of medication pouches (35) moves between the housing and the wheel (see paragraph [0061]), and
a sensor (119 or 119,128 or 119,128,630) supported in the housing, the sensor being configured to detect movement (see paragraph [0067]) of the wheel as the strand of medication pouches (35) is pulled from the housing (see paragraphs [0029], [0056], [0060], and Figures 2C, 4D, and 5B).
Regarding claim 11, Luoma et al. disclose the medication dispensing system of claim 10, wherein the sensor (119,128,630) sends motion data of the strand to the computing device (see paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 12, Luoma et al. disclose the medication dispensing system of claim 11, wherein the computing device determines a motion event based on the motion data (see paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 13, Luoma et al. disclose the medication dispensing system of claim 11, wherein the computing device determines whether a medication dose from the strand has been dispensed in accordance with a predetermined medication schedule (see paragraph [0014]) based on the motion data (see paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 15, Luoma et al. disclose the medication dispensing system of claim 10, wherein the sensor (119) is mounted in a carriage assembly (110) and the carriage assembly is rotatably (see “136” in paragraph [0058]) and slidably mounted (see “150” in paragraph [0060]) in the housing (see Figures 4B, 4E, and 6B).
Regarding claim 16 (AS BEST UNDERSTOOD), Luoma et al. disclose the medication dispensing system of claim 15, wherein the carriage assembly (110,150) includes a wheel (170) and the carriage assembly rotates when the strand (35) is pulled against the wheel (see paragraphs [0029], [0056], [0060], and Figures 2C, 4D, and 5B).
Regarding claim 17, Luoma et al. disclose the medication dispensing system of claim 15, wherein the housing includes a guide wall (80) defining a guide groove (see Figures 2C and 6B), the carriage assembly (110,150) rides in the guide groove (see Figure 6B), and the guide wall (80) limits sliding movement of the carriage assembly (see the pressure from the child lock on “150” in Figure 6B, along with paragraph [0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luoma et al. (USPGPUB 2013/0066463) as applied to claims 1-13 and 15-17 above, and further in view of Bossi et al. (USPGPUB 2007/0185615).
Regarding claim 14, Luoma et al. disclose the medication dispensing system of claim 11. However, they do not disclose a system wherein the computing device is in communication with a mobile device via the cloud network and the computing device sends medication reminders to the mobile device. Bossi et al. disclose a system wherein the computing device is in communication with a mobile device via the cloud network and the computing device sends medication reminders to the mobile device (see paragraph [0089]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Luoma et al. by including a system wherein the computing device is in communication with a mobile device via the cloud network and the computing device sends medication reminders to the mobile device, as disclosed by Bossi et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing alerts to a device carried by a patient (see paragraph [0089]).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bossi et al. (USPGPUB 2007/0185615) and further in view of Luoma et al. (USPGPUB 2013/0066463).
Regarding claim 18, Bossi et al. disclose a method for dispensing medication comprising:
determining, with a computing device (see “the controller” in paragraph [0124]), whether a strand (see Figure 15) of medication pouches (27 or 26) has moved in an adherence package (33) close to a dose time;
if the strand of medication pouches has not moved in the adherence package (33) close to the dose time, determining, with the computing device, whether a maximum number of reminders has been sent to a mobile device in communication with the computing device (see paragraph [0124]); and
if the maximum number of reminders has not yet been sent to the mobile device, sending, with the computing device (see paragraph [0124]), a reminder to the mobile device (see paragraph [0089]).
However, they do not disclose a method comprising a sensor, the sensor being configured to detect movement of a wheel contacting the strand of medication pouches as the strand of medication pouches is pulled along the wheel to rotate the wheel. Luoma et al. disclose a method comprising a sensor (119 or 119,128 or 119,128,630), the sensor being configured to detect movement (see paragraph [0067]) of a wheel (170 or 170,180) contacting the strand of medication pouches as the strand of medication pouches (35) is pulled along the wheel to rotate the wheel (see paragraphs [0029], [0056], [0060]-[0061], and Figures 2C, 4D, and 5B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Luoma et al. by including a method comprising a sensor, the sensor being configured to detect movement of a wheel contacting the strand of medication pouches as the strand of medication pouches is pulled along the wheel to rotate the wheel, as disclosed by Luoma et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing controlled motion for unit dose packages (see paragraph [0067]) which are driven by drive rollers (see paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 19, Bossi et al. disclose the method of claim 18, further comprising determining, with the computing device, whether the strand of medication pouches has moved in the adherence package during a waiting period after the reminder is sent (see paragraphs [0124] and [0130]).
Regarding claim 20, Bossi et al. disclose the method of claim 18, wherein the computing device is a first computing device and further comprising, if the maximum number of reminders has already been sent to the mobile device, contacting, with the first computing device, a second computing device of a health professional (see paragraph [0137]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
M.K.C.
9/11/2026
/MICHAEL COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655