Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for performing” regards to determining, sending, etc., in claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
In the claim, “computer program” which the specification discloses as computer program code. Where computer program code stored onto the memory of a processor. Thus, the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification encompasses, is directed to the computer program per se which is a non-statutory subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (2023/0133633) in view of Watts et al (2023/0284289).
Regarding claim 1, Park et al teaches User equipment (UE) configured to support establishing a connection towards at least one network node of a radio access network, RAN, the UE comprising: (paragraph [0093]: The source non-terrestrial cell, associated with the source base station 705, may be a serving cell for the UE 120. For example, the UE 120 may have an established connection)
at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE at least to: - establish a connection towards a first network node (source DU) via a first cell supported by the first network node (source DU), (paragraph [0060]: “Network entity” or “network node” may refer to an aggregated base station, a disaggregated base station, or to one or more units of a disaggregated base station (such as one or more central units (CUs), one or more distributed units (DUs), one or more radio units (RUs), or a combination thereof). (Paragraph [0093]: The source non-terrestrial cell, associated with the source base station 705, may be a serving cell for the UE 120.) - receive configuration information related to performing measurements for a target cell as candidate cell for a cell change, (paragraph [0111]: the configuration information may include one or more execution conditions associated with the conditional handover. “Execution condition” may refer to one or more conditions that, when met or satisfied, trigger a handover procedure to a given candidate target base station associated with the conditional handover procedure. The source base station 705 may determine the one or more execution conditions. In some aspects, an execution condition may be associated with a measurement of a signal transmitted by a candidate target base station or a candidate cell) wherein the target cell is supported by a second network node (target DU) (paragraph [0069]: the source base station 405 may communicate with a first candidate base station 410 and a second candidate base station 415 to prepare the first and second candidate base stations 410, 415 for a conditional handover of the UE. (Paragraph [0064]: the source base station 305 may transmit the handover request message to the target base station 310 (e.g., to trigger the handover to the target base station 310) based at least in part on a measurement report received from the UE)
, - determine further configuration information related to monitoring validity of a timing advance value related to the target cell, (paragraph [0175]: The initiation component 1010 may initiate… a respective common timing advance validity timer based at least in part on receiving the configuration information that indicates the common timing advance parameters and the common timing advance validity timer for that candidate target non-terrestrial cell)… - receive from the first network node (source DU) an instruction to acquire timing advance value for the target cell, (paragraph [0095]: the requested set of timing and synchronization parameters may include a cell specific scheduling timing offset (K_offset), a round trip time (RTT) between a reference point and the candidate target base station (K.sub.mac), a satellite ephemeris, an ephemeris validity duration, common TA parameters, and a common TA validity duration for the candidate target non-terrestrial cell.) Park et al does not teach monitor the validity of acquired timing advance value based on the further configuration,… send towards the first network node (source DU) a first (L1) measurement report including target cell measurement info… send towards the first network node (source DU) information regarding validity and/or invalidity of the timing advance value of target cell.
Watts et al the same or similar field of endeavor teaches acquire timing advance value for target cell, monitor the validity of acquired timing advance value based on the further configuration, - (paragraph [0121]: The WTRU may be configured with a timer value and/or a counter value within which the additional WTRU context may be considered valid.) (paragraph [0142]: the WTRU receives a random access downlink message; the WTRU receives a timing advance value; the WTRU receives an indication by DCI addressed to the WTRU's RNTI). send towards the first network node (source DU) a first (L1) measurement report including target cell measurement info (paragraph [0071]: Channel state information may include at least one of the following: a channel quality index (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), a L1 channel measurement (e.g. a measurement of RSRP such as L1-RSRP, or a measurement of SINR), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), a SS/PBCH block resource indicator (SSBRI), a layer indicator (LI) or any other measurement quantity measured by the wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) from a configured CSI-RS or SS/PBCH block.)… send towards the first network node (source DU) information regarding validity and/or invalidity of the timing advance value of target cell (paragraph [0101]: The WTRU may initiate a small data transfer procedure that involves a preamble transmission, for example, if one or more of the following conditions are met: a timing advance is invalid and/or unknown by the WTRU; an RRC message exchange is required) (Paragraph [0121]: The WTRU may be configured with a timer value and/or a counter value within which the additional WTRU context may be considered valid.)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park’s timing synchronization handover by incorporating the small data transmission method of Watts. The motivation being to transmit the downlink measurements to trigger initiation of the timing advance value transmission to send the validity/invalidity indication.
