DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Resilient member in claim 10 is being interpreted according to para. [0027] as any structure capable of biasing the beak of a work element in an open position.
Resilient section in claims 17-20 are being interpreted according to para. [0027] as any structure capable of biasing the beak of a work element in an open position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 14-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US 5,922,001) in view of Simpson et al. (US 6,149,607).
Regarding claim 1, Yoon discloses a device to cut tissue (endoscopic instrument 10, configured for grasping and cutting tissue; Figs. 1, 2, and 11–17; col. 4, lines 11–17; col. 7, lines 50–60), comprising: a work element, configured to cut tissue and formed from a single tube of material and comprising a plurality of cuts to define a single articulable beak (intermediate tubular member 16 having tubular body 54 longitudinally split to form integral one-piece jaws 18 and 20, including movable upper jaw 18 and fixed lower jaw 20; Figs. 3 and 21; col. 4, lines 43–54; col. 5, lines 7–14; col. 9, lines 35–44), the work element being configured such that the single articulable beak is biased in an open configuration and is selectively configured to assume a closed configuration (movable upper jaw 18 formed from resilient material and normally biased away from lower jaw 20, and configured to close against lower jaw 20; Figs. 3, 12, and 21; col. 5, lines 7–14; col. 9, lines 35–44); a rigid trough portion, configured such that the single articulable beak, in the closed configuration, contacts and presses against a facing surface of the rigid trough portion (fixed lower jaw 20 opposing movable upper jaw 18, wherein the upper jaw 18 moves into mating engagement with fixed lower jaw 20; Fig. 21; col. 9, lines 35–44; Yoon further teaches an opposing jaw having a pocket configured to receive a cutting edge of the other jaw, col. 10, lines 31–43); and a handle comprising an actuating lever operatively coupled to the work element to selectively cause the single articulable beak to assume the open configuration or the closed configuration (housing 12, fixed handle 24, and movable handle 26 pivotally mounted on pin 102, wherein movement of handle 26 advances outer tubular member 14 over cam 70 to selectively close upper jaw 18 against lower jaw 20; Figs. 1, 2, and 21; col. 4, lines 11–27; col. 6, lines 43–59; col. 9, lines 35–44).
Yoon does not expressly teach the plurality of cuts defining the single articulable beak as including cut-defined integral flexural members forming a living hinge between the articulable beak and tubular body.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely multiple sample biopsy devices, Simpson teaches:
a work element, configured to cut tissue and formed from a single tube of material and comprising a plurality of cuts to define an articulable beak (cutter tip 14 comprising tubular housing 19, articulable jaws 40, and integral flexural members 48 formed from a single tubular element, wherein longitudinal cuts 50 define the flexural members 48 connecting the jaws 40 to the tubular housing 19; Figs. 5A–5D; col. 6, lines 55–62; col. 7, lines 43–55; col. 8, lines 1–20).
Simpson further teaches that the flexural members 48 can be configured to bias the articulable jaws 40 toward a normally open configuration (col. 7, lines 51–55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integral resilient junction connecting Yoon’s movable upper jaw 18 to tubular body 54 using the cut-defined flexural member 48 taught by Simpson, thereby providing a flexible hinge formed from the same tubular material as the articulable jaw and tubular body. Such a modification would have provided controlled resilient articulation and more even distribution of bending stresses along the flexural member, as expressly taught by Simpson (col. 8, lines 21–30).
Furthermore, Yoon teaches both a stationary lower jaw 20 opposing a movable upper jaw 18 and a cutting-edge receiving pocket formed in an opposing jaw. It would have been obvious to employ Yoon’s disclosed cutting-pocket arrangement in its stationary lower jaw 20, such that movable upper jaw 18 closes against the recessed opposing structure, thereby permitting engagement of the cutting edge with the facing surface of the trough while maintaining the fixed position of lower jaw 20 (Yoon, col. 9, lines 35–44; col. 10, lines 31–43).
Regarding claim 2, Yoon and Simpson disclose the device of claim 1. Yoon also discloses wherein the rigid trough portion is an integral part of the work element (fixed lower jaw 20 formed integrally with tubular body 54 of intermediate tubular member 16, wherein tubular body 54 and jaws 18, 20 are formed as a single unitary part; Fig. 3; col. 4 lines 43-54; col. 5 lines 7-14; col. 9 lines 35-44).
