DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 14-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huizen et al. (US 2020/0353867) in view of Wu et al. (CN 107719242).
Regarding claim 1, Huizen et al. (figures 1-20) discloses an exterior rear-view mirror assembly for a vehicle, comprising
a mirror base attached to the vehicle (18; see at least paragraphs 0035/0036); and
a mirror head (20) pivotably attached to the mirror base, wherein the mirror head is configured to operate in a plurality of positions with respect to the mirror base (The mirror head 20 is adjustable relative to the base portion 18 (such as at an outer end portion 16 of the base portion 18) via the actuator 22 fixedly attached at a bracket portion 23a (FIGS. 8 and 9) of the mirror assembly; see at least paragraph 0037),
the mirror head comprising a mirror case frame (mirror back plate 124) operably coupled to a glass actuator (122; figure 18) for mounting a mirror glass (mirror reflective element 112) and an upper mirror housing (114a) for securing the mirror case frame and the mirror glass (the mirror assembly 110 includes a mirror reflective element 112 and upper and lower mirror housing or casing 114a, 114b that are adjustable via an actuator 122 relative to a mounting arm or base 118; see at least paragraph 0046),
wherein the upper mirror housing (114a; figure 19) has a first upper mirror housing end and a second upper mirror housing end (on both upper ends of 114),
wherein the mirror case frame (upper and lower portions / left and right portions of mirror back plate 124) has a first mirror case frame end and a second mirror case frame end (figure 20).
Huizen et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Huizen et al. is silent regarding the twist-lock mechanism. Wu et al. (figures 1-8) teaches
wherein the mirror case fame (3) is secured with the upper mirror housing (42) using a twist-lock mechanism (bayonet 61) in combination with a fastening mechanism (see at least page 5, the last three paragraphs), wherein the second mirror case frame end and the second upper mirror housing end are coupled using the twist-lock mechanism, and the first mirror case frame end and the first upper mirror housing end are coupled using a fastening mechanism, wherein the twist-lock mechanism enables the fastening mechanism;
wherein the twist-lock mechanism involves twisting the mirror case frame with respect to the upper mirror housing (bayonet 61 pushes two cylindrical parts together and then twist them a quarter or half-turn to securely lock them into place);
wherein the first mirror case frame end is configured with at least one extended arm (one of the end connecting block 58);
wherein the upper mirror housing is configured with at least one fastening coupler (65 or bolts);
wherein the at least one extended arm is in proximity with the at least one fastening coupler after the twist-lock mechanism is performed between the mirror case frame and the upper mirror housing (a third outer shell 43 has a concave surface 62, the concave surface 62 is provided with a second through groove 63, mirror face connected with one end of the base 5 through the second groove 63 out of concave surface 62, concave surface 62 is further provided with multiple connecting cards 64. clamping blocks 65, the second screw thread connecting hole 66 and a fifth screw hole 67, each connecting sheet 64 connected with the connecting bayonet 61, clamping block 65 with square clamping groove is clamped, the second thread connecting hole 66 connecting hole 26 connected with the first screw thread. the fifth screw hole 67 connected with the first threaded hole 31, one end 43 of the third shell body is equipped with a locking opening 68, blocking opening 68 with the engaging block 54; see at least page 6, third paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the rib as taught by Muto et al. in order to enable relative placement accuracy of a peripheral face at the opening, the retention tube, and the support wall to be improved, and enable placement accuracy of the mirror body with respect to the peripheral face at the opening to be improved.
The limitation, “wherein the mirror case fame is secured with the upper mirror housing using a twist-lock mechanism in combination with a fastening mechanism, wherein the second mirror case frame end and the second upper mirror housing end are coupled using the twist-lock mechanism, and the first mirror case frame end and the first upper mirror housing end are coupled using a fastening mechanism, wherein the twist-lock mechanism enables the fastening mechanism; wherein the twist-lock mechanism involves twisting the mirror case frame with respect to the upper mirror housing; wherein the first mirror case frame end is configured with at least one extended arm; wherein the upper mirror housing is configured with at least one fastening coupler; wherein the at least one extended arm is in proximity with the at least one fastening coupler after the twist-lock mechanism is performed between the mirror case frame and the upper mirror housing” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Wu et al. discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 2, Huizen et al. (figures 1-20) discloses a lower mirror housing (114b) coupled to form an enclosure such that to accommodate the mirror case frame, the glass actuator and the mirror glass (124, 122, and mirror reflective element 112; figures 19-20).
Regarding claim 3, Huizen et al. (figures 1-20) discloses a bezel (actuator attachment plate 125; see at least paragraph 0046) secured with the assembly of mirror housings (114a and 114b) wherein the bezel is placed between the glass actuator (122; figure 18) and the mirror glass (mirror reflective element 112).
Regarding claim 4, Huizen et al. (figures 1-20) discloses wherein the mirror case frame (mirror back plate 124 and 122; figure 18) is operably coupled with the glass actuator to enable movement of the mirror glass.
