DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of an LiPb coolant in the reply filed on 06/26/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/26/2026.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because they are too blurry to see the reference numeral labels. Please submit a clearer copy of the Drawings.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 47a.
Claim Objections
Claims 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities: for proper subject-verb agreement, “comprising” should be “comprises.” Claim 19 repeatedly recites “blanket” when it should recite the plural “blankets.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–15 and 17–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: the relationships among the front side flow path, first wall, supply path, internal tank, and discharge path. Claim 1 recites the following descriptors:
“front” and “behind” (line 3)
“front” and “outside” (line 4)
“internal,” “behind,” and “front” (line 5)
“front” (twice, line 6)
“internal” and “outside” (line 8)
These descriptors denote relative arrangements of features. However, because no initial frame of reference is set, these terms are indefinite. It is unclear what the “front side flow path” is “front” relative to. It is unclear what is meant by the flow path being “behind” the first wall—this could be any side of the first wall. It is unclear what the tank is “internal” relative to. Examiner suggests first establishing a frame of reference, and then using terms like “radially outward” to describe where subsequent components are located relative to each other.
Claims 19-20 are similarly rejected for substantially the same indefinite relative language described above.
Claims 3-5 recite that the “inflow holes communicate” in a direction. “Communicate” is unclear because holes cannot communicate. Additionally, as shown in Figure 4, the holes 45a have a vertical and a horizontal dimension, and so it is further unclear how they “communicate” in an “intersecting” or “horizontal” or “away” direction.
Claims 7-10 recite that the “communication holes communicate” in a direction. “Communicate” is unclear because holes cannot communicate. Additionally, as shown in Figure 4, the holes 43a have a vertical and a horizontal dimension, and so it is further unclear how they “communicate” between adjacent tanks or in an “intersecting” or “horizontal” or “away” direction.
Claims 19-20 are similarly rejected for substantially the same “communicating” language described above.
Any claim not specifically addressed in this section that depends from a rejected claim is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for its dependency upon an above–rejected claim and for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For Applicant’s benefit, portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that the prior art must be considered in its entirety, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claims 1–15 and 17–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golfier (“Progress on the TAURO blanket system” cited via IDS) in view of “JP673” (JP6732670B21).
Regarding claim 1, Golfier discloses a nuclear fusion reactor blanket (fig. 1) comprising: a first wall (the wall adjacent the vertical written word plasma in the left-hand fig. 1); a front side flow path (see incoming [downward arrow] flow that turns and goes downward into the blanket near the p of plasma) disposed behind the first wall and extending along the first wall; a supply path (see incoming [downward arrow] flow of Pb-17Li) that supplies a coolant to the front side flow path from an outside of the blanket; an internal tank (see the partitioned tank cut-away view near the a of plasma) disposed behind the front side flow path; a front side wall (e.g., the first of the several partitions in the above-mentioned cut-away view) that has an inflow hole (see where the arrows change directions) communicating between the front side flow path and the internal tank; and a discharge path (see upward Pb-17Li arrows) that discharges the coolant from the internal tank to the outside of the blanket.
Golfier does not explicitly disclose that each partition wall has a plurality of holes.
JP673 does. JP673 is in the same art area of cooling arrangements for first walls of nuclear fusion reactors and teaches using partition plates that have multiple holes (fig. 11: first plate within 130a showing three horizontal coolant arrows about to enter three separate axially separated holes + second plate within 130b showing three horizontal coolant arrows having just excited the second plate that has three separate axially spaced exit holes) to allow for multiple paths for coolant flow. The skilled artisan would have been motivated, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have utilized the plural coolant holes, as taught by JP673, within the coolant plates of Golfier in order to, as explained by JP673 (see highlights on lower page 8), that having additionally cooling paths will “enhance the cooling performance.”
