DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s 12/23/2025 amendment.
Claim 5 is cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 12, 14, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun (CN108200753A).
Regarding claim 1, Sun discloses an immersion heat dissipation system having two circulations, comprising:
A tank body (1) comprising an accommodating structure (i.e. an interior of the tank body) (Figure 1), where the accommodating structure is adapted to accommodate an electronic device (9),
A first circulation module (Figure 1: See elements associated with 5) comprising a first circulation pipe unit (Figure 1: See piping connecting 1 and 5), where the first circulation pipe unit is arranged on an outside of the tank body and in communication with the accommodating structure (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 3-5 of the attached translation), and
A second circulation module (Figure 1: See elements associated with 8), outside of the tank body (Figure 1), where the second circulation module is configured to exchange heat between air outside the tank body (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 44-46 of the attached translation: Via heat exchanger 8) and liquid in the accommodating structure (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 3-18 of the attached translation).
Regarding claim 2, Sun discloses an immersion heat dissipation system as discussed above, further comprising:
A second circulation pipe unit (Figure 1: See piping connecting 7 and 8) and a liquid heat exchanger (7), where the liquid heat exchanger is arranged in the accommodating structure (Figure 1),
The second circulation module comprises at least one gas heat exchanger (8) configured to perform heat exchange on the air outside the tank body (Figure 1 and Page 4, lines 44-46 of the attached translation),
The second circulation pipe unit is connected to the liquid heat exchanger and each of the at least one gas heat exchanger (Figure 1 and Page 4, lines 15-18 of the attached translation), and
The first circulation module and the second circulation module perform heat exchange through the liquid heat exchanger in the accommodating structure (Figure 1 and Page 4, lines 3-18 of the attached translation).
Regarding claim 12, Sun discloses an immersion heat dissipation system as discussed above, further comprising a second working fluid (Figure 1 and Page 4, lines 15-18 of the attached translation: A fluid associated with 8), where the second circulation module further comprises a second fluid driving unit connected to the second circulation pipe unit (Figure 1, see also Page 2, lines 16-18 and Page 3, lines 15-18 of the attached translation: Defined by a pump), and the second fluid driving unit is configured to drive the second working fluid to flow toward the liquid heat exchanger (Figure 1, see also Page 2, lines 16-18 and Page 3, lines 15-18 of the attached translation: Defined by a pump).
Regarding claim 14, Sun discloses a heat dissipation assembly as discussed above, where the circulation pipe unit comprises:
A first immersed portion connected to an inlet portion of the liquid heat exchanger and an outlet of the fluid driving unit (Annotated Figure 1, see also Page 2, lines 16-18 and Page 3, lines 15-18 of the attached translation),
A first turning portion connected to an inlet of the fluid driving unit and a cooling portion of the gas heat exchanger (Annotated Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 15-18 and 44-46 of the attached translation),
A second immersed portion connected to an outlet portion of the liquid heat exchanger (Annotated Figure 1), and
A second turning portion connected to the second immersed portion and a high- temperature portion of the gas heat exchanger (Annotated Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 15-18 and 44-46 of the attached translation).
Regarding claim 19, Sun discloses a heat dissipation assembly, adapted to accommodate a working fluid, comprising:
a liquid heat exchanger (7) configured to perform heat exchange on a liquid (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 8-12 of the attached translation),
a gas heat exchanger (8) configured to perform heat exchange on air (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 15-18 and 44-46 of the attached translation), and
a circulation pipe unit (Figure 1: See piping associated with 8) adapted to accommodate the working fluid, where the circulation pipe unit is connected (i.e. thermally) to the liquid heat exchanger and the gas heat exchanger (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 20, Sun discloses a heat dissipation assembly as discussed above, further comprising a fluid driving unit (Figure 1, see also Page 2, lines 16-18 and Page 3, lines 15-18 of the attached translation: Defined by a pump), where the fluid driving unit is connected to the circulation pipe unit and configured to drive the working fluid to flow toward the liquid heat exchanger (Figure 1, see also Page 2, lines 16-18 and Page 3, lines 15-18 of the attached translation).
