DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/17/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al (US Publication No. 20060209490) in view of Nagatomo (US Publication No. 20180201545) and in view of Kuno et al (US Publication No. 20230317432) and further in view of Migita (US Publication No. 20070144442).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown below, para. [0072]- [0115]); an electrostatic chuck (1), comprising: a dielectric substrate (2) which includes a placement surface (PS) on which an attracted object (W) is to be placed and in which through holes (7) that penetrate the placement surface (PS) are formed; an electrode terminal (8) which is provided on a surface (OSPS) of the dielectric substrate (2) on an opposite side (OSPS) to the placement surface (PS); a base plate (24) to be joined to the surface (OSPS) of the dielectric substrate (2) on the opposite side (OSPS) to the placement surface (PS); and a joining layer (26, 28) which is provided between the dielectric substrate (2) and the base plate (24) and which is formed of an insulating material (i.e., such as alumina; see for example para. [0033]), wherein when viewed from a direction (Y) perpendicular to the placement surface (PS), at least one space (i.e., 5; such as and through holes 5 communicated with the circular projected part 3a. And the electrostatic chuck 1 may comprise a plurality of convexities for supporting a wafer Won the gas packing face 3b if needed, see for example para. [0059]) is formed at a position (PSN) within the joining layer (26, 28) that does not overlap with any of the through holes (7) and the electrode terminal (8).
Nakamura does not explicitly disclose that is an upper-side surface including a surface.
Nagatomo discloses an electrostatic chuck device (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0055]); wherein that is an upper-side surface (i.e., 11a; such as a loading plate 11 having a loading upper surface side 11a on which a plate-shaped sample W such as a semiconductor wafer is loaded on the upper surface. On the loading surface 11a of the loading plate 11, a plurality of protrusion portions 11b having a diameter that is smaller than the thickness of the plate-shaped sample is formed at predetermined intervals, and these protrusion portions 11b support the plate-shaped sample W; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0055]) including a surface (i.e., bottom face surface of 19; such as the cooling gas is supplied to grooves 19 formed among a plurality of protrusion portions 11b on the upper surface of the loading plate 11 through the gas hole and cools the plate-shaped sample W; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the surface-scheme in Nakamura, as taught by Nagatomo, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards efficient cooling to the processed wafer.
Neither Nakamura nor Nagatomo explicitly discloses at least one enclosed space defined by the dielectric substrate and the base plate.
Kuno discloses a wafer placement table (i.e., such as ESC 10; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]- [0033]); at least one enclosed space (i.e., such as at least one enclosed space 50; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]- [0033]) defined (i.e., such as defined; for instance, when through-holes like lift pin holes are present, the temperature tends to increase around such the through-holes, so it is applicable that each of the gas intermediate passages 50 does not overlap the refrigerant flow channel 32; see for example fig. 8, para. [0059]) by the dielectric substrate (i.e., such as dielectric substrate/ceramic plate 20; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]- [0033]) and the base plate (i.e., such as base plate/cooling plate 30; see for example fig. 2, para. [0027]- [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the enclosed spaces in the bonding layer of the ESC in Nakamura, as taught by Kuno, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards reliable and effective cooling to the ESC during wafer processing.
Neither Nakamura nor Nagatomo nor Kuno explicitly discloses the dielectric substrate made of a ceramic sintered compact and an insulator film formed on a surface of the base plate.
