DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Pursuant to the applicant’s response filed 16 February 2026, the amendments to the claims have been entered into the application. By this amendment, no claims have been added or cancelled, and claims 1-6 are currently pending in the application. The previously noted section 112 and 102 rejections have been overcome by the amendments and are hereby withdrawn. After further search and/or consideration, the following objections and rejections are presented to address the newly claimed limitations.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: The second mention of “a backstop” should be “the backstop” for proper antecedent. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrasing “enabling a portion of the backstop is inserted into the casing” appears to be grammatically incorrect and should read “enabling a portion of the backstop to be inserted into the casing”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrasing “enabling a portion of the backstop is inserted into the casing” appears to be grammatically incorrect and should read “enabling a portion of the backstop to be inserted into the casing”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by U.S. Patent 9,146,087 issued to Cottrell et al (Cottrell).
Regarding claim 1, Cottrell discloses an ergonomic casing holder for use in reloading of firearm ammunition (See at least Figures 8-9, clearly illustrated), comprising: a body for holding a casing (60); a casing configured as a multi-jaw chuck where each jaw having a plurality of segments for enabling each jaw to contact a casing (72); a locking head (74); a backstop where a portion of the backstop abuts the casing for preventing movement of the casing while in the collet enabling a portion of the backstop to be inserted in the casing (50/70); and wherein the ergonomic casing holder operates to securely hold the casing in preparation for firearm ammunition reloading (See at least Col. 5 Lines 9-45).
Regarding claim 2, Cottrell further discloses wherein the collet is a double angle collet (See at least Figure 8, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 3, Cottrell discloses a method for holding firearm casings for reloading using a singular ergonomic casing and tool holder (See at least Figures 8-9, clearly illustrated) comprising the steps of: a) inserting a casing within a holder body either in a forward or reverse direction (See at least Figures 8-9, clearly illustrated); b) adjusting a backstop (50/70) so that a casing protrudes from the holder at a desired distance (Via threaded connection of element 50); c) clamping the casing using a collet (72) configured within the holder where the collet includes a plurality of jaws each having a plurality of segments for enabling each jaw to contact the casing having a tapered surface (See at least Figures 8-9, clearly illustrated), where the backstop abuts the casing for preventing movement of the casing while in the collet enabling a portion of the backstop to be inserted into the casing (50/70, See at least Figure 9, clearly illustrated); d) performing applicable reloading operations (Trimming the casing); and e) disengaging the collet and removing the firearm casing (Clearly understood).
Regarding claim 4, Cottrell further discloses wherein the collet is a double angle collet (See at least Figure 8, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 5, Cottrell discloses an ergonomic casing holder for use in reloading of firearm ammunition (See at least Figures 8-9, clearly illustrated) comprising: a body for holding a casing (60); a collet (72) configured as a multi-jaw chuck providing for a one angle contact with the casing where the collet includes a plurality of jaws each having a plurality of segments that extend longitudinally for contacting an entire length of the casing for enabling each jaw to contact a casing having a tapered surface (See at least Figure 9, clearly illustrated); a locking head (74); a backstop that abuts the casing for preventing movement of the casing while in the holder body enabling a portion of the backstop to be inserted into the casing (50/70); and wherein the ergonomic casing and tool holder operates to securely hold a casing in preparation for firearm ammunition reloading using the steps of: adjusting a backstop to desired protrusion of a firearm casing (Via threading on element 50); clamping the casing so it engages with the collet (See at least Col. 5 Lines 9-45); performing applicable reloading operations (Trimming); and disengaging by hand the collet/chuck and removing the firearm casing (See at least Col. 5 Lines 9-45).
Regarding claim 6, Cottrell further discloses wherein the collet is a double angle collet (See at least Figure 8, clearly illustrated).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jonathan C Weber/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3641
JONATHAN C. WEBER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3641