DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 13-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kachare et al. (US PGPUB 2022/0365707).
With regard to Claim 1, Kachare teaches an apparatus, comprising:
one or more memory devices (Fig. 3: Flash Chips 325-1 through 325-8); and
a controller coupled with the one or more memory devices and configured to cause the apparatus to (Fig. 3: Controller 315):
receive a command to write data associated with a validity duration characteristic of the data ([0051] “As the descriptors imply, host write request handler 505 may handle write requests, such as write request 515, received from host 105 of FIG. 1.” [0053] “The retention period for a particular write request may be determined using retention period determiner 530. Retention period determiner may determine the retention period for a particular data in a number of different ways. In some embodiments of the disclosure, write request 515 may specify the data retention period to be applied for the data in that write request. For example, an application whose data is retained for no more than 24 hours may specify a retention period of 1 day as part of write request 515,” wherein the “retention period” is the “validity duration”, i.e. [0072] “once the retention period has expired the data may be automatically invalidated by storage device 120 of FIG. 1”.);
write the data to one or more first memory cells of a block of memory cells of the one or more memory devices ([0042] “SSD controller 315 may manage sending read requests and write requests to flash memory chips 325-1 through 325-8 along channels 320-1 through 320-4.” [0066] “Flash memory chips 325-1 through 325-8 may support two or more different programming step voltages. In programming data into flash memory chips 325-1 through 325-8, flash controller 335 may increment the voltage in a cell by a step voltage (which may be represented as ΔV) until the voltage in the cell meets or exceeds the target voltage (which may represent the value being stored in the cell).”); and
write an indication of the validity duration characteristic of the data in a field of a physical-to-logical address table associated with the block of memory cells (See Figure 8, [0084] “FTL 330 may include logical-to-physical mapping table 565. Logical-to-physical mapping table 565 may store... other pertinent information about data 605... for example, retention period 615 of FIG. 6. When FTL 330 of FIG. 3 receives write request 515 from host 105 of FIG. 1 and programs data 605 of FIG. 6 into flash memory chips 325-1 through 325-8 of FIG. 3, FTL 330 may update logical-to-physical mapping table 565 to store this information.” [0085] “logical-to-physical mapping table 565 of FIG. 5 may be stored in storage 575. Storage 575 may be a non-volatile storage, such as another flash memory... storage 575 may be an area on flash memory chips 325-1 through 325-8 of FIG. 3, rather than a separate storage.”).
With regard to Claim 3, Kachare teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the block of memory cells comprises the physical-to-logical address table ([0043] “Within each flash memory chip, the space may be organized into blocks, which may be further subdivided into pages, and which may be grouped into superblocks.” [0085] “logical-to-physical mapping table 565 of FIG. 5 may be stored in storage 575. Storage 575 may be a non-volatile storage, such as another flash memory... storage 575 may be an area on flash memory chips 325-1 through 325-8 of FIG. 3, rather than a separate storage.”).
With regard to Claim 5, Kachare teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive a second command to write second data associated with a second validity duration characteristic of the second data, the second validity duration characteristic being different than the validity duration characteristic ([0051] “As the descriptors imply, host write request handler 505 may handle write requests, such as write request 515, received from host 105 of FIG. 1.” [0052] “Host write request handler 505 may include submission queues 525-1, 525-2, and 525-3. Each submission queue 525-1 through 525-3 may be used for write requests with different associated retention periods. So, for example... submission queue 525-2 may be used for write requests with a data retention period of 1 week, submission queue 525-3 may be used for write requests with a data retention period of 1 month, and so on.” [0053] “write request 515 may specify the data retention period to be applied for the data in that write request.”);
write the second data to one or more third memory cells of the block of memory cells ([0042] “SSD controller 315 may manage sending read requests and write requests to flash memory chips 325-1 through 325-8 along channels 320-1 through 320-4.” [0066] “Flash memory chips 325-1 through 325-8 may support two or more different programming step voltages. In programming data into flash memory chips 325-1 through 325-8, flash controller 335 may increment the voltage in a cell by a step voltage (which may be represented as ΔV) until the voltage in the cell meets or exceeds the target voltage (which may represent the value being stored in the cell).”); and
write a second indication of the second validity duration characteristic of the second data in a second field of the physical-to- logical address table associated with the block of memory cells (See Fig. 8 showing “Logical Address” 1005 having a “Retention Period” of “1W”, i.e. 1 week. [0084] “FTL 330 may include logical-to-physical mapping table 565. Logical-to-physical mapping table 565 may store... other pertinent information about data 605... for example, retention period 615 of FIG. 6. When FTL 330 of FIG. 3 receives write request 515 from host 105 of FIG. 1 and programs data 605 of FIG. 6 into flash memory chips 325-1 through 325-8 of FIG. 3, FTL 330 may update logical-to-physical mapping table 565 to store this information.” [0085] “logical-to-physical mapping table 565 of FIG. 5 may be stored in storage 575. Storage 575 may be a non-volatile storage, such as another flash memory... storage 575 may be an area on flash memory chips 325-1 through 325-8 of FIG. 3, rather than a separate storage.”).
