Claim Objections
2. Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20 is dependent on claim 19. Thus, the preamble of claim 20 should be changed from “The communication apparatus of claim 19” to “The method for multi-cell scheduling of claim 19”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 14-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. 20240340866, hereinafter MolavianJazi '866) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. 20250113365).
Regarding claim 1, MolavianJazi ‘866 teaches a communication apparatus ([0006]: user equipment (UE)), comprising: a radio transceiver, transmitting or receiving wireless signals to communicate with a network device ([0006]: UE includes a transceiver configured to receive first information. [0007]: The base station includes a transceiver configured to transmit first information.); and a modem processor, coupled to the radio transceiver ([0006]: UE further includes a processor operably coupled with the transceiver.), wherein the DCI comprises a common field with a minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator ([0398]: Cell-common/Type-1A fields in a multi-cell scheduling DCI format 0_3/1_3 include minimum applicable scheduling offset indication), with the minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator ([0398]: Cell-common/Type-1A fields in a multi-cell scheduling DCI format 0_3/1_3 include minimum applicable scheduling offset indication), and scheduling a plurality of cells for the communication apparatus according to the DCI ([0186]: scheduling of multiple PDSCHs or multiple PUSCH on multiple cells using a single/common control signaling, such as by using a single DCI format.).
MolavianJazi ‘866 does not teach receiving a downlink (DL) control information (DCI) from the network device, in response to a higher layer parameter being configured, and the DCI does not comprise the common field, and in response to the higher layer parameter being not configured.
However, Lee teaches receiving a downlink (DL) control information (DCI) ([0006]:receiving downlink control information (DCI)) from the network device (Examiner note: A DCI is necessarily received from a network device), in response to a higher layer parameter being configured ([0127]: When the UE is configured with minimumSchedulingOffsetK0/K2, a change in the minimum scheduling offset restriction (K0min/K2min) may be indicated by the ‘minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator’ field in (PDSCH/PUSCH) scheduling downlink control information (DCI).), and the DCI does not comprise the common field ([0221]: Minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator – 0 bit), and in response to the higher layer parameter being not configured ([0221]: if higher layer parameter minimumSchedulingOffsetK2 is not configured). MolavianJazi ‘866 teaches a system for low-overhead multi-cell scheduling. Lee teaches a low-power scheduling system using low bit-width fields to reduce control overhead. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MolavianJazi ‘866 with Lee in order to reduce latency and increase energy efficiency (Lee: [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. MolavianJazi ‘866 further teaches wherein the common field is a Type-1A field ([0197]: a cell-common field (also known as, a “Type-1A” field) in a multi-cell scheduling DCI format 0_3/1_3 that is associated with a set of cells for multi-cell scheduling). MolavianJazi ‘866 teaches a system for low-overhead multi-cell scheduling. Lee teaches a low-power scheduling system using low bit-width fields to reduce control overhead. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MolavianJazi ‘866 with Lee in order to reduce latency and increase energy efficiency (Lee: [0003]).
Regarding claim 3, MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. Lee further teaches wherein the minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator with 1 bit ([0221]: Minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator—0 or 1 bit; 0 bit if higher layer parameter minimumSchedulingOffsetK2 is not configured; 1 bit if higher layer parameter minimumSchedulingOffsetK2 is configured.). Lee fails to teach corresponds to the plurality of cells.
However, MolavianJazi ‘866 further teaches corresponds to the plurality of cells ([0398]: Cell-common/Type-1A fields in a multi-cell scheduling DCI format 0_3/1_3 include minimum applicable scheduling offset indication.). MolavianJazi ‘866 teaches a system for low-overhead multi-cell scheduling. Lee teaches a low-power scheduling system using low bit-width fields to reduce control overhead. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MolavianJazi ‘866 with Lee in order to reduce latency and increase energy efficiency (Lee: [0003]).
Regarding claim 5, MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. MolavianJazi ‘866 further teaches wherein a format of the DCI is DCI format 0_3 or DCI format 1_3 ([0197]: a cell-common field (also known as, a “Type-1A” field) in a multi-cell scheduling DCI format 0_3/1_3 that is associated with a set of cells for multi-cell scheduling). MolavianJazi ‘866 teaches a system for low-overhead multi-cell scheduling. Lee teaches a low-power scheduling system using low bit-width fields to reduce control overhead. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MolavianJazi ‘866 with Lee in order to reduce latency and increase energy efficiency (Lee: [0003]).