Regarding claim 21, Sun discloses a heat dissipation assembly as discussed above, where the circulation pipe unit comprises:
A first immersed portion connected to an inlet portion of the liquid heat exchanger and an outlet of the fluid driving unit (Annotated Figure 1, see also Page 2, lines 16-18 and Page 3, lines 15-18 of the attached translation),
A first turning portion connected to an inlet of the fluid driving unit and a cooling portion of the gas heat exchanger (Annotated Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 15-18 and 44-46 of the attached translation),
A second immersed portion connected to an outlet portion of the liquid heat exchanger (Annotated Figure 1), and
A second turning portion connected to the second immersed portion and a high- temperature portion of the gas heat exchanger (Annotated Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 15-18 and 44-46 of the attached translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN108200753A), and further in view of Shaw et al. (US 2022/0201902)
Regarding claims 3 and 22, Sun discloses an immersion heat dissipation system as discussed above. While Sun discloses that the second circulation module is configured to exchange heat between a circulating fluid and a gas (i.e. air) (Page 3, lines 44-46 of the attached translation), Sun does not explicitly teach or disclose a gas transfer apparatus.
Shaw et al. teaches a heat dissipation system, comprising at least: a circulation module (114) configured to exchange heat between a circulating fluid (121) and a gas (i.e. air), where the second circulation module further comprises a gas transfer apparatus (128), where the gas heat exchanger (126) is arranged on an air inlet side of the gas transfer apparatus (Figure 1), and where the gas transfer apparatus is configured to drive the air to flow with an air mass flow rate in response to a temperature of the liquid heat exchanger (Paragraph 32). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the gas heat exchanger as disclosed by Sun with a gas transfer apparatus as taught by Shaw et al. to improve heat exchanger heat exchange efficiency by varying a forced convective airflow to ensure electronic device temperature is within a predetermined range.
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN108200753A) and Shaw et al. (US 2022/0201902), and further in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2011/0049976).
Regarding claim 4, Sun discloses an immersion heat dissipation system as discussed above. However, sun does not explicitly teach or disclose that the at least one gas heat exchanger comprises a plurality of fins.
Suzuki et al. teaches a heat dissipation system, comprising: at least one gas heat exchanger (2), where the at least one gas heat exchanger comprises a plurality of fins (Figure 1), where the fins are parallel to each other and form an airflow channel (Figure 1), and where the air flows along the airflow channel (Figure 1). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the first gas heat exchanger as disclosed by Sun with fins as taught by Suzuki et al. to improve heat exchanger heat exchange efficiency by increasing overall surface area available for heat transfer.
Regarding claim 17, Sun discloses an immersion heat dissipation system as discussed above, further comprising:
A second circulation pipe unit (Figure 1: See piping connecting 7 and 8) and a liquid heat exchanger (7), where the liquid heat exchanger is in the accommodating structure (Figure 1), and the first circulation module and the second circulation module perform heat exchange through the liquid heat exchanger in the accommodating structure (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 3-28 of the attached translation)
The first circulation module further comprises a first fluid driving unit (i.e. 5) connected to the first circulation pipe unit (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 3-28 of the attached translation)
The second circulation module comprises a gas heat exchanger (i.e. 8), a second fluid driving unit (Figure 1, see also Page 2, lines 16-18 and Page 3, lines 15-18 of the attached translation: Defined by a pump). While Sun discloses that the gas heat exchanger is configured to perform heat exchange on the air outside the tank body, Sun does not explicitly teach or disclose a gas transfer apparatus.
Shaw et al. teaches a heat dissipation system, comprising at least: a circulation module (114) configured to exchange heat between a circulating fluid (121) and a gas (i.e. air), where the second circulation module further comprises a gas transfer apparatus (128), where the gas heat exchanger (126) is arranged on an air inlet side of the gas transfer apparatus (Figure 1), and where the gas transfer apparatus is configured to drive the air to flow with an air mass flow rate in response to a temperature of the liquid heat exchanger (Paragraph 32). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the gas heat exchanger as disclosed by Sun with a gas transfer apparatus as taught by Shaw et al. to improve heat exchanger heat exchange efficiency by varying a forced convective airflow to ensure electronic device temperature is within a predetermined range.
