This communication is in response to the application filed 2/16/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Definition
The phrase “a reforming operation of reforming” in claim 1 is interpreted as defined in the specification at par. [00101], which states “[t]he reforming or ‘reformation’ in the present disclosure refers to a process of converting components . . . included in hydrocarbons into aromatic hydrocarbons.”
Throughout the claims “the refined oil from which impurities are removed” is a term with sufficient antecedent basis in claim 1 which recites “hydrotreating . . . to produce refined oil from which impurities are removed”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15, 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 15-16 recite “molybdenum-based hydrotreating catalyst”. It is unclear what molybdenum-based catalyst is and thus the claims are indefinite.
Claim 16 recites “molybdenum-based metal”. It is unclear what molybdenum-based metal is and thus the claim is indefinite.
Claim 18 recites “the gas-liquid separated stream”. Subjecting to gas-liquid separation implies two streams, a gas and a liquid are formed. It is unclear what “the gas-liquid separated stream” is referring, and thus the claim is indefinite.
With respect to claims 19 and 20, examiner suggests amending “the reforming the refined oil operation” to be “the reforming operation” for consistency and clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cantley (US 2022/0135449) in view of Murray (US 11,802,250) and Straka et al., Production of transportation fuels via hydrotreating of scrap tires pyrolysis oil, Chemical Engineering Journal 460 (2023) 141764, published online 8 Feb 2023.
With respect to claim 1, Cantley teaches upgrading pyrolysis oil, including plastic pyrolysis oil, using a dehydration operation comprising mixing with a demulsifier, applying an electric field, and desalting the mixture, separating into an aqueous and an oil phase (0031-0036). The desalted/dehydrated oil is subject to fractionation and fractions passed to a refinery for further upgrading (0032). Cantley is silent regarding the specific refinery operations.
In analogous art of upgrading plastic pyrolysis oil, Murray teaches upgrading waste plastic pyrolysis oil to produce valuable fuel products (abstract). The waste plastic pyrolysis oil is fractionated, a portion sent to a hydrotreating reactor for removal of impurities and the hydrotreated oil is subject to catalytic reforming (abs; Figures). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to pass the fractionated pyrolysis oil of Cantley to hydrotreating and reforming process as taught in Murray to produce circular aromatic product.
Murray is silent regarding hydrotreating the oil phase together with a sulfur source. Straka teaches a process for upgrading pyrolysis oil derived from scrap tires, a waste plastic, to produce product for blending into fuels. Straka teaches subjecting the pyrolysis oil to hydrotreating to remove contaminants and produce product containing aromatics. The product can be blended in the gasoline pool or subject catalytic reforming to improve octane rating first. Straka teaches activating the hydrotreating catalyst with gas oil and a disulfide. Sulfur and disulfide are added in amounts of 0.23% and 3% of the gas oil. It is known catalyst may be activated prior to or during hydrotreatment.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, Cantley teaches wherein the water may be added in an amount of 10-50% (0035), thus the waste plastic pyrolysis oil is mixed in a greater volume than the washing water and in the rage claimed.
With respect to claim 4, Cantley teaches that “small amounts of the chemicals may be added in or injected into the effluent to aid in the breaking of the emulsion. Such chemicals may include Truscent Ascent 840, Truscent Ascent 850, Baker Hughes Xeric 7010, and/or other demulsifying chemicals as will be understood by those skilled in the art.” (0036) The amount of demulsifier is a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select amount to achieve the desired breaking of the emulsion.
With respect to claim 5, Cantley teaches wherein the voltage is applied as an alternating current or direct current (0038).
With respect to claim 6, Cantley teaches wherein the voltage is applied through at least one pair of electrodes (0038). Would have been obvious to select vertical electrodes as one of a limited number of choices.
With respect to claim 7, Cantley is silent regarding removing a rag layer, but teaches using known desalters and teaches using series of desalters (Figure 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to remove a rag layer for second separation of components, as known in the art of desalting.
With respect to claim 8, Cantley teaches wherein the dehydration operation is performed under a temperature of about 100° F. to about 300° F (0038).
With respect to claim 9, Cantley teaches wherein all or most of the water such as all but about 0.7%, about 0.5%, about 0.3%, or even trace amounts of the water remains (0046).
With respect to claim 10, Cantley teaches using series of dehydration and fractionation for water removal (Figures 9).
With respect to claim 11, Cantley and Murray are silent regarding the nitrogen and chlorine content of the second stream. However, given the same feed is desalted using the same desalting process prior to forming the second mixed stream, it is expected that the nitrogen to chorine content will fall within a range as claimed.
With respect to claims 12-16, Straka teaches wherein the hydrotreating occurs in the presence of a hydrotreating Ni-Mo/γ-Al2O3 catalyst, i.e. molybdenum based (sec 2.2). The catalyst was sulfided with a mixture of gasoil and dimethyldisulfide (sec 2.2).
With respect to claim 17, Straka teaches a hydrotreating pressure of 6-10 MPa (sec 2.2), which falls within the claimed range.
With respect to claim 18, separation gas/liquid separation and washing of hydrotreated effluent is well known in the art and would have been obvious to apply at the time of filing to remove gases and chlorine and other contaminants.
With respect to claim 19, Murray teaches after the hydrotreating operation fractionation of the effluent prior to reforming (Figure 3).
With respect to claim 20, Straka teaches petroleum hydrocarbons is reformed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/442113 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they merely overlap in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant
18/442113
1. A method for producing refined hydrocarbons from waste plastic pyrolysis oil, the method comprising:
1. A method for producing refined hydrocarbons from waste plastics, the method comprising: a pyrolysis operation introducing waste plastics into a pyrolysis reactor and pyrolyzing the waste plastics to produce pyrolysis gas; an oil production operation producing waste plastic pyrolysis oil by introducing the pyrolysis gas into a hot filter filled with a neutralizing agent;
a dehydration operation of applying a voltage to a first mixed solution obtained by mixing waste plastic pyrolysis oil, washing water, and a demulsifier to dehydrate the first mixed solution;
a dehydration operation applying a voltage to a first mixed solution obtained by mixing the waste plastic pyrolysis oil, washing water, and a demulsifier to dehydrate the first mixed solution; (claim 1)
a hydrotreating operation of hydrotreating a second mixed solution obtained by mixing the first mixed solution dehydrated in the dehydration operation and a sulfur source to produce refined oil from which impurities are removed; and
a hydrotreating operation hydrotreating a second mixed solution obtained by mixing the first mixed solution dehydrated in the dehydration operation and a sulfur source to produce refined oil from which impurities are removed; and (claim 1)
a reforming operation of reforming the refined oil from which impurities are removed. (claim 1)
a reformation operation reforming the refined oil from which impurities are removed. (claim 1)
Conclusion
/BRANDI M DOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/PREM C SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1771