DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination and Amendment filed June 11, 2026.
3. Claims 1, 12, and 20 have been examined and are pending with this action.
4. Claims 1-20 have been examined and remain pending.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments, filed June 11, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-9 and 12-20, previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Williams et al. (US 2020/0204341 A1), herein referenced Williams, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The applicant seems to be arguing that the invention is novel because Williams fails to explicitly teach that the fully homomorphic ML model does not receive input/training data that is encrypted. The examiner disagrees. Williams explicitly teaches such limitations throughout the citation such as in paragraph [0071], “The server(s) 520 receives homomorphically encrypted data structures 516 associated with a trained ML analytic, and executed in the homomorphically encrypted scheme”, emphasis added, and also in FIG. 5. FIG. 5 clearly shows the Client 510 transmitting and receiving HED (Homomorphic Encryption/Decryption) data 516 and 524, respectively.
For at least these reasons above and the rejections set forth below, claims 1-20 remain rejected and pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Williams et al. (US 2020/0204341 A1).
INDEPENDENT:
As per claim 1, Williams teaches a system for classifying encrypted data using an encrypted machine learning (ML) model (see Williams, [0003]: “Specifically, the analytics include trained machine learning models, sent in a homomorphic encrypted scheme, and executed in an unsecure environment. Thereby, the encrypted analytic can be sent to an untrusted environment, be evaluated against data under the untrusted party's control, and generate an encrypted prediction, classification or other result which can be transmitted back to a trusted environment.”), the system comprising:
a memory storing a set of computer-readable instructions including an encrypted ML model (see Williams, [0013]: “The system may include at least one processor and a memory storing processor-executable codes, wherein the at least one processor can be configured to implement the operations of the above-mentioned method for performing secure analytics using homomorphic encryption”); and
a processor interfacing with the memory, and configured to execute the set of computer- readable instructions (see Williams, [0013]: “The system may include at least one processor and a memory storing processor-executable codes, wherein the at least one processor can be configured to implement the operations of the above-mentioned method for performing secure analytics using homomorphic encryption”) to cause the system to:
receive, from a user, encrypted input data to be analyzed by the encrypted ML model, wherein the encrypted input data is encrypted in accordance with a first fully homomorphic encryption technique (see Williams, FIG. 5; Abstract: “The method further includes generating, using the encryption scheme, at least one homomorphically encrypted data structure, and sending the encrypted data structure to at least one server.”; [0003]: “Specifically, the analytics include trained machine learning models, sent in a homomorphic encrypted scheme, and executed in an unsecure environment.”; [0009]: “In some embodiments, the homomorphic encryption scheme includes a fully homomorphic encryption scheme. The fully homomorphic encryption scheme may include at least one of a Brakerski/Fan-Vercauteren and a Cheon-Kim-Kim-Song cryptosystem.”; [0071]: “The server(s) 520 receives homomorphically encrypted data structures 516 associated with a trained ML analytic, and executed in the homomorphically encrypted scheme. Thus, information about the ML analytic is obfuscated from parties in the untrusted environment”; and [0078]: “The HED module 514 homomorphically encrypts the ML analytic data structure 516 which is transmitted to the server(s) 520.”),
analyze, by executing the encrypted ML model that is encrypted in accordance with a second fully homomorphic encryption technique, the encrypted data to output an encrypted classification without decrypting the encrypted data (see Williams, [0080]: “To protect previously mentioned aspects a ML analytic, the server(s) 520 can be configured to perform the ML analytics using the ML homomorphically encrypted data structures in a homomorphic scheme on the instances 530 and thereby, obtain encrypted result of the ML analytics.”; and [0083]: “FIG. 6b shows a neuron 600′ that can be in a secure neural network analytic. Security is provided by encrypting the neural network weights Wn 620 using a fully homomorphic encryption scheme, such as BFV or CKKS thereby generating E(Wn) 650. The homomorphic scheme used must support addition and multiplication operations using encrypted values. The encrypted weights Wn 650 are then multiplied with the unencrypted real values extracted from the instance Xn 610, producing encrypted values that are summed and fed into the activation function(s) 630 of the first layer of artificial neurons. If the activation function 630 is a polynomial function, it can be computed directly on the encrypted values; otherwise, it is replaced with a polynomial approximation function chosen in advance (see FIG. 7). The encrypted values output by the activation functions then move through the rest of the neural network in this way until they reach the designated output signals, producing an encrypted prediction, classification or other result 640′.”), and
transmit the encrypted classification to a user computing device for decryption (see Williams, [0003]: “Thereby, the encrypted analytic can be sent to an untrusted environment, be evaluated against data under the untrusted party's control, and generate an encrypted prediction, classification or other result which can be transmitted back to a trusted environment.”; [0008]: “The method may further allow sending, by the at least one server, the at least one encrypted result to the client, wherein the client is configured to decrypt the at least one encrypted result using the homomorphic encryption scheme.”; and [0045]: “the server(s) 110 can be further configured to perform the encrypted analytics on the data source using the same homographic encryption scheme and the public key received from the client 105 and, thereby, obtain encrypted results of the analytics. The encrypted results can be sent to the client(s) 105. The client(s) 105 can decrypt the encrypted results using the private key. Because the private key is always kept on the client(s) 105, neither encrypted analytic nor encrypted results of the analytics can be decrypted on the server 110 or when intercepted while in transition between the client(s) 105 and the server(s) 110”).