Regarding claim 3, Yoon and Simpson disclose the device of claim 1. Yoon also discloses wherein the rigid trough portion is separate from work element and is configured to be positioned within tissue in advance of the work element (i.e., cutting edge receiving pocket formed in fixed lower jaw 20, such that lower jaw 20 is separate from 54; Fig. 3; col. 4 lines 43-54; col. 9 lines 35-44; col. 10 lines 31-43).
Regarding claim 4, Yoon and Simpson disclose the device of claim 1. Yoon also discloses wherein the work element is configured to rotate while the rigid trough portion is configured to be non-rotating (i.e., the work element would rotate by way of manually rotating the work element).
Note also the device of Yoon as modified by Simpson is fully capable of the work element is configured to rotate while the rigid trough portion is configured to be non-rotating, if one desired to do so - note that the limitations of claim 4 are merely functional limitations and do not affect the structure of the claimed invention - a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) -see also MPEP 2114(11), which states that the manner of operating a device does not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art).
Regarding claim 5, Yoon and Simpson disclose the device of claim 1. Yoon doesn’t directly disclose wherein the work element is configured to stop rotating at a point where single articulable beak presses against the rigid trough portion.
The device of Yoon as modified by Simpson is fully capable of the work element is configured to stop rotating at a point where single articulable beak presses against the rigid trough portion, if one desired to do so - note that the limitations of claim 5 are merely functional limitations and do not affect the structure of the claimed invention - a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) -see also MPEP 2114(11), which states that the manner of operating a device does not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art).
Regarding claim 6, Yoon and Simpson disclose the device of claim 1. Yoon also discloses wherein the single articulable beak, in the open configuration, creates an opening for tissue with the rigid trough portion and, in the closed configuration, occludes the opening, cuts and parts off any tissue engaged in the opening (i.e., movable upper jaw 18 being normally biased open relative to fixed lower jaw 20 thereby defining an opening for receiving tissue therebetween, wherein advancement of outer tubular member 14 over cam 70 causes movable upper 18 to close against fixed lower jaw 20 to grasp and cut tissue; Figs. 12-16 and 21; col. 5 lines 7-14; col. 9 lines 35-44; col. 10 lines 31-43).
Regarding claim 14, Yoon and Simpson disclose the device of claim 1. Yoon also discloses wherein the work element is configured to part-off tissue when the single articulable beak assumes the closed configuration and twists (movable upper jaw 18 configured to closed against 20, cutting blade carried by a jaw and a cutting edge receiving pocked formed in the other jaw, thereby providing a cutting arrangement capable of separating tissue upon closed configuration; Fig. 21; Col. 9 lines 35-44, col. 10 lines 31-43).
Further, the device of Yoon and Simpson is fully capable of the work element is configured to part-off tissue when the single articulable beak assumes the closed configuration and twists, if one desired to do so - note that the limitations of claim are merely functional limitations and do not affect the structure of the claimed invention - a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) -see also MPEP 2114(11), which states that the manner of operating a device does not differentiate apparatus claims from the prior art).
Regarding claim 15, Yoon and Simpson disclose the device of claim 1. Yoon also discloses wherein all but a distal edge of the work element has a uniform thickness (i.e., intermediate tubular body 54 of the intermediate tubular member 16 being formed from a tubular structure that is split to define jaws 18, 20, with distal cutting structures provided at the jaws; Figs. 3-7; col. 4 lines 43-59; col. 5 lines 7-14).
Regarding claim 17, Yoon discloses a device (surgical instrument 10; Fig. 1), comprising: a work element, configured to cut tissue (intermediate tubular member 16 comprising tubular body 54 and jaws 18, 20, configured to engage and cut tissue; Figs. 1–7; col. 4, lines 43–59; col. 10, lines 31–43); and formed from a single tube of material and comprising a plurality of cuts to define at least one articulable beak (intermediate tubular body 54 being longitudinally split to integrally form jaws 18, 20, wherein at least jaw 18 is articulable; Fig. 3; col. 4, lines 43–59); the work element further comprising a proximal portion, the proximal portion defining a spring section that is also formed of the single tube of material (resilient tubular body 54 integrally connected to jaws 18, 20 and configured to resiliently bias the jaws toward an open configuration; Fig. 3; col. 5, lines 7–14); and that is configured such that an axially-directed force imposed thereon causes the at least one articulable beak to assume a closed configuration (outer tube 14 being axially displaced relative to intermediate tubular member 16 to engage cam surfaces 70, 72 and urge jaws 18, 20 toward the closed configuration; Figs. 1–7; col. 6, lines 43–59); and such that when the axially-directed force imposed on the spring section is released, the at least one articulable beak is configured to assume an open configuration (jaws 18, 20 being resiliently biased toward the open configuration and returning toward the open configuration when the closing force is removed; col. 5, lines 7–14); and a handle comprising an actuating lever operatively coupled to the work element to selectively cause the at least one articulable beak to assume the open configuration or the closed configuration (housing 12 comprising movable handle 26 operatively coupled to outer tube 14 to selectively open and close jaws 18, 20; Figs. 1–3; col. 6, lines 43–59).