Regarding claim 2, Park et al in view of Watts et al teaches User equipment (UE) according to claim 1. Park et al teaches wherein the further configuration condition includes an invalidity condition related to a power difference or relationship or comparison between at least two signal level or quality values, in particular RSRP values, RSRQ values, or SINR values, measured by the UE and related to the target cell and/or the first cell. (Paragraph [0064]: the source base station 305 may transmit the handover request message to the target base station 310 (e.g., to trigger the handover to the target base station 310) based at least in part on a measurement report received from the UE 120. The measurement report may indicate, for example, an RSRP parameter, an RSRQ parameter, an RSSI parameter, and/or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio (SINR) parameter)
Regarding claim 3, Park et al teaches User equipment (UE) according to claim 1, Park et al does not teach wherein the further configuration condition includes an invalidity condition related to beam measurement values measured by the UE and related to the target cell. Watts et al from the same or similar field of endeavor does teach wherein the further configuration condition includes an invalidity condition related to beam measurement values measured by the UE and related to the target cell. (paragraph [0071]: Channel state information may include at least one of the following: a channel quality index (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), a L1 channel measurement (e.g. a measurement of RSRP such as L1-RSRP, or a measurement of SINR), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), a SS/PBCH block resource indicator (SSBRI), a layer indicator (LI) or any other measurement quantity measured by the wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) from a configured CSI-RS or SS/PBCH block.) (Paragraph [0109] A WTRU may perform measurements and may report such measurements to the network.) (Watts paragraph [0101]: The WTRU may initiate a small data transfer procedure that involves a preamble transmission, for example, if one or more of the following conditions are met: a timing advance is invalid and/or unknown by the WTRU; an RRC message exchange is required)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park’s timing synchronization handover by incorporating the small data transmission method of Watts. The motivation being to transmit the downlink measurements to trigger initiation of the timing advance value transmission to send the validity/invalidity indication.
Regarding claim 6, Park et al teaches First network node (source DU) configured to support establishing a connection towards at least one user equipment (UE) via a radio access network, RAN, the first network node (source DU) comprising: (paragraph [0093]: The source non-terrestrial cell, associated with the source base station 705, may be a serving cell for the UE 120. For example, the UE 120 may have an established connection) at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first network node (source DU) at least to: (paragraph [0060: “Network entity” or “network node” may refer to an aggregated base station, a disaggregated base station, or to one or more units of a disaggregated base station (such as one or more central units (CUs), one or more distributed units (DUs), one or more radio units (RUs), or a combination thereof). (paragraph [0093]: The source non-terrestrial cell, associated with the source base station 705, may be a serving cell for the UE 120.) - establish a connection towards a user equipment (UE) via a first cell supported by the first network node (source DU), (paragraph [0069] the source base station 405 may communicate with a first candidate base station 410 and a second candidate base station 415 to prepare the first and second candidate base stations 410, 415 for a conditional handover of the UE) - determine configuration information related to monitoring validity of a timing advance value related to the target cell as candidate cell for a cell change, (paragraph [0175]: The initiation component 1010 may initiate… a respective common timing advance validity timer based at least in part on receiving the configuration information that indicates the common timing advance parameters and the common timing advance validity timer for that candidate target non-terrestrial cell) … Park does not teach wherein the target cell is supported by a second network node (target DU), - receiving from the user equipment (UE) a first (L1) measurement report including target cell measurement info, - send towards the user equipment (UE) an instruction to acquire timing advance value for the target cell, - receiving from the user equipment (UE) a second (L1) measurement report including target cell measurement info - monitor the validity of the acquired timing advance value based on related determined configuration.
