DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
The amendment filed on 11/21/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-15 have been canceled, claim 29 has been withdrawn, and new claims 30-33 have been added. Claims 16-28 and 30-33 are under examination in the instant office action.
Rejections withdrawn
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed on 11/21/2025 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 19 and 20 and of claim 26 from the previous Office Action. Upon reconsideration 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 16-18 and 21-28 over Littau et al. (US 2006/0204467 A1) and 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claims 16-28 over Littau et al. (US 2006/0204467 A1) and Brockman (US 2016/0317480 A1) as evidenced by Johnson et al. (US 6,319,958 B1) are withdrawn by the examiner from the previous Office Action. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Rejections maintained
The following rejections of the claims are remained for reasons of record and the following. In addition, new claims are hereby included in the rejections and the rejections are modified based on the new claims.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 16-28 and 30-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,938,208 B2 in view of Park et al. (US 2010/0015071 A1) and Brockman (US 2016/0317480A1).
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter.
Claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,938,208 B2 do not recite bisabolol being essential oil of Matricaria chamomilla in the instant claims 19 and 20.
This deficiency is cured by Park et al. who teach both bisabolol from natural source, chamomile or synthesized having anti-inflammatory effect, wound healing and anti-microbial effect and being used in a cosmetic formulation and skin care products (paragraph 25 and 26) and Brockman who teaches α-bisabolol being the primary constituent of Matricaria chamomilla (paragraph 16).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the recitation in claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,938,208 B2 and teachings in Park et al. and Brockman to specify the bisabolol in the composition recitation in claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,938,208 B2 being essential oil of Matricaria chamomilla. α-bisabolol being the primary constituent of Matricaria chamomilla was well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for specifying it flows from its having been used in the prior art, and from its being recognized in the prior art as useful for the same purpose.
Although the patent and instant claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims in both applications are drawn to the same composition.
Claims 16-28 and 30-32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 17 of copending Application No. 18/009,288, claims 1, 2, and 15 of copending Application No. 18/009,312, claims 29-31 of copending Application No. 18/687,161, and claims 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 18/858,297 (corrected from 18/009,288) in view of Park et al. (US 2010/0015071 A1) and Brockman (US 2016/0317480A1). Although the patent and instant claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other
Claims 1, 2, and 17 of copending Application No. 18/009,288, claims 1, 2, and 15 of copending Application No. 18/009,312, claims 29-31 of copending Application No. 18/687,161, and claims 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 18/858297 (corrected from 18/009,288) do not recite bisabolol being essential oil of Matricaria chamomilla in the instant claims 19 and 20.
This deficiency is cured by Park et al. who teach both bisabolol from natural source, chamomile or synthesized having anti-inflammatory effect, wound healing and anti-microbial effect and being used in a cosmetic formulation and skin care products (paragraph 25 and 26) and Brockman who teaches α-bisabolol being the primary constituent of Matricaria chamomilla (paragraph 16).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the recitation in claims 1, 2, and 17 of copending Application No. 18/009,288, claims 1, 2, and 15 of copending Application No. 18/009,312, claims 29-31 of copending Application No. 18/687,161, and claims 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 18/009,288 and teachings in Park et al. and Brockman to specify the bisabolol in the composition recitation in claims 1, 2, and 17 of copending Application No. 18/009,288, claims 1, 2, and 15 of copending Application No. 18/009,312, claims 29-31 of copending Application No. 18/687,161, and claims 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 18/009,288 being essential oil of Matricaria chamomilla. α-bisabolol being the primary constituent of Matricaria chamomilla was well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for specifying it flows from its having been used in the prior art, and from its being recognized in the prior art as useful for the same purpose.
Although the patent and instant claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims in both applications are drawn to the same composition.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments:
No argument is presented by Applicant.
New ground of rejections
Upon reconsideration the following new ground of rejections are applied by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-18, 21-25, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Littau et al. (US 2006/0204467 A1).
Littau et al. meet all of the limitations of claims 16-18, 21, 22, 27, and 28. Littau et al. disclose an antimicrobial skincare (abstract) composition formula A in table 2 comprising
0.2% Arlasilk Phospholipid PTC (cocamidopropyl PG-dimonium chloride phosphate, the claimed b in the instant claims 16),
0.15% Dragosantol (synthetic α-bisabolol, the claimed a in the instant claims 16-18, 21), and
The weight ratio between Dragosantol (a) and Arlasilk Phospholipid PTC (b) is calculated to be 43:57 (0.15/(0.15+0.2)=0.43) (the instant claim 22).
The total weight percentage of Arlasilk Phospholipid PTC and Dragosantol in formula A is calculated to be 0.35% (the instant claim 27).
