DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The reply filed on 6/05/2026 cancelled claims 7 and 9, amended claims 1-6, 8, 10, and 11. Claims 1-6, 8, 10, and 11 are pending herein.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/15/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species A (Fig.1-3) in the reply filed on 6/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 6 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/05/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “integrated into or fixed” (Claim 1 – both options must be shown and labeled), must all be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation: “transversally” is unclear and should most likely be rewritten as “transversely”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation: “has concavity” is unclear and should most likely be rewritten as “has a concavity”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1, 10, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation: “in use, rest” is unclear and should most likely be rewritten. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation: “along a second direction, vertical in use, on the side” is unclear and should most likely be rewritten. Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 8, 10, and 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1/10, the claim recites the limitation: “integrated into or fixed” which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-5, 8, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein et al. (DE 2019128941 A1 - Applicant provided art) in view of Lanard et al. (US 7,011,360 B2).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Klein teaches: A front frame assembly for a motor vehicle (See, e.g. Fig.1-7) said motor vehicle defining a longitudinal extension direction and comprising a frame (See, e.g. Fig.1-7, 201+101) and a plurality of wheels (See, e.g. Fig.1-7) rotatable about respective rotational axes for moving said frame relative to the ground (See, e.g. Fig.1-7), said front frame assembly comprising:
a transversal element (See, e.g. Fig.1-7, 101) extending transversally to said longitudinal extension direction (See, e.g. Fig.1-7); and
a heat exchange device (See, e.g. Fig.1-7, 110+111) integrated into or fixed to said transversal element (See, e.g. Fig.1-7),
wherein said heat exchange device has concavity facing towards the ground on which said wheels, in use, rest (See, e.g. Fig.1-7).
Klein fails to explicitly teach: wherein said heat exchange device has a curved profile in a plane passing through said longitudinal extension direction.
However, Lanard teaches a similar vehicle front frame assembly (See, e.g., Lanard: Fig.1-4) wherein a heat exchange device (See, e.g., Lanard: Fig.1-4, 5) has a curved profile in a plane passing through said longitudinal extension direction (See, e.g., Lanard: Fig.1-4).
Lanard teaches that it is well known in the art of vehicle heat exchanger design to provide the heat exchange device with a curved profile in a plane passing through a longitudinal extension direction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by Klein modified to provide the heat exchange device with a curved profile in a plane passing through said longitudinal extension direction such as taught by Lanard, for the purpose of conveniently allowing for increased cooling efficiency and reduced footprint within the crowded engine compartment due to vehicle mounting configuration given the curved profile. Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
[Claim 2] Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Klein in view of Lanard teaches: wherein said heat exchange device is a radiator comprising a plurality of ducts (See, e.g. Klein: Fig.1-7, 112); said ducts being adapted to be crossed, in use, on their inside by a first fluid and to be impinged on their outside by a second fluid (See, e.g. Klein: Fig.1-7, 110+111+112).
[Claim 3] Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Klein in view of Lanard teaches: wherein said heat exchange device comprises a lattice structure comprising said ducts (See, e.g. Klein: Fig.1-7, 110+111+112) and defining a plurality of interstices between said ducts adapted to be crossed, in use, by a flow of said second fluid (See, e.g. Klein: Fig.1-7, 110+11+112).
[Claim 4] Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Klein in view of Lanard teaches: Lanard discloses: wherein said heat exchange device is manufactured by additive manufacturing or said lattice structure is manufactured by additive manufacturing (See, e.g. Klein: Fig.1-7; “additive manufacturing, for example 3D printing”).
[Claim 5] Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Klein in view of Lanard teaches: wherein said ducts comprise a thermal exchange surface between said first fluid and said second fluid; said thermal exchange surface being flat (See, e.g. Klein: Fig.1-7, 110+111+112).
[Claim 8] Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Klein in view of Lanard teaches: wherein said heat exchange device extends from said transversal element towards said rear portion along said longitudinal extension direction (See, e.g. Klein: Fig.1-7).
[Claim 10] Regarding Claim 10, Klein teaches: A motor vehicle (See, e.g. Fig.1-7), comprising:
a frame (See, e.g. Fig.1-7, 201+101);
a plurality of wheels (See, e.g. Fig.1-7) rotatable about respective rotational axes for moving said frame relative to the ground (See, e.g. Fig.1-7);
a front portion and a rear portion relative to a longitudinal extension direction of said motor vehicle (See, e.g. Fig.1-7);
said frame comprising a front frame assembly (See, e.g. Fig.1-7) arranged at said front portion said front frame (See, e.g. Fig.1-7) comprising: a transversal element (See, e.g. Fig.1-7, 101) extending transversally to said longitudinal extension direction (See, e.g. Fig.1-7); and
a heat exchange device (See, e.g. Fig.1-7, 110+111) integrated into or fixed to said transversal element (See, e.g. Fig.1-7),
wherein said heat exchange device has concavity facing towards the ground on which said wheels, in use, rest (See, e.g. Fig.1-7).
Klein fails to explicitly teach: wherein said heat exchange device has a curved profile in a plane passing through said longitudinal extension direction.
However, Lanard teaches a similar vehicle front frame assembly (See, e.g., Lanard: Fig.1-4) wherein a heat exchange device (See, e.g., Lanard: Fig.1-4, 5) has a curved profile in a plane passing through said longitudinal extension direction (See, e.g., Lanard: Fig.1-4).
Lanard teaches that it is well known in the art of vehicle heat exchanger design to provide the heat exchange device with a curved profile in a plane passing through a longitudinal extension direction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by Klein modified to provide the heat exchange device with a curved profile in a plane passing through said longitudinal extension direction such as taught by Lanard, for the purpose of conveniently allowing for increased cooling efficiency and reduced footprint within the crowded engine compartment due to vehicle mounting configuration given the curved profile. Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007))
[Claim 11] Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Klein in view of Lanard teaches: wherein said heat exchange device protrudes beyond said transversal element along a second direction, vertical in use, on the side of said transversal element facing towards ground on which said wheels, in use, rest; said second direction being orthogonal to said longitudinal extension direction (See, e.g. Klein: Fig.1-7, in view of Lanard: Fig.1-4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613