Watts from the same or similar field of endeavor does teach wherein the target cell is supported by a second network node (target DU), - receiving from the user equipment (UE) a first (L1) measurement report including target cell measurement info, paragraph [0071]: Channel state information may include at least one of the following: a channel quality index (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), a L1 channel measurement (e.g. a measurement of RSRP such as L1-RSRP, or a measurement of SINR), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), a SS/PBCH block resource indicator (SSBRI), a layer indicator (LI) or any other measurement quantity measured by the wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) from a configured CSI-RS or SS/PBCH block.) the validity of the acquired timing advance value - send towards the user equipment (UE) an instruction to acquire timing advance value for the target cell, - receiving from the user equipment (UE) a second (L1) measurement report including target cell measurement info (paragraph [0069] With 2-step random access (RA), configured grants (CGs), etc. supported in NR, UL and/or DL small data transmission, may be enabled, for example, without necessarily transitioning to connected mode. 2-step RA or 4-step RA may be used to enable UL and/or DL small data transmission) (Examiner’s notes: Uplink control information (UCI) information may include channel state information (CSI) which in turn includes measurement reports). (paragraph [0071]: Channel state information may include at least one of the following: a channel quality index (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), a L1 channel measurement (e.g. a measurement of RSRP such as L1-RSRP, or a measurement of SINR), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), a SS/PBCH block resource indicator (SSBRI), a layer indicator (LI) or any other measurement quantity measured by the wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) from a configured CSI-RS or SS/PBCH block.) - monitor the validity of the acquired timing advance value based on related determined configuration. (Paragraph [0121]: The WTRU may be configured with a timer value and/or a counter value within which the additional WTRU context may be considered valid.) (paragraph [0142]: the WTRU receives a random access downlink message; the WTRU receives a timing advance value; the WTRU receives an indication by DCI addressed to the WTRU's RNTI). target cell if the validity of the acquired timing advance value expired.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park’s timing synchronization handover by incorporating the small data transmission method of Watts. The motivation being to transmit the downlink measurements to trigger initiation of the timing advance value transmission to send the validity/invalidity indication based on the determined configuration.
Regarding claim 7, Park et al teaches First network node (source DU) according to claim 6, further configured to support:- …acquired timing advance value expired. (Paragraph [0121]: In some aspects, UE 120 may determine whether the ephemeris information and the common TA parameters for the candidate target non-terrestrial cell are valid based at least in part on whether the synchronization timer (e.g., and/or the ephemeris validity timer and the common TA timer) has expired.) Park et al does not teach send towards the user equipment a trigger to re-acquire timing advance value
Watts et al from the same or similar field of endeavor does teach further configured to support:- send towards the user equipment a trigger to re-acquire timing advance value (paragraph [0066] the UE 120 may be unable to successfully connect with the target base station 310. For example, the UE 120 may attempt to connect with the target base station 310 (for example, by performing a RACH procedure with the target base station 310), but the attempt to connect with the target base station 310 may fail. If the UE 120 is unable to successfully connect with the target base station 310, then the UE 120 may perform a connection re-establishment procedure to re-establish a connection with the source base station 305 or another base station 110.) (paragraph [0142]: the WTRU receives a random access downlink message; the WTRU receives a timing advance value; the WTRU receives an indication by DCI addressed to the WTRU's RNTI).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park’s timing synchronization handover by incorporating the small data transmission method of Watts. The motivation being to transmit the downlink measurements to trigger initiation of the timing advance value transmission to send the validity/invalidity indication.
Regarding claim 8, Park et al in view of watts teaches First network node (source DU) according to claim 6. Park et al does not teach wherein the configuration condition includes an invalidity condition related to a power difference or relationship or comparison between at least two signal level or quality values, in particular RSRP values, RSRQ values, or SINR values, measured by the UE and related to the target cell and/or the first cell. Watts et al from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the configuration condition includes an invalidity condition related to a power difference or relationship or comparison between at least two signal level or quality values, in particular RSRP values, RSRQ values, or SINR values, measured by the UE and related to the target cell and/or the first cell. (Paragraph [0064]: the source base station 305 may transmit the handover request message to the target base station 310 (e.g., to trigger the handover to the target base station 310) based at least in part on a measurement report received from the UE 120. The measurement report may indicate, for example, an RSRP parameter, an RSRQ parameter, an RSSI parameter, and/or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio (SINR) parameter)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park’s timing synchronization handover by incorporating the small data transmission method of Watts. The motivation being to transmit the downlink measurements to trigger initiation of the timing advance value transmission to send the validity/invalidity indication in the handover protocol.