Migita discloses a susceptor (i.e., see for example fig. 1B, para. [0022]- [0063]); wherein the dielectric substrate (i.e., such as the dielectric substrate 102; see for example fig. 1B, para. [0022]- [0063]) made of a ceramic sintered compact (i.e., such as 102 is made of ceramic sintered compact; for instance, the plate member 102 is preferably composed of a ceramic having excellent corrosion resistance. It is important to use a ceramic sintered body containing at least one of Al.sub.2O.sub.3, SiC, AlN, and Si.sub.3N.sub.4 as the main component in order to achieve high corrosion resistance. Among these materials, a ceramic sintered body containing Al.sub.2O.sub.3 or AlN as the main component is preferred from the standpoint of corrosion resistance in halogen-based corrosive gas or plasma. To reduce the cost for production, a ceramic sintered body containing Al.sub.2O.sub.3 as the main component is preferably used. When thermal uniformity is required for the wafer, a ceramic sintered body containing AlN having a heat conductivity of 100 W/(mK) or more as the main component is preferably used; see for example fig. 1B, para. [0022]- [0063]) and an insulator film (i.e., such as insulator film 111; see for example fig. 1B, para. [0022]- [0063]) formed on a surface (i.e., such as 111 is formed on the upper surface of 107; see for example fig. 1B, para. [0022]- [0063]) of the base plate (i.e., such as the base plate 107; see for example fig. 1B, para. [0022]- [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the sintered ceramic compact substrate in Nakamura, as taught by Migita, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards extreme thermal conductivity, superior plasma and corrosion resistance, and stable electrical insulation needed to hold and cool delicate silicon wafers safely inside high-vacuum microchip manufacturing chambers.
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and in view of Kuno and further in view of Migita and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Kuno and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Migita have been discussed above as well.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]); the electrostatic chuck (1), wherein when viewed from a direction (Y) perpendicular to the placement surface (PS), when a proportion (i.e., PRN; see for example fig. 2 as shown below, para. [0072]- [0115]) occupied by an area (A) of the at least one space (i.e., 5/3c; such as and through holes 5 communicated with the circular projected part 3a. And the electrostatic chuck 1 may comprise a plurality of convexities for supporting a wafer W on the gas packing face 3b if needed, see for example para. [0059]) per unit area (DL1, DL2) of the joining layer (26, 28) is assumed to be a space proportion (3c), the space proportion (3c) in a central part (DL1) of the joining layer (26, 28) is larger than the space proportion (3c) in an outer circumferential part (DL2) of the joining layer (26,28).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and in view of Kuno and further in view of Migita and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Kuno and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Migita have been discussed above as well.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]); the electrostatic chuck (1), wherein the at least one space (i.e., 5/3c; such as and through holes 5 communicated with the circular projected part 3a. And the electrostatic chuck 1 may comprise a plurality of convexities for supporting a wafer Won the gas packing face 3b if needed, see for example para. [0059]) (i.e., see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) comprises spaces (3cs) formed in plurality (i.e., 5s/3cs; such as and through holes 5 communicated with the circular projected part 3a. And the electrostatic chuck 1 may comprise a plurality of convexities for supporting a wafer Won the gas packing face 3b if needed, see for example para. [0059]), and a density (DNS1) of the spaces (3cs) in a central part (DL1) of the joining layer (26, 28) is higher than a density (DNS2) of the spaces (3cs) in an outer circumferential part (DL2) of the joining layer (26, 28).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and in view of Kuno and further in view of Migita and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Kuno and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Migita have been discussed above as well.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]); the electrostatic chuck (1), wherein the at least one space (i.e., 5/3c; such as and through holes 5 communicated with the circular projected part 3a. And the electrostatic chuck 1 may comprise a plurality of convexities for supporting a wafer Won the gas packing face 3b if needed, see for example para. [0059]) comprises spaces formed in plurality (i.e., 5s/3cs; such as and through holes 5 communicated with the circular projected part 3a. And the electrostatic chuck 1 may comprise a plurality of convexities for supporting a wafer Won the gas packing face 3b if needed, see for example para. [0059]), and each of the spaces (3cs) arranged in a central part (DL1) of the joining layer (26, 28) is larger than each of the spaces (3cs) arranged in an outer circumferential part (DL2) of the joining layer (26, 28).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and in view of Kuno and further in view of Migita and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Kuno and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Migita have been discussed above as well.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]); the electrostatic chuck (1), wherein the at least one space (i.e., 5/3c; such as and through holes 5 communicated with the circular projected part 3a. And the electrostatic chuck 1 may comprise a plurality of convexities for supporting a wafer Won the gas packing face 3b if needed, see for example para. [0059]) is formed so as to penetrate the joining layer (26, 28) in a direction (Y) perpendicular to the placement surface (PS).