DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species B, claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 06/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rhee et al. US 2017/0170151.
Rhee et al. US 2017/0170151
Regarding claim 1, Rhee et al. in Fig. 21 (annotated above) [0174]-[0186] disclose a display device 4000 using a semiconductor light emitting device 4050, the display device 4000 comprising:
a wiring substrate 4010 [0174] with a first electrode 4020 [0174] disposed thereon;
the light emitting device 4050 [0174] disposed on the wiring substrate 4010 [0174] to constitute a unit sub-pixel;
a seating layer 4160 [0183] located between the wiring substrate 4010 and the light emitting device 4050, wherein the seating layer 4160 [0183] includes a first portion in contact with the light emitting device 4050 and a second portion located under the first portion and having an area size greater than an area size of the first portion;
a first connection electrode 4156 [0180] electrically connecting the first electrode 4020 to one side of the light emitting device 4050 corresponding to a shape of the seating layer 4160;
a planarization layer 4170 [0186] covering the light emitting device 4150 and the first connection electrode 4020; and
a second connection electrode 4040 [0174] located on the planarization layer 4170 and electrically connected to the other side of the light emitting device 4050.
Regarding claim 2, Rhee et al. in Fig. 21 (annotated above) disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the first portion and the second portion form a staircase shape.
Regarding claim 3, Rhee et al. in Fig. 21 (annotated above) disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the area size of the first portion is equal to an area size of a bottom surface of the light emitting device.
Regarding claim 4, Rhee et al. in Fig. 21 (annotated above) disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the seating layer 4160 further includes a third portion connecting the first portion and the second portion to each other with a gentle slope (e.g. corner surface of the layer 4160).
Regarding claim 5, Rhee et al. in Fig. 21 (annotated above) disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the light emitting device 4000 is located on a center of the second portion.
Regarding claim 9, Rhee et al. in Fig. 21 (annotated above) disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the first connection electrode 4156 is connected to the first electrode 4020 at an end of the second portion of the seating layer 4160.
Regarding claim 14, Rhee et al. in Fig. 21 (annotated above) disclose a display device 4000 using a semiconductor light emitting device 4050, the display device 4000 comprising:
a wiring substrate 4010 [0174] with a first electrode 4020 [0174] disposed thereon;
the light emitting device 4050 [0174] disposed on the wiring substrate 4010;
a seating layer 4160 [0183] located between the wiring substrate 4010 and the light emitting device 4050, supporting a first surface of the light emitting device 4050, and having an area size greater than an area size of the first surface;
a first connection electrode 4156 [0180] electrically connecting the first electrode 4020 to one side of the light emitting device 4050;
a planarization layer 4170 [0186] covering the light emitting device 4050 and the first connection electrode 4156; and
a second connection electrode 4040 [0174] located on the planarization layer 4170 and electrically connected to the other side of the light emitting device 4050.
Regarding claim 15, Rhee et al. in Fig. 21 (annotated above) disclose the display device of claim 14, wherein the seating layer 4160 includes a first portion supporting the first surface and a second portion located under the first portion and having an area size greater than an area size of the first portion.
Regarding claim 16, Rhee et al. in Fig. 21 (annotated above) disclose the display device of claim 15, wherein the seating layer 4160 further includes a third portion connecting the first portion and the second portion to each other with a gentle slope (e.g. corner surface of the layer 4160).
Regarding claim 17, Rhee et al. in Fig. 21 (annotated above) disclose the display device of claim 15, wherein the area size of the first portion is equal to an area size of a bottom surface of the light emitting device 4050.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 8 and 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, Rhee et al. do not anticipate nor render obvious the display device of claim 1, wherein the one side of the light emitting device connected with the first connection electrode is a side surface of a light emitting layer of the light emitting device. Claim 7 depends from claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, Rhee et al. do not anticipate nor render obvious the display device of claim 1, wherein a passivation layer is located on an outer side of the light emitting device, and the first connection electrode is located beneath the passivation layer.
Regarding claim 10, Rhee et al. do not anticipate nor render obvious the display device of claim 1, wherein the first connection electrode 4156 is connected to a lower electrode of the light emitting device.
Regarding claims 11, 12 and 13, Rhee et al. do not anticipate nor render obvious the display device of claim 1, wherein the second connection electrode 4040 [0180]-[0183] includes a transparent electrode, further comprising a second electrode connected to the second connection electrode, wherein the seating layer includes a cured resin layer.
Conclusion
/Sonya McCall-Shepard/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898