Regarding claim 9, Park et al in view of Watts teaches First network node (source DU) according to claim 6. Park et al does not teach wherein the configuration condition includes an invalidity condition related to beam measurement values measured by the UE and related to the target cell. Watts et al from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the configuration condition includes an invalidity condition related to beam measurement values measured by the UE and related to the target cell. (Watts et al paragraph [0071]: Channel state information may include at least one of the following: a channel quality index (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), a L1 channel measurement (e.g. a measurement of RSRP such as L1-RSRP, or a measurement of SINR), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), a SS/PBCH block resource indicator (SSBRI), a layer indicator (LI) or any other measurement quantity measured by the wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) from a configured CSI-RS or SS/PBCH block.) (Watts et al paragraph [0109] A WTRU may perform measurements and may report such measurements to the network.) (Watts paragraph [0101]: The WTRU may initiate a small data transfer procedure that involves a preamble transmission, for example, if one or more of the following conditions are met: a timing advance is invalid and/or unknown by the WTRU; an RRC message exchange is required)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park’s timing synchronization handover by incorporating the small data transmission method of Watts. The motivation being to transmit the downlink measurements to trigger initiation of the timing advance value transmission to send the validity/invalidity indication in the handover protocol.
Regarding claim 13, Park et al in view of Watts teaches First network node (source DU) according to claim 6. Park et al teaches wherein the configuration condition is received from a third network node, wherein the third network node (CU) is connected to and controls the first network node (source DU). (Paragraph [0061]: a CU may be implemented within a network node, and one or more DUs may be co-located with the CU, or alternatively, may be geographically or virtually distributed throughout one or multiple other network nodes. The DUs may be implemented to communicate with one or more DUs. Each of the CU, DU, and RU also can be implemented as virtual units, such as a virtual central unit (VCU), a virtual distributed unit (VDU), or a virtual radio unit (VRU))
Regarding claim 14, Park et al in view of Watts teaches First network node (source DU) according to claim 6. Park et al teaches wherein the first network node is further configured to: - determine configuration information related to monitoring validity of a timing advance value related to the second target cell as candidate cell for a cell change, (paragraph [0175]: The initiation component 1010 may initiate… a respective common timing advance validity timer based at least in part on receiving the configuration information that indicates the common timing advance parameters and the common timing advance validity timer for that candidate target non-terrestrial cell)
wherein the second target cell is supported by a network node different from the first network node (source DU), - (paragraph [0069] the source base station 405 may communicate with a first candidate base station 410 and a second candidate base station 415 to prepare the first and second candidate base stations 410, 415 for a conditional handover of the UE)
receiving from the user equipment (UE) the first (L1) measurement report including also the second target cell measurement info, - (paragraph [0071]: Channel state information may include at least one of the following: a channel quality index (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), a L1 channel measurement (e.g. a measurement of RSRP such as L1-RSRP, or a measurement of SINR), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), a SS/PBCH block resource indicator (SSBRI), a layer indicator (LI) or any other measurement quantity measured by the wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) from a configured CSI-RS or SS/PBCH block.) (Paragraph [0107]: the timing and synchronization parameters may include at least one of a respective target cell stop time or respective target cell beam information for detecting a cell edge for each candidate target non-terrestrial cell.)
send towards the user equipment (UE) an instruction to acquire timing advance value for the second target cell, - (paragraph [0069] the source base station 405 may communicate with a first candidate base station 410 and a second candidate base station 415 to prepare the first and second candidate base stations 410, 415 for a conditional handover of the UE) (paragraph [0072]: the UE 120 may maintain the conditional handover configuration. This may enable the UE 120 to continue to search for or measure candidate base stations indicated by the conditional handover configuration. For example, the UE 120 may detect a conditional handover event for the second candidate base station 415. For example, the UE 120 may determine that the one or more criteria or execution condition(s) for triggering handover to the second candidate base station 415 are satisfied) (paragraph [0125]: process 800 may include receiving, from a source base station, configuration information for a handover, wherein the configuration information indicates, for a target non-terrestrial cell, timing and synchronization parameters including a scheduling timing offset, a round trip time between a reference point and a target base station associated with the target non-terrestrial cell, satellite ephemeris information, an ephemeris validity duration associated with the satellite ephemeris information, common timing advance parameters, and a common timing advance validity duration associated with the common timing advance parameters) (Examiner’s notes: Fig 8 illustrates process performed by UE)
receiving from the user equipment (UE) the second (L1) measurement report including also the second target cell measurement info, - paragraph [0071]: Channel state information may include at least one of the following: a channel quality index (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), a L1 channel measurement (e.g. a measurement of RSRP such as L1-RSRP, or a measurement of SINR), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), a SS/PBCH block resource indicator (SSBRI), a layer indicator (LI) or any other measurement quantity measured by the wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) from a configured CSI-RS or SS/PBCH block.)