While Sun discloses that the gas heat exchanger is configured to perform heat exchange on the air outside the tank body, Sun does not explicitly teach or disclose that the at least one gas heat exchanger comprises a plurality of fins.
Suzuki et al. teaches a heat dissipation system, comprising: at least one gas heat exchanger (2), where the at least one gas heat exchanger comprises a plurality of fins (Figure 1), where the fins are parallel to each other and form an airflow channel (Figure 1), and where the air flows along the airflow channel (Figure 1). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the first gas heat exchanger as disclosed by Sun with fins as taught by Suzuki et al. to improve heat exchanger heat exchange efficiency by increasing overall surface area available for heat transfer.
Sun further discloses that the circulation pipe unit comprises:
A first immersed portion connected to an inlet portion of the liquid heat exchanger and an outlet of the fluid driving unit (Annotated Figure 1, see also Page 2, lines 16-18 and Page 3, lines 15-18 of the attached translation),
A first turning portion connected to an inlet of the fluid driving unit and a cooling portion of the gas heat exchanger (Annotated Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 15-18 and 44-46 of the attached translation),
A second immersed portion connected to an outlet portion of the liquid heat exchanger (Annotated Figure 1), and
A second turning portion connected to the second immersed portion and a high- temperature portion of the gas heat exchanger (Annotated Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 15-18 and 44-46 of the attached translation).
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN108200753A) and Shaw et al. (US 2022/0201902), and further in view of Smith (US 2019/0219311).
Regarding claim 6, Sun discloses an immersion heat dissipation system as discussed above, further comprising a first working fluid (6) in the accommodating structure (Figure 1), where the first circulation module further comprises a first fluid driving unit (i.e. 5) connected to the first circulation pipe unit (Figure 1). While Sun discloses that the first fluid driving unit is configured to drive the first working fluid to flow toward the liquid heat exchanger (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 3-5 of the attached translation) and that the liquid heat exchanger is configured to perform heat exchange on the first working fluid (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 3-28 of the attached translation), Sun does not explicitly teach or disclose that the first fluid driving unit is immersed in the first working fluid.
Smith teaches a heat dissipation system, comprising: a tank body (100) defining an accommodating structure, where a working fluid (120) is in the accommodating structure (Figure 1), and where a circulation module includes a fluid driving unit (210) immersed in the working fluid (Figure 1). Smith alternatively acknowledges fluid driving units that are immersed (Figure 1) or not immersed (Figure 3) in a working fluid. As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the first fluid driving unit as disclosed by Sun as immersed in a working fluid as taught by Smith to improve heat dissipation system safety and reliability by locating a fluid driving unit in an enclosed space that is isolated from an outside environment.
Regarding claim 11, Sun discloses an immersion heat dissipation system as discussed above, where the first working fluid is configured to absorb heat of the electronic device as a stationary phase (i.e. a liquid phase) (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 3-28 of the attached translation).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN108200753A) and Shaw et al. (US 2022/0201902), and further in view of Boyd et al. (US 2015/0181762).
Regarding claim 7, Sun discloses an immersion heat dissipation system as discussed above, where the first fluid driving unit is configured to drive the first working fluid to flow with a liquid mass flow rate (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 3-28 of the attached translation). However, Sun does not explicitly teach or disclose that the first fluid driving unit is configured to drive the first working fluid in response to a temperature of the first working fluid.
Boyd et al. teaches a heat dissipation system, comprising: a tank body (14) defining an accommodating structure, where a working fluid (Paragraph 36: Dielectric fluid) is in the accommodating structure (Figure 1), and where a circulation module includes a fluid driving unit (48a, 48b), where the fluid driving unit is configured to drive the working fluid to flow with a liquid mass flow rate in response to a temperature of the first working fluid (Paragraph 36). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the first fluid driving unit as disclosed by Sun to drive the working fluid in response to a temperature of the first working fluid as taught by Boyd et al. to improve heat dissipation system safety and reliability by ensuring electronic device temperature is within a predetermined range.