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and in view of Kuno and further in view of Migita and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Kuno and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Migita have been discussed above as well.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]); the electrostatic chuck (1), wherein an insulator film (i.e., 21; such as the heat radiating sheet 21 is produced by covering a resistor heating element 22 with an insulating sheet, see for example para. [0072]) is provided on a surface (i.e., top face of 24) of the base plate (24) on the joining layer-side (i.e., sheet 21 is between bottom layer 28 and top layer 26).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and in view of Kuno and further in view of Migita and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Kuno and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Migita have been discussed above as well.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]); the electrostatic chuck (1), wherein the insulator film (i.e., 21; such as the heat radiating sheet 21 is produced by covering a resistor heating element 22 with an insulating sheet, see for example para. [0072]) is a film formed by spraying (i.e., such as by a method for spray drying to obtain a composite material as a starting material, see for example para. [0087]).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and in view of Kuno and further in view of Migita and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Kuno and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Migita have been discussed above as well.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]); the electrostatic chuck (1), wherein the joining layer (26, 28) is a layer (i.e., such as the organic adhesive layers 26 and 28 have a function of moderating the difference of the thermal expansion between the electrostatic chuck 1 and the heat radiating sheet, see for example para. [0074]) created by curing (i.e., sintering/spraying) a solid adhesive sheet (i.e., such as a heat radiating sheet is stuck to the face in which the above-mentioned electrode 6 for electrostatic attraction is formed through the adhesive layer 26, see for example para. [0109]) on which a space part (i.e., such as the heat radiating sheet 21 is obtained by covering a resistor heating element 22 with an insulator. And as the insulator, similarly to the abovementioned adhesive layer 26, an imide resin, an epoxy resin, a silicone resin, and a phenol resin may be used, see for example para. [0109]) which is a depression (i.e., such as holes, setting face, and grooves are formed by drilling and grinding machining, see for example para. [0107]) or a through hole (i.e., 23; such as holes, setting face, and grooves are formed by drilling and grinding machining, see for example para. [0107]) is formed in advance (i.e., such as a method for forming the setting face using the plate-shaped ceramic of alumina and aluminum nitride, see for example para. [0107]).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and in view of Kuno and further in view of Migita and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Kuno and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Migita have been discussed above as well.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]); the electrostatic chuck (1), wherein a refrigerant flow path (29) for supplying a refrigerant (i.e., cooling medium; such as a flow channel 29 for passing a cooling medium is formed in the cooling member 24 sand heat from the heat radiating sheet 21 and setting face 3 is removed and discharged out of the system, see for example para. [0073]) is formed in the base plate (24), and when viewed from a direction (Y) perpendicular to the placement surface (PS), when a proportion (i.e., PRN; see for example fig. 2, para. [0072]- [0115]) occupied by an area (A) of the at least one space (i.e., 5/3c; such as and through holes 5 communicated with the circular projected part 3a. And the electrostatic chuck 1 may comprise a plurality of convexities for supporting a wafer Won the gas packing face 3b if needed, see for example para. [0059]) per unit area (DL1, DL2) of the joining layer (26, 28) is assumed to be a space proportion (3c), the space proportion (3c) in a first portion (i.e., Pl; see for example fig. 4 as shown below, para. [0065]- [0071]) of the joining layer (26, 28) which overlaps with an upstream side (USS) of the refrigerant flow path (29) is larger than the space proportion (3c) in a second portion (P2) of the joining layer (26, 28) which overlaps with a downstream side (DSS) of the refrigerant flow path (29).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and in view of Kuno and further in view of Migita and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Kuno and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Migita have been discussed above as well.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0065]- [0071]); the electrostatic chuck (1), wherein when viewed from a direction (Y) perpendicular to the placement surface (PS), the first portion (Pl) is at a position (PCC) closer to center than the second portion (P2).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and in view of Kuno and further in view of Migita and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Kuno and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Migita have been discussed above as well.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0065]- [0071]); a method of manufacturing an electrostatic chuck (1), and curing (i.e., sintering/spraying) the adhesive sheet (21). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838