However, Yoon does not expressly disclose a proximal spring section having the specific cut-defined resilient construction taught by Simpson.
Simpson teaches a tubular cutter tip 14 comprising jaws 40 integrally formed from a single tubular structure, with laser cuts 50 defining flexural members 48 that resiliently deform during jaw actuation and provide controlled movement between open and closed configurations (Figs. 5A–5D; col. 6, lines 55–62; col. 7, lines 43–55; col. 8, lines 1–44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resilient jaw-supporting portion of Yoon’s intermediate tubular member 16 to incorporate the integral cut-defined flexural members 48 taught by Simpson, thereby providing controlled resilient deformation and distributing flexural stresses during repeated jaw actuation, as taught by Simpson in col. 8, lines 21–44.
Regarding claim 18, Yoon as modified by Simpson discloses the device of claim 17. Yoon further discloses wherein the spring section biases the at least one articulable beak in the open configuration (resilient tubular body 54 integrally formed with jaws 18, 20, wherein the resilient construction biases jaws 18, 20 toward the open configuration; Fig. 3; col. 4, lines 43–59; col. 5, lines 7–14).
Simpson further discloses flexural members 48 integrally formed in tubular cutter tip 14 by cuts 50, providing resilient jaw movement and an open-bias configuration (Figs. 5A–5D; col. 7, lines 43–55; col. 8, lines 1–20).
Regarding claim 19, Yoon as modified by Simpson discloses the device of claim 17.
Yoon further discloses wherein the spring section is further configured such that when the axially-directed force is imposed in the proximal direction, the spring section causes the at least one articulable beak to assume the closed configuration (intermediate tubular member 16 comprising resilient tubular body 54 and jaws 18, 20, wherein axial displacement of outer tube 14 relative to intermediate tubular member 16 causes outer tube 14 to engage cam surfaces 70, 72 and urge jaws 18, 20 toward the closed configuration; Figs. 1–7; col. 5, lines 7–14; col. 6, lines 43–59).
Simpson further teaches integral flexural members 48 formed by cuts 50 in tubular cutter tip 14, wherein flexural members 48 resiliently deform to permit jaws 40 to move between open and closed configurations (Figs. 5A–5D; col. 7, lines 43–55; col. 8, lines 1–20).
Regarding claim 20, Yoon as modified by Simpson discloses the device of claim 19.
Yoon further discloses wherein the spring section is further configured such that when the axially-directed force imposed in the proximal direction is released, the spring section causes the at least one articulable beak to assume the open configuration (resilient tubular body 54 integrally formed with jaws 18, 20, wherein jaws 18, 20 are normally biased toward the open configuration and return toward the open configuration upon removal of the closing force; Fig. 3; col. 4, lines 43–59; col. 5, lines 7–14).
Simpson further teaches integral flexural members 48 formed by cuts 50 in tubular cutter tip 14, wherein the resilient flexural members permit jaws 40 to return toward an open configuration upon release of the actuating force (Figs. 5A–5D; col. 7, lines 43–55; col. 8, lines 1–20).
Claims 7-13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon and Simpson as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Thomsen et al. (US 2014/0121650 A1).
Regarding claims 7-8, Yoon and Simpson disclose the device of claim 1. Yoon and Simpson do not directly disclose wherein the handle further comprises a ramp structure against which the actuating lever acts to impart a twisting motion to the single articulable beak; a first dog element, wherein the actuating lever is configured to act upon the first dog element to selectively cause the single articulable beak to assume the open or closed configuration, and wherein the ramp structure is further configured to act to rotate the first dog element and to correspondingly impart the twisting motion to the work element.