Regarding claim 16, Sun discloses an immersion heat dissipation system as discussed above, further comprising:
A second circulation pipe unit (Figure 1: See piping connecting 7 and 8), a liquid heat exchanger (7), a first working fluid (Page 3, lines 3-28 of the attached translation: A fluid associated with 5), and a second working fluid (Page 3, lines 3-28 of the attached translation: A fluid associated with 8),
Where the liquid heat exchanger and the first working fluid are in the accommodating structure (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 3-28 of the attached translation), and the first circulation module and the second circulation module perform heat exchange through the liquid heat exchanger in the accommodating structure (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 3-28 of the attached translation),
The first circulation module further comprises a first fluid driving unit (i.e. 5) connected to the first circulation pipe unit (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 3-28 of the attached translation),
The first fluid driving unit is configured to drive the first working fluid to flow toward the liquid heat exchanger (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 3-28 of the attached translation), and
The liquid heat exchanger is configured to perform heat exchange on the first working fluid (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 3-28 of the attached translation),
The first working fluid is configured to absorb heat of the electronic device as a stationary phase (i.e. a liquid phase) (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 3-28 of the attached translation).
However, Sun does not explicitly teach or disclose that the first fluid driving unit is configured to drive the first working fluid in response to a temperature of the first working fluid.
Boyd et al. teaches a heat dissipation system, comprising: a tank body (14) defining an accommodating structure, where a working fluid (Paragraph 36: Dielectric fluid) is in the accommodating structure (Figure 1), and where a circulation module includes a fluid driving unit (48a, 48b), where the fluid driving unit is configured to drive the working fluid to flow with a liquid mass flow rate in response to a temperature of the first working fluid (Paragraph 36). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the first fluid driving unit as disclosed by Sun to drive the working fluid in response to a temperature of the first working fluid as taught by Boyd et al. to improve heat dissipation system safety and reliability by ensuring electronic device temperature is within a predetermined range.
Sun further discloses that the second circulation module comprises a gas heat exchanger (8), a second fluid driving unit (Figure 1, see also Page 2, lines 16-18 and Page 3, lines 15-18 of the attached translation: Defined by a pump),
The gas heat exchanger is configured to perform heat exchange on the air outside the tank body (Figure 1 and Page 4, lines 44-46 of the attached translation),
The second fluid driving unit is connected to the second circulation pipe unit, is configured to drive the second working fluid to flow toward the liquid heat exchanger, and is configured to drive the second working fluid to flow with a flow rate (Figure 1 and Page 4, lines 15-18 of the attached translation).
However, Sun does not explicitly teach or disclose that the second fluid driving unit is configured to drive the second working fluid in response to a temperature of the second working fluid.
Boyd et al. teaches a heat dissipation system, comprising: a tank body (14) defining an accommodating structure, where a working fluid (Paragraph 36: Dielectric fluid) is in the accommodating structure (Figure 1), and where a circulation module includes a fluid driving unit (48a, 48b), where the fluid driving unit is configured to drive the working fluid to flow with a liquid mass flow rate in response to a temperature of the first working fluid (Paragraph 36). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the second fluid driving unit as disclosed by Sun to drive the working fluid in response to a temperature of the second working fluid as taught by Boyd et al. to improve heat dissipation system safety and reliability by ensuring electronic device temperature is within a predetermined range.
While Sun discloses that the second circulation module is configured to exchange heat between a circulating fluid and a gas (i.e. air) (Page 3, lines 44-46 of the attached translation), Sun does not explicitly teach or disclose a gas transfer apparatus.
Shaw et al. teaches a heat dissipation system, comprising at least: a circulation module (114) configured to exchange heat between a circulating fluid (121) and a gas (i.e. air), where the second circulation module further comprises a gas transfer apparatus (128), where the gas heat exchanger (126) is arranged on an air inlet side of the gas transfer apparatus (Figure 1), and where the gas transfer apparatus is configured to drive the air to flow with an air mass flow rate in response to a temperature of the liquid heat exchanger (Paragraph 32). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the gas heat exchanger as disclosed by Sun with a gas transfer apparatus as taught by Shaw et al. to improve heat exchanger heat exchange efficiency by varying a forced convective airflow to ensure electronic device temperature is within a predetermined range.
