DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 12-16, 18-19, 21 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kumar et al. (Nucleic Acids Research, 2002, vol. 30, no. 23, e130, pp 1-8 – NPL reference 2 from applicant’s IDS filed 5/8/25).
Kumar discloses compositions comprising aqueous ammonium hydroxide and lithium chloride in various amounts (0.5M, 1.0M, or 1.5M). The compositions also contain ethylenediamine, spermine, polyvinylamine, or tris (2-aminoethyl) amine in various amounts (see table 1) and the ammonia hydroxide (aqueous ammonia) is 32% - see page 2, right column, 1st full paragraph. The composition is taught to be used to cleave a molecule off of a solid support, and therefore also discloses the molecules prepared (cleaved) by contacting the solid support bound molecule with the composition.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-16, 18-21, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Nelson et al. (BioTechniques, vol 22 (4), pp 752-756, 1997 – NPL reference 13 from applicant’s IDs filed 5/8/25).
Nelson discloses the use of a cleavage and deprotection solution comprising 0.5M LiCl (lithium chloride) in concentrated ammonium hydroxide and added 0.23M triethylamine to affect the deprotection procedure (see page 753, right column, 1st full paragraph, figure 2; page 755 left column, 1st and 2nd full paragraphs; and conclusion on page 756). The composition is taught to be used to cleave a molecule off of a solid support, and therefore also discloses the molecules prepared (cleaved) by contacting the solid support bound molecule with the composition.
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-16, 18-19, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kumar et al. (Reactive and Functional Polymers, vol. 41, 1999, pp 197-204).
Kumar discloses compositions used for cleaving oligonucleotides from solid supports comprising aqueous ammonia (ammonium hydroxide), methylamine, and 0.5M lithium chloride and 0.1M lithium hydroxide (see paragraph bridging columns 1-2 on page 198, paragraph (i) on page 200 in the left column). The composition is taught to be used to cleave a molecule off of a solid support, and therefore also discloses the molecules prepared (cleaved) by contacting the solid support bound molecule with the composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16, 18-21, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kumar et al. (Nucleic Acids Research, 2002, vol. 30, no. 23, e130, pp 1-8 – NPL reference 2 from applicant’s IDS filed 5/8/25) – hereinafter “Kumar 1” and Kumar et al. (Reactive and Functional Polymers, vol. 41, 1999, pp 197-204) – hereinafter “Kumar 2”.
The claims of the present application are drawn to compostions comprising about 0.1-40% w/w of one or more of a lithium salt and at least about 50% saturated with ammonia. Dependent claims provide for various additional agents such as triethylamine and limits the lithium salt to various salts such as lithium hydroxide or lithium chloride.
Kumar 1 discloses compositions comprising aqueous ammonium hydroxide and lithium chloride in various amounts (0.5M, 1.0M, or 1.5M). The compositions also contain ethylenediamine, spermine, polyvinylamine, or tris (2-aminoethyl) amine in various amounts (see table 1) and the ammonia hydroxide (aqueous ammonia) is 32% - see page 2, right column, 1st full paragraph. The composition is taught to be used to cleave a molecule off of a solid support, and therefore also discloses the molecules prepared (cleaved) by contacting the solid support bound molecule with the composition. What is not taught is to use lithium hydroxide.
Kumar 2 teaches that lithium chloride and lithium hydroxide can be used in the compositions for cleaving their oligonucleotides from supports thus rendering obvious this missing feature from Kumar 1. Moreover, applicants have shown that lithium chloride is their preferable lithium cation source and lithium hydroxide did not provide any beneficial or unexpected properties (see table 2A herein). As such, the present claims are seen to be rima facia obvious in view of the art.
Conclusion
/TRAVISS C MCINTOSH III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693