DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 02/05/2025 complies with 37 CFR 1.97. Therefore, the information referred therein has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-12, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2025/0247888).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing one or more computer-executable instructions for transmitting a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) ([0101], “In some examples, the memory 242 or the memory 282 may include a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions (for example, code or program code) for wireless communication.”); and at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, and configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions to cause the UE to ([0101], “For example, the set of instructions, when executed (for example, directly, or after compiling, converting, or interpreting) by one or more processors of the network node 110, the UE 120, the CU 310, the DU 330, or the RU 340, may cause the one or more processors to perform process 1300 of FIG. 13, process 1400 of FIG. 14, or other processes as described herein.”): receive a first PRACH resource configuration that indicates a first set of uplink (UL) resources ([0139], “In some other aspects, the network node 110 may configure a first RACH configuration for SBFD symbols”) for a PRACH transmission ([0126], “The RACH configuration 605 may indicate a number of RACH occasions (ROs) (sometimes referred to as physical RACH (PRACH) occasions or random access occasions)”); receive a second PRACH resource configuration that indicates a second set of UL resources for the PRACH transmission ([0139], “and a second RACH configuration for non-SBFD symbols.”); determine whether to select the first PRACH resource configuration or the second PRACH resource configuration ([0121], “A network node 110 may instruct (e.g., using an indication, such as an RRC message, a MAC-CE, or DCI) a UE 120 to switch from the first configuration 540 to a second configuration 550. As an alternative, the UE 120 may indicate to the network node 110 that the UE 120 is switching from the first configuration 540 to the second configuration 550. This switch may be performed for any number of reasons, such as changing load conditions, changing traffic profiles, or the like.”) based on a criteria ([0083], “In some aspects, the receive processor 258 and/or the controller/processor 280 may determine, for a received signal (such as received from the network node 110 or another UE), one or more parameters relating to transmission of the uplink communication. The one or more parameters may include a reference signal received power (RSRP) parameter, a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) parameter, a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) parameter, a CQI parameter, or a transmit power control (TPC) parameter, among other examples.”); configure one or more PRACH occasions associated with the first set of UL resources in a case that the first PRACH resource configuration is selected; configure one or more PRACH occasions associated with the second set of UL resources in a case that the second PRACH resource configuration is selected ([0144], “FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating an example 900 of ROs configured by a first RACH configuration and a second RACH configuration, in accordance with the present disclosure. For example, the first RACH configuration may be for SBFD symbols (e.g., SBFD-aware UEs) and the second RACH configuration may be for non-SBFD symbols (e.g., non-SBFD-aware UEs and optionally SBFD-aware UEs).”); and transmit the PRACH using the one or more PRACH occasions ([0102], “In some aspects, the UE 120 includes means for … transmitting a RACH message on a valid RACH occasion of the set of valid RACH occasions, the valid RACH occasion corresponding to the SSB index.”).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the first set of UL resources comprises one or more non-SubBand Full Duplex (non-SBFD) UL resources, and the second set of UL resources comprises one or more SBFD UL resources ([0139], “In some other aspects, the network node 110 may configure a first RACH configuration for SBFD symbols and a second RACH configuration for non-SBFD symbols.”).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions to cause the UE to: receive one or more RRC parameters from the BS in a radio resource control (RRC) message ([0125], “As shown in FIG. 6, a network node 110 may transmit, and a UE 120 may receive, a RACH configuration 605. For example, the RACH configuration 605 may include or be included in RRC signaling, MAC signaling, DCI, or a combination thereof.”), wherein determining whether to select the first PRACH resource configuration or the second PRACH configuration based on a criteria comprises determining the PRACH resource configuration based on the RRC parameters ([0139], “In some other aspects, the network node 110 may configure a first RACH configuration for SBFD symbols and a second RACH configuration for non-SBFD symbols. For example, the first RACH configuration may be directed to or readable by SBFD-aware UEs and the second RACH configuration may be directed to or readable by non-SBFD-aware UEs (and SBFD-aware UEs, in some examples).”).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 6, wherein the one or more RRC parameters are included by the BS in an RRC layer information element RACH-ConfigCommon ([0126], “The RACH configuration 605 may indicate a number of RACH occasions (ROs) (sometimes referred to as physical RACH (PRACH) occasions or random access occasions). In some aspects, the RACH configuration 605 may include a RACH-ConfigCommon or RACH-ConfigCommonTwoStepRA parameter.”).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 6, wherein the one or more RRC parameters comprise one or more of: information regarding a format of the PRACH, information regarding time domain resources of the PRACH, information regarding frequency domain resources of the PRACH, and information regarding a number of random-access preambles available for random-access per each PRACH occasion ([0126], “For example, the RACH configuration 605 may indicate a quantity of ROs. As another example, the RACH configuration 605 may indicate preamble indexes to use in ROs. As another example, the RACH configuration 605 may indicate a subcarrier spacing. As another example, the RACH configuration 605 may indicate a number of RA preambles.”).