monitor the validity of the acquired timing advance values based on related determined configuration. (paragraph [0086]: the UE may need to monitor for and decode a transmission, from the target base station, of the SIB including the synchronization parameters and the scheduling timing offset value in order to perform the RACH procedure to establish an RRC connection with the target base station) (paragraph [0120]: The UE 120 may determine whether the ephemeris information and the common TA parameters for the candidate target non-terrestrial cell are valid based at least in part on the ephemeris validity duration and the common TA validity duration)
Regarding claim 15, Park et al teaches First network node (source DU) according to claim 8, wherein the first network node is further configured to: - determine and monitor a cell switch condition for the target cell, - (Paragraph [0086]: due to switching feeder links based at least in part on the movement of the satellite). In such handovers in an NTN, the UE may need to monitor for and decode a transmission, from the target base station, of the SIB including the synchronization parameters and the scheduling timing offset value in order to perform the RACH procedure to establish an RRC connection with the target base station) determine the validity of the acquired related timing advance values, and – (paragraph [0121]: Based at least in part on a determination that the ephemeris information and the common TA parameters for the candidate target non-terrestrial cell are valid)
decide to switch to the cell which has a valid timing advance value. determine and monitor a cell switch condition for the second target cell, and if the cell switch condition for both target and second target cell are met (Paragraph [0086]: A handover may be performed in which a UE switches a serving cell from one non-terrestrial cell to another non-terrestrial cell.
Regarding Claim 16, Park et al teaches A method for a User equipment (UE), the method comprising: -
establishing a connection towards a first network node (source DU) via a first cell supported by the first network node (source DU), - (paragraph [0093]: The source non-terrestrial cell, associated with the source base station 705, may be a serving cell for the UE 120. For example, the UE 120 may have an established connection)
receiving configuration information related to performing measurements for a target cell as candidate cell for a cell change, (paragraph [0111] the configuration information may include one or more execution conditions associated with the conditional handover. “Execution condition” may refer to one or more conditions that, when met or satisfied, trigger a handover procedure to a given candidate target base station associated with the conditional handover procedure. The source base station 705 may determine the one or more execution conditions. In some aspects, an execution condition may be associated with a measurement of a signal transmitted by a candidate target base station or a candidate cell)
wherein the target cell is supported by a second network node (target DU),- (paragraph [0069] the source base station 405 may communicate with a first candidate base station 410 and a second candidate base station 415 to prepare the first and second candidate base stations 410, 415 for a conditional handover of the UE)
determining further configuration information related to monitoring validity of a timing advance value related to the target cell, -(paragraph [0175]: The initiation component 1010 may initiate… a respective common timing advance validity timer based at least in part on receiving the configuration information that indicates the common timing advance parameters and the common timing advance validity timer for that candidate target non-terrestrial cell) (paragraph [0086]: the UE may need to monitor for and decode a transmission, from the target base station, of the SIB including the synchronization parameters and the scheduling timing offset value in order to perform the RACH procedure to establish an RRC connection with the target base station)…receiving from the first network node (source DU) an instruction to acquire timing advance value for the target cell, - acquiring timing advance value for target cell, - (paragraph [0095]: the requested set of timing and synchronization parameters may include a cell specific scheduling timing offset (K_offset), a round trip time (RTT) between a reference point and the candidate target base station (K.sub.mac), a satellite ephemeris, an ephemeris validity duration, common TA parameters, and a common TA validity duration for the candidate target non-terrestrial cell.)