With regard to Claim 6, Kachare teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the apparatus to:
write the data, based at least in part on reading the data from the one or more first memory cells, to one or more fifth memory cells of a second block of memory cells of the one or more memory devices ([0047] “To avoid such data being lost, the garbage collection logic may program the valid data from such blocks into other blocks. Once the data has been programmed into a new block (and the table mapping logical block addresses (LBAs) to physical block addresses (PBAs) updated to reflect the new location of the data), the block may then be erased, returning the state of the pages in the block to a free state.”); and
write a third indication of the validity duration characteristic, based at least in part on reading the field of the physical-to-logical address table associated with the block of memory cells, in a third field of a physical-to-logical address table associated with the second block of memory cells ([0084] “FTL 330 may include logical-to-physical mapping table 565. Logical-to-physical mapping table 565 may store... other pertinent information about data 605... for example, retention period 615 of FIG. 6,” wherein the “retention period”, i.e. “validity duration characteristic,” is written when the valid data is written into the new block, as described above in relation to the garbage collection operation.).
With regard to Claim 13, Kachare teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the validity duration characteristic is associated with a duration for which the data is anticipated to be valid ([0034] “Embodiments of the disclosure support an application specifying a data retention period for data to be written to the storage device. The storage device may then use this information to program the data: for example, programming the data with other data that is expected to be invalidated around the same time. The storage device may then automatically invalidate the data when the retention period expires, rather than managing storage to keep the data available to the application.”).
With regard to Claim 14, Kachare teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the validity duration characteristic is associated with a rate of invalidation of the data ([0033] “Many applications know the retention time (exact or approximate) for the data when writing to a storage device, which may be measured in hours or days (among other possibilities). For example, some application messages may be erased automatically after 24 hours, or junk email may be deleted after 1 month.” [0034] “Embodiments of the disclosure support an application specifying a data retention period for data to be written to the storage device.”).
With regard to Claim 15, Kachare teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein indication of the validity duration characteristic comprises a stream identifier associated with the data ([0052] “each submission queue 525-1 through 525-3 may be associated with a combination of a data retention period and a device stream ID, thus permitting stream IDs and data retention periods to be combined.” [0053] “property of write request 515 may be identified, which may in turn be used to determine the retention period for the data. Examples of such properties may include ... a stream identifier.”).
With regard to Claims 16 and 18, these claims are equivalent in scope to Claims 1 and 3 rejected above, merely having a different independent claim type, and as such Claims 16 and 18 are respectively rejected under the same grounds and for the same reasons as discussed above with regard to Claims 1 and 3.
With regard to Claim 16, this claim is equivalent in scope to Claim 1 rejected above, merely having a different independent claim type, and as such Claim 16 is rejected under the same grounds and for the same reasons as discussed above with regard to Claim 1.
With further regard to Claim 16, the claim recites additional elements not specifically addressed in the rejection of Claim 1. The Kachare reference also anticipates these additional elements of Claim 16, for example, Kachare teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code comprising instructions which, when executed by a processor of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to [perform operations] ([0150] “Embodiments of the disclosure may include a tangible, non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions executable by one or more processors, the instructions comprising instructions to perform the elements of the disclosures as described herein.”).
