DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to communication filed on 2/16/24 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 11, 16 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2023/0198959 to Martinez-Spessot et al.
a. As per claim 1, Martinez-Spessot et al teaches a method for managing services provided by data processing systems, the method comprising: obtaining a service access request from a service requestor (See paragraph [0104]). , the service access request specifying a service running on at least one of the data processing systems (See paragraph [0112]);
the service being one of multiple services running on the at least one of the data processing system (See paragraph [0112]), each of the multiple services being associated with one or more sidecars provisioned specifically for a respective one of the multiple services (See paragraph [0031], respective sidecars (e.g., sidecars 215a-n) have been associated with each microservice of the collection of microservices), and the one or more sidecars being configured to collect and store capability data and first context data for the respective one of the multiple services for which the one or more sidecars was instantiated (See paragraph [0003, 0033, 0047, 0054], discovered security features available to respective microservices are stored after completion of security feature discovery by their associated sidecars);parsing the service access request for second context data, the second context data comprising at least the first context data (See paragraph [0048-0052]); and servicing the service requestor using the service and the second context data (See paragraph [0048-0054]).
b. As per claim 11, Martinez-Spessot et al teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium having instructions stored therein, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations for managing services provided by data processing systems, the operations comprising: obtaining a service access request from a service requestor (See paragraph [0104]), the service access request specifying a service running on at least one of the data processing systems (See paragraph [0112]); the service being one of multiple services running on the at least one of the data processing systems, each of the multiple services being associated with one or more sidecars provisioned specifically for a respective one of the multiple services (See paragraph [0031], respective sidecars (e.g., sidecars 215a-n) have been associated with each microservice of the collection of microservices), and the one or more sidecars being configured to collect and store capability data and first context data for the respective one of the multiple services for which the one or more sidecars was instantiated (See paragraph [0003, 0033, 0047, 0054], discovered security features available to respective microservices are stored after completion of security feature discovery by their associated sidecars); parsing the service access request for second context data, the second context data comprising at least the first context data (See paragraph [0048-0052]); and servicing the service requestor using the service and the second context data (See paragraph [0048-0054]).
c. As per claim 16, Martinez-Spessot et al teaches a data processing system comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor to store instructions, which when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations for managing services provided by data processing systems including the data processing system, the operations comprising: obtaining a service access request from a service requestor (See paragraph [0104]), the service access request specifying a service running on the data processing system (See paragraph [0112]); the service being one of multiple services running on the at least one of the data processing systems, each of the multiple services being associated with one or more sidecars provisioned specifically for a respective one of the multiple services (See paragraph [0031], respective sidecars (e.g. sidecars 215a-n) have been associated with each microservice of the collection of microservices respective sidecars (e.g., sidecars 215a-n) have been associated with each microservice of the collection of microservices), and the one or more sidecars being configured to collect and store capability data and first context data for the respective one of the multiple services for which the one or more sidecars was instantiated(See paragraph [0003, 0033, 0047, 0054], discovered security features available to respective microservices are stored after completion of security feature discovery by their associated sidecars); parsing the service access request for second context data, the second context data comprising at least the first context data (See paragraph [0048-0052]); and servicing the service requestor using the service and the second context data (See paragraph [0048-0054]).
d. As per claim 21, Martinez-Spessot et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Martinez-Spessot et al teaches wherein the one or more sidecars store the first context data in a context repository of the data processing systems, the context repository comprising fourth context data of an infrastructure boundary that delimits the at least one of the data processing systems on which the service is running (See paragraph [0033]).
e. As per claim 22, Martinez-Spessot et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Martinez-Spessot et al teaches wherein the context repository is remote to the data processing systems including the at least one of the data processing systems on which the service is running (See paragraph [0033 and 0037]).
f. AS per claim 23, Martinez-Spessot et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Martinez-Spessot et al teaches further comprising and before the obtaining of the service access request from the service requestor: providing, from the context repository, the first context data of the service to the service requestor (See paragraph [0054]).
g. As per claim 24, Martinez-Spessot et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Martinez-Spessot et al teaches wherein the fourth context data of the infrastructure boundary comprises the first context data of all services running within the infrastructure boundary including the first context data of multiple services running on the at least one of the data processing systems, and the fourth context data being dynamically using the first context data (See paragraph [0032-0033 and 0035, 0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 2-5, 8-9, 12-14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2023/0198959 to Martinez-Spessot et al in view of U.S. Patent No. 2014/0344425 to Varney et al.
a. As per claims 2, 12, 17, Martinez-Spessot et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Martinez-Spessot et al fails to teach wherein the servicing the service requestor using the service and the second context data comprises: determining, based on the second context data, that one or more adjustments to the service is required for the service to be able to service the service requestor; and in response to the determining, performing the one or more adjustments to the service to obtain a modified instance of the service adapted for the service requestor, wherein the service requestor is serviced using the modified instance of the service adapted for the service requestor.
