DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/05/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al (US Publication No. 20060209490) in view of Nagatomo (US Publication No. 20180201545).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown below, para. [0072]- [0115]); an electrostatic chuck (1), comprising: a dielectric substrate (2) which includes a placement surface (PS) on which an attracted object (W) is to be placed and in which through holes (7) that penetrate the placement surface (PS) are formed; an electrode terminal (8) which is provided on a surface (OSPS) of the dielectric substrate (2) on an opposite side (OSPS) to the placement surface (PS); a base plate (24) to be joined to the surface (OSPS) of the dielectric substrate (2) on the opposite side (OSPS) to the placement surface (PS); and a joining layer (26, 28) which is provided between the dielectric substrate (2) and the base plate (24) and which is formed of an insulating material (i.e., such as alumina; see for example para. [0033]), wherein when viewed from a direction (Y) perpendicular to the placement surface (PS), at least one space (i.e., 5; such as and through holes 5 communicated with the circular projected part 3a. And the electrostatic chuck 1 may comprise a plurality of convexities for supporting a wafer Won the gas packing face 3b if needed, see for example para. [0059]) is formed at a position (PSN) within the joining layer (26, 28) that does not overlap with any of the through holes (7) and the electrode terminal (8).
Nakamura does not explicitly disclose that is an upper-side surface including a surface.
Nagatomo discloses an electrostatic chuck device (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0055]); wherein that is an upper-side surface (i.e., 11a; such as a loading plate 11 having a loading upper surface side 11a on which a plate-shaped sample W such as a semiconductor wafer is loaded on the upper surface. On the loading surface 11a of the loading plate 11, a plurality of protrusion portions 11b having a diameter that is smaller than the thickness of the plate-shaped sample is formed at predetermined intervals, and these protrusion portions 11b support the plate-shaped sample W; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0055]) including a surface (i.e., bottom face surface of 19; such as the cooling gas is supplied to grooves 19 formed among a plurality of protrusion portions 11b on the upper surface of the loading plate 11 through the gas hole and cools the plate-shaped sample W; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the surface-scheme in Nakamura, as taught by Nagatomo, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards efficient cooling to the processed wafer.
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]); the electrostatic chuck (1), wherein when viewed from a direction (Y) perpendicular to the placement surface (PS), when a proportion (i.e., PRN; see for example fig. 2 as shown below, para. [0072]- [0115]) occupied by an area (A) of the at least one space (i.e., 5/3c; such as and through holes 5 communicated with the circular projected part 3a. And the electrostatic chuck 1 may comprise a plurality of convexities for supporting a wafer W on the gas packing face 3b if needed, see for example para. [0059]) per unit area (DL1, DL2) of the joining layer (26, 28) is assumed to be a space proportion (3c), the space proportion (3c) in a central part (DL1) of the joining layer (26, 28) is larger than the space proportion (3c) in an outer circumferential part (DL2) of the joining layer (26,28).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]); the electrostatic chuck (1), wherein the at least one space (i.e., 5/3c; such as and through holes 5 communicated with the circular projected part 3a. And the electrostatic chuck 1 may comprise a plurality of convexities for supporting a wafer Won the gas packing face 3b if needed, see for example para. [0059]) (i.e., see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) comprises spaces (3cs) formed in plurality (i.e., 5s/3cs; such as and through holes 5 communicated with the circular projected part 3a. And the electrostatic chuck 1 may comprise a plurality of convexities for supporting a wafer Won the gas packing face 3b if needed, see for example para. [0059]), and a density (DNS1) of the spaces (3cs) in a central part (DL1) of the joining layer (26, 28) is higher than a density (DNS2) of the spaces (3cs) in an outer circumferential part (DL2) of the joining layer (26, 28).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]); the electrostatic chuck (1), wherein the at least one space (i.e., 5/3c; such as and through holes 5 communicated with the circular projected part 3a. And the electrostatic chuck 1 may comprise a plurality of convexities for supporting a wafer Won the gas packing face 3b if needed, see for example para. [0059]) comprises spaces formed in plurality (i.e., 5s/3cs; such as and through holes 5 communicated with the circular projected part 3a. And the electrostatic chuck 1 may comprise a plurality of convexities for supporting a wafer Won the gas packing face 3b if needed, see for example para. [0059]), and each of the spaces (3cs) arranged in a central part (DL1) of the joining layer (26, 28) is larger than each of the spaces (3cs) arranged in an outer circumferential part (DL2) of the joining layer (26, 28).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]); the electrostatic chuck (1), wherein the at least one space (i.e., 5/3c; such as and through holes 5 communicated with the circular projected part 3a. And the electrostatic chuck 1 may comprise a plurality of convexities for supporting a wafer Won the gas packing face 3b if needed, see for example para. [0059]) is formed so as to penetrate the joining layer (26, 28) in a direction (Y) perpendicular to the placement surface (PS).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]); the electrostatic chuck (1), wherein an insulator film (i.e., 21; such as the heat radiating sheet 21 is produced by covering a resistor heating element 22 with an insulating sheet, see for example para. [0072]) is provided on a surface (i.e., top face of 24) of the base plate (24) on the joining layer-side (i.e., sheet 21 is between bottom layer 28 and top layer 26).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]); the electrostatic chuck (1), wherein the insulator film (i.e., 21; such as the heat radiating sheet 21 is produced by covering a resistor heating element 22 with an insulating sheet, see for example para. [0072]) is a film formed by spraying (i.e., such as by a method for spray drying to obtain a composite material as a starting material, see for example para. [0087]).