DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pfauch (DE-102011080579-A1) .
The applied reference has a common inventor & applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In regards to claim 1, Pfauch teaches a fitting for receiving a sensor, the fitting comprising: (abstract; 2, 4, 10, 20 fig. 1a, ‘housing’, ‘probe’, ‘immersion tube/dip tube’, ‘sealing system’)
an outer housing which extends along a first axis and includes a primary medium inlet and a primary medium outlet, each configured to enable measuring medium to flow through the outer housing, wherein the outer housing further includes a cleaning inflow channel, a cleaning outflow channel, and a fluid channel; (2, 3, 30, 34, 38 fig. 1a, ‘housing’, ‘treatment chamber’, ‘first port/first connection’, ‘second connection’, ‘openings’)
an inner housing which extends along the first axis and is configured to be moveable about the first axis between a measurement position and a service position, wherein the inner housing includes a sensor chamber having a secondary medium inlet and a secondary medium outlet, (abstract; 2, 4, 10, 20 fig. 1a, ‘housing’, ‘probe’, ‘immersion tube/dip tube’, ‘sealing system’; fig(s) 1a, 4a, ‘retracted service position’; fig. 3, ‘process position/service position’)
wherein the secondary medium inlet is fluidically connected to the primary medium inlet, and the secondary medium outlet is fluidly connected to the primary medium outlet when the inner housing is in the measurement position, and (38 fig(s) 1a, 4a, ‘openings with inlets and outlets on both sides in the immersion tube/dip tube’)
wherein the cleaning inflow channel is fluidically connected to the secondary medium inlet and the cleaning outflow channel is fluidically connected to the secondary medium outlet when the inner housing is in the service position; and (para(s) [0005-0006, 0022, 0060]; 30, 33-34 fig 3, ‘first connection’, ‘second connection’)
a sealing unit disposed between the outer housing and the inner housing, wherein the sealing unit is elastic and includes a cavity therein fluidically connected to the fluid channel and operable to be pressurized by a fluid having a first fluid pressure so as to press the sealing unit against the outer housing and against the inner housing with a first pressing force such that no measuring medium penetrates into the fitting. (para(s) [0058-0060, 0068, 0071]; 11-13, 21-23, 20 fig(s) 1(a-b), 2, 4a, ‘upper area’, ‘middle area’, lower area’, ‘upper section’, ‘middle section’, ‘lower section’, ‘sealing system’)
In regards to claim 2, Pfauch teaches a fitting according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein the sealing unit extends around the first axis and/or around the primary medium inlet and the primary medium outlet. (para(s) [0058-0060, 0068, 0071]; 20 fig(s) 1(a-b), 2, 4a, ‘sealing system’)
In regards to claim 3, Pfauch teaches a fitting according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein the sealing unit is integrally formed with the outer housing. (para(s) [0058-0060, 0068, 0071]; 20 fig(s) 1(a-b), 2, 4a, ‘sealing system’)
In regards to claim 4, Pfauch teaches a fitting according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein the sealing unit is integrally formed with the outer housing by a two-component injection molding method. (para(s) [0058-0060, 0068, 0071]; 20 fig(s) 1(a-b), 2, 4a, ‘sealing system’; para [0046], ‘The housing 2 has usually cylindrical shape and consists for example of stainless steel or a durable plastic such as polyetheretherketone (PEEK).’)
