DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 8, and 16 to require integral formation of the same material between the movable portion and flange. Independent claim 12 has been amended to require a deflecting arm cantilevered from the outer periphery of the flange.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 and 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/22/26 (with respect to claims 14-15; see pages 14-16) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (page 15) that Yang has two “separate pad structures,” not one. This is not persuasive. Claim 12 does not preclude a second deflecting arm. The rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues (page 15) that Yang’s rubber pads (5) “are not disclosed as deflecting arms.” This is not persuasive. Claim 12 gives no limitations on the size or shape of the deflecting arms. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation the rubber pads (5) in Yang could be considered deflecting arms at least because they protrude from the surface of the channel like an “arm” would, and they are disclosed as deflecting (see par. 22). Hence “deflecting arm.” The rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues (page 15) that Yang’s rubber pads (5) are not cantilevered. This is not persuasive. Yang’s pads (5) are cantilevered in the sense that they are supported only at one end, which is the meaning of “cantilevered” given in the Merriam Webster online dictionary.
Cantilever
: a projecting beam or member supported at only one end: such as
a: a bracket-shaped member supporting a balcony or a cornice
b: either of the two beams or trusses that project from piers toward each other and that when joined directly or by a suspended connecting member form a span of a cantilever bridge
-Mirriam Webster online dictionary, 07/30/26
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 104896199 A (hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 12 Yang discloses a spooling system for winding (capable of winding; i.e. this is a functional recitation) a length of a media onto a spool (figs. 1-2) and for retaining a finish end of the media on the spool (figs. 1-2), comprising:
a flange (4) of the spool (figs. 1-2) provided with a tie-off feature (T) at an outer periphery of the flange (4), the tie-off feature (T) comprising a receiving portion (R), a retaining portion (A), and a transition region (TR) between the receiving portion (R) and the retaining portion (A), the receiving portion (R) extending from the outer periphery towards the retaining portion (A) and narrowing (at 5) from the outer periphery to a passage (6) at the transition region (TR) between the receiving portion (R) and the retaining portion (A), the receiving portion (R) defining a receiving area larger than a diameter of the finish end of the media (or else the media could not enter the slot; see paragraph 22) adjacent the outer periphery and smaller than the diameter of the finish end of the media adjacent the passage (6) at the transition region (TR); and
a feed arm for feeding the media to the spool (i.e. there is necessarily some sort of mechanism for winding; whether human appendage or mechanical means) and for directing the media to the tie-off feature (T) at the outer periphery of the flange (4) and for disposing and inserting the finish end of the media (with which the system is useable) within the retaining portion (A) of the tie-off feature (T)
wherein a portion of the tie-off feature (T) is a deflecting arm (i.e. 5 is rubber and deflects; see paragraph 22) cantilevered from (attached only at one side to) the outer periphery of the flange (4) and is movable (5 deflects because it is rubber; see par. 22) at the passage (6) to allow the media to pass through the passage (6) from the receiving portion (R) to the retaining portion (A) (see par. 22).
Regarding claim 13 Yang discloses the above system, and further discloses wherein the portion (5) of the tie-off feature (T) is in the form of a deflecting tab (i.e. element 5 could be considered an “tab” or an “arm,” and it is made of rubber, so it can deflect; par. 22) comprising at least one deflecting arm configured and operable to deflect and allow the finish end of the media to pass through the passage (6) at the transition region (TR) between the receiving portion (R) and the retaining portion (A) (see par. 22).
Regarding claim 14 Yang discloses the above system, and further discloses wherein the portion of the tie-off feature (T) is in the form of a flexible membrane (i.e. rubber element 5 could be considered a membrane because it is thin; see fig. 1) comprising a pair of oppositely disposed flexing elements (see 5 in fig. 2) each configured and operable to flex in a circumferential direction and allow the finish end of the media to pass through the passage (6) at the transition region (TR) between the receiving portion (R) and the retaining portion (A).
Regarding claim 15 Yang discloses the above system, and further discloses wherein the tie-off feature (T) comprises a first tie-off feature (T) at the outer periphery of the flange (4) and a second tie-off feature (T2) at the outer periphery of the flange (4), and wherein the first tie-off feature (T) and the second tie-off feature (T2) are spaced apart in a circumferential direction along the outer periphery.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0252152 A1 (hereinafter “Schilling”) in view of US 4,882,843 A (hereinafter “Baba”).
