DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Pursuant to the applicant’s response filed 17 June 2026, the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) has been accepted and the claims have been amended. According to the claim amendments, claims 1-6 are cancelled, claims 7-12 have been added, and claims 7-12 are currently pending in the application. The previously noted objections and section 102 rejections have been overcome by the amendments and are hereby withdrawn. After additional search and/or consideration, the following rejections are presented to address the new claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by U.S. Patent 6,216,348 issued to Martirossian (Martirossian).
Regarding claim 7, Martirossian discloses an ergonomic casing and tool holder for use in reloading firearm ammunition (See at least Figure 2, clearly illustrated) comprising: a body (1’) configured to be manually grasped by a user during a firearm ammunition reloading operation (Understood); a collet (25) supported by the body and configured as a multi-jaw chuck having a tapered contact surface for radially clamping and releasing a firearm casing or reloading tool (See at least Col. 5 Lines 9-41); a locking head (26) operatively associated with the collet and movable relative to the body for selectively compressing the collet between a released condition and a clamped condition (See at least Col. 5 Lines 9-41); at least one independently adjustable backstop (4) positioned relative to the body and configured to engage an end portion of the firearm casing or reloading tool to establish a selected protruding length of the firearm casing or reloading tool relative to the collet (See at least Col. 5 Lines 9-41); and wherein adjustment of the at least one independently adjustable backstop permits positioning of different firearm casings or reloading tools at a desired working position while the collet maintains the firearm casing or reloading tool in a secured condition during a reloading operation (See at least Col. 5 Lines 9-41).
Regarding claim 8, Martirossian further discloses wherein the at least one adjustable backstop includes a hardened tip configured to resist deformation during repeated contact with firearm casings (See Figures, clearly illustrated and understood).
Regarding claim 9, Martirossian further discloses wherein the collet comprises a double-angle collet (See at least Figure 2, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 10, Martirossian further discloses wherein the holder is configured to selectively retain either a firearm casing or a reloading tool (See at least Figure 2, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 11, Martirossian discloses a method of holding a firearm casing or reloading tool during a firearm ammunition reloading operation (See at least Figure 2, clearly illustrated) comprising: providing a hand-held casing and tool holder having a body (1’), a collet (25) supported by the body (See at least Figure 2, clearly illustrated), a locking head (26) associated with the collet (See at least Figure 2, clearly illustrated), and at least one adjustable backstop (4); adjusting the at least one adjustable backstop relative to the body to establish a selected working position of a firearm casing or reloading tool (See at least Col. 5 Lines 9-41); inserting the firearm casing or reloading tool into the collet (See at least Col. 5 Lines 9-41); operating the locking head to axially compress the collet and thereby radially clamp the firearm casing or reloading tool (See at least Col. 5 Lines 9-41); manually grasping the body while performing a reloading operation on the firearm casing or reloading tool (See at least Col. 5 Lines 9-41, the phrase “while performing a reloading operation on the firearm casing or reloading tool” is broad and could be considered to be a wide variety of operations such as trimming as ammunition casing with a blade); and releasing the locking head to remove the firearm casing or reloading tool from the holder (See at least Col. 5 Lines 9-41).
Regarding claim 12, Martirossian discloses an ergonomic casing and tool holder (See at least Figure 2, clearly illustrated) comprising: a generally elongated hand-held body (1’) having a gripping portion configured for manual manipulation by a user (See at least Col. 5 Lines 9-41); a collet (25) disposed within the body (See at least Figure 2, clearly illustrated) and including a plurality of resilient jaws configured to engage an outer surface of a firearm casing or reloading tool (See at least Col. 5 Lines 9-41); a locking head (26) threadedly coupled to the body and configured to move axially relative to the body to compress the collet jaws radially inwardly (See at least Col. 5 Lines 9-41); an adjustable positioning member (4) disposed within the body (See at least Figure 2, clearly illustrated) and configured to engage an end of the firearm casing or reloading tool to establish a selected axial position thereof (See at least Col. 5 Lines 9-41); and wherein the firearm casing or reloading tool extends outwardly from the body in a selected working position while being retained by the collet (See at least Figures 1a-2, clearly illustrated and at least Col. 5 Lines 9-41).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Jonathan C Weber/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3641
JONATHAN C. WEBER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3641