DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-3, 5-7, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coolbaugh et al. (US publication 2006/0145296 A1), hereinafter referred to as Coolbaugh.
Regarding claim 1, Coolbaugh teaches a semiconductor device (fig. 5i and related text) comprising: a substrate (405, [0065]); an element insulating layer (425/485/540/505, [0065 and 0077]) provided on the substrate; and a semiconductor resistance layer (450/560, [0086]) provided on the element insulating layer (fig. 5i), wherein the semiconductor resistance layer includes: a front surface side resistance layer (560) extending in a first direction (horizontal) perpendicular to a thickness direction of the substrate (fig. 5i); a substrate side resistance layer (450) arranged closer to the substrate than the front surface side resistance layer in the thickness direction (fig. 5i); and an internal connector (connector (475a/525a/570a/530) and another two connector shown in fig. 5i, [0091]) that electrically connects the front surface side resistance layer and the substrate side resistance layer in series ([0091]).
Regarding claim 2, Coolbaugh teaches wherein the substrate side resistance layer includes an overlap region that overlaps with the front surface side resistance layer when viewed from the thickness direction (fig. 5i).
Regarding claim 3, Coolbaugh teaches wherein the overlap region is formed over an entirety of the substrate side resistance layer in the first direction (fig. 5i).
Regarding claim 5, Coolbaugh teaches wherein the internal connector includes: a first internal via connected to the front surface side resistance layer; a second internal via provided at a different position from the first internal via in the first direction and connected to the substrate side resistance layer; and an internal wiring layer arranged at a different position from both the front surface side resistance layer and the substrate side resistance layer in the thickness direction and connected to both the first internal via and the second internal via (fig. 5i).
Regarding claim 6, Coolbaugh teaches wherein the internal connector includes an internal via connected to both the front surface side resistance layer and the overlap region of the substrate side resistance layer (fig. 5i).
Regarding claim 7, Coolbaugh teaches wherein both the front surface side resistance layer and the substrate side resistance layer have a first end portion and a second end portion, which are both end portions in the first direction, and wherein the internal via connects the second end portions of the front surface side resistance layer and the substrate side resistance layer in the first direction (fig. 5i).
Regarding claim 18, Coolbaugh teaches wherein when viewed from the thickness direction, a width dimension of the front surface side resistance layer and a width dimension of the substrate side resistance layer are equal to each other (fig. 5i).
Regarding claim 19, Coolbaugh teaches wherein a thickness of the front surface side resistance layer and a thickness of the substrate side resistance layer are equal to each other (fig. 5i).
Regarding claim 20, Coolbaugh teaches wherein the element insulating layer includes: a substrate side insulating layer provided on the substrate; and a front surface side insulating layer stacked on the substrate side insulating layer, wherein the substrate side insulating layer has a structure in which a plurality of first insulating films and a plurality of second insulating films that relieves a stress of the first insulating films are alternately stacked one by one, and wherein the semiconductor resistance layer is embedded in the front surface side insulating layer (fig. 5i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coolbaugh, as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Coolbaugh discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Coolbaugh does not explicitly teach wherein in the first direction, the front surface side resistance layer is longer than the substrate side resistance layer. However, Coolbaugh teaches different variation of length of the front surface side resistance layer compared to the substrate side resistance layer (the front surface side resistance layer length is equal to the substrate side resistance layer (fig. 1f), the front surface side resistance layer length is a little shorter than the substrate side resistance layer (fig. 2e), the front surface side resistance layer length is about half of the substrate side resistance layer (fig. 5i)) and thus makes it obvious that the front surface side resistance layer and the substrate side resistance layer length is a parameter that one must consider and decide upon and is something that can be optimized through routine experimentation.
Furthermore, it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. (MPEP §2144.05 II/III).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Coolbaugh so that wherein in the first direction, the front surface side resistance layer is longer than the substrate side resistance layer for the purpose of optimizing device performance and overall size of the device.
Regarding claim 17, Coolbaugh discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
In another embodiment Coolbaugh teaches wherein in the first direction, a length of the front surface side resistance layer and a length of the substrate side resistance layer are equal to each other (fig. 1f). Also, Coolbaugh teaches different variation of length of the front surface side resistance layer compared to the substrate side resistance layer (the front surface side resistance layer length is equal to the substrate side resistance layer (fig. 1f), the front surface side resistance layer length is a little shorter than the substrate side resistance layer (fig. 2e), the front surface side resistance layer length is about half of the substrate side resistance layer (fig. 5i)) and thus makes it obvious that the front surface side resistance layer and the substrate side resistance layer length is a parameter that one must consider and decide upon and is something that can be optimized through routine experimentation.
Furthermore, it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. (MPEP §2144.05 II/III).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Coolbaugh so that wherein in the first direction, a length of the front surface side resistance layer and a length of the substrate side resistance layer are equal to each other for the purpose of optimizing device performance and overall size of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The claims contain limitations that none of the prior art of record discloses, teaches or fairly suggests, alone or in combinations when taken in combination with all other limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED R ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897