Regarding claim 1 Schilling teaches a spool (see fig. 1) for winding a length of a media (22) onto the spool and for retaining a finish end (30) of the media (22) on the spool, comprising:
a generally cylindrical barrel (3); and
a [flange] (17-20) extending outwardly from the barrel (3), the flange (17-20) provided with a tie-off feature (27) at an outer periphery of the flange (17-20);
wherein the tie-off feature (27) comprises a receiving portion (R, see annotated fig. 3 below) for receiving the media (22) and a retaining portion (A) for retaining the media (22) within the tie-off feature (27) on the flange (17-20) of the spool (of fig. 1);
wherein the receiving portion (R) narrows (see fig. 3) from the outer periphery towards the retaining portion (A) to a transition region (T) between the receiving portion (R) and the retaining portion (A) that is narrower than a diameter of the media (i.e. or 22 would escape); and
wherein the tie-off feature (27) defines a passage (P, see annotated fig. 3 below) at the transition region (T) and [an engaging portion] (M) of the tie-off feature (27) [being] integrally formed from the same material as the flange (17-20), to allow the media (22) to pass through the transition region (T) from the receiving portion (R) to the retaining portion (A).
Schilling fails to teach the flange is generally annular. Also, it is not clear from Schilling whether the media deforms to fit into element 27, or if element 27 moves around the media when the media is fit into element 27 (i.e. it’s not clear if Schilling teaches “the portion of the tie-off feature is movable at the passage”). Baba teaches (see figs. 2-3) a spool for a similar type of media, the spool comprising a barrel (23), a flange (26), and on the flange a tie-off feature (27/28). Baba further teaches the flange is annular, and teaches the material of the spool can be a “plastic having some flexibility,” which allows the tie-off feature (27/28) some movement in order to allow removal of the media from the tie-off feature (col. 5 ll. 24-33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the flange of Schilling annular, as taught by Baba, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to better prevent the media from spooling incorrectly upon the barrel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the tie-off feature of Schilling flexible enough to receive the media by flexion, as taught by Baba, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to properly grip the media.
Regarding claim 2 modified Schilling teaches the above spool and further teaches wherein the portion (Schilling M, as modified per Baba, above) of the tie-off feature (Schilling 27) is in the form of a deflecting tab comprising (being) a deflecting arm within the receiving portion (Schilling R) of the tie-off feature (Schilling 27), and wherein the deflecting arm is configured and operable to deflect and allow the media (Schilling 22) to pass through the passage at the transition region (Schilling T) from the receiving portion (Schilling R) to the retaining portion (Schilling A).
Regarding claim 3 modified Schilling teaches the above spool and further teaches wherein the deflecting tab (Schilling M, as modified per Baba, above) comprises a pair of oppositely disposed deflecting arms (see Schilling fig. 3) within the receiving portion (Schilling R) of the tie-off feature (Schilling 27), and wherein each of the deflecting arms is configured and operable to deflect and allow the media (Schilling 22) to pass through the passage at the transition region (Schilling T) from the receiving portion (Schilling R) to the retaining portion (Schilling A).
Regarding claim 4 modified Schilling teaches the above spool and further teaches wherein the portion (Schilling M, above) of the tie-off feature (Schilling 27) is in the form of a flexible membrane (i.e. Schilling’s component is longer than it is thick, and could reasonably be called a membrane) comprising a pair of oppositely disposed flexing elements (see fig. 3) within the receiving portion (Schilling R) of the tie-off feature (Schilling 27), and wherein each of the flexing elements is configured and operable to flex in a circumferential direction (per combination with Baba, above) and allow the media (Schilling 22) to pass through the passage at the transition region (Schilling T) from the receiving portion (Schilling R) to the retaining portion (Schilling A).
Regarding claim 5 modified Schilling teaches the above spool and further teaches wherein the receiving portion (Schilling R) defines a receiving area that is larger than the diameter of the media (Schilling 22) (i.e. claim 5 only requires the media functionally, and Schilling is sized such that it is useable with such a relatively sized media) adjacent the outer periphery of the flange and is smaller than the diameter of the media (i.e. or 22 would escape) adjacent the passage at the transition region (Schilling T) of the tie-off feature (Schilling 27) than the diameter of the media (Schilling 22).
Regarding claim 6 modified Schilling teaches the above spool and further teaches wherein the retaining portion (Schilling A) defines a retaining area that is at least as large as the diameter of the media (i.e. or Schilling element 22 would not fit therein) adjacent the passage at the transition region (Schilling T) of the tie-off feature (Schilling 27).