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions to cause the UE to: determine one or more of a length of the PRACH, a number of subcarriers for the PRACH, and a number of sequence repetitions in the PRACH based on the information regarding the format of the PRACH ([0139], “Configuring a same RACH configuration for SBFD symbols and non-SBFD symbols may increase the number of ROs configured in SBFD symbols, which improves reliability. Furthermore, the same RACH configuration may enable RO repetition, which improves coverage and RACH capacity.”).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions to cause the UE to: receive a downlink control information (DCI) from the BS, wherein determining whether to select the first PRACH resource configuration or the second PRACH configuration based on a criteria comprises: selecting the PRACH resource configurations based on a PRACH resource configuration instruction included in the DCI ([0121], “A network node 110 may instruct (e.g., using an indication, such as an RRC message, a MAC-CE, or DCI) a UE 120 to switch from the first configuration 540 to a second configuration 550.”).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 9, wherein the DCI further comprises a PRACH occasion instruction ([0138], “As shown by reference number 710, the network node 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, an SBFD configuration. For example, the network node 110 may transmit the SBFD configuration via system information, RRC signaling, MAC signaling, DCI, or the like.”), the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions to cause the UE to: validate a plurality of PRACH occasions ([0142], “As shown by reference number 730, the UE 120 and/or the network node 110 may identify a set of valid ROs of the plurality of ROs. Thus, the UE 120 and the network node 110 may come to a mutual understanding of which ROs are valid. The identification of valid ROs is described in more detail in connection with FIG. 6.”); and select a PRACH occasion from the plurality of PRACH occasions to transmit the PRACH ([0102], “In some aspects, the UE 120 includes means for … transmitting a RACH message on a valid RACH occasion of the set of valid RACH occasions, the valid RACH occasion corresponding to the SSB index.”).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 11, wherein the DCI ([0125], “For example, the RACH configuration 605 may include or be included in RRC signaling, MAC signaling, DCI, or a combination thereof.”) further comprises a random-access preamble instruction ([0126], “As another example, the RACH configuration 605 may indicate preamble indexes to use in ROs. As another example, the RACH configuration 605 may indicate a subcarrier spacing. As another example, the RACH configuration 605 may indicate a number of RA preambles.”), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions to cause the UE to: select a random-access preamble from a plurality of random-access preambles available for the PRACH in the selected PRACH occasion ([0126], “The RACH configuration 605 may indicate a number of RACH occasions (ROs) (sometimes referred to as physical RACH (PRACH) occasions or random access occasions). In some aspects, the RACH configuration 605 may include a RACH-ConfigCommon or RACH-ConfigCommonTwoStepRA parameter. For example, the RACH configuration 605 may indicate a quantity of ROs. As another example, the RACH configuration 605 may indicate preamble indexes to use in ROs. As another example, the RACH configuration 605 may indicate a subcarrier spacing. As another example, the RACH configuration 605 may indicate a number of RA preambles.”).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein: the UE is a SubBand Full Duplex (SBFD) aware UE, the first PRACH resource configuration is shared by SBFD aware UEs and non-SBFD aware UEs, and the second PRACH resource configuration is not available to the non-SBF aware UEs ([0139], “For example, the first RACH configuration may be directed to or readable by SBFD-aware UEs and the second RACH configuration may be directed to or readable by non-SBFD-aware UEs (and SBFD-aware UEs, in some examples).”).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses a method of transmitting a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH), the method comprising: receiving a first PRACH resource configuration that indicates a first set of uplink (UL) resources for a PRACH transmission ([0139], “In some other aspects, the network node 110 may configure a first RACH configuration for SBFD symbols”); receiving a second PRACH resource configuration that indicates a second set of UL resources for the PRACH transmission ([0139], “and a second RACH configuration for non-SBFD symbols.”); determining whether to select the first PRACH resource configuration or the second PRACH resource configuration ([0121], “A network node 110 may instruct (e.g., using an indication, such as an RRC message, a MAC-CE, or DCI) a UE 120 to switch from the first configuration 540 to a second configuration 550. As an alternative, the UE 120 may indicate to the network node 110 that the UE 120 is switching from the first configuration 540 to the second configuration 550. This switch may be performed for any number of reasons, such as changing load conditions, changing traffic profiles, or the like.”) based on a criteria ([0083], “In some aspects, the receive processor 258 and/or the controller/processor 280 may determine, for a received signal (such as received from the network node 110 or another UE), one or more parameters relating to transmission of the uplink communication. The one or more parameters may include a reference signal received power (RSRP) parameter, a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) parameter, a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) parameter, a CQI parameter, or a transmit power control (TPC) parameter, among other examples.”); configuring one or more PRACH occasions associated with the first set of UL resources in a case that the first PRACH resource configuration is selected; configuring one or more PRACH occasions associated with the second set of UL resources in a case that the second PRACH resource configuration is selected ([0144], “FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating an example 900 of ROs configured by a first RACH configuration and a second RACH configuration, in accordance with the present disclosure. For example, the first RACH configuration may be for SBFD symbols (e.g., SBFD-aware UEs) and the second RACH configuration may be for non-SBFD symbols (e.g., non-SBFD-aware UEs and optionally SBFD-aware UEs).”); and transmitting the PRACH using the one or more PRACH occasions ([0102], “In some aspects, the UE 120 includes means for … transmitting a RACH message on a valid RACH occasion of the set of valid RACH occasions, the valid RACH occasion corresponding to the SSB index.