With regard to Claim 20, this claim is equivalent in scope to Claim 1 rejected above, merely having a different independent claim type, and as such Claim 20 is rejected under the same grounds and for the same reasons as discussed above with regard to Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kachare as applied to Claims 3 and 18 above, and further in view of Briggs (US PGPUB 2019/0138459).
With regard to claim 4, Kachare teaches all the limitations of claim 3 as described above. Kachare does not teach the validity duration being stored in the same block as the write data as described in claim 4. Briggs teaches wherein the controller is further configured to cause the apparatus to:
write metadata associated with the data to the block of memory cells, wherein the metadata associated with the data comprises the indication of the validity duration characteristic of the data ([0045] “Each occupied block 310o... may include block metadata 312... When the cache manager 200 allocates client data 124 to a free cache block 310F within the leaf 304, the cache manager 200 may map client metadata 124m associated with the client data 124 to the block metadata 312. Some examples of block metadata 312 include ... a time to live (TTL).” [0058] “TTL corresponding to when the client data 124 expires,” wherein the “TTL” is equivalent to the “retention period” disclosed above in Kachare, i.e. the “validity duration” characteristic.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus as disclosed by Kachare with the metadata writing as taught by Briggs as this configuration is advantageous since it “has an advantage that it may permit the related block metadata 312 to be dynamic and/or potentially prevent the cache manager 200 from deleting or removing client data 124 that increases in value” (Briggs [0046]).
With regard to Claim 19, this claim is equivalent in scope to Claim 4 rejected above, merely having a different independent claim type, and as such Claim 19 is rejected under the same grounds and for the same reasons as discussed above with regard to Claim 4.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kachare as applied to Claim 6 above, and further in view of Goldberg et al. (US PGPUB 2018/0267720).
With regard to Claim 7, Kachare teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the apparatus to:
write the data to the one or more fifth memory cells associated with the validity duration characteristic satisfying a threshold ([0083] “For example, for a particular block with a retention period of one month, most of the data might be manually invalidated by the applications that wrote that data to storage device 120 of FIG. 1, leaving a block that would be a good candidate for garbage collection. In that case, the garbage collection logic may attempt to determine the retention period of the data (which may be retrieved from logical-to-physical mapping table 565, discussed further with reference to FIG. 8 below) and may attempt to program the data into a block with a similar retention period,” wherein the data relocated/written during garbage collection operations is the data having a “retention period”, i.e. “validity duration characteristic”, which is greater than zero, i.e. the “threshold” ).
With further regard to claim 7, Kachare does not teach the writing based on a quantity of data as described in claim 7. Goldberg teaches
write the data to the one or more fifth memory cells based at least in part on a quantity of data stored at the one or more memory devices ([0031] “when available space on a flash module is below a desired threshold, a garbage collector attempts to locate data blocks that host only a few active/valid/current pages of data for garbage collection. The garbage collector first moves the valid pages of data in a selected block to a new location,” wherein the garbage collection operation, i.e. as recited above in Kachare, is executed in response to the quantity of data being at a level which results in the available space being below a threshold.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus as disclosed by Kachare with the writing based on a quantity of data as taught by Goldberg as this “reduces write wear on flash storage cells and improves the lifetime of a flash storage system” (Goldberg [0032]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kachare as applied to Claim 6 above, and further in view of Mohan et al. (US PGPUB 2016/0019160).
With regard to claim 8, Kachare teaches all the limitations of claim 6 as described above. Kachare does not teach the storage density configuration as described in claim 8. Mohan teaches
wherein memory cells of the block of memory cells are configured in accordance with a first storage density configuration and memory cells of the second block of memory cells are configured in accordance with a second storage density configuration that is different than the first storage density configuration ([0084] “In some embodiments, health information table 222, memory operation parameters 224 and/or the second address translation table 226 are stored in a portion of NVM memory using a single-layer-cell (SLC) mode of operation”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus as disclosed by Kachare with the storage density configuration as taught by Mohan in order “to allow for faster and more reliable retrieval and updating” (Mohan [0084]).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kachare as applied to Claim 6 above, and further in view of In et al. (US PGPUB 2024/0069773).