Varney et al teaches wherein the servicing the service requestor using the service and the second context data comprises: determining, based on the second context data, that one or more adjustments to the service is required for the service to be able to service the service requestor (See paragraph [0245 and 0264]); and in response to the determining, performing the one or more adjustments to the service to obtain a modified instance of the service adapted for the service requestor, wherein the service requestor is serviced using the modified instance of the service adapted for the service requestor (See paragraph [0245 and 02845]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Varney et al in the claimed invention of Martinez-Spessot et al in order to provide service specific dynamic configuration (See paragraph [0245]).
b. As per claims 3, 13 and 18, Martinez-Spessot et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Martinez-Spessot et al fails to teach wherein: the second context data included in the service access request is an aggregated context data that comprises the first context data of the service and a third context data of the service requestor, the context data of the service comprises information specifying, at least, where the service is provisioned within an infrastructure boundary that delimits the at least one of the data processing systems on which the service is running, and the context data of the service requestor comprises information specifying, at least, an origin of the service access request, a target of the service access request, and a type of the service access request.
Varney et al teaches wherein: the second context data included in the service access request is an aggregated context data that comprises the first context data of the service and a third context data of the service requestor, the context data of the service comprises information specifying, at least, where the service is provisioned within an infrastructure boundary that delimits the at least one of the data processing systems on which the service is running (See paragraph [0137-0138]), and the context data of the service requestor comprises information specifying, at least, an origin of the service access request, a target of the service access request, and a type of the service access request (See paragraph [00137]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Varney et al in the claimed invention of Martinez-Spessot et al in order to provide service specific dynamic configuration (See paragraph [0245]).
c. As per claims 4 and 14, Martinez-Spessot et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Martinez-Spessot et al fails to teach wherein the information specifying the type of the service access request includes information that indicates a deployment stage of the infrastructure boundary and a deployment stage of the service.
Varney et al teaches wherein the information specifying the type of the service access request includes information that indicates a deployment stage of the infrastructure boundary and a deployment stage of the service (See paragraph [0137-0138]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Varney et al in the claimed invention of Martinez-Spessot et al in order to provide service specific dynamic configuration (See paragraph [0245]).
d. As per claim 5, Martinez-Spessot et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Martinez-Spessot et al fails to teach wherein the information specifying the target of the service access request includes the service and information that indicates whether the service requestor is within or external to the infrastructure boundary.
Varney et al teaches wherein the information specifying the target of the service access request includes the service and information that indicates whether the service requestor is within or external to the infrastructure boundary (See paragraph [0667, 1943]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Varney et al in the claimed invention of Martinez-Spessot et al in order to provide service specific dynamic configuration (See paragraph [0245]).
e. As per claim 19, Martinez-Spessot et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Martinez-Spessot et al fails to teach wherein the one or more adjustments comprise, at least, an adjustment to a behavior of the service and an adjustment to a service flow of the service (See paragraph [0245, 0568]).
Varney et al teaches wherein the one or more adjustments comprise, at least, an adjustment to a behavior of the service and an adjustment to a service flow of the service (See paragraph [0245, 0568]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Varney et al in the claimed invention of Martinez-Spessot et al in order to provide service specific dynamic configuration (See paragraph [0245]).
f. As per claim 8, Martinez-Spessot et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Martinez-Spessot et al fails to teach determining that the one or more adjustments to the service resulted in a change in context for the service; recording the change in context as context data of the service; and storing the context data of the service in a context repository.
Varney et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Varney et al teaches determining that the one or more adjustments to the service resulted in a change in context for the service (See paragraph [0214, 0284]); recording the change in context as context data of the service; and storing the context data of the service in a context repository (See paragraph [0284-0285, 0289]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Varney et al in the claimed invention of Martinez-Spessot et al in order to provide service specific dynamic configuration (See paragraph [0245]).
j. As per claim 9, Martinez-Spessot et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Martinez-Spessot et al fails to teach wherein the context repository is remote to the data processing systems including the at least one of the data processing systems on which the service is running
Varney et al teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Varney et al teaches wherein the context repository is remote to the data processing systems including the at least one of the data processing systems on which the service is running (See paragraph [0284-0285, 0289]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Varney et al in the claimed invention of Martinez-Spessot et al in order to provide service specific dynamic configuration (See paragraph [0245]).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
9Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DJENANE BAYARD whose telephone number is (571)272-3878. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5.
/DJENANE M BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444