In regards to claim 5, Pfauch teaches a fitting according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) further comprising a clamping ring, wherein the outer housing comprises a first half-part and a second half-part, and wherein the clamping ring is configured to clamp the sealing unit between the clamping ring and the first half-part and between the clamping ring and the second half-part. (claim 11; 44 fig(s) 1(-b), 2-4, ‘locking element’)
In regards to claim 6, Pfauch teaches a fitting according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein the cleaning inflow channel opens via an inflow mouth into the secondary medium inlet when the inner housing is in the service position, and wherein the cleaning outflow channel opens via a outflow mouth into the secondary medium outlet when the inner housing is in the service position, wherein the inflow mouth and the outflow mouth are arranged at a distance from one another along the first axis. (para(s) [0005-0006, 0022, 0060]; 30, 33-34 fig 3, ‘first connection’, ‘second connection’; abstract; 2, 4, 10, 20 fig. 1a, ‘housing’, ‘probe’, ‘immersion tube/dip tube’, ‘sealing system’; fig(s) 1a, 4a, ‘retracted service position’; fig. 3, ‘process position/service position’)
In regards to claim 7, Pfauch teaches a fitting according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) further comprising a securing element, which is fastened to the outer housing, wherein the inner housing includes a groove extending around the first axis, and wherein the securing element engages in the groove such that a displacement of the inner housing along the first axis is prevented. (claim 11; 44 fig(s) 1(-b), 2-4, ‘locking element’)
In regards to claim 8, Pfauch teaches a fitting according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein the fluid channel includes a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet, wherein the fluid outlet opens into the cavity of the sealing unit, wherein the fluid channel includes a check valve configured to prevent a fluid flow from the fluid outlet to the fluid inlet. (30-34 fig(s) 1(a-b), 2-4, ‘first port connection’, ‘leakage hole/bore’, ‘second connection ‘, ‘detection unit’,
In regards to claim 11, Pfauch teaches a method of using a fitting in a process having a measuring medium, the method comprising: (abstract; fig(s) 1(a-b), 2-4)
providing a fitting according to claim 8, (see claim rejection 8)
wherein the inner housing is in the measurement position, and the sealing unit is pressed against the outer housing and against the inner housing with a first pressing force such that no measuring medium penetrates into the fitting; (abstract; 2, 4, 10, 20 fig. 1a, ‘housing’, ‘probe’, ‘immersion tube/dip tube’, ‘sealing system’; fig(s) 1a, 4a, ‘retracted service position’; fig. 3, ‘process position/service position’; para(s) [0058-0068, 0071])
pressurizing the sealing unit at a third fluid pressure by a fluid such that the sealing unit is pressed against the outer housing and against the inner housing with a third pressing force; moving the inner housing from the measurement position into the service position; and (abstract; 2, 4, 10, 20 fig. 1a, ‘housing’, ‘probe’, ‘immersion tube/dip tube’, ‘sealing system’; fig(s) 1a, 4a, ‘retracted service position’; fig. 3, ‘process position/service position’; para(s) [0058-0068, 0071])
releasing the pressurization of the sealing unit at the third fluid pressure such that the sealing unit is pressed with the first pressing force against the outer housing and against the inner housing such that no measuring medium penetrates into the fitting. (abstract; 2, 4, 10, 20 fig. 1a, ‘housing’, ‘probe’, ‘immersion tube/dip tube’, ‘sealing system’; fig(s) 1a, 4a, ‘retracted service position’; fig. 3, ‘process position/service position’; para(s) [0058-0068, 0071])
In regards to claim 10, Pfauch teaches a method of using a fitting in a process having a measuring medium, the method comprising: (abstract; fig(s) 1(a-b), 2-4)
providing a fitting according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1)
wherein the inner housing is in the measurement position, and the sealing unit is pressurized with a first fluid pressure by a fluid such that the sealing unit is pressed against the outer housing and against the inner housing by a first pressing force such that no measuring medium penetrates into the fitting; (abstract; 2, 4, 10, 20 fig. 1a, ‘housing’, ‘probe’, ‘immersion tube/dip tube’, ‘sealing system’; fig(s) 1a, 4a, ‘retracted service position’; fig. 3, ‘process position/service position’; para(s) [0058-0068, 0071])
pressurizing the sealing unit with a third fluid pressure by a fluid such that the sealing unit is pressed against the outer housing and against the inner housing with a third pressing force; (abstract; 2, 4, 10, 20 fig. 1a, ‘housing’, ‘probe’, ‘immersion tube/dip tube’, ‘sealing system’; fig(s) 1a, 4a, ‘retracted service position’; fig. 3, ‘process position/service position’; para(s) [0058-0068, 0071])
moving the inner housing from the measurement position into the service position; and (fig. 3, ‘process position/service position’)
pressurizing the sealing unit with the first fluid pressure by the fluid such that the sealing unit is pressed against the outer housing and against the inner housing with the first pressing force and such that no measuring medium penetrates into the fitting. (abstract; 2, 4, 10, 20 fig. 1a, ‘housing’, ‘probe’, ‘immersion tube/dip tube’, ‘sealing system’; fig(s) 1a, 4a, ‘retracted service position’; fig. 3, ‘process position/service position’; para(s) [0058-0068, 0071])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pfauch (DE-102011080579-A1) .