With regard to claim 9, Kachare teaches all the limitations of claim 6 as described above. Kachare does not teach the opening of a block as described in claim 9. In teaches wherein the controller is further configured to cause the apparatus to:
open the second block of memory cells based at least in part on the validity duration characteristic, wherein writing the data to the one or more fifth memory cells of the second block of memory cells is based at least in part on opening the second block of memory cells ([0011] “Certain aspects are directed to a method for open block data relocation in a memory. In some examples, the method includes closing a first block based on a satisfies a threshold data-error condition of the first block, wherein the first block comprises invalid data and valid data. In some examples, the method includes opening a second block in response to closing the first block. In some examples, the method includes relocating the valid data from the first block to the second block,” wherein the “invalid data” is responsive to data exceeding the time specified in the “retention period”, i.e. “validity duration characteristic”, taught above in Kachare).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus as disclosed by Kachare with the opening of a block as taught by In since “software may limit the amount of memory resources that are open, and thus, may not allow for multiple open blocks” (In [0023]).
With regard to Claim 10, Kachare in view of In teaches all the limitations of Claim 9 as described above. Kachare further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to cause the apparatus to:
read the data from the one or more first memory cells based at least in part on reading the indication of the validity duration characteristic of the data ([0088] “Returning to FIG. 5, host read request handler 510 may receive read request 520 from host 105 of FIG. 1. Using logical address 610, host read request handler 510 may determine the physical address where the data is stored from logical-to-physical mapping table 565... Host read request handler 510 may then provide this information to flash controller 335, which may then read the data from flash memory chips 325-1 through 325-8 of FIG. 3, decode the data (as appropriate), and return the data back to host read request handler 510, which may then return the data to host 105 of FIG. 1. As discussed above, in some situations read request 520 may request data that has already been invalidated. In that case, host read request handler 510 may return an error directly.”).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kachare as applied to Claim 6 above, and further in view of Alcantara et al. (US PGPUB 2015/0261797).
With regard to claim 11, Kachare teaches all the limitations of claim 6 as described above. Kachare does not teach the codeword writing as described in claim 11. Alcantara teaches
wherein the one or more first memory cells and the indication of the validity duration characteristic are associated with a codeword stored in the block of memory cells, and wherein the controller is further configured to cause the apparatus to ([0051] “the FRB organizes host data into codewords during write operations, and receives the codewords from the non-volatile memory (e.g., Flash memory).”):
write the data to the one or more fifth memory cells based at least in part on reading the data and the indication of the validity duration characteristic from the codeword stored in the block of memory cells ([0013] “reading the plurality of CWs from the first block stripe of the non-volatile memory one codeword at a time.” [0011] “a command to perform garbage collection in a first block stripe of the non-volatile memory from the CPU, the command including a second block stripe to write to and a plurality of valid logical block numbers (LBNs) corresponding to a first plurality of codewords (CWs) stored in the first block stripe; allocating space, by the FRB, in a buffer memory of the FRB for storage of the first plurality of CWs; storing, by the FRB, the first plurality of CWs into the allocated space in the buffer memory; transferring, by the FRB, a second plurality of CWs to a plurality of physical addresses in the second block stripe of the non-volatile memory; and sending, by the FRB, the plurality of valid LBNs and the plurality of physical addresses to the CPU to update a logical-to-physical table”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus as disclosed by Kachare with the codeword writing as taught by Alcantara for purposes of “streamlining the write, read, and garbage collection processes of the controller 130, thus improving the performance of the SSD” (Alcantara [0058]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kachare in view of Alcantara as applied to Claim 11 above, and further in view of In.