monitoring the validity of acquired timing advance value based on the further configuration, - (paragraph [0086]: the UE may need to monitor for and decode a transmission, from the target base station, of the SIB including the synchronization parameters and the scheduling timing offset value in order to perform the RACH procedure to establish an RRC connection with the target base station). Park does not teach sending towards the first network node (source DU) a first (L1) measurement report including target cell measurement info, …sending towards the first network node (source DU) information regarding validity and/or invalidity of the timing advance value of target cell. Watts et al from the same or similar field of endeavor does teach sending towards the first network node (source DU) a first (L1) measurement report including target cell measurement info, - (paragraph [0071]: Channel state information may include at least one of the following: a channel quality index (CQI), a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), a L1 channel measurement (e.g. a measurement of RSRP such as L1-RSRP, or a measurement of SINR), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), a SS/PBCH block resource indicator (SSBRI), a layer indicator (LI) or any other measurement quantity measured by the wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) from a configured CSI-RS or SS/PBCH block.)…sending towards the first network node (source DU) information regarding validity and/or invalidity of the timing advance value of target cell. (paragraph [0101]: The WTRU may initiate a small data transfer procedure that involves a preamble transmission, for example, if one or more of the following conditions are met: a timing advance is invalid and/or unknown by the WTRU; an RRC message exchange is required) (Paragraph [0121]: The WTRU may be configured with a timer value and/or a counter value within which the additional WTRU context may be considered valid.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park’s timing synchronization handover by incorporating the small data transmission method of Watts. The motivation being to trans1mit the downlink measurements to trigger initiation of the timing advance value transmission to send the validity/invalidity indication.
Regarding claim 17, Park et al teaches A method for a first network node (source DU), the method comprising: - establishing a connection towards a user equipment (UE) via a first cell supported by the first network node (source DU), - (paragraph [0093]: The source non-terrestrial cell, associated with the source base station 705, may be a serving cell for the UE 120. For example, the UE 120 may have an established connection)
Regarding Claim 18, Park et al teaches a computer program comprising instructions for causing an apparatus to perform the method according to claims 16. (Paragraph [0055]: The memory 242 and the memory 282 may store data and program codes for the base station 110 and the UE 120, respectively. In some examples, the memory 242 and/or the memory 282 may include a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions (e.g., code and/or program code) for wireless communication. For example, the one or more instructions, when executed (e.g., directly, or after compiling, converting, and/or interpreting) by one or more processors of the base station 110 and/or the UE 120, may cause the one or more processors, the UE 120, and/or the base station 110 to perform or direct operations)
Regarding claim 19, Park et al teaches A memory storing computer readable instructions for causing an apparatus to perform the method according to claim 16. (Paragraph [0171]: one or more components of the set of components may be implemented at least in part as software stored in a memory. For example, a component (or a portion of a component) may be implemented as instructions or code stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium and executable by a controller or a processor to perform the functions or operations of the component)
Regarding claim 20, Park et al teaches an apparatus comprising means for performing the method steps of claim 16. (paragraph [0055]: the one or more instructions, when executed (e.g., directly, or after compiling, converting, and/or interpreting) by one or more processors of the base station 110 and/or the UE 120, may cause the one or more processors, the UE 120, and/or the base station 110 to perform or direct operations of, for example, process 800 of FIG. 8, process 900 of FIG. 9, and/or other processes as described herein.) (Paragraph [0088]: Some techniques and apparatuses described herein enable a source base station to transmit, to a UE, configuration information for a handover. The configuration information may indicate, for each of one or more candidate target non-terrestrial cells, timing and synchronization parameters including a scheduling timing offset, a round trip time between a reference point and a base station associated with the candidate target non-terrestrial cell, satellite ephemeris information, and ephemeris validity duration associated with the satellite ephemeris information, common TA parameters, and a common TA validity duration. The UE may perform the handover with a target base station associated with a candidate target non-terrestrial cell based at least in part on the timing and synchronization parameters for the candidate target non-terrestrial cell.)
Claims 4, 5, 10, & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (2023/0133633) in view of Watts et al (2023/0284289) in further view of Zhou (2025/0338188).
Regarding claim 4, whereas stated in rejection for claim 1, Park et al in view of Watts et al teaches the user equipment without explicitly teaching send towards the first network node (source DU) a first (L1) measurement report including target cell measurement info… send towards the first network node (source DU) information regarding validity and/or invalidity of the timing advance value of target cell, however it is noted that Watts teaches send towards the first network node (source DU) a first (L1) measurement report including target cell measurement info… send towards the first network node (source DU) information regarding validity and/or invalidity of the timing advance value of target cell.