Although Littau et al. are silent about the claimed property in the instant claim 28; the property of the claimed combination of cocamidopropyl PG-dimonium chloride phosphate and bisabolol is an inherent property of the claimed combination of cocamidopropyl PG-dimonium chloride phosphate and bisabolol. Littau et al. disclose a skincare formulation comprising the claimed combination of cocamidopropyl PG-dimonium chloride phosphate and bisabolol, thus the skincare formulation comprising the claimed combination of cocamidopropyl PG-dimonium chloride phosphate and bisabolol disclosed by Littau et al. would necessarily possess the claimed property. Please refer to MPEP 2112.I, MPEP 2112 II, and MPEP 2112.01 II:
“[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable.
There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003); see also Toro Co. v. Deere & Co., 355 F.3d 1313, 1320, 69 USPQ2d 1584, 1590 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (“[T]he fact that a characteristic is a necessary feature or result of a prior-art embodiment (that is itself sufficiently described and enabled) is enough for inherent anticipation, even if that fact was unknown at the time of the prior invention”).
“Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
The component c in the instant claim 16 is optional.
Claims 23-25 are further limitations of the optional component c.
Response to Applicants’ arguments:
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 11/21/2025, have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new ground of rejections. However, the examiner would like to address the following arguments to the extend they pertain to the new ground of rejections.
Applicants argue that monocyclic sesquilterpene alcohols (the claimed bisabolol) is from a list of optional terpenoids while cocamidopropyl PG-dimonium chloride phosphate is from a list of optional conditioning phospholipids and thus, select elements from different lists Is not anticipation.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive. As discussed above and in the previous office action, Littau et al. disclose formula A in table 2 comprising both bisabolol (Dragosantol) and cocamidopropyl PG-dimonium chloride phosphate (Arlasilk Phospholipid PTC).
Applicant’s argument based on Littau et al. not disclosing a composition comprising both bisabolol and cocamidopropyl PG-dimonium chloride phosphate is moot in view of the response above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-5, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Littau et al. (US 2006/0204467 A1) as evidenced by Johnson et al. (US 6,319,958 B1) in view of Brockman (US 2016/0317480 A1).
The teachings of Littau et al. are discussed above and applied in the same manner. Littau et al. teach terpenoid bisabolol increasing the efficacy of the antimicrobial compound or preservative as disclosed in US 6,319,958 B1 (Johnson et al.) which discloses sesquiterpenoid bisabolol including plant essential oils or formed synthetic (column 3, line 22-30).
Littau et al. as evidenced by US 6,319,958 B1 do not specify the plant essential oil bisabolol being essential oil of Matricaria chamomilla in the instant claims 19 and 20.
This deficiency is cured by Brockman who teaches α-bisabolol being the primary constituent of Matricaria chamomilla (paragraph 16).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings in Littau et al. as evidenced by US 6,319,958 B1 and Brockman to specify the plant essential oil bisabolol in the composition taught by Littau et al. as evidenced by US 6,319,958 B1 being essential oil of Matricaria chamomilla. α-bisabolol being the primary constituent of Matricaria chamomilla was well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for specifying it flows from its having been used in the prior art, and from its being recognized in the prior art as useful for the same purpose.
Response to Applicants’ arguments:
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 11/21/2025, have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new ground of rejections. However, the examiner would like to address the following arguments to the extend they pertain to the new ground of rejections.
Applicants argue that Johnson et al.’s teaching is directed to sensitization of bacteria to clinical antibiotics and Brockman teaches bisabolol as a skin-benefit agent in analgesic/anti-inflammatory topical product with phenoxyethanol/ethylhexylglycerin as the preservatives. Thus, neither teach the claimed composition being used as preservative antimicrobial mixtures in consumer formulations.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive.
First, Johnson et al., which is referred to by Littau et al., is an evidentiary reference, not a prior art, to provide the known knowledge of sesquiterpenoid bisabolol including plant essential oils or formed synthetic.
Second, the claimed composition being used as preservative antimicrobial mixtures in consumer formulations is an intended use limitation while Brockman provides the teaching of the source of the plant essential oil bisabolol being essential oil of Matricaria chamomilla. Please refer to MPEP 2145.III:
the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art.
Applicants argue that Littau et al. teach away from the claimed component b.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive. As discussed in the response to argument in the 102 rejection above, Littau et al. disclose formula A in table 2 comprising both bisabolol (Dragosantol) and cocamidopropyl PG-dimonium chloride phosphate (Arlasilk Phospholipid PTC).