The limitation, “wherein the mirror case frame is operably coupled with the glass actuator to enable movement of the mirror glass” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Huizen et al. discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 5, Huizen et al. (figures 1-20) discloses wherein the mirror case frame is configured to accommodate at least one actuator for changing the position of the mirror head with respect to the mirror base to one of the plurality of positions the mirror actuator 122 has its body or base 122a (that houses the actuator motors) attached at an actuator attachment plate 125 at the mirror back plate 124, while the actuator adapter plate 122b is attached at the bracket 123; see at least paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 6, Huizen et al. (figures 1-20) discloses wherein the mirror glass is operably secured with the mirror case frame via the glass actuator such that a pre-configured angle of the mirror glass can be changed with respect to the mirror case frame.
The limitation, “wherein the mirror glass is operably secured with the mirror case frame via the glass actuator such that a pre-configured angle of the mirror glass can be changed with respect to the mirror case frame” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Huizen et al. discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 7, Huizen et al. (figures 1-20) discloses wherein the second mirror case frame end is configured to accommodate at least one actuator in a direction perpendicular to an axis extending from the first upper mirror housing end to the second upper mirror housing end of the mirror case frame ((upper and lower portions / left and right portions of mirror back plate 124); the mirror actuator 122 has its body or base 122a (that houses the actuator motors) attached at an actuator attachment plate 125 at the mirror back plate 124, while the actuator adapter plate 122b is attached at the bracket 123; see at least paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 14, Huizen et al. (figures 1-20) discloses wherein the twist-lock mechanism involves sliding the at least one extended rib of the mirror case frame on a sliding plane of the end-stop wall of the second upper mirror housing such that to restrict a downward movement.
The limitation, “wherein the twist-lock mechanism involves sliding the at least one extended rib of the mirror case frame on a sliding plane of the end-stop wall of the second upper mirror housing such that to restrict a downward movement” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Huizen et al. discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 15, Huizen et al. (figures 1-20) discloses wherein the restriction of movement of the mirror case frame in the upward direction and in the downward direction is simultaneously achieved by the offset positioning of the at least one end-stop wall and the at least one rib.
The limitation, “wherein the restriction of movement of the mirror case frame in the upward direction and in the downward direction is simultaneously achieved by the offset positioning of the at least one end-stop wall and the at least one rib” is functional in nature. Such a functional limitation is only given patentable weight insofar as it imparts a structural limitation. Here, Huizen et al. discloses the structural limitations required to perform the function as claimed. It is further noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 19, Huizen et al. (figures 1-20) discloses wherein the at least one extended arm and the at least one fastening coupler is secured using at least one fastening mechanism including a screwing mechanism, a snap-fit mechanism or using adhesive.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP §2113.
Regarding claim 20, Huizen et al. (figures 1-20) discloses a vehicle comprising the exterior rear-view assembly according to claim 1 (figure 1).
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huizen et al. (US 2020/0353867) in view of Wu et al. (CN 107719242); further in view of Muto et al. (US 2019/0077317).
Regarding claim 8, Huizen et al. discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Huizen et al. is silent regarding wherein the second mirror case frame end of the mirror case frame is configured with a mirror case frame profile, having at least one extended rib and at least one end-stop wall, offset to each other. Muto et al. (figures 1-2) teaches wherein the second mirror case frame end of the mirror case frame (24) is configured with a mirror case frame profile, having at least one extended rib and at least one end-stop wall, offset to each other (flat portion and extended portion of the area where screw 18D is disposed; figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the rib as taught by Muto et al. in order to enable relative placement accuracy of a peripheral face at the opening, the retention tube, and the support wall to be improved, and enable placement accuracy of the mirror body with respect to the peripheral face at the opening to be improved.
Regarding claim 9, Muto et al. (figures 1-2) teaches wherein the at least one end-stop wall restricts further movement of the mirror case frame in the upward direction (flat portion and extended portion of the area where screw 18D is disposed; figure 1).
The limitations “wherein the at least one end-stop wall restricts further movement of the mirror case frame in the upward direction” are regarded as intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 10, Muto et al. (figures 1-2) teaches wherein the second upper mirror housing end is configured with an opening towards a bottom end of the upper mirror housing (the surface of body 16 facing 24; The vehicle width direction outside portion of the reinforcement 24 at the pair of assembly plates 24B is fixed to the visor body 16 by fastening a third screw 18C and a fourth screw 18D, each serving as an assembly member; see at least paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 11, Muto et al. (figures 1-2) teaches wherein the opening is configured to match the mirror case frame profile (the opening is where screw 18 is inserted into the body 16; The vehicle width direction outside portion of the reinforcement 24 at the pair of assembly plates 24B is fixed to the visor body 16 by fastening a third screw 18C and a fourth screw 18D, each serving as an assembly member; see at least paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 12, Muto et al. (figures 1-2) teaches wherein the opening is further configured with at least one cut-out, and the opening is configured to allow the mirror case frame to enter, vertically with respect to the length of the upper mirror housing, from the bottom in an upward direction such that at least one rib of the mirror case frame passes through the at least one cut-out of the upper mirror housing (portions of 24 is inserted into the body 16 as shown in figure 2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871