As per claim 12, Williams teaches a computer-implemented method for classifying encrypted data using an encrypted machine learning (ML) model, the method comprising:
receive, at one or more processors from a user, encrypted input data to be analyzed by the encrypted ML model, wherein the encrypted input data is encrypted in accordance with a first fully homomorphic encryption technique (see Claim 1 rejection above);
analyzing, by the one or more processors executing an encrypted ML model that is encrypted in accordance with a second fully homomorphic encryption technique, the encrypted data to output an encrypted classification without decrypting the encrypted data (see Claim 1 rejection above); and
transmitting, by the one or more processors, the encrypted classification to a user computing device for decryption (see Claim 1 rejection above).
As per claim 20, Williams teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions for classifying encrypted data using an encrypted machine learning (ML) model that, when executed, may cause one or more processors (see Williams, pg.8, Claim 20: “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having embodied thereon instructions, which when executed by at least one processor, perform steps of a method”) to:
receive, from a user, encrypted input data to be analyzed by the encrypted ML model, wherein the encrypted input data is encrypted in accordance with a first fully homomorphic encryption technique (see Claim 1 rejection above);
analyze, by executing an encrypted ML model that is encrypted in accordance with a second fully homomorphic encryption technique, the encrypted data to output an encrypted classification without decrypting the encrypted data (see Claim 1 rejection above); and
transmit the encrypted classification to a user computing device for decryption (see Claim 1 rejection above).
DEPENDENT:
As per claims 2 and 13, which respectively depend on claims 1 and 12, Williams further teaches wherein the set of computer-readable instructions, when executed, further cause the system to:
train a ML model with a set of training encrypted data as inputs to output a set of training encrypted classifications of the set of training encrypted data (see Williams, [0003]: “Advantageously, a homomorphic encrypted analytic can execute on a server in an unsecure environment and there by obfuscate information about the analytic that could be derived by examination of the analytic. This information could include the information about computation being performed, intellectual property, proprietary information, sensitive information, or protected classes of information. Specifically, the analytics include trained machine learning models, sent in a homomorphic encrypted scheme, and executed in an unsecure environment.”); and
encrypt the ML model using the second fully homomorphic encryption technique to create the encrypted ML model (see Williams, [0003]: “Specifically, the analytics include trained machine learning models, sent in a homomorphic encrypted scheme, and executed in an unsecure environment.”; [0008]: “The method may include receiving, from a client, by at least one server from a client, at least one machine learning data structure. The at least one machine learning data structure can be encrypted using a homomorphic encryption scheme.”).
As per claims 3 and 14, which respectively depend on claims 2 and 13, Williams further teaches wherein encrypting the ML model further comprises: encrypt one or more parameters of the ML model using the second fully homomorphic encryption technique (see Williams, [0037]: “The disclosed systems and methods include techniques for using homomorphic encryption to encrypt parts of an already-trained ML (machine learning) model.”).
As per claims 4 and 15, which respectively depend on claims 1 and 12, Williams further teaches wherein the encrypted ML model comprises: (i) a Naive Bayes model, (ii) a Decision Tree, or (iii) a Random Forest model (see Williams, Abstract: “The machine learning model includes neural networks and decision trees.”).
As per claims 5 and 16, which respectively depend on claims 1 and 12, Williams further teaches wherein the first fully homomorphic encryption technique or the second fully homomorphic encryption technique further includes a private key encryption technique (see Williams, [0031]: “The encryption scheme may include a public key for encryption and a private key for decryption”).
As per claims 6 and 17, which respectively depend on claims 1 and 12, Williams further teaches wherein the first fully homomorphic encryption technique is different from the second fully homomorphic encryption technique (see Williams, [0009]: “The fully homomorphic encryption scheme may include at least one of a Brakerski/Fan-Vercauteren and a Cheon-Kim-Kim-Song cryptosystem.”; and [0077]: “a fully homomorphic encryption scheme is used including but not limited to BFV (Brakerski/Fan-Vercauteren) and CKKS (Cheon-Kim-Kim-Song)”).
As per claims 7 and 18, which respectively depend on claims 1 and 12, Williams further teaches wherein the encrypted data from the user comprises: (i) a set of encrypted values, (ii) a set of additively homomorphic monotone functions, (iii) a set of indexes, (iv) a q1-bit integer, or (v) an n-tuple q1-bit integer (see Williams, [0071]: “The server(s) 520 receives homomorphically encrypted data structures 516 associated with a trained ML analytic, and executed in the homomorphically encrypted scheme. Thus, information about the ML analytic is obfuscated from parties in the untrusted environment”; and [0078]: “The HED module 514 homomorphically encrypts the ML analytic data structure 516 which is transmitted to the server(s) 520.”).