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2025/0247888) in view of Wei et al. (US 2023/0247682).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang does not disclose the reception quality value is above, below, or equal to a threshold. Wei discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions to cause the UE to: measure a reception quality value by the UE, wherein determining whether to select the first PRACH resource configuration or the second PRACH configuration based on a criteria comprises ([0101], “In action 604, the UE may compare each DL measurement result with one or more configured RSRP thresholds (e.g., configured by the BS) to obtain one or more comparison results. In action 606, the UE may select a PRACH resource (e.g., an MP-specific PRACH resource) for the subsequent PRACH transmission(s) (e.g., MP transmissions) according to the comparison result(s).”): selecting the first PRACH resource configuration in a case that the reception quality value is above a threshold ([0101], “For example, the UE may select the PRACH resource corresponding to the DL RS with an RSRP value equal to or greater than a configured RSRP threshold for the subsequent PRACH transmission(s) (e.g., MP transmissions).”); selecting the second PRACH resource configuration in a case that the reception quality value is below the threshold ([0115], “For example, if the RSRP value of the DL RS (e.g., SSB4 in FIG. 7) is equal to or less than the RSRP threshold B, the UE may select N.sub.P_L and MP-specific PRACH resource III for the MP transmissions of the initiated RA procedure.”); and selecting either one of the first and second PRACH resource configurations in a case that the reception quality value is equal to the threshold ([0139], “In some implementations, the use of the RSRP threshold A or the RSRP threshold B may be determined based on which RSRP level is selected/applied. For example, if the UE selects level S (e.g., in the MP-specific PRACH resource selection procedure in action 1102) because the DL RS has an RSRP equal to or greater than the RSRP threshold A, then only the SSB with an RSRP value equal to or greater than the RSRP threshold A can be selected; if the UE selects level M (e.g., in the MP-specific PRACH resource selection procedure in action 1102) because the DL RS has an RSRP equal to or greater than the RSRP threshold B, then only the SSB with an RSRP value equal to or greater than the RSRP threshold B can be selected;”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang in view of Wei to have the reception quality value is above, below, or equal to a threshold. The motivation would have been to increase reception success rate (e.g., Wei [0084]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2025/0247888) in view of Wei et al. (US 2023/0247682) and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0276504).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Wei does not disclose the UE monitoring the RSRP of SS/PBCH. Kim discloses the UE of claim 3, wherein the reception quality value is a Reference Signal Reception Power (RSRP) of a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block currently monitored by the UE ([0114], “The terminal may derive an RSRP for an SSB by performing a monitoring operation (e.g., measurement operation) on the SSB, and may determine a range to which the measured RSRP belongs.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang in view of Wei and further in view of Kim to have the UE monitoring the RSRP of SS/PBCH. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy (e.g., Saha [0034]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2025/0247888) in view of Wei et al. (US 2023/0247682) and further in view of Saha et al. (US 2025/0261244).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Wei does not disclose the threshold from BS as an RRC parameter. Saha discloses the UE of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the one or more computer-executable instructions to cause the UE to: receive the threshold ([0138], “For example, the configuration information may indicate (e.g., in the second RACH configuration associated with SBFD symbols) a threshold for downlink channel measurements to be satisfied.”) from the BS as a radio resource control (RRC) parameter ([0131], “Additionally, or alternatively, all or part of the configuration information indicating the RACH configuration that is applicable to SBFD symbols may be included in one or more other SIBs and/or one or more other RRC messages, such as in a dedicated or common RRC configuration (e.g., when the UE 120 is operating in an RRC connected state).”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang in view of Wei and further in view of Saha to have the threshold from BS as an RRC parameter. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy (e.g., Saha [0034]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2025/0247888) in view of Saha et al. (US 2025/0261244).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang does not disclose selecting the second PRACH configuration when CFRA is used. Saha discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein selecting one of a first or second PRACH resource configurations based on a criteria comprises: determining whether a Contention-Free Random-Access (CFRA) procedure is used by the BS ([0143], “In some aspects, in addition to the first RACH configuration for uplink symbols and the second RACH configuration for SBFD symbols, the configuration information may also include a contention-free random access (CFRA) configuration associated with CFRA to be performed by the UE 120.”); and selecting the second PRACH resource configuration in a case that the CFRA procedure is used ([0143], “In some aspects, the CFRA configuration may be linked with a first PRACH resource set associated with the first RACH configuration (e.g., a set of ROs in uplink symbols) or a second PRACH resource set associated with the second RACH configuration (e.g., a set of ROs in SBFD symbols).”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang in view of Saha to have the selection of the second PRACH configuration when CFRA is used. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy (e.g., Saha [0034]).
Conclusion
/NICK ANON SUNDARA/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479