Regarding claim 7 modified Schilling teaches the above spool and further teaches wherein the tie-off feature (Schilling 27) comprises a first tie-off feature (Schilling 27) at the periphery of the flange (Shilling as modified per Baba 26) and a second tie-off feature (Schilling 27) at the periphery of the flange, and wherein the first tie-off feature (Schilling 27) and the second tie-off feature (Schilling 27) are spaced apart in a circumferential direction along the outer periphery of the flange (per Schilling).
Regarding claim 8 modified Schilling teaches a flange (17-20) for a spool comprising:
a tie-off feature (27) formed in an outer periphery of the flange (17-20), the tie-off feature (27) comprising a receiving portion (R, see annotated fig. 3 below) for receiving a finish end (30) of a length of a media (22) wound on the spool and a retaining portion (A) for retaining the finish end (30) of the media (22) on the flange (17-20);
wherein the receiving portion (R) extends from the outer periphery of the flange (17-20) towards the retaining portion (A) and narrows (see fig. 3) from the outer periphery to a transition region (T) between the receiving portion (R) and the retaining portion (A);
wherein the tie-off feature (27) defines a passage (P, see annotated fig. 3 below) at the transition region (T);
and [an engaging portion] (M) of the tie-off feature (27) [being] integrally formed from the same material as the flange (17-20), to allow the media (22) to pass through the transition region (T) from the receiving portion (R) to the retaining portion (A); and
wherein the retaining portion (A) retains the finish end (30) of the media (22) on the flange (17-20) within the tie-off feature (27) after the finish end (30) of the media (22) passes through the transition region (T) from the receiving portion (R) to the retaining portion (A).
Schilling fails to teach the flange is generally annular. Also, it is not clear from Schilling whether the media deforms to fit into element 27, or if element 27 moves around the media when the media is fit into element 27 (i.e. it’s not clear if Schilling teaches “the portion of the tie-off feature is movable at the passage”). Baba teaches (see figs. 2-3) a spool for a similar type of media, the spool comprising a barrel (23), a flange (26), and on the flange a tie-off feature (27/28). Baba further teaches the flange is annular, and teaches the material of the spool can be a “plastic having some flexibility,” which allows the tie-off feature (27/28) some movement in order to allow removal of the media from the tie-off feature (col. 5 ll. 24-33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the flange of Schilling annular, as taught by Baba, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to better prevent the media from spooling incorrectly upon the barrel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Schilling flexible enough for the tie-off feature to receive media by flexion, as taught by Baba, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to properly grip the media.
Regarding claim 9 modified Schilling teaches the above spool and further teaches wherein the portion (Shilling M, above) of the tie-off feature (Shilling 27) is in the form of at least one deflecting tab (i.e. Shilling fig. 3 as modified per Baba) comprising at least one deflecting arm configured and operable to deflect and allow the finish end (Shilling 30) of the media (Shilling 22) to pass through the passage (Shilling P) at the transition region (Shilling T) from the receiving portion (Shilling R) to the retaining portion (Shilling A).
Regarding claim 10 modified Schilling teaches the above spool and further teaches wherein the portion (Schilling M) of the tie-off feature (Schilling 27) is in the form of a flexible membrane (i.e. Schilling’s component is longer than it is thick, and could reasonably be called a membrane) comprising a pair of oppositely disposed flexing elements (Schilling fig. 3 as modified per Baba) each configured and operable to flex in a circumferential direction and allow the finish end (Schilling 30) of the media (Schilling 22) to pass through the passage (Schilling P) at the transition region (Schilling T) from the receiving portion (Schilling R) to the retaining portion (Schilling A).
Regarding claim 11 modified Schilling teaches the above spool and further teaches wherein the tie-off feature (Schilling 27) comprises a first tie off feature (Schilling 27) at the outer periphery of the flange (Schilling as modified per Baba 26) and a second tie-off feature (Schilling 27) at the outer periphery of the flange, and wherein the first tie-off feature (Schilling 27) and the second tie-off feature (Schilling 27) are spaced apart in a circumferential direction (per Schilling) along the outer periphery of the flange.