In the same field of endeavor, namely surgical tool handle assemblies and related methods, Thomsen discloses a surgical tool handle assembly 100, 200 comprising a handle body 1, an actuating lever 2, a translation bar 3, a cam 4, and a ramp structure 42 having a ramp track 43 defining a ramp surface 43s, wherein movement of the lever 2 causes the translation bar 3 to exert force against the ramp structure and cam, thereby producing a rotational locking moment of the cam 4 (Figs. 1, 7, 14B, and 17; paragraphs [0086] and [0089]–[0090]); a first dog element (i.e., cam 4), wherein the actuating lever is configured to act upon the first dog element to selectively cause the single articulable beak to assume the open or closed configuration (paras. [0084]-[0090]), and wherein the ramp structure is further configured to act to rotate the first dog element and to correspondingly impart the twisting motion to the work element (i.e., actuating lever 2 is operatively coupled to cam 4 through translation bar 3, ramp structure 42, including ramp track 43, cooperates with translation bar 3 to rotate cam 4 about cam shaft 55 in response to movement of actuating lever 2; Figs. 1, 7, 14B–17; paras. [0084]–[0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handle and actuation mechanism of Yoon to incorporate the lever-operated ramp and rotatable cam arrangement taught by Thomsen, thereby providing controlled rotational actuation and mechanical advantage through engagement of the translation bar with the ramp structure, as taught by Thomsen (paras. [0089]–[0090]).
Regarding claim 9, Yoon, Simpson, and Thomsen disclose the device of claim 8. Thomsen also discloses wherein the first dog element is removable and replaceable (i.e., at least during assembly and disassembly).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Yoon and Simpson disclose the device of claim 8. Yoon and Simpson do not expressly disclose wherein the handle further comprises a second dog element and wherein the device further includes a spring element coupled to the first dog element and to the second dog element, the spring element being configured to urge the single articulable beak in the open configuration; the second dog element comprises a ramp against which a portion of the actuating lever acts to rotate the second dog element and correspondingly twist the work element.
Thomsen discloses a surgical tool handle assembly 100, 200 comprising a second dog element (translation bar 3, including ramp post 46), a first dog element (rotatable cam 4), and a spring element (elastic member 6), wherein elastic member 6 applies a biasing force to translation bar 3, which cooperates with cam 4 and ramp feature 42 with ramp track 42 to control movement of cam 4 (Figs. 1, 14B–17; paragraphs [0084]–[0090]). Thomsen also discloses an actuation lever 2 which causes translation bar 3 to engage ramp feature 42 to transmit force to 4 producing rotational movement (Figs. 1, 7, 14B-17; paras. [0086]-[0090])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handle and actuation mechanism of Yoon and Simpson to incorporate the spring-biased engagement mechanism taught by Thomsen, including the ramp operated engagement thereby providing a resilient biasing force within the handle assembly to facilitate controlled actuation and return movement of the associated mechanical components and convert lever generated force into controlled rotational movement (paras. [0089]-[0090]).
Regarding claim 12, Yoon, Simpson, and Thomsen disclose the device of claim 10. The resulting device also discloses wherein at least one of the work element, the first dog element and the second dog element is configured to be removed from the handle and replaced (i.e., at least during assembly and disassembly).
Regarding claim 13, Yoon and Simpson disclose the device of claim 1. Yoon and Simpson do not directly disclose further comprising a first and second dog element within the handle, at least the second dog element being configured such that manual manipulation thereof by an operator causes a twisting motion of the work element.
Thomsen discloses a first and second dog element within the handle (cam 4 and translation bar 3, respectively, disposed within the handle body 1; Figs. 1, 14B-17; paras. [0084]-[0086]), at least the second dog element being configured such that manual manipulation thereof by an operator(translation bar 3 being movable in response to manual actuation of lever) causes a twisting motion of the work element (translation bar 3 engaging ramp feature 42 and cam 4 to generate rotational movement of cam 4; Figs. 7 and 17; paras. [0089]-[0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yoon and Simpon’s handle mechanism to incorporate the mechanically coupled elements taught by Thomsen to convert manually applied force into controlled rotational movement and provide mechanical advantage during actuation (paras. [0089]-[0090]).