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]); the electrostatic chuck (1), wherein the joining layer (26, 28) is a layer (i.e., such as the organic adhesive layers 26 and 28 have a function of moderating the difference of the thermal expansion between the electrostatic chuck 1 and the heat radiating sheet, see for example para. [0074]) created by curing (i.e., sintering/spraying) a solid adhesive sheet (i.e., such as a heat radiating sheet is stuck to the face in which the above-mentioned electrode 6 for electrostatic attraction is formed through the adhesive layer 26, see for example para. [0109]) on which a space part (i.e., such as the heat radiating sheet 21 is obtained by covering a resistor heating element 22 with an insulator. And as the insulator, similarly to the abovementioned adhesive layer 26, an imide resin, an epoxy resin, a silicone resin, and a phenol resin may be
used, see for example para. [0109]) which is a depression (i.e., such as holes, setting face, and grooves are formed by drilling and grinding machining, see for example para. [0107]) or a through hole (i.e., 23; such as holes, setting face, and grooves are formed by drilling and grinding machining, see for example para. [0107]) is formed in advance (i.e., such as a method for forming the setting face using the plate-shaped ceramic of alumina and aluminum nitride, see for example para. [0107]).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]); the electrostatic chuck (1), wherein a refrigerant flow path (29) for supplying a refrigerant (i.e., cooling medium; such as a flow channel 29 for passing a cooling medium is formed in the cooling member 24 sand heat from the heat radiating sheet 21 and setting face 3 is removed and discharged out of the system, see for example para. [0073]) is formed in the base plate (24), and when viewed from a direction (Y) perpendicular to the placement surface (PS), when a proportion (i.e., PRN; see for example fig. 2, para. [0072]- [0115]) occupied by an area (A) of the at least one space (i.e., 5/3c; such as and through holes 5 communicated with the circular projected part 3a. And the electrostatic chuck 1 may comprise a plurality of convexities for supporting a wafer Won the gas packing face 3b if needed, see for example para. [0059]) per unit area (DL1, DL2) of the joining layer (26, 28) is assumed to be a space proportion (3c), the space proportion (3c) in a first portion (i.e., P1; see for example fig. 4 as shown below, para. [0065]- [0071]) of the joining layer (26, 28) which overlaps with an upstream side (USS) of the refrigerant flow path (29) is larger than the space proportion (3c) in a second portion (P2) of the joining layer (26, 28) which overlaps with a downstream side (DSS) of the refrigerant flow path (29).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0065]- [0071]); the electrostatic chuck (1), wherein when viewed from a direction (Y) perpendicular to the placement surface (PS), the first portion (P1) is at a position (PCC) closer to center than the second portion (P2).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura in view of Nagatomo and the teachings of Nakamura as modified by Nagatomo have been discussed above.
Nakamura further discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 5 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0072]- [0115]) (i.e., Also, see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0065]- [0071]); a method of manufacturing an electrostatic chuck (1), comprising the steps of: preparing a dielectric substrate (2) which includes a placement surface (PS) on which an attracted object (W) is to be placed, in which through holes (7) that penetrate the placement surface (PS) are formed, and in which an electrode terminal (8) is provided on a surface (OSPS) on an opposite side (OSPS) to the placement surface (PS); preparing a base plate (24); preparing a solid adhesive sheet (i.e., such as a heat radiating sheet is stuck to the face in which the above-mentioned electrode 6 for electrostatic attraction is formed through the adhesive layer 26, see for example para. [0109]) which is an insulating member (21) and on which a space part (i.e., such as the heat radiating sheet 21 is obtained by covering a resistor heating element 22 with an insulator. And as the insulator, similarly to the above-mentioned adhesive layer 26, an imide resin, an epoxy resin, a silicone resin, and a phenol resin may be used, see for example para. [0109]) being a depression (i.e., such as holes, setting face, and grooves are formed by drilling and grinding machining, see for example para. [0107]) or a through hole (i.e., 23; such as holes, setting face, and grooves are formed by drilling and grinding machining, see for example para. [0107]) has been formed (i.e., such as a method for forming the setting face using the plate-shaped ceramic of alumina and aluminum nitride, see for example para. [0107]); causing a surface (OSPS) of the dielectric substrate (2) on the opposite side (OSPS) to the placement surface (PS) and the base plate (24) to oppose each other (i.e., multi-layer scheme) and sandwiching the adhesive sheet (i.e., 21; insulating sheet 21 is between adhesive 26 the bottom face of 2 and adhesive 28 the top face of 24) between the dielectric substrate (2) and the base plate (24) so that the space part (5) does not overlap with both the through holes (7) and the electrode terminal (8); and curing (i.e., sintering/spraying) the adhesive sheet (21).
Nagatomo furthermore discloses the electrostatic chuck device (i.e., 1; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0055]); wherein that is an upper-side surface (i.e., 11a; such as a loading plate 11 having a loading upper surface side 11a on which a plate-shaped sample W such as a semiconductor wafer is loaded on the upper surface. On the loading surface 11a of the loading plate 11, a plurality of protrusion portions 11b having a diameter that is smaller than the thickness of the plate-shaped sample is formed at predetermined intervals, and these protrusion portions 11b support the plate-shaped sample W; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0055]) including a surface (i.e., bottom face surface of 19; such as the cooling gas is supplied to grooves 19 formed among a plurality of protrusion portions 11b on the upper surface of the loading plate 11 through the gas hole and cools the plate-shaped sample W; see for example fig. 1, para. [0024]- [0055]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838