DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 2-21 rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 7-9 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,910,208. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because.
Claim 1 of the patent anticipates claims 2, 4, 9, 11, 16 and 18 of the pending claims.
Claim 5 of the patent anticipates claims 3, 10 and 17 of the pending claims.
Claim 7 of the patent anticipates claims 5, 12 and 19 of the pending claims.
Claim 8 of the patent anticipates claims 6, 13 and 20 of the pending claims.
Claim 9 of the patent anticipates claims 7, 14 and 21 of the pending claims.
Claim 12 of the patent anticipates claims 8 and 15 of the pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-4, 6, 9-11, 13, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 2020/0295817 (Loghin et al.).
As to claims 2, 9 and 16, Loghin teaches a system (3, fig 3) comprising: one or more processors (32, fig 3); and one or more computer-readable media storing computer executable instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform acts comprising:
outputting a test signal from an antenna (11, 12, fig 3), the test signal having a direction (paragraphs 53, 54, 59, 60 and 63, control unit makes initiator antennas transmit training signals in different directions in a sector);
in response to the test signal, receiving a confirmation signal from a transceiver; determining a strength of the confirmation signal; determining the strength of the confirmation signal meets a transmission criteria or parameter (see paragraphs 59, 62 and 67, in response to the training signals from the initiator antennas the responder antennas transmit training signals, signal strength of the training signals measured for beam forming decisions); and
causing the antenna to output a network signal in a direction that avoids the direction of the test signal (see paragraphs 64 and 68, different directions in a sector tested so that a final antenna beam combination is selected that would exclude many of the directions tested).
As to claims 3, 10 and 17, Loghin further teaches wherein the confirmation signal is received from the direction from which the test signal was transmitted (see paragraph 59, test signals from initiator and responder antennas transmitted in various directions).
As to claims 4, 11 and 18, Loghin further teaches placing the transceiver near or at an incumbent station (see figure 3, element 10~incubant station).
As to claims 6, 13 and 20, Loghin further teaches wherein the transceiver, in response to receiving the test signal, outputs the confirmation signal in all directions or in the direction from which the test signal was received (see paragraph 59, test signals from responder antennas transmitted in various directions to the initiator antennas).
As to claims 8 and 15, Loghin further teaches wherein the transmission criteria or parameter is a strongest confirmation signal ((see paragraphs 60- 68, training signals sent to and by responder in all directions of a sector and measured for signal power. The direction having the least path loss would have the strongest training signals in that direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As to claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0295817 (Loghin et al.) in view Well Known Prior Art (Official Notice).
As to claims 5, 12 and 19, what is lacking is wherein the transceiver is physically positioned outside of or in line with a transmission path between the incumbent station and a satellite in communication with the incumbent station.
Examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known in the arts at the time of the invention for stations to have land based and satcom communication. In combination with Loghin this would render a transceiver on the incumbent station that also possesses a SATCOM transceiver such that the transceiver would effectively be in the transmission path to the satellite.
It would have been obvious to apply this teaching to Loghin so as to allow for enhanced communication.
Claim 7, 14, 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0295817 (Loghin et al.) in view of US 2022/0394736 (Challita et al.).
As to claims 7, 14 and 21, what is lacking is wherein the transmission criteria or parameter is a threshold, the threshold being associated with a strength at or above which the network signal interferes with reception of an incumbent station.
In analogous art, Challita teaches the use of sensors signal strength thresholds on measurements made at locations having different networks such that a signal strength above said threshold is deemed to interference with the other network (~incumbent station) (see Challita, paragraph 97).
It would have been obvious to apply this teaching to Loghin so as to minimize interference between coexisting networks.
Conclusion
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641