Regarding claim 6, MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. MolavianJazi ‘866 further teaches wherein the DCI comprises a plurality of separate fields ([0197]]: in a multi-cell scheduling DCI format 0_3/1_3. Examiner note: DCI format is by definition composed of multiple fields.). MolavianJazi ‘866 teaches a system for low-overhead multi-cell scheduling. Lee teaches a low-power scheduling system using low bit-width fields to reduce control overhead. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MolavianJazi ‘866 with Lee in order to reduce latency and increase energy efficiency (Lee: [0003]).
Regarding claim 7, MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1 and claim 6. MolavianJazi ‘866 further teaches wherein each of the plurality of separate fields comprises a plurality of subfields, and the plurality of subfields correspond to the plurality of cells, respectively ([0343]: DCI format for multi-cell scheduling can provide separate values of fields for each of the multiple co-scheduled cells. A first value corresponds to a first cell, a second value corresponds to a second cell, and so on. Therefore, DCI format fields for the multiple cells are concatenated.). MolavianJazi ‘866 teaches a system for low-overhead multi-cell scheduling. Lee teaches a low-power scheduling system using low bit-width fields to reduce control overhead. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MolavianJazi ‘866 with Lee in order to reduce latency and increase energy efficiency (Lee: [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, MolavianJazi ‘866 teaches a communication apparatus [0006]: user equipment (UE), comprising: a radio transceiver, transmitting or receiving wireless signals to communicate with a network device ([0006]: UE includes a transceiver configured to receive first information. [0007]: The base station includes a transceiver configured to transmit first information.); and a modem processor, coupled to the radio transceiver ([0006]: UE further includes a processor operably coupled with the transceiver.), and at least one padding value from the network device ([0533]: DCI format 0_3 or 1_3, it is possible that a Type-1A DCI field, even after the DCI field size matching (via truncation or zero-padding). Examiner note: A DCI is necessarily received from a network device), and scheduling a plurality of cells for the communication apparatus according to the DCI ([0186]: scheduling of multiple PDSCHs or multiple PUSCH on multiple cells using a single/common control signaling, such as by using a single DCI format). MolavianJazi ‘866 fails to teach receiving a downlink (DL) control information (DCI) comprising a plurality of DCI fields.
However, Lee does teach receiving a downlink (DL) control information (DCI) ([0006]: receiving downlink control information (DCI)) comprising a plurality of DCI fields (Examiner note: a DCI necessarily contains a plurality of DCI fields). MolavianJazi ‘866 teaches a system for low-overhead multi-cell scheduling. Lee teaches a low-power scheduling system using low bit-width fields to reduce control overhead. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MolavianJazi ‘866 with Lee in order to reduce latency and increase energy efficiency (Lee: [0003]).
Regarding claim 14, MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 9. MolavianJazi ‘866 further teaches wherein a DCI field of the plurality of DCI fields is a common field ([0197]:a cell-common field (also known as, a “Type-1A” field) in a multi-cell scheduling DCI format 0_3/1_3), and the common field corresponds to the plurality of cells (Examiner note: By definition, a type-1A common field refers to a single DCI field that carries common information applied to a plurality of cells.). MolavianJazi ‘866 teaches a system for low-overhead multi-cell scheduling. Lee teaches a low-power scheduling system using low bit-width fields to reduce control overhead. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MolavianJazi ‘866 with Lee in order to reduce latency and increase energy efficiency (Lee: [0003]).
Regarding claim 15, MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 9. MolavianJazi ‘866 further teaches wherein a DCI field of the plurality of DCI fields is a separate field comprising a plurality of subfields, and the plurality of subfields correspond to the plurality of cells, respectively ([0375]: A cell-specific (or Type-2) field refers to a field in the multi-cell scheduling DCI format 0_3/1_3, wherein the DCI format provides a separate field for each cell from the cell that are scheduled by the DCI format 0_3/1_3.). MolavianJazi ‘866 teaches a system for low-overhead multi-cell scheduling. Lee teaches a low-power scheduling system using low bit-width fields to reduce control overhead. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MolavianJazi ‘866 with Lee in order to reduce latency and increase energy efficiency (Lee: [0003]).
Regarding claim 16, MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 9 and claim 15. MolavianJazi ‘866 further teaches wherein the separate field is a Type-2 field ([0375]: A cell-specific (or Type-2) field refers to a field in the multi-cell scheduling DCI format 0_3/1_3, wherein the DCI format provides a separate field for each cell from the cell that are scheduled by the DCI format 0_3/1_3.).