Regarding claim 16, Yoon and Simpson disclose the device of claim 1. Yoon also discloses wherein the actuating lever is further operatively coupled to the work element (movable handle 26 operatively coupled to intermediate tubular member 16 comprising tubular body 54 and movable jaw 18 thoruh the actuation mechanism of surgical instrument 10; Figs. 1-3; col. 6 lines 43-59).
Yoon and Simpson do not directly disclose that the actuation lever is operatively coupled to the work element to impart a twisting motion to the single articulable beak.
Thomsen teaches an actuating lever operatively coupled to a mechanical assembly to impart twisting motion (actuating lever 2 coupled to translation bar 3, which cooperates with ramp feature 42 and rotatable cam 4 to generate rotational movement about cam shaft 55; Figs. 1, 7, 14B-17; paras. [0084]-[0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuation mechanism of Yoon, as modified by Simpson, to incorporate the lever-operated rotational mechanism taught by Thomsen to provide controlled rotational actuation and mechanical advantage (paras. [0089]-[0090]).
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simpson in view of Yoon.
Regarding claim 21, Simpson discloses a device for cutting tissue samples (multiple sample biopsy device 10), the device comprising: a work element, configured to cut tissue (cutter tip 14 comprising jaws 40 having mating cutting edges 42; Figs. 1–4B); and formed from a single tube of material that defines an inner surface and an outer surface (cutter tip 14 comprising tubular housing 19 integrally formed with jaws 40 from a single tubular member; Figs. 2, 5A–5D; col. 7, lines 43–55); and comprising a plurality of cuts to define at least one articulable beak configured to selectively assume an open configuration and a closed configuration (longitudinal cuts 50 defining flexural members 48 and articulable jaws 40 movable between open and closed configurations; Figs. 5A–5D; col. 7, lines 43–55; col. 8, lines 1–20); the work element being configured to be acted upon by differential forces to cause the at least one articulable beak to assume the open and closed configurations (axial movement of actuator shaft 16 relative to outer sleeve 18 causing jaws 40 to open and close through engagement of mounting tabs 44 and resilient deformation of flexural members 48; Figs. 1–3; col. 7, lines 43–55); and a handle comprising an actuating lever operatively coupled to the work element to selectively cause the at least one articulable beak to assume the open configuration or the closed configuration (proximal control or handle 12 operatively coupled to actuator shaft 16 and outer sleeve 18 to selectively actuate jaws 40; Fig. 1).
However, Simpson does not expressly disclose an actuating lever as a specifically identified component of handle 12.
Yoon teaches a handle comprising an actuating lever operatively coupled to the work element to selectively cause the at least one articulable beak to assume the open configuration or the closed configuration (housing 12 comprising movable handle 26 operatively coupled to the jaw actuation mechanism to selectively move jaws 18, 20; Figs. 1–3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Simpson’s proximal control 12 with the movable handle 26 taught by Yoon to facilitate manual control of axial movement of actuator shaft 16 relative to outer sleeve 18, thereby selectively opening and closing jaws 40.
Regarding claim 22, Simpson as modified by Yoon discloses the device of claim 21. Simpson further discloses wherein each of the at least one articulable beak comprises a surface (each jaw 40 comprising a partially cylindrical portion 36 and a partially spherical cap portion 38 having a curved surface) defined by a hyperbolic segment of the single tube of material (each jaw 40 having a curved cutting edge 42 formed by an oblique cut through spherical cap portion 38 of tubular cutter tip 14, wherein the cut is skewed relative to normal N by angle β; Figs. 2, 4A–4B; col. 6–7, description of jaws 40 and cutting edges 42).
Regarding claim 23, Simpson as modified by Yoon discloses the device of claim 21. Simpson further discloses wherein the at least one articulable beak is configured to open wider than a diameter of the single tube of material (jaws 40 of tubular cutter tip 14 being articulable between closed and open configurations, wherein jaws 40 extend outwardly from tubular housing 19 when opened; Figs. 3, 4A–4B; col. 7, lines 43–55), to thereby enable collection of tissue samples having a diameter that is larger than a diameter of the single tube of material (jaws 40 defining a tissue-receiving opening in the open configuration, with cutting edges 42 configured to engage and sever tissue samples; Figs. 2–4B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHAEL L GEIGER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/BROOKE LABRANCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771