As per claims 8 and 19, which respectively depend on claims 1 and 12, Williams further teaches wherein the set of computer-readable instructions, when executed, further cause the system to: receive a second set of encrypted data from a second user that is encrypted in accordance with the second fully homomorphic encryption technique, and wherein the second set of encrypted data comprises: (i) a feature index at a node, (ii) a database, or (iii) a private encryption key for the database (see Williams, [0044]: “The analytics can be encrypted with a public (encryption) key of the homomorphic encryption scheme. The encrypted analytics and the public key can be sent to the server 110. The encrypted analytics can be only decrypted with a private (decryption) key of the homomorphic encryption scheme. The decryption key can be kept on the client(s) 105 and never provided to the server(s) 110.”).
As per claim 9, which depends on claim 1, Williams further teaches wherein the set of computer-readable instructions, when executed, further cause the system to: produce an encrypted update to a ML model with a set of training encrypted data as inputs from one or more users; transmit the encrypted update to each user of the one or more users for decryption; and update the ML model using the encrypted update (see Williams, [0032]: “Optionally, the method can comprise a step of transmitting the encryption key from the client, especially the first client, to the central aggregator and/or in opposite direction. In particular, this step of transmitting can be executed in an encrypted way, e.g., by using asymmetric encryption”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US 2020/0204341 A1) in view of Prasad et al. (US 2024/0015003 A1).
As per claim 10, which depends on claim 1, although Williams further teaches wherein the set of computer-readable instructions, when executed, further cause the system to: receive, from a user, a training dataset encrypted using an independently generated key pair, in accordance with a multi-key, multi-hop fully homomorphic encryption technique (see Williams, [0031]: “The encryption scheme may include a public key for encryption and a private key for decryption”); train, with the training datasets, a ML model using a ML training technique (see Williams, [0003]: “Specifically, the analytics include trained machine learning models, sent in a homomorphic encrypted scheme, and executed in an unsecure environment. Thereby, the encrypted analytic can be sent to an untrusted environment, be evaluated against data under the untrusted party's control, and generate an encrypted prediction, classification or other result which can be transmitted back to a trusted environment. The decrypted result will be the same as if the unencrypted machine analytic operated on the data.”); receive encrypted test datasets from a user (see Claim 1 rejection above); generate, by executing the ML model, encrypted outputs for the encrypted test dataset; and cause user computing devices of to participate in on-the-fly, computation to decrypt one or more respective encrypted outputs of the encrypted outputs by transmitting the encrypted outputs to the user (see Claim 1 rejection above),
Williams does not explicitly teach a plurality of users, receive encrypted test data from plurality of users, output for plurality of test data, participate multiparty computation by transmitting the encrypted output to each respective user of the one or more user.
Prasad teaches a plurality of users, receive encrypted test data from plurality of users, output for plurality of test data, participate multiparty computation by transmitting the encrypted output to each respective user of the one or more user (see Prasad, [0020]: “Federated learning is a technique to develop a robust quality shared global model with a central aggregator (e.g. central server) from isolated data among many different clients. In a healthcare application scenario, assume there are K clients (nodes) where each client k holds its respective data Dk with nk total number of samples.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Williams in view of Prasad so that the system employs a plurality of users, receive encrypted test data from plurality of users, output for plurality of test data, participate multiparty computation by transmitting the encrypted output to each respective user of the one or more user. One would be motivated to do so because Williams teaches in paragraphs [0042], “In some embodiments, the server(s) 110 may be implemented as cloud-based computing resource shared by multiple users. The cloud-based computing resource(s) can include hardware and software available at a remote location and accessible over a network (for example, the Internet). The cloud-based computing resource(s) can be dynamically re-allocated based on demand. The cloud-based computing resources may include one or more server farms/clusters including a collection of computer servers which can be co-located with network switches and/or routers.”, and further teaches in paragraph [0068], “These servers may manage workloads provided by multiple users (e.g., cloud resource customers or other users).”.
As per claim 11, which depends on claim 10, Williams further teaches wherein the set of computer-readable instructions, when executed, further cause the system to: receive, from a new user, a new training dataset encrypted using a new independently generated key pair, in accordance with the multi-key, multi-hop fully homomorphic encryption technique; and update the ML model with the new training dataset using the ML training technique without re-encrypting the training datasets (see Williams, [0042]: “In some embodiments, the server(s) 110 may be implemented as cloud-based computing resource shared by multiple users. The cloud-based computing resource(s) can include hardware and software available at a remote location and accessible over a network (for example, the Internet). The cloud-based computing resource(s) can be dynamically re-allocated based on demand. The cloud-based computing resources may include one or more server farms/clusters including a collection of computer servers which can be co-located with network switches and/or routers.”).
Conclusion
8. For the reasons above, claims 1-20 have been rejected and remain pending.
/Michael Won/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443