Zhou from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the further configuration condition includes an invalidity condition related to a difference or relationship or comparison between at least two timing values measured by the UE and related to downlink synchronization signals of the target cell and/or the first cell. (Paragraph [0086]: The UE determines whether the changes in the plurality of first RSRPs are all less than the second threshold. In response to a determination that the changes in the plurality of first RSRPs are all less than the second threshold, the UE determines that the timing advance is valid. In response to a determination that the changes in the plurality of first RSRPs are not all less than the second threshold, the UE determines that the timing advance is invalid.)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Park in view of Watts by incorporating Zhou’s data processing method and apparatus. The motivation being that this method for processing a small data transfer determines the validity of timing advance or the timing alignment used for the SDT. In response to a determination that the timing advance or the timing alignment is invalid, the SDT is terminated and the timing advance is re-obtained to avoid the data transmission failure caused by invalidity of the timing advance or the timing alignment. This avoids the additional power consumption of the UE due to the data transmission failure, and can also reduce the interference to the data transmission of another UE when the UE performs data transmission using the invalid timing advance or timing alignment. (paragraph [0094])
Regarding claim 5, whereas stated in rejection for claim 1, Park et al in view of Watts et al teaches the user equipment without explicitly teaching monitor the validity of acquired timing advance value based on the received invalidity condition, - send towards the first network node (source DU) an invalidity information if the invalidity condition is met.
Zhou from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches monitor the validity of acquired timing advance value based on the received invalidity condition, - send towards the first network node (source DU) an invalidity information if the invalidity condition is met. (Paragraph [0086] The UE determines whether the changes in the plurality of first RSRPs are all less than the second threshold. In response to a determination that the changes in the plurality of first RSRPs are all less than the second threshold, the UE determines that the timing advance is valid. In response to a determination that the changes in the plurality of first RSRPs are not all less than the second threshold, the UE determines that the timing advance is invalid.)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Park in view of Watts by incorporating Zhou’s data processing method and apparatus. The motivation being that this method for processing a small data transfer determines the validity of timing advance or the timing alignment used for the SDT. In response to a determination that the timing advance or the timing alignment is invalid, the SDT is terminated and the timing advance is re-obtained to avoid the data transmission failure caused by invalidity of the timing advance or the timing alignment. This avoids the additional power consumption of the UE due to the data transmission failure, and can also reduce the interference to the data transmission of another UE when the UE performs data transmission using the invalid timing advance or timing alignment. (paragraph [0094])
Regarding claim 10, whereas stated in rejection for claim 6, Park et al in view of Watts et al teaches the user equipment without explicitly teaching wherein the configuration condition includes an invalidity condition related to a difference or relationship or comparison between at least two timing values measured by the UE and related to downlink synchronization signals of the target cell and/or the first cell.
Zhou from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the configuration condition includes an invalidity condition related to a difference or relationship or comparison between at least two timing values measured by the UE and related to downlink synchronization signals of the target cell and/or the first cell. (Paragraph [0060]: A primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) are located in the SSB (SS/PBCH block). Each SSB can be regarded as a resource for one beam (analog domain) in a beam sweeping process. A plurality of SSBs form a synchronization signal burst (SS burst). The SS burst can be regarded as a relatively concentrated resource containing a plurality of beams. A plurality of SS bursts form an SS burst set. The SSB is repeatedly sent on different beams, which is one beam scanning process. Through beam sweeping training, a UE can know the signal received on which beam is strongest. (Paragraph [0066]: In step 101, it is determined that a timing advance (TA) or timing alignment (TA) is valid in response to a determination that a change in a first RSRP is less than a first threshold, or in response to a determination that changes in a plurality of first RSRPs are all less than a second threshold, or in response to a determination that changes in a plurality of first RSRPs are less than respective thresholds thereof.) (Paragraph [0072]: The UE determines whether the change in the first RSRP is less than the first threshold. In response to a determination that the change in the first RSRP is less than the first threshold, the UE determines that the timing advance is valid. In response to a determination that the change in the first RSRP is not less than the first threshold, the UE determines that the timing advance is invalid.)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Park in view of Watts by incorporating Zhou’s data processing method and apparatus. The motivation being that this method for processing a small data transfer determines the validity of timing advance or the timing alignment used for the SDT. In response to a determination that the timing advance or the timing alignment is invalid, the SDT is terminated and the timing advance is re-obtained to avoid the data transmission failure caused by invalidity of the timing advance or the timing alignment. This avoids the additional power consumption of the UE due to the data transmission failure, and can also reduce the interference to the data transmission of another UE when the UE performs data transmission using the invalid timing advance or timing alignment. (paragraph [0094])
Regarding claim 11, whereas stated in rejection for claim 8, Park et al in view of Watts et al teaches the user equipment without explicitly teaching wherein the first network node is further configured to: - monitor the validity of acquired timing advance value based on the determined invalidity condition, - send towards the user equipment (UE) an indication to re-acquire the timing advance value of the target cell if the invalidity condition is met.