Regarding claims 2-15 and 17-18, modified Golfier teaches all the elements of the parent claim, and Golfier further teaches wherein the plurality of inflow holes (plural holes in the first plate as modified above by JP673) are arranged along the front side flow path (Golfier, see arrows showing horizontal coolant flow relative to the first wall, as described in response to claim 1), the plurality of inflow holes (plural holes in the first plate as modified above by JP673) communicate in a direction intersecting a direction in which the first wall extends (Golfier, see arrows showing horizontal coolant flow relative to the first wall, as described in response to claim 1), the plurality of inflow holes (plural holes in the first plate as modified above by JP673) communicate in a horizontal direction (Golfier, see arrows showing horizontal coolant flow relative to the first wall, as described in response to claim 1), the plurality of inflow holes (plural holes in the first plate as modified above by JP673) communicate in a direction away from the first wall (Golfier, see arrows showing horizontal coolant flow relative to the first wall, as described in response to claim 1), the first wall is disposed to face nuclear fusion plasma (the wall adjacent the vertical written word plasma in the left-hand fig. 1), a partition wall (“second plate” as modified above by JP673) that divides an inside of the internal tank into a plurality of tanks and that has a plurality of communication holes (plural holes in the second plate as modified above by JP673) communicating between adjacent tanks, the plurality of communication holes (plural holes in the second plate as modified above by JP673) communicate in a direction intersecting a direction in which the first wall extends (Golfier, see arrows showing horizontal coolant flow relative to the first wall, as described in response to claim 1), the plurality of communication holes (plural holes in the second plate as modified above by JP673) communicate in a horizontal direction (Golfier, see arrows showing horizontal coolant flow relative to the first wall, as described in response to claim 1), the plurality of communication holes (plural holes in the second plate as modified above by JP673) communicate in a direction away from the first wall (Golfier, see arrows showing horizontal coolant flow relative to the first wall, as described in response to claim 1), a housing (“SiC/SiC” structure, fig. 1) that accommodates the front side flow path, the internal tank, and the supply path (as shown in fig. 1), the housing comprising a structural material containing SiC or a SiC composite material (“SiC/SiC”), the front side wall comprising a structural material containing SiC or a SiC composite material (“SiC/SiC”), the partition wall comprising a structural material containing SiC or a SiC composite material (“SiC/SiC”), wherein the coolant is a fluid containing lithium lead (“Pb-17Li”), the first wall comprises tungsten (“tungsten alloy as armor material,” § 4.1, second paragraph), and at least one of the supply path and the discharge path comprises a pipe material including a structural material containing SiC or a SiC composite material (“SiC/SiC”).
Regarding claim 19, Golfier discloses a nuclear fusion reactor comprising: a vacuum vessel (“vacuum vessel,” § 1, first paragraph); and a plurality of blankets (fig. 1 ) arranged along an inside of the vacuum vessel, wherein at least one of the plurality of blanket comprises: a first wall (the wall adjacent the vertical written word plasma in the left-hand fig. 1); a front side flow path (see incoming [downward arrow] flow that turns and goes downward into the blanket near the p of plasma) disposed behind the first wall and extending along the first wall; a supply path (see incoming [downward arrow] flow of Pb-17Li) that supplies a coolant to the front side flow path from an outside of the vacuum vessel; an internal tank (see the partitioned tank cut-away view near the a of plasma) disposed behind the front side flow path; a front side wall (e.g., the first of the several partitions in the above-mentioned cut-away view) that has an inflow hole (see where the arrows change directions) communicating between the front side flow path and the internal tank; and a discharge path (see upward Pb-17Li arrows) that discharges the coolant from the internal tank to the outside of the vacuum vessel.
Golfier does not explicitly disclose that each partition wall has a plurality of holes.
JP673 does. JP673 is in the same art area of cooling arrangements for first walls of nuclear fusion reactors and teaches using partition plates that have multiple holes (fig. 11: first plate within 130a showing three horizontal coolant arrows about to enter three separate axially separated holes + second plate within 130b showing three horizontal coolant arrows having just excited the second plate that has three separate axially spaced exit holes) to allow for multiple paths for coolant flow. The skilled artisan would have been motivated, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have utilized the plural coolant holes, as taught by JP673, within the coolant plates of Golfier in order to, as explained by JP673 (see highlights on lower page 8), that having additionally cooling paths will “enhance the cooling performance.”
Regarding claim 20, modified Golfier teaches all the elements of the parent claim, and Golfier further teaches wherein at least one of: a heat exchanger (“a heat exchanger,” § 5) that recovers heat from the coolant discharged via the discharge path; and a pump (“a Pb-17Li pump,” § 5) that supplies the coolant discharged via the discharge path to the supply path.
Conclusion
Please be aware that, as of October 1, 2025, the PTO has implemented a policy of one interview per round of examination. Additional interviews require managerial approval.
LILY CRABTREE GARNER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3646
/LILY C GARNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646
1 See attached 64-page foreign reference with Examiner highlights.