Sun further discloses that the second circulation pipe unit is connected to the liquid heat exchanger and the gas heat exchanger (Figure 1 and Page 4, lines 15-18 of the attached translation), and
The second working fluid is flowed in the liquid heat exchanger, the gas heat exchanger, and the second circulation pipe unit (Figure 1 and Page 4, lines 15-18 of the attached translation).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN108200753A), and further in view of Boyd et al. (US 2015/0181762).
Regarding claim 13, Sun discloses an immersion heat dissipation system as discussed above, where the second fluid driving unit is configured to drive the second working fluid to flow with a liquid mass flow rate (Figure 1, see also Page 2, lines 16-18 and Page 3, lines 15-18 of the attached translation: Defined by a pump). However, Sun does not explicitly teach or disclose that the second fluid driving unit is configured to drive the second working fluid in response to a temperature of the second working fluid.
Boyd et al. teaches a heat dissipation system, comprising: a tank body (14) defining an accommodating structure, where a working fluid (Paragraph 36: Dielectric fluid) is in the accommodating structure (Figure 1), and where a circulation module includes a fluid driving unit (48a, 48b), where the fluid driving unit is configured to drive the working fluid to flow with a liquid mass flow rate in response to a temperature of the first working fluid (Paragraph 36). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the second fluid driving unit as disclosed by Sun to drive the working fluid in response to a temperature of the second working fluid as taught by Boyd et al. to improve heat dissipation system safety and reliability by ensuring electronic device temperature is within a predetermined range.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (CN108200753A), and further in view of Ishinabe (US 2019/0008077).
Regarding claim 15, Sun discloses an immersion heat dissipation system as discussed above. However, Sun does not explicitly teach or disclose a particular liquid heat exchanger structure.
Ishinabe teaches a heat exchanger, comprising: a heat dissipation pipe unit (40), connected to a circulation pipe unit (8) and a plurality of heat dissipation sheets (44), where the heat dissipation pipe unit is configured to pass through the heat dissipation sheets (Figures 5B and 5A), and two adjacent heat dissipation sheets are substantially parallel to each other and form a splitting flow channel (i.e. defined by a passage between the sheets) (Figures 5B and 5A). As a result it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the liquid heat exchanger as disclosed by Sun in the form of a heat exchanger as taught by Ishinabe to improve heat exchanger heat exchange efficiency by increasing overall surface area available for heat transfer.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the statements on page 12, line 1 to page 13, line 12:
Applicant’s statements regarding the amended application are noted.
Regarding the arguments on page 13, lines 13-18:
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the drawings objections of record.
Regarding the arguments on page 13, line 19 to page 14, line 18:
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the 35 USC 112 rejections of record.
Regarding the arguments on page 14, line 19 to page 16, line 19:
Applicant alleges that Sun does not teach or disclose a second circulation module, outside of the tank body, where the second circulation module is configured to exchange heat between air outside the tank body and liquid in the accommodating structure. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As set forth in the 35 USC 102 rejections as discussed above, Sun clearly discloses a second circulation module (Figure 1: See elements associated with 8), outside of the tank body (Figure 1), where the second circulation module is configured to exchange heat between air outside the tank body (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 44-46 of the attached translation: Via heat exchanger 8) and liquid in the accommodating structure (Figure 1 and Page 3, lines 3-18 of the attached translation) as claimed.
Further, and in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., elements of the first and second circulation modules such as an air transfer apparatus, pump, etc.) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In the instant case, and as discussed in the Claim Interpretation section of the 9/23/2025 Office Action, the terms “module”, “apparatus”, “unit” were identified as generic placeholders not conveying any specific structure. If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Applicant’s argument also raises possible indefiniteness issues as it is unclear how the second circulation is capable of exchanging heat between air outside of a tank body and liquid in an accommodating structure when the second circulation is located outside of the accommodating structure.
