DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 26 November 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no search burden between Groups I and II. The argument presented is found convincing and the restriction between Groups I and II is withdrawn. The restriction between Groups I and III is maintained.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 20200259269), hereinafter known as Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-10) an antenna (100) including an antenna pattern (120a) configured to transmit or receive an RF signal ([0117]); and a directionality adjustment pattern (120b, 120c, 120d) including a plurality of metal layers having a preset area and disposed to be spaced apart from one another (see Figs. 4A-4E), the directionality adjustment pattern being disposed on one surface of the antenna (see Figs. 4A-4E), and at least one of the plurality of metal layers has a larger height than each of the remaining metal layers (see Figs. 4A-4E, 120b lower than 120c).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-10) the directionality adjustment pattern is disposed to face the antenna pattern in a thickness direction of the antenna (see Figs. 4A-4E).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-10) a wiring structure (10) having one surface on which the antenna is disposed, wherein the antenna is a chip-type antenna (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-10) an encapsulation material (110a) disposed on the one surface of the wiring structure and configured to surround at least a part of the antenna (see Figs. 4A-4E).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-10) a shield layer (110b) having insulation properties and disposed between the directionality adjustment pattern and the antenna pattern (see Figs. 4A-4E).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-10) wherein: the shield layer is disposed to cover at least a partial region of the antenna pattern (see Figs. 4A-4E).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-10) the shield layer is provided on the antenna pattern and disposed on at least a partial region of the encapsulation material adjacent to the antenna pattern (see Figs. 4A-4E).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-10) a wiring structure (10) having one surface on which the antenna is disposed (see Fig. 1), wherein the antenna further comprises: a dielectric layer (110a) configured to surround the antenna pattern (see Figs. 4A-4E); and a through-via (131) connected to the antenna pattern, penetrating through the dielectric layer, and extending in a direction in which the wiring structure is disposed (see Figs. 4A-4E).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-10) the antenna further comprises a director member (120b) disposed between the directionality adjustment pattern and the antenna pattern (see Figs. 4A-4E).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-10) a shield layer (100b) having insulation properties and disposed between the directionality adjustment pattern and the director member (see Figs. 4A-4E).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-10) the shield layer is disposed to cover at least a partial region of the director member (see Figs. 4A-4E).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-10) the shield layer is provided on the director member and disposed on at least a partial region of the dielectric layer adjacent to the director member (see Figs. 4A-4E).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-10) the antenna pattern is provided as a plurality of antenna patterns disposed to be spaced apart from one another on a plane intersecting a thickness direction of the antenna (see Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-10) the directionality adjustment pattern is provided as a metamaterial structure (see Figs. 4A-4E).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-10) the RF signal emitted from the antenna pattern is configured to propagate through the directionality adjustment pattern (see Figs. 4A-4E).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-10) a height of the plurality of metal layers increases from an edge region of the directionality adjustment pattern to a center region of the directionality adjustment pattern (see Figs. 4A-4E).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses (Figs. 1-10) an antenna (100) including an antenna pattern (120a) configured to transmit or receive an RF signal; and a directionality adjustment pattern (120b, 120c, 120d) including a plurality of metal layers having a preset area and disposed to be spaced apart from one another (see Figs. 4A-4E), the directionality adjustment pattern being disposed on one surface of the antenna (see Figs. 4A-4E), wherein the directionality adjustment pattern comprises: a first pattern region (region of 120c) disposed at a first distance from a central region of the directionality adjustment pattern (see Figs. 4A-4E); and a second pattern region (region of 120d) disposed at a second distance (see Figs. 4A-4E), which is longer than the first distance (see Figs. 4A-4E), from the central region of the directionality adjustment pattern, and wherein one of the first and second pattern regions has a larger height than another of the first and second pattern regions (see Figs. 4A-4E, 120d region includes conductors around 150).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or render obvious claims 18 and 19 as arranged, specifically “wherein: the plurality of metal layers of the first pattern region or second pattern region have different heights in an upward/downward direction.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wieland et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10580745) teaches an antenna.
/DANIEL MUNOZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896