DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kumagai (WO 2021/106391 A1).
As for claim 1, Kumagai discloses a vehicle battery support structure comprising: a ladder frame including a side rail (3L) extending in a vehicle front-rear direction; a battery pack (2) disposed below the ladder frame; a battery bracket (21A,B) fixed to an outer side of the battery pack in a vehicle width direction; a suspension bracket fixed to the battery bracket and including a horizontal portion (31) extending in the vehicle width direction from an outer side of the side rail in the vehicle width direction, and an inclined portion (30) extending outward in the vehicle width direction and downward from an outer end of the horizontal portion in the vehicle width direction; and a shock absorbing component (22L) disposed on an outer side of the battery bracket in the vehicle width direction.
As for claim 2, Kumagai further discloses wherein: a bent portion (i.e., the area labelled 30b in Fig. 3) between the horizontal portion and the inclined portion; and the bent portion is provided at a height equal to or higher than an upper surface of the battery pack.
As for claim 3, Kumagai further discloses at least a part of the shock absorbing component and at least a part of the battery pack disposed at the same height; and the shock absorbing component is supported on the side rail via the battery bracket and the suspension bracket. See Fig. 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai (WO 2021/106391 A1) in view of Baccouche et al. (US 2022/0134857 A1).
Kumagai meets all the limitations of the claimed invention, but does not disclose details of the vehicle body, including the cabin-supporting cab mount bracket and rocker. As for claim 4, Kumagai discloses a cabin (4). It is well-known in the art that a vehicle chassis supports a vehicle cabin. See, for example, Baccouche et al. (paragraph [0022]). While Kumagai is silent with respect to the bracket that connects the side rail to the cabin, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that such a structure would be necessary to support the cabin and would be at least indirectly fixed to the suspension bracket via the side rail.
As for claim 5, Baccouche et al. disclose a rocker (28) extending in the vehicle front-rear direction, disposed below the cabin and on an outer side of the cabin in the vehicle width direction (note that a bracket for mounting a battery 30 to a frame rail 16 is disposed below the rocker). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Kumagai to include the rocker of Baccouche et al. to provide structural rigidity to the vehicle body and absorb side impacts (see Fig. 9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Katy M Ebner/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613