Regarding claim 18, MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 9. MolavianJazi ‘866 further teaches wherein a format of the DCI is DCI format 0_3 or DCI format 1_3 ([0375]: A cell-specific (or Type-2) field refers to a field in the multi-cell scheduling DCI format 0_3/1_3). MolavianJazi ‘866 teaches a system for low-overhead multi-cell scheduling. Lee teaches a low-power scheduling system using low bit-width fields to reduce control overhead. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MolavianJazi ‘866 with Lee in order to reduce latency and increase energy efficiency (Lee: [0003]).
Regarding claim 19, MolavianJazi ‘866 teaches wherein the DCI comprises a common field with a minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator ([0398]: Cell-common/Type-1A fields in a multi-cell scheduling DCI format 0_3/1_3 include minimum applicable scheduling offset indication), with the minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator ([0398]: Cell-common/Type-1A fields in a multi-cell scheduling DCI format 0_3/1_3 include minimum applicable scheduling offset indication), and scheduling a plurality of cells for the communication apparatus according to the DCI ([0186]: scheduling of multiple PDSCHs or multiple PUSCH on multiple cells using a single/common control signaling, such as by using a single DCI format.). MolavianJazi ‘866 does not disclose receiving a downlink (DL) control information (DCI) from the network device, in response to a higher layer parameter being configured, and the DCI does not comprise the common field, and in response to the higher layer parameter being not configured.
However, Lee does teach receiving a downlink (DL) control information (DCI) ([0006]: receiving downlink control information (DCI)) from the network device (Examiner note: A DCI is necessarily received from a network device.), in response to a higher layer parameter being configured ([0127]: When the UE is configured with minimumSchedulingOffsetK0/K2, a change in the minimum scheduling offset restriction (K0min/K2min) may be indicated by the ‘minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator’ field in (PDSCH/PUSCH) scheduling downlink control information (DCI).), and the DCI does not comprise the common field ([0221]: Minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator – 0 bit.), and in response to the higher layer parameter being not configured ([0221]: if higher layer parameter minimumSchedulingOffsetK2 is not configured.). MolavianJazi ‘866 teaches a system for low-overhead multi-cell scheduling. Lee teaches a low-power scheduling system using low bit-width fields to reduce control overhead. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MolavianJazi ‘866 with Lee in order to reduce latency and increase energy efficiency (Lee: [0003]).
Regarding claim 20, MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 19. MolavianJazi ‘866 further teaches wherein the common field is a Type-1A field ([0197]: a cell-common field (also known as, a “Type-1A” field) in a multi-cell scheduling DCI format 0_3/1_3 that is associated with a set of cells for multi-cell scheduling). MolavianJazi ‘866 teaches a system for low-overhead multi-cell scheduling. Lee teaches a low-power scheduling system using low bit-width fields to reduce control overhead. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MolavianJazi ‘866 with Lee in order to reduce latency and increase energy efficiency (Lee: [0003]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. 20240340866) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. 20250113365) and further in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 Meeting #112bis-e, hereinafter 3GPP TSG-RAN.
Regarding claim 4, MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. MolavianJazi ‘866 nor Lee teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 4.
However, 3GPP TSG-RAN does teach wherein the higher layer parameter is minimumSchedulingOffsetK0DCI-0-3 or minimumSchedulingOffsetK0DCI-1-3 ([7.3.1.2]: Minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator – 0 or 1 bit – 0 bit if the higher layer parameter minimumSchedulingOffsetK0DCI-1-3 is not configured.). 3GPP TSG-RAN teaches a system for embedding a 1-bit minimum scheduling offset indicator into the DCI to enable a lower control over head when determining the scheduling offset to apply to multiple cells. This allows the network to deliver latency critical transmissions with reduced grant-transmit delay while still preserving reliability and compatibility for UEs requiring larger transmit preparation and avoid repetitive RRC signaling or sperate grant format. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MolavianJazi ‘866 and Lee’s combined system of low-power multi-cell scheduling with 3GPP TSG-RAN’s DCI bit for a minimum applicable scheduling offset (type1A, 1 bit). The motivation would have been to enable per-grant, low-overhead scheduling offset selection.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. 20240340866) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. 20250113365) and further in view of Wu et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. 20210105716).
Regarding claim 8, MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 1. MolavianJazi ‘866 further teaches for the plurality of cells ([0398]: Cell-common/Type-1A field), if the DCI comprises the common field ([0398]: Cell-common/Type-1A field), and for the plurality of cells ([0197]: a cell-common field (also known as, a “Type-1A” field) in a multi-cell scheduling DCI format 0_3/1_3). Lee further teaches ignoring the minimum applicable scheduling offset ([0207: Table 3]: UE shall apply a minimum scheduling offset restriction indicated based on ‘Minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator’ value ‘0’.), and according to the DCI, if the DCI does not comprise the common field with the minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator ([0207: Table 3]: it has not received 'Minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator' field.). MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee fail to teach configuring a minimum applicable scheduling offset, according to the minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator, and with the minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator.