The applied reference has a common inventor & applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In regards to claim 9, Pfauch teaches a fitting for receiving a sensor, the fitting comprising: (abstract; 2, 4, 10, 20 fig. 1a, ‘housing’, ‘probe’, ‘immersion tube/dip tube’, ‘sealing system’)
an outer housing which extends along a first axis and includes a primary medium inlet and a primary medium outlet for measurement medium to flow through the outer housing, (2, 3, 30, 34, 38 fig. 1a, ‘housing’, ‘treatment chamber’, ‘first port/first connection’, ‘second connection’, ‘openings’)
wherein the outer housing includes a cleaning inflow channel, a cleaning outflow channel, and a fluid channel; (para(s) [0005-0006, 0022, 0060]; 30, 33-34 fig 3, ‘first connection’, ‘second connection’)
an inner housing which extends along the first axis and is moveable about the first axis between a measurement position and a service position, (abstract; 2, 4, 10, 20 fig. 1a, ‘housing’, ‘probe’, ‘immersion tube/dip tube’, ‘sealing system’; fig(s) 1a, 4a, ‘retracted service position’; fig. 3, ‘process position/service position’; para(s) [0046-0054])
wherein the inner housing includes a sensor chamber with a secondary medium inlet and a secondary medium outlet, (abstract; 2, 4, 10, 20 fig. 1a, ‘housing’, ‘probe’, ‘immersion tube/dip tube’, ‘sealing system’; fig(s) 1a, 4a, ‘retracted service position’; fig. 3, ‘process position/service position’; para(s) [0046-0054])
wherein the secondary medium inlet is fluidically connected to the primary medium inlet, and the secondary medium outlet is fluidly connected to the primary medium outlet when the inner housing is in the measurement position, (38 fig(s) 1a, 4a, ‘openings with inlets and outlets on both sides in the immersion tube/dip tube’)
wherein the cleaning inflow channel is fluidically connected to the secondary medium inlet, and the cleaning outflow channel is fluidically connected to the secondary medium outlet when the inner housing is in the service position, (para(s) [0005-0006, 0022, 0060]; 30, 33-34 fig 3, ‘first connection’, ‘second connection’)
wherein a gap of a preset gap width is formed between the inner housing and the outer housing; and (para(s) [0047, 0053]; fig(s) 1(a-b), 2-3, 4(a-b), ‘shows gap between an inner and outer housing’; ‘A dip tube, which can be moved axially by a drive at least between two, preferably three positions, namely a process position extended from the housing, at least one intermediate position, and a service position inserted into the housing, A probe provided in the dip tube, the probe having a probe head at its end facing the medium’)
a sealing unit arranged in the gap and having a preset sealing thickness, wherein the sealing thickness is greater than the gap width such that the sealing unit is pressed against the outer housing and against the inner housing with a first pressing force, (para(s) [0058-0060, 0068, 0071]; 11-13, 21-23, 20 fig(s) 1(a-b), 2, 4a, ‘upper area’, ‘middle area’, lower area’, ‘upper section’, ‘middle section’, ‘lower section’, ‘sealing system’)
wherein the sealing unit is elastic and includes a cavity therein, which is fluidically connected to the fluid channel and is configured to be pressurized by a fluid with a second fluid pressure such that the sealing unit is pressed against the outer housing and against the inner housing with a second pressing force, wherein the second pressing force is less than the first pressing force. (para(s) [0058-0060, 0068, 0071]; 11-13, 21-23, 20 fig(s) 1(a-b), 2, 4a, ‘upper area’, ‘middle area’, lower area’, ‘upper section’, ‘middle section’, ‘lower section’, ‘sealing system’)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited Salo (FI-126927-B), Hayashi (US-20100243076), Kleinpeter (DE-102020120823-A1) and Witt (DE-102011082794-A1) references further describe a valve and sealing device as described by the claims.
/K.C.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852