Detailed Action
Summary
1. This office action is in response to the application filed on February 15, 2024.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending and has been examined.
Priority
3. Applicant has claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). However, that applicant has not filed a certified copy.
Drawings
4. The drawings submitted on 02/15/2024 are acceptable.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 2-3,6,8-11,13-18 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Throughout the claims 2-3,6,8-11 and 13 recite “regulating the output voltage” should be “the regulated output voltage”.
Claim 2 recites “instantaneous total output power” in line 7 should be “the instantaneous total output power”.
Claims 6 and 17 recites “the present total output electrical energy parameter”, “the present output voltage”, “the present current”, “the present phase difference”, “the second target output voltage” and “the maximum output power” in their claim languages”. There are insufficient antecedent basis for these claim limitations.
Claim 8 recites “the instantaneous total output power of the power supply module” in line 10 and “the maximum output power “ in line 11. There are insufficient antecedent basis for these claim limitations.
Claim 9 recites “a threshold voltage difference range” in line 15 should be “the threshold voltage difference range”.
Claim 10 recites “the second target output voltage” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim limitation.
Claim 11 recites “continuously regulating the output voltage” in line 11 should be “the continuously regulating the output voltage”.
Claim 19 recites “the inductor current ” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim limitation.
Claims 2-3,6,8-11 depend from claim 1, thus are objected because of their dependency.
Claims 14-18 from claim 13, thus are objected because of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Clams 1-2 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (a)(2) as being anticipated by Taniguchi “2020 0067438”.
In re to claim 1, Taniguchi disclose a power control method (Figs. 1-10 shows a control device 4 for a power generation system), comprising: determining whether there is an overload device among all load devices of a power supply module, wherein output voltage of the power supply module is adjustable within an allowable voltage range (the controller is determine voltage decrease limiting function to maintain the target voltage Vr of the generator 3 at an allowable lower limit voltage determined on the basis of an output voltage V which is allowable to carry out normal operation of the load if the target voltage Vr of the generator 3 is lower than the allowable lower limit voltage, see abstract and parag.0007-0008);
if it is determined that there is the overload device, acquiring first target output voltage of the power supply module, wherein the first target output voltage is within the allowable voltage range and is lower than and close to minimum working voltage of all non-working overload devices; regulating the output voltage of the power supply module to the first target output voltage (a voltage decrease limiting operation to maintain the target voltage of the generator at an allowable lower limit voltage determined on the basis of an output voltage which is allowable to carry out normal operation of the load, or at a value determined on the basis of the allowable lower limit voltage, if the target voltage of the generator which decreases in accordance with the decrease amount of the detection value is lower than the allowable lower limit voltage; and a voltage increase operation to increase the target voltage of the generator to a rated voltage at the time of steady operation if the detection value increases again after the detection value falls below the allowable variation value, see parag.0007 and prag.0008).
In re to claim 2, Taniguchi disclose (Figs. 1-10) wherein the determining whether there is the overload device among all the load devices of the power supply module comprises: determining whether there is the overload device among all the load devices of the power supply module, by regulating the output voltage of the power supply module within the allowable voltage range and comparing instantaneous total output power of the power supply module before regulating the output voltage with instantaneous total output power of the power supply module after regulating the output voltage (a voltage decrease limiting operation to maintain the target voltage of the generator at an allowable lower limit voltage determined on the basis of an output voltage which is allowable to carry out normal operation of the load, or at a value determined on the basis of the allowable lower limit voltage, if the target voltage of the generator which decreases in accordance with the decrease amount of the detection value is lower than the allowable lower limit voltage; and a voltage increase operation to increase the target voltage of the generator to a rated voltage at the time of steady operation if the detection value increases again after the detection value falls below the allowable variation value. see parg.0007 and 0008).
In re to claim 12, Taniguchi disclose (Figs. 1-10) a power control apparatus (Fig. 3 shows control apparatus 4), comprising: a processor; a memory connected with the processor and configured to store a computer program (FIG. 3 shows relation maps M1, M2 stored in the target voltage regulator part 43. It is understood in the art that the target voltage Vr of the generator 3 is adjusted and stored by the target voltage regulator part 43 which comprises to store a memory and processor is extracting information from the memory) ; wherein the processor is configured to read the computer program stored in the memory to be enabled to: determine whether there is an overload device among all load devices of a power supply module, wherein output voltage of the power supply module is adjustable within an allowable voltage range; acquire first target output voltage of the power supply module if it is determined that there is the overload device, wherein the first target output voltage is within the allowable voltage range and is lower than and close to minimum working voltage of all non-working overload devices; regulate the output voltage of the power supply module to the first target output voltage (a voltage decrease limiting operation to maintain the target voltage of the generator at an allowable lower limit voltage determined on the basis of an output voltage which is allowable to carry out normal operation of the load, or at a value determined on the basis of the allowable lower limit voltage, if the target voltage of the generator which decreases in accordance with the decrease amount of the detection value is lower than the allowable lower limit voltage; and a voltage increase operation to increase the target voltage of the generator to a rated voltage at the time of steady operation if the detection value increases again after the detection value falls below the allowable variation value. see parg.0007 and 0008 and abstract).