Regarding claim 16 modified Schilling teaches a method for winding a length of media onto a spool and for retaining a finish end of the media on the spool, the method comprising:
providing a spool (fig. 1) having a flange (17-20) provided with a first tie-off feature (27) at an outer periphery of the flange (17-20), the first tie-off feature (27) comprising a receiving portion (R, see annotated fig. 3 below) that extends from the outer periphery towards a retaining portion (A) and a transition region (T) between the receiving portion (R) and the retaining portion (A), the receiving portion (R) narrowing from the outer periphery to a passage (P) at the transition region (T);
winding the length of the media onto the spool (fig. 1);
directing the finish end (30) of the media to the first tie-off feature (27) at the outer periphery;
disposing and inserting the finish end (30) of the media within the receiving portion (R) of the first tie-off feature (27);
passing the finish end (30) of the media through the passage (P) at transition region (T) of the first tie-off feature from the receiving portion (R) to the retaining portion (A); and
retaining the finish end (30) of the media within the retaining portion (A) of the first tie-off feature (27);
wherein a portion (M) of the first tie-off feature (27) [is an engaging portion] (M) integrally formed from the same material as the flange (17-20), to allow the media (22) to pass through the passage (P) from the receiving portion (R) to the retaining portion (A).
Schilling fails to teach the flange is generally annular. Also, it is not clear from Schilling whether the media deforms to fit into element 27, or if element 27 moves around the media when the media is fit into element 27 (i.e. it’s not clear if Schilling teaches “the portion of the tie-off feature is movable at the passage”). Baba teaches (see figs. 2-3) a spool for a similar type of media, the spool comprising a barrel (23), a flange (26), and on the flange a tie-off feature (27/28). Baba further teaches the flange is annular, and teaches the material of the spool can be a “plastic having some flexibility,” which allows the tie-off feature (27/28) some movement in order to allow removal of the media from the tie-off feature (col. 5 ll. 24-33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the flange of Schilling annular, as taught by Baba, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to better prevent the media from spooling incorrectly upon the barrel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the tie-off feature of Schilling flexible enough to receive the media by flexion, as taught by Baba, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to properly grip the media.
Regarding claim 17 modified Schilling teaches the above spool and further teaches wherein the portion (Schilling M) of the first tie-off feature (Schilling 27) is in the form of a deflecting tab comprising at least one deflecting arm (see Schilling fig. 3), and wherein the method further comprises deflecting (as per modification with Baba, above) the at least one deflecting arm to allow the finish end of the media to pass through the passage (Schilling P) at the transition region (Schilling T) from the receiving portion (Schilling R) to the retaining portion (Schilling A).
Regarding claim 18 modified Schilling teaches the above spool and further teaches wherein the portion (Schilling M) of the first tie-off feature (Schilling 27) is in the form of a flexible membrane comprising a pair of oppositely disposed flexing elements (i.e. Schilling’s component is longer than it is thick, and could reasonably be called a membrane), and wherein the method further comprises flexing at least one of the pair of flexing elements (Schilling as modified per Baba above) to allow the finish end of the media (Schilling 30) to pass through the passage (Schilling P) at the transition region (Schilling T) from the receiving portion (Schilling R) to the retaining portion (Schilling A).
Regarding claim 19 modified Schilling teaches the above spool and further teaches wherein the flange (Baba 26) of the spool (fig. 1) is provided with a second tie-off feature (Schilling 27) at the outer periphery of the flange (Baba 26) comprising a receiving portion (Schilling R), a retaining portion (Schilling A) and a transition region (Schilling T) between the receiving portion (Schilling R) and the retaining portion (Schilling A), and wherein the method further comprises:
directing the finish end (Schilling 30) of the media to the [first] tie-off feature (Schilling 27) at the outer periphery;
disposing and inserting the finish end (Schilling 30) of the media within the receiving portion (Schilling R) of the [first] tie-off feature (Schilling 27);
passing the finish end (Schilling 30) of the media through the transition region (Schilling T) of the [first] tie-off feature (Schilling 27) from the receiving portion (R) to the retaining portion (A); and
retaining the finish end of the media within the retaining portion (Schilling A) of the [first] tie-off feature (Schilling 27).
Schilling fails to expressly recite a method step of using the second tie-off feature to hold the media. This seems like no more than obvious variation, as it would be convenient for an operator to clip the media into whichever tie-off feature is most convenient, especially for subsequent iterations of unwinding a portion of media. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schilling’s method to use multiple media-retention points about the periphery for the same type of media with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to better retain the end of the media without excessive media flapping loosely outside of the retained end.
Regarding claim 20 modified Schilling teaches the above spool and further teaches wherein the first tie-off feature (Schilling 27) and the second tie-off feature (Schilling 27) are spaced apart in a circumferential direction along the outer periphery of the flange (Baba 26).
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL L ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654