However, Wu does teach configuring a minimum applicable scheduling offset ([0010]: The UE determines the minimum applicable scheduling offset value), according to the minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator ([0010]: based on the minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator), and with the minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator ([0010]: the minimum applicable scheduling offset indicator is a value “1” indicating a second RRC-configured minimum applicable scheduling offset value). Wu teaches a method for UE to adapt to a minimum applicable scheduling offset for low-latency cell scheduling in a low power mode. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MolavianJazi ‘866 and Lee’s combined system of low-power multi-cell scheduling with Wu’s method of minimum applicable scheduling offset adaptation to reduce power consumption (Wu: [0007]).
Claims 10, 12, 13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. 20240340866) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. 20250113365) and further in view of MolavianJazi et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. 20230354331, hereinafter MolavianJazi '331).
Regarding claim 10, MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 9. MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee does not teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 10.
However, MolavianJazi '331 does teach wherein the at least one padding value is appended to the plurality of DCI fields in the DCI ([0618]: UE can perform zero padding at the end of the DCI format or separately for each DCI field, so that the size of the DCI format after zero-padding equals to the predetermined/configured value). MolavianJazi '331 teaches a system for physical downlink control channel monitoring for multi-cell scheduling. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MolavianJazi ‘866 and Lee’s combined system of low-power multi-cell scheduling with MolavianJazi '331’s system of physical downlink control channel monitoring for multi-cell scheduling in order to accommodate various new multiple access scheme to support the increasingly massive connections (MolavianJazi '331: [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 9. MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee does not teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 12.
However, MolavianJazi '331 does teach wherein the at least one padding value comprises at least one set of padding values, and the at least one set of padding values is appended to at least one end of at least one DCI field of the plurality of DCI fields, respectively ([0618]: UE can perform zero padding at the end of the DCI format or separately for each DCI field, so that the size of the DCI format after zero-padding equals to the predetermined/configured value). ). MolavianJazi '331 teaches a system for physical downlink control channel monitoring for multi-cell scheduling. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MolavianJazi ‘866 and Lee’s combined system of low-power multi-cell scheduling with MolavianJazi '331’s system of physical downlink control channel monitoring for multi-cell scheduling in order to accommodate various new multiple access scheme to support the increasingly massive connections (MolavianJazi '331: [0003]).
Regarding claim 13, MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 9. MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee does not teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 13.
However, MolavianJazi '331 does teach wherein each of the plurality of DCI fields has a same field size, after inserting the at least one padding value ([0618]: UE can perform zero padding at the end of the DCI format or separately for each DCI field, so that the size of the DCI format after zero-padding equals to the predetermined/configured value). MolavianJazi '331 teaches a system for physical downlink control channel monitoring for multi-cell scheduling. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MolavianJazi ‘866 and Lee’s combined system of low-power multi-cell scheduling with MolavianJazi '331’s system of physical downlink control channel monitoring for multi-cell scheduling in order to accommodate various new multiple access scheme to support the increasingly massive connections (MolavianJazi '331: [0003]).
Regarding claim 17, MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 9. MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee does not teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 17.
However, MolavianJazi '331 does teach wherein the at least one padding value comprises at least one "0" ([0618]: UE can perform zero padding at the end of the DCI format or separately for each DCI field, so that the size of the DCI format after zero-padding equals to the predetermined/configured value.).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. 20240340866, hereinafter MolavianJazi '866) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. 20250113365) and further in view of Sun et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. 20240057119).
Regarding claim 11, MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 9. MolavianJazi ‘866 in view of Lee fails to teach the subject matter disclosed in claim 11.
However, Sun does teach wherein a size of the DCI is fixed and defined in a communication standard ([0122]: the size of each DCI field may be determined by a reference cell, which may be configured by RRC or may be fixed (e.g., by the specification).). Sun teaches a system for multi-cell scheduling with a single DCI in wireless communications systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify MolavianJazi ‘866 and Lee’s combined system of low-power multi-cell scheduling with Sun’s system for multi-cell scheduling with a single DCI in order to reduce control overhead (Sun: [0129]).
Conclusion
/VIJAY K MANNAVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479