Applicants argue that there is no reasonable expectation of success to combine Littau et al. and Johnson et al.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive. As discussed above, Johnson et al., which is referred to by Littau et al., is an evidentiary reference, not a prior art, to provide the known knowledge of sesquiterpenoid bisabolol including plant essential oils or formed synthetic.
Applicants argue that the claimed combination of bisabolol and 4-hydroxyacetophenone results in superior long-kill effect in comparison to either component alone.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive. The instant claims are not directed to bisabolol and 4-hydroxyacetophenone, rather component a) (including bisabolol) and component b) (including cocamidopropyl PG-dimonium chloride phosphate). Littau et al.’s teaching of a combination would result in the alleged superior long-kill effect in comparison to either component alone.
Claims 16-18, 21-28, and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pesaro et al. (US 2016/0100574 A1).
Pesaro et al. meet all of the limitations of claims 16-18, 21, 22, 27, and 28. Pesaro et al. disclose in table XXXX a sun protection spray comprising
0.1% by weight of α-bisabolol (the claimed a in the instant claims 16-18, 21, and 33)
0.5% by weight of 4-hydroxyacetophenone (the claimed b in the instant claims 16 and 33)
0.4% by weight of phenoxyethanol (the claimed c in the instant claim 33).
The weight ratio between α-bisabolol (a) and 4-hydroxyacetophenone (b) is calculated to be 16.7:83.3 (0.1/(0.1+0.5)=0.167) (the instant claim 22).
The weight percentages of α-bisabolol (a), 4-hydroxyacetophenone (b), and phenoxyethanol (c) relative to the three of them are calculated to be 10%, 23.07%, and 46.15%, respectively (0.1 / (0.1 + 0.5 + 0.4) = 0.1 / 1.0 = 10%, 0.5 / 1.0 = 50%, and 0.4 / (0.1 + 0.5 + 0.4) = 40%) (the instant claims 26, 30, and 31).
The total weight of α-bisabolol (a) and 4-hydroxyacetophenone (b) is calculated to be 0.6% by weight (0.1 + 0.5 = 0.6%, the instant claims 27 and 32).
Although Pesaro et al. are silent about the claimed property in the instant claim 28; the claimed property of the claimed combination of α-bisabolol (a) and 4-hydroxyacetophenone (b) is an inherent property of the claimed combination of. Pesaro et al. disclose a sun protection spray comprising the claimed combination of α-bisabolol (a) and 4-hydroxyacetophenone (b), thus the sun protection spray comprising the claimed combination disclosed by Pesaro et al. would necessarily possess the claimed property. Please refer to MPEP 2112.I, MPEP 2112 II, and MPEP 2112.01 II:
“[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable.
There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003); see also Toro Co. v. Deere & Co., 355 F.3d 1313, 1320, 69 USPQ2d 1584, 1590 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (“[T]he fact that a characteristic is a necessary feature or result of a prior-art embodiment (that is itself sufficiently described and enabled) is enough for inherent anticipation, even if that fact was unknown at the time of the prior invention”).
“Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
The component c in the instant claim 16 is optional.
Claims 23-25 are further limitations of the optional component c.
The weight percentages of α-bisabolol (a), 4-hydroxyacetophenone (b), and phenoxyethanol (c) relative to the three of them are calculated to be 10%, 23.07%, and 46.15%, respectively (0.1 / (0.1 + 0.5 + 0.4) = 0.1 / 1.0 = 10%, 0.5 / 1.0 = 50%, and 0.4 / (0.1 + 0.5 + 0.4) = 40%) (the instant claims 26, ).
The total weight of α-bisabolol (a), 4-hydroxyacetophenone (b), and phenoxyethanol (c) is calculated to be 1.0% by weight (0.1 + 0.5 + 0.4 = 1.0%, the instant claim 27).
Claims 16-28 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pesaro et al. (US 2016/0100574 A1) in view of Brockman (US 2016/0317480 A1).
The teachings of Pesaro et al. are discussed above and applied in the same manner.
Pesaro et al. do not specify α-bisabolol being essential oil of Matricaria chamomilla in the instant claims 19 and 20.
This deficiency is cured by Brockman who teaches α-bisabolol being the primary constituent of Matricaria chamomilla (paragraph 16).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings in Pesaro et al. and Brockman to specify α-bisabolol in the composition taught by Pesaro et al. being essential oil of Matricaria chamomilla. α-bisabolol being the primary constituent of Matricaria chamomilla was well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for specifying it flows from its having been used in the prior art, and from its being recognized in the prior art as useful for the same purpose.
Response to Applicants’ arguments:
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 11/21/2025, have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new ground of rejections, or alternatively, are addressed in the 1st 103 rejection above.
Correspondence
/HONG YU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614