With regard to claim 12, Kachare in view of Alcantara teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as described above. Kachare in view of Alcantara does not teach the opening of a block as described in claim 12. In teaches wherein the controller is further configured to cause the apparatus to:
open a plurality of blocks of memory cells including the second block of memory cells; and write the data to the one or more fifth memory cells of the second block of memory cells based at least in part on opening the plurality of blocks of memory cells ([0011] “Certain aspects are directed to a method for open block data relocation in a memory. In some examples, the method includes closing a first block based on a satisfies a threshold data-error condition of the first block, wherein the first block comprises invalid data and valid data. In some examples, the method includes opening a second block in response to closing the first block. In some examples, the method includes relocating the valid data from the first block to the second block.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the apparatus as disclosed by Kachare in view of Alcantara with the opening of a block as taught by In since “software may limit the amount of memory resources that are open, and thus, may not allow for multiple open blocks” (In [0023]).
With further regard to Claim 12, Kachare further teaches:
each block of memory cells of the plurality of blocks of memory cells associated with a different validity duration characteristic (See Figure 8 show a plurality of blocks being associated with different “retention period”, i.e. “validity duration”, characteristics.).
Response to Arguments
With respect to Applicant’s argument regarding Claim 1, Pages 7-8 of the Remarks filed 2/4/2026, that Kachare does not teach, “write an indication of the validity duration characteristic of the data in a field of a physical-to-logical address table”, the Office respectfully disagrees.
With respect to this argument the Office would like to first direct attention to the Applicant’s specification which recites the following:
[0012] “An indication of a characteristic of the data may be stored in an entry of a physical-to-logical (P2L) table.”
[0082] “Each row of a P2L table 420 may be associated with a physical address (e.g., a physical block address (PBA), of a block 425, of a block 430) implicitly, or may include a physical address indicator 405 that indicates a physical address, and each row may include a logical address indicator 410 (e.g., for a logical block address (LBA)) that corresponds to the physical address. The P2L table 420 may be an example of a data structure that is used to map LBAs to PBAs, where an LBA may be an example of an address that is used by a host system to access data stored in the memory system 210, and a PBA may be an example of a physical location of the data within the memory system 210... A P2L table 420 may be utilized to translate LBAs used by the host system into corresponding PBAs.”
The Office notes that the Applicant’s specification discloses that a physical-to-logical (P2L) table comprises a data structure having a row storing information associated with a physical address and a logical address and that the P2L table can be used to access data in the memory system by translating or mapping from a logical block address (LBA) to a physical block address (PBA).
The Office would now like to draw attention to the Kachare reference which recites the following:
[0089] “FIG. 8 shows details of logical-to-physical mapping table 565.”
[0090] “Each row in logical-to-physical mapping table 565 may include various fields, such as logical address 610, physical address 805, retention period 615... Logical address 610 may be the logical address for the data as used by host 105 of FIG. 1. Physical address 805 may be the physical address where the data is stored in storage device 120 of FIG. 1.”
[0088] “Using logical address 610, host read request handler 510 may determine the physical address where the data is stored from logical-to-physical mapping table 565.”
This disclosure shows that the logical-to-physical mapping table in Kachare also comprises a data structure having a row storing information associated with a physical address and a logical address and that the table can be used to access data in the memory system by translating or mapping from a logical address to a physical address.
As such, in view of the above discussion, the Office contends that although the Applicant’s table structure is named a “physical-to-logical table” and the table structure in Kachare is named a “logical-to-physical table,” they both appear to disclose the same structure and functionality.
Therefore, for at least these reasons, the Office maintains that Claim 1 is anticipated by the Kachare reference.
With respect to the Applicant’s further arguments, Pages 8-9 of the Remarks, that the features of the remaining claims are not taught by the cited prior art, the Office respectfully disagrees. These arguments rely upon the arguments as presented in relation to Claim 1, and as such the Office directs the Applicant to the response above regarding these arguments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is as follows:
Ki et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0349781) discloses method of operating storage devices and using parity information to recover from faults, wherein the data stored on the storage devices has an associated retention period characteristic.
Chen et al. (“ZoneLife: How to Utilize Data Lifetime Semantics to Make SSDs Smarter,” 2022) discusses a memory system called ZoneLife which enables an SSD to select the optimal error-correction code (ECC) and which comprises Zone FTL, wherein Zone FTL enables a data retention requirement to be specified in the FTL table.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J SIMONETTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137 March 26, 2026