In re to claim 13, Taniguchi disclose (Figs. 1-10), wherein the processor is further enabled to: determine whether there is the overload device among all the load devices of the power supply module, by regulating the output voltage of the power supply module within the allowable voltage range and comparing instantaneous total output power of the power supply module before regulating the output voltage with instantaneous total output power of the power supply module after regulating the output voltage (a voltage decrease limiting operation to maintain the target voltage of the generator at an allowable lower limit voltage determined on the basis of an output voltage which is allowable to carry out normal operation of the load, or at a value determined on the basis of the allowable lower limit voltage, if the target voltage of the generator which decreases in accordance with the decrease amount of the detection value is lower than the allowable lower limit voltage; and a voltage increase operation to increase the target voltage of the generator to a rated voltage at the time of steady operation if the detection value increases again after the detection value falls below the allowable variation value. see parg.0007 and 0008 and abstract. Examiner noted that the total power is determined by the total output voltage times total output current at the output).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 3-11 and 14-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 , the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the power control method including the limitation of “before the determining whether there is the overload device among all the load devices of the power supply module, comprising: acquiring a total output electrical energy parameter of the power supply module, and obtaining present first instantaneous total output power of the power supply module according to the total output electrical energy parameter, wherein the present first instantaneous total output power of the power supply module is a sum of power output by the power supply module to all the load devices; determining whether the power supply module is overloaded according to whether the present first instantaneous total output power of the power supply module is greater than maximum output power of the power supply module; if it is determined that the power supply module is overloaded, determining second target output voltage according to the maximum output power of the power supply module, and regulating the output voltage of the power supply module to the second target output voltage, wherein the second target output voltage is voltage at which actual total output power output by the power supply module to all the loaded devices does not exceed the maximum output power of the power supply module.”
Claim 8 , the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the power control method including the limitation of “the acquiring the first target output voltage of the power supply module comprises: continuously regulating the output voltage of the power supply module within the allowable voltage range, and determining whether to turn up or turn down the output voltage of the power supply module in a next regulation according to whether there is a step change in instantaneous total output power of the power supply module after each regulation relative to instantaneous total output power of the power supply module prior to the regulation, until a difference between a prior-to-regulation output voltage and a post-regulation output voltage is within a threshold voltage difference range or the instantaneous total output power of the power supply module reaches or approaches the maximum output power of the power supply module, and taking a smaller one between the prior-to-regulation output voltage and the post-regulation output voltage as the first target output voltage. ”
Claim 14 , the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the power control apparatus including the limitation of “acquire a total output electrical energy parameter of the power supply module, and obtain present first instantaneous total output power of the power supply module according to the total output electrical energy parameter, wherein the present first instantaneous total output power of the power supply module is a sum of power output by the power supply module to all the load devices; determine whether the power supply module is overloaded according to whether the present first instantaneous total output power of the power supply module is greater than maximum output power of the power supply module; if it is determined that the power supply module is overloaded, determine second target output voltage according to the maximum output power of the power supply module, and regulate the output voltage of the power supply module to the second target output voltage, wherein the second target output voltage is voltage at which actual total output power output by the power supply module to all the loaded devices does not exceed the maximum output power of the power supply module.”
Claim 17 , the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the power control apparatus including the limitation of “acquire the present total output electrical energy parameter of the power output port of the power supply module, wherein the present total output electrical energy parameter comprises the present output voltage, the present current, and the present phase difference; calculate and obtain load impedance of the power supply module according to the present current or the present output voltage, as well as the present phase difference; calculate and obtain the second target output voltage according to the load impedance and the maximum output power of the power supply module; regulate the output voltage of the power supply module to the second target output voltage. ”
Claims 4-6 and 19-20 depend from claim 3, thus are also objected because of their dependency.
Claims 9-11 depend from claim 8, thus are also objected because of their dependency.
Claims 15-16 and 18 depend from claim 14, thus are also objected because of their dependency.
Conclusion
8. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SISAY G TIKU whose telephone number is (571)272-6898. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-6:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tran, Thienvu Vu can be reached on (571) 270-1276. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SISAY G TIKU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838