Zhou from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the first network node is further configured to: - monitor the validity of acquired timing advance value based on the determined invalidity condition, - send towards the user equipment (UE) an indication to re-acquire the timing advance value of the target cell if the invalidity condition is met. (Paragraph [0086] The UE determines whether the changes in the plurality of first RSRPs are all less than the second threshold. In response to a determination that the changes in the plurality of first RSRPs are all less than the second threshold, the UE determines that the timing advance is valid. In response to a determination that the changes in the plurality of first RSRPs are not all less than the second threshold, the UE determines that the timing advance is invalid.) (Paragraph [0115]: The UE determines that the quantity of data transmission failures reaches the preset quantity threshold, which indicates that a timing advance or timing alignment may be invalid, and thus the UE autonomously selects the RA-SDT or the non-SDT for the data transmission
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Park in view of Watts by incorporating Zhou’s data processing method and apparatus. The motivation being that this method for processing a small data transfer determines the validity of timing advance or the timing alignment used for the SDT. In response to a determination that the timing advance or the timing alignment is invalid, the SDT is terminated and the timing advance is re-obtained to avoid the data transmission failure caused by invalidity of the timing advance or the timing alignment. This avoids the additional power consumption of the UE due to the data transmission failure, and can also reduce the interference to the data transmission of another UE when the UE performs data transmission using the invalid timing advance or timing alignment. (paragraph [0094])
Claims 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (2023/0133633) in view of Watts et al (2023/0284289) in further view of Kaasalainen (WO 2024/074294).
Regarding claim 12, Park et al teaches First network node (source DU) according to claim 8. Park et al does not teach wherein the first network node is further configured to: - monitor the validity of acquired timing advance value based on the determined invalidity condition, - determine and monitor a cell switch condition, and if the cell switch condition is met, - send towards the user equipment (UE) an indication to perform cell switch to the target cell by sending a MAC CE message that includes a RACH based handover instruction if the invalidity condition is met, or by sending a MAC CE message that includes a RACHless based handover instruction if the timing advance value of the target cell is still valid.
Kaasalainen from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the first network node is further configured to: - monitor the validity of acquired timing advance value based on the determined invalidity condition, - determine and monitor a cell switch condition, and if the cell switch condition is met, (paragraph [0030]: Once the UE acquires the timing advance information, the UE can initiate a validity timer for the timing advance. The parameters for the expiry of the timer can be configured by the network. The timer can be stopped if the UE performs access to the target cell while the timing advance is valid. If the timer expires, UE can indicate that the timer expired or that the timing advance is no longer valid to the network and can re-obtain the timing advance and if the cell switch condition is met, - send towards the user equipment (UE) an indication to perform cell switch to the target cell by sending a MAC CE message that includes a RACH based handover instruction if the invalidity condition is met, or by sending a MAC CE message that includes a RACHless based handover instruction if the timing advance value of the target cell is still valid. (Paragraph [0034]: Multiple target cells may align their RACH occasions or preamble allocation for a RACHless timing advance acquisition procedure. This alignment may be achieved via dedicating a RACH occasion for timing advance acquisition for RACHless. The allocated CFRA preamble by one target cell may be indicated to other target cells. In case this CFRA preamble is not allocated by other target cells for other UEs, the same preamble maybe allocated by the other target cells to achieve a synchronized CFRA preamble in the same RACH occasion.)
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Park in view of Watts by incorporating Kaasalainen’s Handover procedure. The motivation being to prepare the handover between scheduling occasions so that the UE can do near zero interruption handover. (paragraph [0036])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Guo et al (2023/0388871) discloses multi-layer triggered mobility including LTM inter-cell mobility, LTM in split architectures; dynamic cell group changes, activation, and deactivation, conditional primary SCG cell addition or change (CPAC); early timing advance acquisition for LTM; radio link monitoring (RLM) handling for LTM; LTM-related security mechanisms; conditional handover (CHO)/CPAC related to secondary cell group (SCG) configurations and radio resource control (re)configuration; and reference configuration when a user equipment moves between coverage areas. Motivations aiming to reduce latency, overhead, interruption time, and other resource consumptions. (Paragraphs [0061 & 0178]
/ADEDAYO O FADEYI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479