Regarding the arguments on page 16, line 20 to page 17, line 12:
Applicant alleges that Sun does not teach or disclose the external heat dissipation structure as recited in claim 1. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the same reasons as discussed above (see “Regarding the arguments on page 14, line 19 to page 16, line 19”).
Regarding the arguments on page 17, line 13 to page 18, line 2:
Applicant alleges that Shaw does not teach or disclose an immersed liquid heat exchanger as recited in the claimed invention. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's argument fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. In the instant case, the argument does not refer to a specific claim or claim limitation to which Shaw is applied.
However, assuming the argument is directed to claims 3 and 22, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the instant case, Sun discloses an immersion heat dissipation system as set forth in the 35 USC 103 rejections above, including at least a second circulation module is configured to exchange heat between a circulating fluid and a gas (i.e. air) (Page 3, lines 44-46 of the attached translation), except for a gas transfer apparatus.
It is understood that Shaw remedies Sun in that Shaw teaches a second circulation module (114) comprising a gas transfer apparatus (128), where the gas heat exchanger (126) is arranged on an air inlet side of the gas transfer apparatus (Figure 1), and where the gas transfer apparatus is configured to drive the air to flow with an air mass flow rate in response to a temperature of the liquid heat exchanger (Paragraph 32). Specifically, providing a heat exchanger with a gas transfer apparatus to vary convective cooling is obvious based on the current record.
Regarding the arguments on page 18, lines 3-14:
Applicant alleges that neither Sun or Shaw teaches or discloses the external heat dissipation structure as recited in claim 19. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As set forth in the 35 USC 102 rejections as discussed above, Sun clearly discloses a heat dissipation assembly as claimed. Applicant’s arguments directed to Shaw are moot as Shaw is not relied upon in the rejections of claim 19
Regarding the arguments on page 18, line 15 to page 21, line 12:
Applicant alleges that Sun and Shaw do not teach or disclose claims 1 and 19. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the same reasons as discussed above.
As set forth in the 35 USC 102 rejections as discussed above, Sun clearly discloses a heat dissipation assembly as claimed. Applicant’s arguments directed to Shaw are moot as Shaw is not relied upon in the rejections of claim 19
Applicant states that the Office Action acknowledges that Sun fails to disclose the claimed air transfer apparatus and alleges that Shaw does not teach or disclose an immersed liquid heat exchanger as recited in the claimed invention. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the same reasons as discussed above (see “Regarding the arguments on page 17, line 13 to page 18, line 2”).
Regarding the arguments on page 22, lines 1-11:
Applicant alleges that Sun and Shaw do not teach or disclose the claimed air transfer apparatus and there is no motivation to combine Sun and Shaw. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In the instant case, Sun discloses an immersion heat dissipation system as set forth in the 35 USC 103 rejections above, including at least a second circulation module is configured to exchange heat between a circulating fluid and a gas (i.e. air) (Page 3, lines 44-46 of the attached translation), except for a gas transfer apparatus.
It is understood that Shaw remedies Sun in that Shaw teaches a second circulation module (114) configured to exchange heat between a circulating fluid and a gas (Paragraph 32), where a gas transfer apparatus (128) is configured to drive the air to flow with an air mass flow rate in response to a temperature of the liquid heat exchanger (Paragraph 32). Specifically, providing a heat exchanger with a gas transfer apparatus to vary convective cooling is obvious based on the current record.
Regarding the arguments on page 22, lines 12-23:
Applicant alleges that Suzuki, Smith, Boyd, and Ishinabe do not remedy Sun regarding to the claimed air transfer apparatus. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are moot as none of Suzuki, Smith, Boyd, and Ishinabe are relied upon to teach an air transfer apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 18 are allowable for the same reasons as set forth in the 9/23/2025 Office Action. New claim claim 23 recites elements of previously indicated allowable claim 5 and is therefore also allowable for the same reasons as set forth in the 9/23/2025 Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON N THOMPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763